Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Dunbar > Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park
Edinburgh Road
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1TU
Tel: 01368 865956
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 8th March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: GEORGEBB 2 reviews from this member

 The location of this site for families is hard to beat, John Muir way walking and play park, there's a fun park nearby with animals, go karts, crazy golf. Beaches local and nearby, if you enjoy walking and moreover if you have a dog I would recommend it.

Our kids didn't really notice they had missed out on France this year, we did of course, no pool or french bread in the morning.

The only slight negative was the facilities seemed to need some plumbing effort, the taps were sticking on and the ladies toilet flooded a couple of times.

I don't want to be harsh given we have just come out of covid, perhaps not easy to keep maintenance people on staff during recent times. They were clean enough, just seemed like they were short of staff given the site was so busy.

I think its the most we have paid for a week in the van but unlike most sites, this is one we will go back to.

There's so much to do right on the doorstep. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: FNot 14 reviews from this member

 Liked: Location 5 mins to beach. Mostly static site with touring as add on. Statics were lovely & those facing lake & beach looked fantastic.

Disliked: too many large groups & no social distancing observed. Cars & vans on tent fields giving impression of travellers. Very few cars observed the speed limit.

Touring caravan area felt like a drive through with taxis & vans at all hours of the night. No one seemed to patrol the site or keep a watch on the numbers. Visitors were arriving & joining groups for BbQs. A number of Dogs not on leads Despite all the signs.

Sadly, despite the fantastic location I would not recommend this site. Stricter controls & maybe a barrier would do wonders for it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 50 reviews from this member

 Shower/wet rooms and kitchen excellent. Hotel standard. We were only ones on grass pitch - we would have been better on hardstanding due to recent rain.

Grass pitches would be lovely in summer as more relaxed layout. Hardstandings always seem to be a bit of a caravan park.

Lovely location next to paved footpath alongside bay leading to golf course and cliff trail to Dunbar where there are castle ruins and a harbour. Nice high street.

4 mile approx round trip via cliff then back via the road. Would highly recommend 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Zackyboy 16 reviews from this member

 An excellent open, quiet site which offers grass or hard standings.

Toilet, showers and washing up facilities are first class. All the staff we spoke with were friendly and helpful.

Its an easy walk to the beach or the town.

Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Starr 6 reviews from this member

 This is a very well laid out and attractive site, with separate areas for different types of units, and care is clearly taken to keep the site in good condition. The toilet and shower facilities are some of the best I've seen on a site, and there is a laundry room and small kitchen for campers.

There is easy access to the beach and walking trails, and the town of Dunbar is about a 20 minute walk either along the cliff path or on the road.

The site is quite expensive for a tent pitch, considering the cost of other accommodation in the area - we chose it because we wanted to camp, but we could have got a small Air BnB flat for not much more.

If you are staying in anything other than a tent, you will probably have a lovely time here, however if you are in a tent, especially with small children who go to bed early, you should be aware that the site accepts large groups of families or adults, and in our experience this often leads to issues with noise.

The site rules say silence after 11pm and ask people to keep noise to a minimum at other times and be considerate of their neighbours who may be sleeping, however not everyone followed this. On our first 2 nights we were kept awake until after 11pm by a large group of children who were still running around shouting, which in turn was disturbing another family with small children who kept being woken up and crying, and on the third night a large group of adults were playing loud music, shouting, singing and wandering around the site carrying speakers and flashing lights until 4am.

We contacted the warden via the emergency number and he apparently spoke to them twice and called the police when they didn't quieten down, so at least some action was taken, however most of this group remained on the site for the following night and we couldn't face the prospect of another night like the last one so we packed up and left a day early.

This obviously cut our holiday short, which was disappointing, and I would not stay at this site in a tent again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catface1 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful campsite, with 2 relatively small fields for tents. Footpath to beach and within walking distance of local town and a pub.

Pristine looking showers and toilets which were spotlessly clean when we were there.

Kettle and toaster and freezer available in kitchen area. We didn't have children with us but there was a good wooden play area right by the fields which meant parents could keep an eye or ear out for their little ones.

It was rainy when we were there so we walked to the station and visited Edinburgh and had fish and chips in Dunbar on the way back. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beebeebus 9 reviews from this member

 My granddaughter and I stayed here over the Easter weekend and although it was really cold there were a few hardy souls around ! This is the second time I have stayed here and it is a lovely wee site.

We were on a hard standing pitch which is just as well because the rain set in and one by one the less hardy souls drifted away to find the sun ! !

The shower blocks and toilets were really clean but there was no hot water to wash your hands and the drier blew cold air. It would have been lovely to have been able to warm my hands up even just for a few moments.

The site is a great base for exploring the area. The reception team are lovely and friendly and helpful.

We will go back to Belhaven again. Hopefully when the sun is shining ! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mighty-mondo 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights mid August and must say we will definitely be back as it was great.

The weather has been rubbish this year and loads of rain so when we arrived on Friday to wet and slightly muddy ground to the front of the pitch we were not entirely surprised.

The only negative was that the access road had a very muddy patch on it that was so bad the site had laid 2 wooden boards over it to help cars etc - glad to say though that we had 2 days of brilliant sunshine and the ground had started to dry out.

Having said this the pitch for the tent was fine, wet grass but nice and flat and he grass looked healthy.

The toilets are brand new this year and I have to say they are the best I have ever seen on any campsite - standard gents and standard ladies were expected but there are also 6 individual shower rooms for 1 person and 6 individual shower/toilet rooms for 1 person complete with hairdryer. Absolute blush to not have to have a room to your self.

There were also laundry facilities and the wash up area was top notch too, indoors for comfort and the room included a microwave and kettle and toaster!

Staff were very friendly and helpful

There are 3 swing parks to amuse the kids, one of which was right across from our pitch so we could leave them happily playing without worrying.

We have now stayed at 3 out of the 4 Meadowhead sites and have not been disappointed but the toilets here were the best of all 3. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Becs109 5 reviews from this member

 This looks to be a great site for families with kids. We weren't, so it wasn't quite as enjoyable, but the site itself was nice. Very close to the beach and a country park, and walking distance to Dunbar.

We had a grass tent pitch, no electric, which was very spacious given we were in a 2-man backpacking tent! Some of the enormous tents on other pitches looked to fill them though.

The layout is nice - a small field with pitches round the edge and an open area in the middle, which as I said, was great for the families with kids (who seemed to be part of a large group so were congregating in the middle and playing games). Getting to the toilet block was a bit of a gauntlet at times.

There were separate fields for EHU tents, and caravans/motorhomes.

The toilet/shower block looked new, and had an interesting layout - a block of toilets each for male and female, then all the showers were individual wetrooms, some with WC.

I didn't count how many there were but I didn't have a problem getting to a shower and the site was full.

I'd go again, but on a week night in school term time! Grumpy lady alert! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 3Scotties 9 reviews from this member

 We visited for 2nd time this past w/e for 2 nights, our previous visit was last July 2015.

POSITIVE

It is a great location, a very well run and clean campsite. The site is mainly for residential private homes but there is a nice touring area with ample grass or hard standing pitched, all level with electric. There is also a popular large camping with electric and separate camping without electric areas, which were full on the Sat night.

There are 6 rental large mobile homes plus three wooden pods or wigwams as they are called. The wigwams look good for a couple or small family who don't want to roughy it Ina tent but want time out in the country. They have a fantastic view/setting on the loch side.

NEGATIVE

- Compared with other touring sites, it is on the expensive side, there are other cheaper sites in the area.

- Toilet block for touring vans & campers are inadequate. I 100% endorse the comments made by other reviewers last year. The GOOD new is that a new block has been build. It was meant to be ready for 01-July, but they have had contractor issues and it was probably several weeks off completion and fitting out for use.

- new doors on existing toilet blocks often left open as closers not working, that means that passing people/kids can see people using the urinals, which can't meet planning/Health & Safety guidelines. There should be a double door or screen as far as I'm aware.

We look forward to our return in the future, to see the new facilities operational and the old ones demolished/re-built as on high occupancy w/e's 2xWC's and 2xShowers in the men's and 3 in the ladies is inadequate when you have a lot of campers.

In conclusion, congratulations to the staff from keeping the site so clean and well run and taking on board previous comments and building a new toilet & Shower block. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5393 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement