Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park
38 Mortonhall Gate
Frogston Road East
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH16 6TJ
Tel: 0131 664 1533
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 120 Reviews
                8/10 from 120 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Planet58653ptu 1 review from this member

 Lovely location, out in the country but with a quick and frequent bus service to the heart of the city.

I was a late arrival and was delighted the staff has left very clear instructions for me.

The loos and showers were clean and nice.

All the staff I spoke to were very welcoming and helpful.

On the downside I could have done with WiFi yet even the phone signal was weedy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Adrian36474onm 4 reviews from this member

 Liked) very helpful staff, both informative and knowledgeable. Very clean facilities-the ones I used, namely the toilets & the shower block and also that there was a designated and safe area to chain up my bicycle.

The Site is handily situated for access to the bus network into Edinburgh City Centre, though if you didn't research your stay well, you'd be hard pressed to find it without prior knowledge of its whereabouts.

Disliked) very expensive for what I actually used. Twenty two pounds per night for a 1 person tent without electric hook-up and where all I used was the toilet and shower block is considerably more than anywhere I have ever camped before and I only booked to stay there because there is nowhere else for miles around-and I suspect that the owners of the site are only too aware of their cornering of the market and set their prices with it in mind.

By comparison, I camped at a site in South Aberdeenshire the next night and got facilities of equal quality, equal cleanliness and equal suitability of location (right next to the A90-harder to miss) for EIGHT pounds! 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lancaster20 4 reviews from this member

 Very busy as during festival.

Meant some queues for showers.

We were parked on grass which was not level and became muddy as it rained. Recommend handstand if available.

Good access to public transport and so ideal for visiting Edinburgh.

Will use again but probably when less busy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 7 reviews from this member

 Disappointing. Not told we would need an electric cable extension, offered to borrow one from reception but wanted £50 deposit in cash, which we did not have. Also had to trail cable across vehicle access way. First staff member was rude and unhelpful. Second found a replacement pitch. Still trailing cable but closer to pitch.

Toilets dirty and soggy floor. One sink blocked, one shower out of use. Staff more interested in mowing grass than maintain these facilities. Paid £41 a night, no where near worth it.

Bus is convenient and has contactless payment despite receptions leaflet saying it doesn't. I won't be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

 This is our usual site for visiting Edinburgh as the no. 11 bus stop is a short walk away. (You can buy a day ticket - currently £4 - at Reception; handy as no change is given on the bus. ) Plenty of walks radiating out into the countryside, all signed.

Excellent new farm food shop at the entrance. Quiet, no road noise. Very popular with European visitors on our visit, with a big turnover every day. And if you cycle here, there's a new covered bike rack in the tent area.

And yet. £31 is steep for just a hardstand & EHU, no water tap or drain or TV. The Internet did not work, though we were only feet away from a wi-fi relay pole. Our nearest "sunken" toilet block had no hot water at the sinks; several cubicles had no toilet roll and several sinks (in cubicles) had no soap in the dispensers.

Best facilities are in the stone building opposite the camp kitchen. After the wet weather, vehicles were gouging deep ruts in the grass getting off the inner rows of hardstands; your EHU cable will need to be long to reach a stanchion several pitches away & it will probably be driven over.

But yes, we'll come back of course, as the positives outweigh the negatives. 


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gambeson 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a weekend visit to Edinburgh.

Only a 10 minute walk to bus stop with regular service every 15 minutes. This is a large site which I think would be chocker in the summer with not much room between units, but very pleasent off season.

Girls at reception very pleasent and check in was stressless.

Only the toilets in the stable block were open at this time of year but they were modern and clean. Plenty of hot water.

Would use again at this time of year in preference to the Caravan club site for the city as it is quieter and closer to the bus service.  


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Laura.breton 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very large site, but it is well managed and was surprisingly quiet at night.

Check in was very busy, but managed efficiently. There is a useful shop which stocks all the basic food items you might want.

The site slopes quite a lot and we wished we brought levellers with us. We tried to buy some at the advertised camping shop but they didnít stock them, which seems like a lost opportunity considering the sloping pitches.

The toilets and showers were clean. The washing up facilities were particularly good. Our granddaughter enjoyed the small play park.

Very handy for the Edinburgh by-pass and on a bus route into the city. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Navigator43 6 reviews from this member

 An excellent site with friendly and helpful staff in a well stocked shop in the Reception block. Good space between units although some were on a slope and required blocks.

Toilet and showers were immaculate and the grounds well kept.

Small recreation room with a large screen TV and children's amusements.

There is a very good independent Bar Restaurant adjoining the site. There is seating both inside the building and also outside in the enclosed cobbled courtyard. However, because of its good reputation and the fact it is open to the public, booking a table is advised, especially at weekends.

Located to the south of Edinburgh on the Edinburgh Bypass this site is ideal for trips to the Royal Yacht Britannia at Leith by going East and Ingleston Showground by going West. There are other attractions for all the family within easy reach.

TV reception was reasonable but WiFi was not so good.

This was our first visit to Mortonhall. But it will not be our last. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dougiemarr 2 reviews from this member

 This is a big site and we were pitched in the middle section quite near a toilet block. The block was clean and modern although it was very busy.

Cubicles are small and had the usual problem trying to get dried in a small area. But I'm a big guy so probably my problem.

It's a good site for Edinburgh with a bus service at the gate beside the garden centre.

Highland cattle in the fields next to the campsite gives plenty of photo opportunities.

We ate in the on site bar/restaurant and were very pleased with the quality of the food on offer.

We would stay here again if visiting Edinburgh in the future. 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SamandRose 21 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights over the Hogmanay celebrations. Which makes trying to review the site a little bit difficult. Partly because the number of other people using the site that weekend were probably far higher than on any other weekend between October and March. But mainly because the weather - arrival on the first day in snow, a howling gale on the second night and driving rain on the third - meant that we really didn't sleep very well. And though that's no fault at all of the site owners, it did make it a bit harder to be objective.

But let's try. The site location is beautiful, our greeting on arrival was friendly and welcoming and buses into Edinburgh conveniently pass the site entrance day and night.

Those are the plus points. Unfortunately everything else was a little bit hit and miss.

For example. Our pitch would have been well-placed for two toilet and shower blocks and some outdoor washing facilities, had they been open. But they were closed for the winter. The closest toilets and showers that worked, whilst clean, well-heated and with ample hot water, were far enough away to really make you not want to walk across in a dressing gown in the morning. Mostly we used our own shower, but that wasn't perfect either because the nearest functioning drinking water tap was also far enough away to make driving to it preferable to walking.

This would have been entirely acceptable had it been reflected in the price we paid. But £96 for three nights on a hardstanding pitch is expensive by any standards, and especially so when not all of what you have paid for is available.

Apart from that, we were happy with our pitch which was secluded and well-spaced from our neighbours. The same cannot be said for some of the pitches closer to the facilities, which were so closely spaced as to be almost on top of each other.

On the first night, we went for a drink in the on-site pub. It's lovely that there is a pub on site, but all of the tables in the bar area were full. Extra seating is available in a back room but the heating wasn't working properly. The next night we booked a table for a meal, on condition that this was in the bar area. This was much more pleasant and the food was very good.

Our experience of this site was an odd sort of swings and roundabouts one then. But we're still really glad we stayed here. Because it allowed us to spend Hogmanay in Edinburgh. And watching Rag'n'Bone Man on stage in Princes Street Gardens, beneath the spectacular firework display from Edinburgh Castle, was just awesome. Not only would we do it again. Everyone should. 


Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edinburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5403 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020