Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park
38 Mortonhall Gate
Frogston Road East
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH16 6TJ
Tel: 0131 664 1533
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Fiona W 196 reviews from this member

 This is our usual site for visiting Edinburgh as the no. 11 bus into town is nearby; this is now contactless and stops debiting at a day ticket's worth (the third single ticket). Our visit this time was for the rugby and the magical "castle of Lights" event.

Grumbles: The check-in process was perfunctory. Our request for a specific siting (made at online booking) had been ignored. The pitch sloped so steeply that our MH chocks couldn't offset it, and I rolled out of bed for 4 nights.

Wi-Fi is now charged - there's an added cost for almost everything at booking, maybe why there were so few awnings. I'd prefer a drive-over MH drain as the manhole cover was awkwardly located and too heavy for me to lift; and the CDP was whiffy when the wind finally dropped.

We like: the farm shop at the entrance is excellent (local produce), otherwise we use Waitrose / M&S in Morningside. The facilities in the stone building (opp laundry) are hugely better than the 'sunken' ones, with good showers (cubicle has 9 hooks, might be a record?).

There are so many dog walks / running / cycling routes (it would be really helpful to have a 1:25, 000 map displayed at Reception) and the walk up to the Braid Hills viewpoint has fabulous views.

In summary, as before, the positives outweigh the negatives and we'd recommend the site. The dog loves it. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ritchieroo 5 reviews from this member

 This site is ideally located for visiting Edinburgh city or the surrounding countryside such as Pentland Hills. We were visiting to have a break and see family living locally in Roslin.

What we liked - great access to everything you would want from Edinburgh. The park itself has a lot to offer with a local pub/restaurant which we didnít visit this time.

It is in a country park with a few short walks with fantastic views. We walked up the Braid Hills with views of the city, the Fife coastline and Isle of May not to mention Arthurís seat etcÖThere are a couple of highland cows in a field alongside the approach road very cute.

We found the facilities were kept very clean and showers were good, not busy as not many tents on site at this time of year so suspect itís busier in summer.

Itís a large site so we hardly had any interaction with staff except checking in, where staff must have been weary as they were not very chatty or wanted to engage in anything other than tell us where our pitch was. Canít say it was the warmest welcome we have received. I suppose larger sites can be rather impersonal.

On the whole nothing to complain about.

Our pitch itself was quite sloping which was just about ok for the caravan but the awning didnít have a great fit to the back of the van. So be aware that many of the pitches are on sloping ground and you will need rock pegs for hardstandings.

Someone pinched 4 of our rock pegs while we were out for an evening which was very annoying. We had to hammer new ones in at 10 at night in the rain and wind. Obviously not the fault of the site management!

If we visited again we would ask for a flatter pitch if available.

There is a play area for children outside and a games room, and some kitchen facilities for tent campers.

Pitch fees are not cheap, and awnings are charged extra, but I suppose it is all about location and popularity. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: LouLiz 30 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights after doing a whistle stop tour of East Scotland with son and family.

Large site but still very peaceful. Had fully serviced pitch as bus stop outside site into Edinburgh so didnít need to move motorhome.

Nice farm shop at entrance with lovely fresh veg, fish, bread etc.

Shower block/toilets were always spotless.

Well placed site - would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Bearkr 1 review from this member

 Clean, tidy and well run site.

Very helpful staff, even if you turn up a day early 😀😀

Bus stop to Edinburgh at the front gate.

Recommended for families, young couples or mature peeps who ( like us think we are still in our 20s.

Use it as a stop off point while on a tour of Scotland.

You wont be disappointed 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Simon3 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site and location

Everything was brilliant on site and so peaceful

Will definitely be back

Oh and the garden centre at the top of drive is brill too and the stable bar and restaurant 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jance 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site at which we were welcomed. Very COVID aware and precautions taken and required information taken prior to arrival.

Reception staff efficient and helpful. A small shop with groceries and camping essentials is in reception.

Our pitch was spacious with access to a picnic bench. Well presented and very clean bathrooms and showers.

A bus stop is directly outside the site with buses into Edinburgh. This is a frequent and efficient taking about 30 minutes to Princes street and and hour to then Ocean Terminal where Royal Britannia is berthed. This was an enjoyable day out and the scones on board were delicious! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barnsleyspud 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent location on outskirts of Edinburgh regular bus service to town which is excellent.

Farmshop and garden centre at the gate.

Reception very efficient and housed a well stocked shop.

Pitch good with a bench and table included.

Showers and toilets excellent, kitchen, laundry facilities and a TV room all readily available.

Restaurant and bar on site which serves good food and tea and coffee and alcohol.

Excellent reception staff and cleaning undertaken several times a day.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mima28 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Well laid out. Clean and well cared for. Staff helpful.

Not a bad comment to give on any aspect of my stay. I was away for a couple of days with my lifelong friend. A break from the men and housework.

I enjoyed my stay immensely. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caz58 2 reviews from this member

 Expensive! Small pitches, shower block was freezing as the heater was not put on even though there was a frost.

Showers and toilet need a good clean. Washing up water was not hot enough.

However great location to visit Edinburgh as lots of buses go past £4.50 each return. Lots of kids. 


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Planet 1 review from this member

 Lovely location, out in the country but with a quick and frequent bus service to the heart of the city.

I was a late arrival and was delighted the staff has left very clear instructions for me.

The loos and showers were clean and nice.

All the staff I spoke to were very welcoming and helpful.

On the downside I could have done with WiFi yet even the phone signal was weedy. 
via mobile


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edinburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


255 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement