Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park
38 Mortonhall Gate
Frogston Road East
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH16 6TJ
Tel: 0131 664 1533
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 115 Reviews
                8/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gambeson 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for a weekend visit to Edinburgh.

Only a 10 minute walk to bus stop with regular service every 15 minutes. This is a large site which I think would be chocker in the summer with not much room between units, but very pleasent off season.

Girls at reception very pleasent and check in was stressless.

Only the toilets in the stable block were open at this time of year but they were modern and clean. Plenty of hot water.

Would use again at this time of year in preference to the Caravan club site for the city as it is quieter and closer to the bus service.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Laura.breton 4 reviews from this member

This is a very large site, but it is well managed and was surprisingly quiet at night.

Check in was very busy, but managed efficiently. There is a useful shop which stocks all the basic food items you might want.

The site slopes quite a lot and we wished we brought levellers with us. We tried to buy some at the advertised camping shop but they didnít stock them, which seems like a lost opportunity considering the sloping pitches.

The toilets and showers were clean. The washing up facilities were particularly good. Our granddaughter enjoyed the small play park.

Very handy for the Edinburgh by-pass and on a bus route into the city.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Navigator43 6 reviews from this member

An excellent site with friendly and helpful staff in a well stocked shop in the Reception block. Good space between units although some were on a slope and required blocks.

Toilet and showers were immaculate and the grounds well kept.

Small recreation room with a large screen TV and children's amusements.

There is a very good independent Bar Restaurant adjoining the site. There is seating both inside the building and also outside in the enclosed cobbled courtyard. However, because of its good reputation and the fact it is open to the public, booking a table is advised, especially at weekends.

Located to the south of Edinburgh on the Edinburgh Bypass this site is ideal for trips to the Royal Yacht Britannia at Leith by going East and Ingleston Showground by going West. There are other attractions for all the family within easy reach.

TV reception was reasonable but WiFi was not so good.

This was our first visit to Mortonhall. But it will not be our last.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dougiemarr 2 reviews from this member

This is a big site and we were pitched in the middle section quite near a toilet block. The block was clean and modern although it was very busy.

Cubicles are small and had the usual problem trying to get dried in a small area. But I'm a big guy so probably my problem.

It's a good site for Edinburgh with a bus service at the gate beside the garden centre.

Highland cattle in the fields next to the campsite gives plenty of photo opportunities.

We ate in the on site bar/restaurant and were very pleased with the quality of the food on offer.

We would stay here again if visiting Edinburgh in the future.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamandRose 17 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights over the Hogmanay celebrations. Which makes trying to review the site a little bit difficult. Partly because the number of other people using the site that weekend were probably far higher than on any other weekend between October and March. But mainly because the weather - arrival on the first day in snow, a howling gale on the second night and driving rain on the third - meant that we really didn't sleep very well. And though that's no fault at all of the site owners, it did make it a bit harder to be objective.

But let's try. The site location is beautiful, our greeting on arrival was friendly and welcoming and buses into Edinburgh conveniently pass the site entrance day and night.

Those are the plus points. Unfortunately everything else was a little bit hit and miss.

For example. Our pitch would have been well-placed for two toilet and shower blocks and some outdoor washing facilities, had they been open. But they were closed for the winter. The closest toilets and showers that worked, whilst clean, well-heated and with ample hot water, were far enough away to really make you not want to walk across in a dressing gown in the morning. Mostly we used our own shower, but that wasn't perfect either because the nearest functioning drinking water tap was also far enough away to make driving to it preferable to walking.

This would have been entirely acceptable had it been reflected in the price we paid. But £96 for three nights on a hardstanding pitch is expensive by any standards, and especially so when not all of what you have paid for is available.

Apart from that, we were happy with our pitch which was secluded and well-spaced from our neighbours. The same cannot be said for some of the pitches closer to the facilities, which were so closely spaced as to be almost on top of each other.

On the first night, we went for a drink in the on-site pub. It's lovely that there is a pub on site, but all of the tables in the bar area were full. Extra seating is available in a back room but the heating wasn't working properly. The next night we booked a table for a meal, on condition that this was in the bar area. This was much more pleasant and the food was very good.

Our experience of this site was an odd sort of swings and roundabouts one then. But we're still really glad we stayed here. Because it allowed us to spend Hogmanay in Edinburgh. And watching Rag'n'Bone Man on stage in Princes Street Gardens, beneath the spectacular firework display from Edinburgh Castle, was just awesome. Not only would we do it again. Everyone should.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jhopey 3 reviews from this member

Friendly staff on arrival, explaining the ins and outs of the site as well as the bus into Edinburgh.

The pitch itself was supposed to a premium one but it was very very sloped. Water and electricity was all fine.

We didn't use the showers or toilets but the chemical toilet was just a metal box. Not the cleanest but it did the job.

The on site pub was really good and every aspect of the site was dog friendly. I'd guess it took around 40 mins on the bus into Edinburgh so it's great for sightseeing.

Got busy at the weekend and that's in the middle of November.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Victoria1999 3 reviews from this member

Difficult to find as our SatNav sent us to a housing estate, happens a lot according to other people on site, however when we got there it was fine. Friendly staff and plenty of them. The place was heaving with tents and caravans as it is very close to Edinburgh and a bus into the city stops outside the gate, so very convenient. Went during the Fringe Festival which added to the amount of units. Used our own facilities as the site could not cope with the number of people. These facilities were kept clean despite the high usage rate. Site sloping so blocks a necessity and very waterlogged. We have a large car and small caravan so no problem but the staff will bring a tractor to move you if you get stuck. The site suited us as we needed to go to Edinburgh when we did but I would not choose for a normal week away.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AngelaPerry 4 reviews from this member

A clean and spacious site - well managed. All facilities clean and tidy. We had a grass pitch, which unfortunately due to the weather was a bit muddy but near to under cover washing up facilities which was useful.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Elmo22 5 reviews from this member

We stayed three nights in a wigwam it was fantastic, the wigwam was clean comfortable and cosy, facilities were great, loads of toilets, washing up areas, chemical disposal, rubbish bins around the site the staff were all lovely. We came to go to Musselburgh harness racing event the site was perfect for this.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

We Stopped at this site for a very convenient stopover on route south. We were made very welcome at reception and allocated a pitch which was hardstanding long but narrow which means driving in or reversing made it difficult not to churn up the grass at the corners with 7. 5 metre Motorhome. The site is well laid out on a hill. There were excellent views from the top of the site over Edinburgh and surrounding area. There was and excellent play park for those with children. There was a main toilet block and 2 other satellite blocks which were closed despite the start of April and the site being busy. The main toilet block was quite small and in need of a bit a refurbishment. The shower I picked was only a trickle and one of the toilet seats was off. There was a shop on site which was very well stocked with groceries and caravan camping goods. We had our dog and there is excellent dog walks from the site. A great site for a stopover or visiting Edinburgh but not for a long term stay for us. I would and probably will return.

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1272 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019