Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park
38 Mortonhall Gate
Frogston Road East
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH16 6TJ
Tel: 0131 664 1533
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 150 Reviews
                8/10 from 150 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  150 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colleywobble 14 reviews from this member

 On arriving at this site overall impression was high, check in was easy reception was very nice, but all that changed when we eventually found our pitch which was a hard standing that was just about wide enough to get my motorhome on you then step out into either mud or overgrown grass, two pitches here would make one elsewhere, it looks like they have crammed as many pitches in has they could.

There is also a lack of paths to the shower block and bin areas resulting in people walking through pitches.

Worst site I have stayed on for a long time and not the cheapest.

The only thing going for it is itís location. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DylanOES 31 reviews from this member

 Mortonhall is like the curate's egg - good in parts, but more than a few negative points that could be easily rectified.

Firstly the positives:-

Excellent quiet location close to the city centre with an excellent bus service.

Superb pub in the old stables block - courtyard seating, good beers (and everything else) and very good food - all reasonably priced and dog-friendly.

Plenty of places for dog walks.

Good shop.

Very pleasant and helpful staff.

Now for the rest.

The site is set mostly on a gentle slope, but no effort has been made to level the pitches - they all follow the contours. On our first pitch sloping in two directions, it was impossible to get even close to level. Fortunately we were offered another pitch at the bottom of the slope and this was fine.

There is a new facilities block under construction (which should have all necessary facilities, based on its size) which will be a welcome addition, since all the other established facilities blocks are tired, lacking in maintenance and not always clean.

The only 'assisted shower-room facility' is tucked away in the corner of the stone buildings, on the edge of the site so with a long treck for some people. And frankly it is in an appalling state - some 'fixtures' which are no longer fixed have just been left on the windowsill - the shower drain cover is in a disgusting state, and I am quite sure that germs are there.

Some temporary toilet facilities are new and clean, but one closest to us was without hand-wash and paper towels for 2-days. Toilet rolls are not put in the holders and just left on a shelf over the cisterns - altogether not very civilised.

The laundry is a joke - there are three domestic washers and dryers and one commercial dryer. Two of the washing machines and two of the driers were out of service for our entire 2-week stay.

The management needs to get a grip of their cleaning service and do a bit more maintenance (no doubt putting it off until the new facility is open). We would only return once the new facilities block is open and if we could reserve one of a small number of pitches that are level and well located.

And to cap it all, this is the most expensive per-night site we have stayed at (15 so far) this year. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Keithometune 1 review from this member

 Clean and well cared for site, friendly staff,

Only six miles from the city centre.

Will definitely use again.

Lots of toilets and showers so even though site was full no queues 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: QuentinB 1 review from this member

 The stone built washrooms were excellent, the ones in the main part of the site were less so.

Kitchen area well appointed and the washing machine room was an added bonus.

The addition of a games room for the children situated away from pitches was a great idea, keeping those younger minds quietly occupied always a great idea.

Bus into city centre so convenient. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie8 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately noisy building works to the new toilet block started early,

However it will improve the site facilities, as at the moment thereís portacabin ones.

Reasonably priced and good bus service into Edinburgh centre. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeanba 1 review from this member

 Stayed for the Fringe, booked well in advance as gets booked up.

Handy for bus service into the city but quiet location

Clean and well kept site, helpful reception.

Pitches spacious. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Waterjule 1 review from this member

 This was our second stay at Mortonhall but we were disappointed on this occasion.

I booked six night's back in January for August 8 - 15th.

The pitch we were allocated was a in the bus park (pitch 5).

It was awful, a circle of large hardcore with pitches not numbered and no grass.

Parked there was a full size bus with it's contents including furnishings out on benches.

We asked to move and were told that our allocated pitch should have been near the building work that was going on and we had been moved to get us away from the noise. We were still 15m within earshot of it so this didn't make sense.

It was proving difficult for the member of staff to move us. I said that we could go on a grass pitch if there was no hardstanding one's available but was told our mh was too big. It's 7. 6m. She did in the end move us and we had a much better pitch, all be it on a slope. However there were huge mh's of 9m or more behind us on grass pitches!

Misinformation was given often by different staff members.

Although the site was supposed to be full (turned up with a problem with our mh a day early and was charged £41 for the night in the overspill car park) many spaces stayed empty the whole of our six night stay.

Showers, toilet and sinks in each room seem like a good idea but they are not clean. One door swollen with the damp and I got stuck in it (thank you to the gentleman who pushed the door in for me to escape). Toilet seats are loose and it has dirty floors in many of them. I stayed on the site for two days within view of the facilities and never saw anyone cleaning them and never when I was using them.

We did not like the mixed block either.

The bins are not sufficient for the amount of people staying in that area and one day they were not emptied but the gulls had food for the day!

Someone came and tidied up but the bins were still overflowing and not emptied!

The biggest problem is the total apathy to security.

I must have missed the information about a bike store but that should not alter the fact that the management know their is a huge problem with bike theft and appear to accept this as the 'norm'!

An attempt at stealing our e bike batteries and then sawing through a cable to steal the bikes was met with stroppyness and "we've got a bike store". No looking at cctv (camera close to our pitch) or even logging the attempt.

On the positive. The site has a good shop, wine expensive but good selection of products.

This site needs a new manager, one who is dynamic, caring and customer focused. After all at £41 per night for a motorhome with two adults it is not exactly cheap, but staying here it felt like a budget site.

If things improved I would consider returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 223 reviews from this member

 This is our usual site for visiting Edinburgh. We do this most years, for the rugby or the exhibitions, but we're usually here in the autumn - not just before the Festival.

If it wasn't for the handy bus into town, the excellent farm shop at the entrance, and the many varied (dog) walks on the hills and in the estate - none of which are "thanks to" the site - I doubt that we'd come back.

We certainly won't come back in mid summer again, as the site was rammed, with most MHs stopping one night only, arriving late and leaving early; we had to move our chairs to let vehicles pass between us and the next pitch to reach the row behind.

Facilities struggled with the numbers (maybe due to the lower toilet block still being rebuilt); always queues for toilets and showers; blocked toilets; flooded "wet rooms"; overflowing bins; queues for the central MH service point that blocked the access road (please install a drive over drain! there'd be no need to waste time manoeuvring over a metal cover that's anyway too heavy to lift safely).

Finally, we had a sloping pitch as usual and had to go up 200mm onto the chocks, with a nasty experience reversing off when the chocks skidded forwards on the wet loose gravel before we were off them.

Staff are pleasant. Friends reported the on-site eatery is "just pub food".

Yes we'll be back because of the bus etc, but out of season only from now on and possibly on grass as those pitches are flatter. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackfield 8 reviews from this member

 The site is reasonably close to Edinburgh and there are bus services running frequently. We stayed to go to the Fringe.

The good point is the Stables Restaurant was really good, welcoming staff and good food and drink.

The bad points were, we were given a pitch number of N2 and given a map. The site is massive compared to others we have stayed in. There were no markings for N. We saw Pitch markings, D, H, I, J, but no N. We went around the site 3 times and had to ask other campers if they knew where it was. Eventually a helpful person, showed us where it was. He was in I and it was a few pitches from him. There was a stone in the grass with N2 on it, but you could hardly make it out.

The pitch was really sloping, and we were afraid the caravan was going to run down the hill. There seemed to be people camping all over the place, no set spots, just park and camp where you wanted, or it appeared that way.

There was a van backed really close to us, so when we opened the door, they were there. What about Health and Safety standards. I thought you were supposed to be a certain distance away. Not enough electric points, people were wandering around trying to find an electric point.

The toilet block by us was abysmal. Unisex toilets and showers. There were queues to use toilets and showers as the toilet and shower were in the same cubicle.

There were no separate toilets and when you went to the toilet, the floors were soaked from the shower, as there was no curtain. Apparently there were some further down the field, so I am only commenting on the ones by where we were.

It is the worst site I have ever stayed at. It was extremely busy but then it was August bank holiday. Certainly will give this one a miss in future. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bart1966 5 reviews from this member

 Very nice and relaxed campsite. Spacious. Lots of waterpoints.

Close to the city, yet still quietly set in a green environment.

Very friendly staff. Fine shop.

Bar/restaurant near the entrance (haven't tried, but looks nice).

Would certainly stay here again, when I visit Edinburgh next time. 


Previous     150 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mortonhall Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edinburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3530 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement