Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Llyn Gwynant Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Hafod Lwyfog
Nantgwynant
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NW
Tel: 01766 890 302
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 440
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 189 reviews from this member

A return trip after 3 years for me and we used this as a base to walk Snowdon.

I booked online and whilst the prices are just £10 per adult, £2 per dog and £2 for hookup, they also charge a £5 booking fee, which pushes the price up. If you just turn up and pay you don;t get charged this, but if you need to secure electric, then it adds quite a chunk on to the price, however this would not put me off from returning.

There have been a few developments over the past three years and they have now built an area for the pizza sales but nothing was open due to the time of year.

The pitches are hardstanding and stayed fairly dry despite the terrible weather and the hookup coped with the heater and fridge without any problems.

The toilet and showers were kept clean and the shower was powerful and very hot, which was needed after the hike up Snowdon with 50mph winds and plenty of snow.

There is a laundry here with tumble dryers too and it looks like they are making a nice big shop in the reception area.

They could do with sorting out some of the huge dips in the paths and roads as these fill up so quickly with water and make a trip to the facilities block quite difficult, especially after dark

There is zero phone reception, but this is one of the beauties of this site, back to nature, hire a kayak and play on the lake, or simply sit back and admire the stunning views.

Llanberis, Bedgellert, Anglesey, etc are all close by and there is plenty to see and do in the area and you can walk Snowdon from the site if you wish.

Small shops in Llanberis for everything you need.

I will be back, but when I come back I will not pre-book as I won;t need electric and save the £5 booking fee.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gypsydi 7 reviews from this member

We have stayed here several times and love it. This time there was even electric hook up. It is expensive but I guess location, location. Not being so able bodied as the years go by, so we can catch the bus to Pen y pas and walk back down or catch the bus the other way and walk back along side lake. The facilities on site are the best that can be managed and it is a laid back rustic style camp site and we will be staying there again. Love it.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heath63 13 reviews from this member

Took a chance by arriving over bank holiday Sunday, this was my second choice, because my intended site had some problems.

Llyn Gwynant had been on my wish list, the scenery is stunning, centrally located for Capel Curig and Beddgelert.

The staff were friendly, chatty and hard working. The site offers breakfasts, pizzas and has a small shop for basic items.

Fires are allowed, need to use their firepits, it was great for the evening and to cook on. The site sells firewood for £5 a bag. They offer outdoor activities for those who enjoy absorbing, climbing kayaking.

They do have EHU, these need to be booked. Otherwise just turn up. They have one shower within the ladies, however behind the block they do have further unisex showers and additional portacabins.

There isn't any signal or Wi-Fi if need to be connected you need to go further afield.

The downside to this campsite, it's very popular over the Bank Holiday. I did manage to find a less crowded space. The fields by the river, were packed in like sardines, because people were pitching too close together. Thankfully my main camping is out of season.

There are carpark and or park at the edges of the field which are lined by stones. With the lay of the land, choose your pitch carefully as areas become waterlogged.

On the whole, it's my type of site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samba07 3 reviews from this member

It is very easy to give this campsite the Fullmark, due to the charm of the sightseeing by the camp. But in fact, it cannot be evaluated on the basis of sightseeing only, especially since the camp has no choice but to choose it.

Regarding facilities, the place - like many other camp sites - is good and clean, not so wonderful but good.

Grass: Grass is very long in non-tent sites and is short or absent in designated sites. The normal result is a lot of mud everywhere, especially in such North Wales weather.

Communications: I understand that the site is isolated and not covered by any mobile network, and this not related to the camp, but the camp has a landline and therefore the possibility of installing a Wi-Fi network, and I think they already have one as you can easily capture the incepted network around the reception desk. Internet service even the very slow one may provide visitors the possibility to contact their families and friends especially in emergencies, and will provide those who have work to follow up moment by moment (like myself) the possibility of following up their emails and communication through various Apps. I think the camp is very, very short on this point, especially with the absence of mobile networks.

The place is not organized to some extent, The campers (without prior reservation and EHU) are allowed to camp randomly between the other tents, which creates unjustified overcrowding, and there are no fixed corridors to walk between the tents, especially in the case of everywhere mud.

There are no water sources close to the tent areas and we had no solution but to go to the toilets / showers area to get water.

The camp shop does not offer all essential items especially in this isolated place and its prices are very high.

Other than that, I and my family enjoyed the glorious view of the camp and enjoyed hiking around the magnificent mountain and around the shores of the lake and the river.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Homebrewstermatthew 7 reviews from this member

This is a large and very well located site. It was populated by a complete mix of people; school groups, couples, families. Although busy the site was very peaceful and I thought everyone was considerate of one another.

Toilets and showers were in good nick. Showers nice and warm and with good pressure.

Jones' pizza company offer fresh made wood fired pizzas which were really welcome after a day walking up Snowdon.

The campsite is a little over an hour's walk from pen-y-pass from where you can take either the miners or PYG track. We chose the miners track which starts as a very enjoyable and not too challenging walk. The last third sees some scrambling up the rocks!

All in all I thought this was a lovely site. Nice scenery and well looked after.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 189 reviews from this member

This is just what camping is all about, tons of tents, families and groups getting together, large fields, great views. Perfect for me.

I wanted to do some hiking so chose this site as it is fairly close to the paths leading you to Snowdon. I emailed for availability and was advised that as I didnít need electric then to just turn up. I did just that and was charged £10 per person. The welcome was great, was shown where to pitch and other than someone coming round in the evening to check my ticket, I was left alone.

You can buy essentals on site, gas cartridges, etc. And there is a box where people can leave unused items for others to take if need be.

There is a cafť of sorts on site offering pizza, burgers etc. And there is a breakfast bar offering bacon butties, etc. For around £4 each.

Pitches are all around the edge of the road with some offering river picthes, others in the middle of the fields. I chose one near the river and it was lovely. You can swim in the river, use your canoes, dingys, etc. If you donít bring your own you can hire canoes too.

There are plenty of facilities, 8 showers for men and these are push button and hot, clean and did the job, 6 toilets, washing up area, washing machine and dryer. All very clean and well maintained.

I did find that the midges were out in force in the evenings, but that is the price you pay for such a great location. It didnít bother me, as I just went inside when it got too bad.

It rained and it rained and the site got very waterlogged, I was worried about getting stuck in the mud, but managed ok to get out.

This site attracts groups of families, school groups, scouts, guides, etc. And I was initially worried as it was still noisy into the early evening, however this soon quietened down and by 10pm it was pretty much silent.

You can hire fire pits and buy the wood from them and plenty of people were which made for a nice atmosphere in the evening.

For walking you can take the Watkin path from the site, however on reading about the route it sounded quite epic and with the rain we had I decided against this route and opted to walk up to Pen-y-Pas and take the Miners Route for a bit. The walk up the hill to Pen-y-Pas is hard, but once on the Miners Path it was well worth it.

I would stay again, but perhaps choose an electric pitch if rain is forecast as these seem better protected from the swamp like conditions. Although next time I might choose a site with wifi as there is absolutely zero phone reception here.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ngrant01 2 reviews from this member

10 out of 10 for me.

The good points:

1) Stunning location, on site lake and stream to go swimming/kayaking/skimming

2) Option to book out for large groups (as we did)

3) They are good at keeping on top of noise control (even if we did have a rowdy group next to us until all hours one night)

4) Onsite facilities very clean and maintained

5) Onsite breakfast (not used) and pizza place (used and very delicious!)

6) Value for money is great, £10 per adult per night for any sized tent is excellent value for money

The only bad points I have are very minor and only an inconvenience to me rather than a bad reflection on the site:

1) the midgies!

2) you cannot drive up to your designated area which was an issue getting the trailer to where I wanted it, thankfully had abled bodies to help me

3) I'd like the dog walking area to be a bit nicer than a bit of overgrown land to swamp across.

Will be returning on our own one time during the summer, hopefully electric hookup which they do appear to have

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Safetyguy 2 reviews from this member

This is an updated review, We got there at about 11:30 on the Friday of the August Bank Holiday weekend.

I came here with my son-in-law and (8yr old) grandson on this visit and strangely enough the weather forecast wasn't looking too good when we got there this time either!

I had much more interaction with the staff this time and they really are a great bunch of people. When I was booking in, someone said they'd used a review on UKcampsite to choose this site from 'someone called Safetyguy'! I couldn't help it, I had to blow my anonymity!

The ground on this site usually drains quite well, but it must have been raining quite a bit during the week because after some very heavy rain on Friday night (all night from 23:00 till 09:30), the surface water didn't have anywhere to go and every depression was now a little lake. You can't give a site a bad review just because of the weather, however, if it has been raining a bit before your stay, I'd suggest you try to pitch-up on a high point

The facilities were pretty good and I had no issue with the showers or toilets which were cleaned regularly - and there was always loo roll and hand-wash in there. As it was August Bank Hol weekend, the site was 'heaving', I've never seen it so busy and for the first time ever, there was a queue for the toilets at 09:00! However it only entailed a 5 min wait (if that!) - and that was only on the Sunday morning! I suppose that's a consequence of it being a popular site!

I didn't use the shop or pizza place again but going by the queue for coffee in the morning and pizzas later on it looked really popular!

This time we did use the boat hire and hired a Canadian canoe which was a little on the pricey side at £18 for an hour!

The dish-wash area didn't have any hot water on my last visit, but there was plenty available this time.

Last time I said that the grass is kept nice and short in the camping areas which are nicely laid out and looked after and this was still the case. Due to the amount of rain that must have fallen during the week, the grassed vehicle parking areas became quite 'boggy' and 'sinky' and the main pedestrian routes around the pitches became a bit on the muddy side, but what do you expect after nearly a week of rain on a grassed area? Even with the ground being so wet, tent-pegs still stayed in quite well.

Bedgellert is just down the road and although there's no 'magic-hole-in-the-wall' there, the local shop/post office (which has been done-up since my last visit) are quite happy to do 'cash-back'! The copper mine is a must if you've got kids and there's a nice walk on the side of the mountain or by the lake.

The site's rules on noise - no generators, radios or amplified music mean it generally stays nice and quiet. There was someone in the next field to ours who thought that those rules didn't apply to them and no-one would do anything about it when they played loud music, but we heard one of the site rangers quad bikes and he promptly put a stop to that!

Despite it being really busy there were plenty of the free fire-pits to go around, to reiterate; you can only buy the wood from the site - which stops people collecting wood till there's no trees left, and the site is a business after-all! Besides, at a fiver a bag, it's the same price as anywhere else and you get enough wood to last all evening!

Despite the weather, we had a great time - my son-in-law & grandson absolutely loved it - and we will be back - again!

As I said in the last review, the prices are sensible and not 'greedy'. Despite them having been increased this year, I still see this site as reasonably priced & good value for money.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Safetyguy 2 reviews from this member

A friend and I stayed here over Easter weekend last year (2014).

The weather wasn't looking too good when we got there, but it got better, which was good for us as we were going to 'do' Snowdon on the Sunday.

It's a couple of miles up the road to the cafe and car park at the base of the Miners and Pyg paths up Snowdon. For my level of fitness at that time it was too far for me to walk as well as going to the summit, so for me, driving there was the preferred option.

The facilities were pretty good and I had no issue with the showers or toilets which were cleaned regularly - and there was always loo roll and hand-wash in there.

I didn't use the shop, pizza place or the boat hire so I can't really comment on them!

There is a dish-wash area which was OK (only OK because there wasn't any hot water!).

The grass is kept nice and short in the camping areas which are nicely laid out and looked after.

The ground isn't too stony or hard, so tent-pegs are easy to put in/take out and they stay in quite well.

You can't park next to your tent (I guess this is to protect the grass), but the parking areas are quite close so you don't have to lug your kit too far.

Stand-pipes are reasonably well placed so you don't have to carry a heavy water container too far back to the tent.

I didn't have much interaction with the staff, only paying and them showing us the choice of places to pitch - but they were friendly and polite. They were really helpful when we asked about places to go for food shopping too!

The scenery around there is lovely and just begs to be photographed.

Bedgellert is just down the road and although there's no 'magic-hole-in-the-wall' there, the local shop was quite happy to do 'cash-back'as well as being quite impressed with my few words of pre-learned Welsh!

The site's rules on noise - no generators, radios or amplified music meant it was nice and quiet. There was someone gently playing an acoustic guitar (quite well too!) somewhere on the site but they'd finished by 22:30 which complied with the site rules.

There were two groups of four tents in our field which were having a barbecue over the sites fire-pits after it'd got dark, but they were quiet and didn't disturb anyone. I slept well anyway!

Incidentally, the fire-pits are free, but you can only buy the wood from the site - which, I can understand because the site is a business after-all!

And I suppose it also stops people collecting wood till there's no trees left!

Besides, it isn't too expensive and you get enough wood to last all evening.

The prices are sensible and not 'greedy'. Despite them having been increased this year, I still see this site as reasonably priced/good value for money.

Now then, would I go back there? Definitely! In fact I'm going this August (2015) for the bank holiday weekend with my son-in-law and my grandson for a 'boys weekend camp-out'. When we get back, I'll do another review which will include 'Child Friendliness'

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kitana8 5 reviews from this member

This was the second time I have been to this campsite and won't be the last!

They seem to have put their prices up this year to £10 per person on bank holidays which is a bit of a bummer but you get what you pay for as they say.

Amazing facilities, friendly and helpful staff and plenty of space to pitch.

Still haven't tried the on site pizza which does look amazing so will have to try at some point. There are kayaks etc for added fun. Got 2 hours for £6 but it was quiet but can't beat it. Will definitely have to try the gorge walking at some point!

I would seriously recommend everyone to this site, location is perfect as it's quite and have views to die for.

Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019