Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Llyn Gwynant Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Nantgwynant > Llyn Gwynant Campsite Reviews

Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Hafod Lwyfog
Nantgwynant
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NW
Tel: 01766 890 302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 440
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Emily50427nee 1 review from this member

 A fantastically located site for snowdonia hiking.

Arrival quite late on the Friday - and the reception was still open (7. 45pm) and a friendly welcome and smooth check-in.

Site and amenities were clean. I just wish I had time to explore the site apart from pitching up and late on both nights and early starts!

Would highly recommend and definitely be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Arnoldbongo 7 reviews from this member

 Gywnie is my favourite campsite. We have been so many times with friends or just us two and the three pouches. Summer is amazing as they have canoe and paddle board hire, pizza and a bar on site.

We tend to like off season then its quieter. You can walk into beggelert or up snowdon. There are lots of shorter walks available too. My favourite is to the waterfall or around the lake.

There's a good selection in the site shop and the staff are extremely helpful.

All year its my favourite. Swimming in the lake in summer or cosy (free) fire pits in the winter

Cant score for children as we don't have any. There's no on site play area but for real camping kids there's ducks, streams and tree swings to find 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Cdkeivit 2 reviews from this member

 Llyn Gwynant sits in a beautiful location at the top end of Nant Gwynant, about 10 minutes outside of Beddgelert. The site is divided into several different areas, providing spaces for caravans along the main road near the reception building, and tents in level fields along the River Glaslyn.

There is a large, sandy beach (although early September doesn't lend itself to taking a dip!), with rentable kayaks, canoes and stand-up paddleboards.

The reception building has a small store providing the basics, along with a large washing-up area, laundry facility and separate-sex toilets. There are unisex showers along the back of the building, with one handicap-accessible.

One of the nicest amenities at Llyn Gwynant is the Jones Pizza Company outlet, serving delicious wood-fired pizzas (most for under £10), as well as Pieminster pies. During high season and weekends breakfast and packed lunches are available. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jdeepo15852jl 1 review from this member

 Ridiculous from start to finish, purely seems like they’ve used the bank holiday for financial gain and nothing more.

We’d booked ‘wild’ camping which we were fully aware of, so we looked at finding a pitch and it was simply ridiculous, none of the land was suitable for pitching a tent, grass below hip height and nothing remotely level!

So we asked for something more suitable, to which we were told we could drive our car to the side of the pitch, however, the owner/organiser has obviously never tried to drive a car onto said area.

We weren’t the only group of people in the same predicament but luckily for us we were only 2 hours away from home.

Amazingly disappointing experience after the pictures and previous reviews told/sold a completely different site.

An amazing location, just maintenance of their fields would provide a better experience for all. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Danni Flaherty 3 reviews from this member

 Travelling from the direction of Capel Curig, we noted the excessive volume of traffic double parked along the road near Snowdon, many had parking tickets so beware! Along the road were many cyclists too, please be considerate and aware, decrease your speed and give them plenty of space.

Further along the road, the vista down across the lake is quite breath-taking, the campsite has an enviable position. Turning right, we entered the campsite. Cars were everywhere, it certainly was busy! You have to check into the main office before selecting a pitch, the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

We were staying for one night only and needed a campsite that allowed dogs, this campsite did but only when tethered in certain areas. If you have a dog, use a spiral dog spike so you can erect your tent and keep doggie happy.

There is a hot food kiosk selling pizzas, steaks etc, picnic benches and a bar, many would like this but I'm afraid that this isn't my cup of tea. I can imagine if you have a family, this campsite is perfect, it reminded me of an all-inclusive scenario.

No music is to be played at any level on the site, unless acoustic and live. Noise is to be kept to a minimum after 11pm but the trio adjacent to our tent laughed and talked loudly until 2. 30am. I found the tents quite close to eachother but to be fair, my snoring probably wasn't welcome!

Ironically, despite the open and enviable location, I felt claustrophobic here. I understand that this site is a business but it felt a little bit like Butlin's. It is a great site for those that love being catered to a bit more with a bit of TLC, I suppose I am just a bit too independent.

The campsite isn't too far from Bedgellert so all in all, I would recommend for community groups, young couples and fun seekers. Although not my thing, it's great for others, for that reason, I can only award a score of 10/10 on there behalf. I wouldn't like my preferences to put anyone off. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: RichCollins 1 review from this member

 I love this site, always spectacular, always clean. Super friendly staff and the new shop is excellent.

Gutted that Jones Pizza wasn’t open in their new building on this visit.

Highly recommended. Will defo be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ahukcamps 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely setting, but extremely busy at weekends. With no set pitches they cram in as many campers as they can.

Weekdays are fine, but would recommend avoiding weekends if you can especially in the summer. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Thejackienixon@hotm 2 reviews from this member

 Great base for walking up Snowdon.

I chose this site primarily for its location, but also because of the beautiful situation by a lake. Neither disappointed.

We arrived the Monday prior to Easter weekend in our campervan, on to our pre booked pitch along a hedge with electric hookup. Their website was good and informative. You just need to understand that different units are strategically placed for various reasons.

The site was relatively quiet and there was a strict no playing music rule. A few school groups passed through on one night stays, and some were noisy but not late and they were just high spirited. Perfectly acceptable.

The site is quite remote as far as amenities. The nearest shops would be a 20 minute drive. For this reason we were a bit disappointed that the shop was not better stocked. When we needed milk they had none, and on another occasion no bread. This may have been due to time of year.

Now the season is fully up and running that may have changed. If we went again I would be better prepared. There was the opportunity to have pizza or pies in the evening from outside catering running from a well equipped clean kitchen area. We had the pizza. Very good! Also at the end of our stay just prior to Easter Bank Holiday weekend a second kitchen opened and they were selling coffees, breakfasts and beers. They were to start doing bread products too.

The other great food opportunity we found  was Cafe Gwynant. This was situated near the start of the Watkins path. So walkable in about 45 mins around the lake. Maybe quicker if you go the road side. This didn't look much from the road when we had passed on the car. We hadn't noticed it was once a Chapel so really bright spacious and airy. The food was gorgeous! Well worth a visit. Lots to look at in side and outside too. Plenty of seating.

Each evening we were able to keep warm round a camp fire as the site provide (free of charge) big fire pits that are plentiful. Their only stipulation is that you buy their wood. This came in a handy bag with fire lighters and kindling. Very well thought out.

The washing up facilities were good and there is also a couple of microwave ovens and a tap for boiling water. Very handy for those with limited cooking facilities.

Showers were OK, but few. They were hot and clean, but don't expect any luxury. Same with loos. Staff were regularly attentive to cleaning these too. There were more temporary showers dotted around the site for high season though.

The site is exceptional as far as having the lake views and made even better by being able to hire kayaks, canoes or paddle boards to go on /in it! Obviously it is cold so a wetsuit advisable. The river may have been slightly warmer and due to its clarity was a slightly more attractive play area.

As for walking up Snowdon, we walked around the right hand side of the lake from  the campsite and joined the Watkins path. The route was very good with beautiful scenery. The last bit is hard and has loose scree so you need to be flexible and a bit hardy. At the top we were a bit shocked at the amount of people! This was before the train had started too! We saw very few people enroute though, so a good path from that respect.

We then took our decent via the miners track to finish at Pen-y- Pass. Here there is a youth hostel with a bar. We were able to get a well earned beer whilst waiting for the bus back to the campsite. This was not frequent so we were lucky, but it was as stated on the timetable at the stop. To top it all the bus driver was also a knowledgeable tour guide who shouted back to us various interesting facts! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ilusby 4 reviews from this member

 This site was booked by a friend for our group as a base for our Snowden walk. The weather had been absolutely atrocious so the site was a bit of a mud bath but we found our EHU pitches easily enough.

Having arrived in pitch black, the view in the morning was absolutely stunning. The site is surrounded by hills and has a river and lake as part of the site. Thankfully the rain had ceased in the morning for our ascent on Snowden.

After the climb the facilities at the site whee most welcome, especially a nice hot shower! The facilities were clean and tidy if a little cold once out of the shower. It could really do with some better or more defined pathways fro getting g to the facilities from the pitches as it's a little difficult to find your way in the pitch black without getting covered in mud and soaking wet so a gravel path wouldn't go amiss.

The cost of the pitch and EHU is reasonable but the £5 advance booking fee is a little of a liberty, but a necessity to pay, if you want to prebook and guarantee an EHU pitch.

Looks like they have got a fair bit in the pipeline for this season with a lot of work going I to the facilities and buildings at the moment. Let's hope they are going to be adding WiFi as there is absolutely zero reception at all for calls text or Internet once on site. You need to travel a fair distance away from the site before this is restored buti thi k this is part of the sites appeal for a true "escape it all" getaway 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 212 reviews from this member

 A return trip after 3 years for me and we used this as a base to walk Snowdon.

I booked online and whilst the prices are just £10 per adult, £2 per dog and £2 for hookup, they also charge a £5 booking fee, which pushes the price up. If you just turn up and pay you don;t get charged this, but if you need to secure electric, then it adds quite a chunk on to the price, however this would not put me off from returning.

There have been a few developments over the past three years and they have now built an area for the pizza sales but nothing was open due to the time of year.

The pitches are hardstanding and stayed fairly dry despite the terrible weather and the hookup coped with the heater and fridge without any problems.

The toilet and showers were kept clean and the shower was powerful and very hot, which was needed after the hike up Snowdon with 50mph winds and plenty of snow.

There is a laundry here with tumble dryers too and it looks like they are making a nice big shop in the reception area.

They could do with sorting out some of the huge dips in the paths and roads as these fill up so quickly with water and make a trip to the facilities block quite difficult, especially after dark

There is zero phone reception, but this is one of the beauties of this site, back to nature, hire a kayak and play on the lake, or simply sit back and admire the stunning views.

Llanberis, Bedgellert, Anglesey, etc are all close by and there is plenty to see and do in the area and you can walk Snowdon from the site if you wish.

Small shops in Llanberis for everything you need.

I will be back, but when I come back I will not pre-book as I won;t need electric and save the £5 booking fee. 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llyn Gwynant Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nantgwynant      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020