Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blair Castle Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Site Reviews

Blair Castle Caravan Park
Blair Castle
Blair Atholl
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH18 5SR
Tel: 01796 481263
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: 01/03 To 19/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 123 Reviews
                8/10 from 123 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

In the 11 years since our last visit this site had made improvements to nearly all the 'niggles' we had the first time. Still has a decent park and large grass area for ball games. Staff are very helpful (I booked for the wrong weekend, and they were great in finding me an emergency pitch and getting the online booking transferred). Pitches are properly spaced and well marked. Although this is a large site, it didn't feel crowded or noisy (helped as we were right up at top). Showers were nice, though not plentiful - there was often a queue in the main areas, but the North block (high season only) was quiet. No midgies while we were there! Only two wee problems - bins weren't emptied often enough over the weekend, and there were only two sinks for dishwashing near us with a rather stinky nasty bin next to it (semi sheltered area). The chippie opposite the park entrance was very good (and very popular, so time your visit wisely!).

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt4666 11 reviews from this member

Finding this site is very easy, it seems the whole of Scotland is covered in brown signs for every tourist location and campsite. Situated just off of the A9 in the Cairgorns the scenery couldn't be better.

This is a big site with lots of pitches, I stay on one of the backpacker spots, which unfortunately was next to a large roost of crows, who don't fully settle down until well after dark which is about 10m in the summer; so earplugs are advised 8f you wish to sleep early, and stay asleep after sunrise. If you are lucky enough to have a visit from the on site ducks don't forget to leave them your left over bread when leaving, they seem to enjoy it.

The shower blocks are immaculate and well fitted out, however let the water run awhile in the shower which have those pesky push buttons.

The plots in the main seem very flat, and tourer and tent users shouldn't have any real issues.

Other than the crows, which some may appreciate this is a lovely site in which to base oneself for a tour if the Cairgorns.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here one night in a tent with electric hook up. £31 for a 5 man tent, 3 adults, one child and a dog. We did not book in advance but checking in in the grand reception building was efficient. We were allocated a grass hook up pitch (Number 199) which turned out to be excellent - very spacious, in an elevated location overlooking a large grassy area, and close (but not too close) to a toilet block.

Facilities were fine; not the most modern, but clean and perfectly adequate.

Location is very handy for the A9, but traffic noise was not an issue at all. There is good local walking on the Atholl Estate; a selection of waymarked trails up to 10 miles in length, and there are some big mountains to the North for more serious hillwalking.

The Bothy Bar in the Atholl Arms is dog and child friendly, and serve food and a good range of beers ('Ale of Atholl', locally brewed, is particularly fine).

This is a site that I will visit again. It is very handy as an overnight stop on the the A9, but it would also be a good base for an extended stay.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 68 reviews from this member

We were somewhat disappointed by this site as we thought we'd be within sight of the castle itself rather than overlooked by simply hundreds of other vans. The hardstanding pitch was an island within a grassed area which was churned up a bit from previous vehicles going over it to get pitched up. Our nearest shower block was one of the older ones, but with attractive cubicles with toilet and shower in them. Sadly the water was only lukewarm and with the dreaded plunger button.

We cycled a lovely 35 mile route out to the Queens View and around Loch Tummel and enjoyed a fine coffee in Pitlochry theatre before perusing the shops. One evening we strolled to the Atholl Arms for a rather underwhelming meal.

All in all a bit of a let down.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Gi11 19 reviews from this member

A large site with many static caravans of various sizes. Used as overflow from an event at the hotel nearby, cost as much as the hotel did! Good facilities, but looks like they would be stretched if the site was full - however, the statics have their own bathrooms. Very strict on one car per unit - a friend stopped for coffee and got moved on.

Loads to see and visit in the area. Rail station a five minute walk away.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caledonia1954 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the first time, after booking ahead, and were truly impressed by it, grand entrance through the tree lined avenue to the well laid out park, it has a large Reception area and shop. Staff were pleasant and organized, showing us the site layout and our pitch, which was located at the rear of the site, with amazing views over the site and surrounding countryside, a mix of standard and full service pitches, which are well laid out, there are also Static homes and lodges on site as well, but you don't feel squeezed in, everyone has their adequate space to enjoy the quality of the site, Toilets are spotless and fresh, water and drain points are easy to access for those who need them, Park is surrounded by trees with lots of open space, and we got to see our first Red Squirrel less than 150 yards away from our van, there is a play area in the centre of the park well out of the way from traffic, and Segway Hire as well. There is a clothes drying area near the launderette too. The site also has a good dog walk on the boundary area, alongside the riverbank. The Blair Castle is right next to the site and discounted for anyone using the site. The town has eating places and a cafe and bike hire shop, the area is perfect for cycling and walking if you look at the maps provide in the site office. All in all this is beautiful site to enjoy a relaxing overnight stay or longer break, Its perfect for a base to tour the lovely Hills and Glens or Shopping at the nearby House of Bruar. My wife and I will certainly be back for future visits. Well recommended

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JandB 15 reviews from this member

We stayed for only 1 night en route to the north west coast without realising it was the Glasgow holiday weekend. Despite being a wet weekend in September it was very busy indeed. The staff in the reception were very helpful trying to find us a quiet hardstanding pitch, which they did despite there being so few left.

The site itself is huge. There is a well stocked shop along with a hairdressers and library, and the site caters very well for families with children's play areas and large grassy areas for recreation. Between the heavy rain showers we enjoyed an autumnal walk along the River Tilt that runs alongside part of the site and slept easily to the sound of the river behind us.

There appears to be 4 toilet/shower blocks scattered around the site and the one nearest to us was surprising small given that the site has approximately 250 pitches. The site was approximately 95% full with many large tents and caravans that held families of up to 7 occupants. It wouldn’t be too far off to say that there were at least 1000 people of various ages there when we visited and quite possibly many more. The shower/toilet block near us was somewhat tired and not particularly clean and by 8 o'clock on a wet Saturday morning there were already queues to use it. I dare say at quieter times the facilities and the cleaning staff can cope better, but they certainly can't at busier ones.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: McCarron 13 reviews from this member

Our top site, 7th time visiting over the last 4 years. Fantastic location in beautiful Perthshire on the gateway to Cairngorms. Great views over the hills to Tay Forest Park and Schiehallion in the distance. Excellent check in with very helpful and friendly staff, easy to book our preferred pitch via email or phone every time. We have toured in both caravan and now motorhome and stayed on several of the hard standing pitches, each time with no issues. Some of the pitches have water/ elec/ drain which is ideal for the motorhome not having to move to fill/empty a couple of time during our stay. Very clean site, well maintained and managed by wardens, noise is kept under control. We don't use the toilet blocks as we use our on board facilities but on the whole they are kept clean and warm. Chemical disposal points are very well designed and kept clean, hand wash available at each is a nice touch. Good Motorhome service point at the entrance office. Walks along river Tilt, Blair Castle and Gardens and up into Glen Tilt are on your doorstep. Blair Atholl village is a minutes’ walk with the Atholl Arms Hotel (good food, dogs welcome) /Watermill bakery (fantastic home baking)/excellent Fish and Chip Shop (with pizzeria/café)/Shop with cash machine and Atholl Country Life Museum. A bit further out South over the bridge is the Loft Restaurant and Spar Shop/Petrol Station. A short drive further North is House of Bruar for quality shopping. Not the cheapest of sites but you get what you pay for.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lesley Millar 7 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourite sites, although we like to go out of the high season, when it can be really busy.

We like to use the fully serviced pitches which are not cheap, but convenient. Other types are available, with or without electric hook up, plus tenting areas. There are several modern toilet blocks situated around the site with good water pressure in the showers. A short walk takes you into Blair Atholl village where you can take advantage of the Hotel and old Waterwheel Mill tearoom. Both have outside areas where dogs are allowed.

Two dogs are allowed at Blair Atholl, to be kept on leads while on site. There are lots of nearby walks, and they can also enjoy a dip in the River Tilt, behind the Chip Shop and Museum.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 3Scotties 9 reviews from this member

We found this site after a search on UK Campsites (love this site!) for a site near Pitlochery.

We chose this site over Faskally (which also looks good).

This is a huge, very well maintained and managed site offering a variety of pitch types for tourers plus a range of self catering vans, lodges and camping pods. It is very child and pet friendly. With lovely grass areas for games, play park, indoor games area and they have segways to hire. The site is in a good location. It is half way up the A9 towards the Highlands and Cairngorms, about 40mins from Perth, just before the 'House of Bruer'.

We booked by phone, , as we booked late in the day, for same day arrival after their 1700 office close. This went very well, we were allocated a very good pitch for us and our dogs. The night warden appeared once we had located the allocated pitch to make sure we were OK and didn't need any help!

The pitch was hard standing, level (no wedges needed) and drive on/off. It was suitable for a much larger unit than ours. We didn't need or nor want a full service pitch as we have a MH with good tanks, not a 'converted caravan' (like some MH manufacturers) which still need all those a wheely caravan water n waste extras! (Meoux).

Toilets were spotless, as was dishwashing are, pleanty hot water. Though only 2 showers per toilet block, but there were several toilet blocks available. Might be an issue in high season. Not an issue for Motorhomes with full on board facilities.

We thought it was a bit price for the season, however after the visit were happy, considered it ok, especially when you can access 90'/day free wifi. The signal is good and multiple connections can be made per registered email address. Provided by a Community Initiative, it was great, enough to stay connected but not glued/addicted to the life and work left behind.

Looking forward to returning for a extended family holiday in the future in high season.

Only gripe is the the 2 dog restriction, surely this is discriminatory to 3 small dog families. :( Do they restrict the number of kids? :) Perhaps they should consider this, dogs with responsible owners usually make less noise, mess and trouble. Or is that the ones in our extended family :)

Finally plenty walks, Castle to visit and an exceptional coffee break or lunch break and shopping experience at nearby 'House of Bruer'. Worth a visit. Bring your 'plastic' as not cheap but good quality and some bargains in their sale section.

Oh and by the way, the weather in late October was stunning, clear starry skies on arrival, beautiful chilly but warm as morning progressed. I was in short for both the evening and morning dog walks!

Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Perthshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3174 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019