Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blair Castle Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Blair Atholl > Blair Castle Caravan Park Reviews

Blair Castle Caravan Park
Blair Castle
Blair Atholl
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH18 5SR
Tel: 01796 481263
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: 26/04/2021 to 18/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 18/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 136 Reviews
                8/10 from 136 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 194 reviews from this member

 We return here regularly, because there are miles & miles of walks on the estate that suit us and the dog: we particularly enjoyed walking up Glen Tilt and also up to Balvenie Tower, for the views.

The cycle path leaflet is free and shows most of these paths, or you can buy a booklet. Only the core around the castle needs a ticket, but the castle & Gardens are only open Wed - Sun this year so sadly we didn't get to see how the Hercules Garden is developing.

Only a serviced pitch was available and that meant we were at the bottom of the site, shaded by a hedge in the evening and with no views of the Vale of Atholl that you get from higher up the site. Still, nice to have our own water and drainage, and a roomy pitch. You pay for Wi-Fi, but 4G was available.

Facilities cleaned regularly. Love the big open space in the middle which stops the site feeling completely rammed full. Reception helpful and friendly.

We recommend the local golf course which punches above its weight. Bus into Pitlochry from the main road, every 2 hours: it's easier than parking the MH there; shops including the excellent whisky shop!, salmon ladder and visitor centre at the hydro dam, Festival Theatre etc. House of Bruar in the other direction - worth a look, though the food hall is pricey; or walk up to see the Falls of Bruar if you have good walking boots. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Campcoffee 1 review from this member

 A very large site, with a shop in reception selling essentials and a few tinned foods, though not all were ring-pull to open.

There is a one way road going round the site, with loop roads off in sections - very good, but lack of lighting except at the toilets makes finding your tent hard if arriving back late after, say, a show at Pitlochry Festival Theatre.

Cats eyes on the edges of the road, and a different colour of cats eyes on the edges of the loop roads would help, partly so you don't walk off the paths on the way to the toilets and also so you can count how many lights there are between your tent and the nearest junction.

No obvious place to securely fasten your bike at night or if exploring by foot or by train or bus, (both very scarce), I just put mine against a fence between 2 caravans in the hope that another caravan wasn't going to arrive there.

A bike shelter near the toilet blocks might be the answer. There was a reading room, but never used it as it closes at 6pm.

There's a wooden hut selling hot filled rolls, drinks and a yoghurt based cereal on site, it is very good, but it's only open Thursdays to Mondays, 8 - 11am. Fish and chips shop and hotel bar meals available near for dinners, hotel also provides breakfasts and lunches, but a possiby cheaper option is a tearoom at the watermill. Watermill itself is currently closed for renovation.

Blair castle and estates a must, estates very good for bikes too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Paulju 2 reviews from this member

 Site and facilities clean and tidy, warden welcoming and knowledgeable.

Location perfect for getting into the hills, walking from the site.

Good to see it busy too! 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wanscu 2 reviews from this member

 Camp site was well situated and lots of nice walks

Very clean park outdoors and indoor as in shower toilet block

Only things missing is the signal for TV and radio 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 62 reviews from this member

 In a pretty area, this is an extremely large site. But having said that, it is so spacious, and (thankfully) lacking in 'attractions' that it is in fact relatively quiet. There are 4 (or perhaps 5) facilities blocks scattered around so there is no need to queue for toilets, showers, dishwashing or laundry. However, due to the huge area of the site, our nearest facilities block was quite a trek from our pitch, 150 meters at least (not ideal).

However our main gripes are really to do with the Atholl estate rather than the site itself. There are numerous nice walks of long, medium and short lengths in the area, though there was no leaflet available either in the site or elsewhere describing these. It's not really satisfactory to have to (as we were advised to do) take a photo of the map on one of the notice boards and use that to self-guide a walk.

Also, some of the walks passed through the castle grounds for which there was no entry unless a fee was paid. But as the castle and grounds were closed on the two days we came (strange to close a tourist destination on Mondays and Tuesdays), there was no visible way of paying this fee. So we had to improvise our walking routes to avoid going through the grounds. We were left with the impression that the Atholl Estate is quite happy to take visitors' money but not to put themselves out in any way.

The castle village has a pleasant pub, and a useful small shop. There's also a tearoom which however closes early (at what would be our teatime), so we didn't have the opportunity of visiting it. After we left, we saw that just south of the castle estate there's what looks like a more normal village, with larger shop, and another pub; had we known, we might have tried them too (or instead).

The dishwashing water was tepid each day, at 7. 45 pm, not good for getting dishes properly clean. The cold taps in both mens' and ladies' loos have a sort of netting cover on them. This means that they are very splashy and it's impossible to clean one's teeth without splashing water all over one's front.

A pleasant enough stay but we won't be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: D J Greaves 4 reviews from this member

 We liked the location, and walks direct from site. However, it is NOT a peaceful or relaxing site, a lot of pitches are very narrow (check the width as well as length when booking), and in our opinion it is very expensive for what you get.

When we were there it was very busy and noisy and it wasn't even school holiday season. Despite the size of the site, units (caravans, motorhomes, tents, statics and pods) were squashed in around the edge of a large central green with no privacy between units and very little regard for regulation space between units.

The showers were very popular the water was not always hot, and on three occasions we found the toilets blocked and dirty. People did not respect each others pitch space, we often had children and adults walking direct across our pitch.

There was no control about people parking on the grass or very close to other pitches and the one car one pitch rule was not controlled. This was particularly bad Friday to Sunday when many people seemed to have visitors on their pitches as well.

Would not come back or recommend to friends and family. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scottie24 1 review from this member

 Our first trip using a campsite. We liked everything about the site.

The shower block was spotless, cleaners were always travelling between blocks to keep them clean. There is a dedicated area for washing dishes which was great. Toilet blocks are never far away.

The campsite is quiet and we found everyone friendly. We had a great time using the Segways as we booked a short segway tour around the grounds.

We will be back for a longer tour next time. There is so much to see and do in the area we are planning to return.

The games room was closed when we were there so we cannot comment on that.

The shop is well stocked although we were surprised at the lack of emergency tent items like tent pegs if you had an emergency or spare guy ropes.

My first campsite and my favourite so far. Planning to visit many more. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kirkca 1 review from this member

 Lovely family friendly park, facilities were all clean and heated. Sanitising stations outside all toilet blocks etc.

Only downside and it didnít spoil our enjoyment was that out pitch was on a bit of a slope which when in a tent can be a little uncomfortable.

Planning going back next year! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Craigsven 6 reviews from this member

 Very big, very busy site. If you are looking for a quiet getaway this is not the place for you. It's huge, didn't feel comfortable with the amount of folk, or spacing. Left before I spent one night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pdodds 5 reviews from this member

 Good location and loved being part of the estate and access to the castle gardens.

Due to Covid 19 the toilet block was very restricted with no showers available. This was disappointing as other campsites had them open. 
via mobile


Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blair Castle Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blair Castle Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blair Castle Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blair Atholl      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3092 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement