Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blair Castle Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Blair Atholl > Blair Castle Caravan Park Reviews

Blair Castle Caravan Park
Blair Castle
Blair Atholl
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH18 5SR
Tel: 01796 481263
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: 01/03 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 127 Reviews
                8/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pdodds 5 reviews from this member

 Good location and loved being part of the estate and access to the castle gardens.

Due to Covid 19 the toilet block was very restricted with no showers available. This was disappointing as other campsites had them open. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Brenda 2 reviews from this member

 We had booked this site for 3 nights but only stayed one!

The reason being is that the motorhome pitches for vans 6 metres or less were so jam packed together we didnít feel safe.

You have a very small gravel area and by the time a van, or a caravan, has parked up and got its awning out you are so close to the next pitch. In this current situation I am surprised at this. Their Covid statement says you are 3 metres apart but they donít account for awnings etc.

Whilst looking around the site even the bigger motorhome/caravan pitches didnít seem to have much room around them.

We didnít use any of their facilities so canít comment.

Although in a lovely area we will not come back and use this site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Anneri 1 review from this member

 Very well organised and laid out site. The central green was an added bonus and the setting lovely.

Great walks and cycles straight from the site. Free entry to the beautiful grounds of the castle was an added bonus.

Would thoroughly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: George 1 review from this member

 Very good absolutely vast campsite - quite quiet at that time of year although can imagine it gets popular.

Excellent shower block and the 25% off admission to castle voucher was handy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 In the 11 years since our last visit this site had made improvements to nearly all the 'niggles' we had the first time.

Still has a decent park and large grass area for ball games. Staff are very helpful (I booked for the wrong weekend, and they were great in finding me an emergency pitch and getting the online booking transferred).

Pitches are properly spaced and well marked. Although this is a large site, it didn't feel crowded or noisy (helped as we were right up at top). Showers were nice, though not plentiful - there was often a queue in the main areas, but the North block (high season only) was quiet.

No midgies while we were there! Only two wee problems - bins weren't emptied often enough over the weekend, and there were only two sinks for dishwashing near us with a rather stinky nasty bin next to it (semi sheltered area).

The chippie opposite the park entrance was very good (and very popular, so time your visit wisely!). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matt4666 11 reviews from this member

 Finding this site is very easy, it seems the whole of Scotland is covered in brown signs for every tourist location and campsite. Situated just off of the A9 in the Cairgorns the scenery couldn't be better.

This is a big site with lots of pitches, I stay on one of the backpacker spots, which unfortunately was next to a large roost of crows, who don't fully settle down until well after dark which is about 10m in the summer; so earplugs are advised 8f you wish to sleep early, and stay asleep after sunrise.

If you are lucky enough to have a visit from the on site ducks don't forget to leave them your left over bread when leaving, they seem to enjoy it.

The shower blocks are immaculate and well fitted out, however let the water run awhile in the shower which have those pesky push buttons.

The plots in the main seem very flat, and tourer and tent users shouldn't have any real issues.

Other than the crows, which some may appreciate this is a lovely site in which to base oneself for a tour if the Cairgorns. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed here one night in a tent with electric hook up. £31 for a 5 man tent, 3 adults, one child and a dog. We did not book in advance but checking in in the grand reception building was efficient.

We were allocated a grass hook up pitch (Number 199) which turned out to be excellent - very spacious, in an elevated location overlooking a large grassy area, and close (but not too close) to a toilet block.

Facilities were fine; not the most modern, but clean and perfectly adequate.

Location is very handy for the A9, but traffic noise was not an issue at all. There is good local walking on the Atholl Estate; a selection of waymarked trails up to 10 miles in length, and there are some big mountains to the North for more serious hillwalking.

The Bothy Bar in the Atholl Arms is dog and child friendly, and serve food and a good range of beers ('Ale of Atholl', locally brewed, is particularly fine).

This is a site that I will visit again. It is very handy as an overnight stop on the the A9, but it would also be a good base for an extended stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 82 reviews from this member

 We were somewhat disappointed by this site as we thought we'd be within sight of the castle itself rather than overlooked by simply hundreds of other vans.

The hardstanding pitch was an island within a grassed area which was churned up a bit from previous vehicles going over it to get pitched up.

Our nearest shower block was one of the older ones, but with attractive cubicles with toilet and shower in them. Sadly the water was only lukewarm and with the dreaded plunger button.

We cycled a lovely 35 mile route out to the Queens View and around Loch Tummel and enjoyed a fine coffee in Pitlochry theatre before perusing the shops. One evening we strolled to the Atholl Arms for a rather underwhelming meal.

All in all a bit of a let down. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gi11 19 reviews from this member

 A large site with many static caravans of various sizes. Used as overflow from an event at the hotel nearby, cost as much as the hotel did!

Good facilities, but looks like they would be stretched if the site was full - however, the statics have their own bathrooms. Very strict on one car per unit - a friend stopped for coffee and got moved on.

Loads to see and visit in the area. Rail station a five minute walk away. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caledonia1954 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the first time, after booking ahead, and were truly impressed by it, grand entrance through the tree lined avenue to the well laid out park, it has a large Reception area and shop.

Staff were pleasant and organized, showing us the site layout and our pitch, which was located at the rear of the site, with amazing views over the site and surrounding countryside,

A mix of standard and full service pitches, which are well laid out, there are also Static homes and lodges on site as well, but you don't feel squeezed in, everyone has their adequate space to enjoy the quality of the site,

Toilets are spotless and fresh, water and drain points are easy to access for those who need them, Park is surrounded by trees with lots of open space, and we got to see our first Red Squirrel less than 150 yards away from our van,

There is a play area in the centre of the park well out of the way from traffic, and Segway Hire as well. There is a clothes drying area near the launderette too.

The site also has a good dog walk on the boundary area, alongside the riverbank. The Blair Castle is right next to the site and discounted for anyone using the site.

The town has eating places and a cafe and bike hire shop, the area is perfect for cycling and walking if you look at the maps provide in the site office.

All in all this is beautiful site to enjoy a relaxing overnight stay or longer break, Its perfect for a base to tour the lovely Hills and Glens or Shopping at the nearby House of Bruar.

My wife and I will certainly be back for future visits. Well recommended 


Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blair Castle Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blair Castle Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blair Castle Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blair Atholl      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2327 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement