Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bridge House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Clifton Hampden > Bridge House Caravan Park Reviews

Bridge House Caravan Park
Bridge House
Clifton Hampden
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX14 3EH
Tel: 01865 407725
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 34
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bob61 28 reviews from this member

This campsite is less than an hours drive from my home but I have always been put off going there by some old reviews that were not too good. Having read more recent reviews it seemed there had been a great improvement over the last 3 years or so but this time I was put off by the price, which for a solo camper was quite steep.

In May this year though, the opportunity arose to go camping with a mate and we agreed to share a tent and halve the cost. We are glad we did because it turned out to be one of the nicest campsites we had ever been to.

On arrival one has to phone a number at the barrier (why is it assumed everyone has a mobile phone?) and the warden comes out to raise the barrier. As a previous reviewer reported, this could be a little dangerous if towing a large caravan as the entrance is quite narrow, right on a bend in a very busy road and the distance from the road to the barrier isn't very far.

In my case the warden arrived quickly and let me in and immediately showed me to my pitch which was right on the banks of The River Thames. It couldn't have been a better location.

The site itself was very well maintained with nice short grass and a few trees and shrubs adding to the landscape. The bridge crossing The Thames was visible from the pitch also. Sitting outside the tent looking across the river and watching the herons, ducks, swans and passing boats, it was possible to forget we were on a campsite and felt more like wild camping. Very relaxing. Although the road alongside the campsite is busy the traffic noise soon disappeared into the background.

Right next door to the campsite is the Barley Mow, a famous old pub depicted in a book called 'Three Men in a Boat' apparently. It turned out to be a very welcoming pub with lovely food.

The warden and his wife were very nice people and made us both feel welcome. We were invited to have a trip to Days Lock in the wardens boat for £5 a head and since we had decided to go there anyway we accepted the invitation. It wasn't just a ride in the boat but the warden also gave a running commentary on the area and the different properties that could be seen along the river bank. Later, we were also offered the rental of a rowing boat but by then we were too tired to accept.

Nothing is ever absolutely perfect though and the site is let down badly by the facilities which have certainly seen better days. They were clean and adequate though and the previously reported charges for showers and hot water no longer apply. It is all 'free' within the tariff. I gather the warden is trying to get a new toilet block built but is having difficulties with the local council over planning permissions.

The second negative is the road running outside the campsite. There are no pavements for the best part and much of it is a winding 60 mph very busy road. I would strongly advise not trying to walk it. My mate and I did walk it to the Plough Inn in the next village on the first evening but it was a nightmare and we would never do it again.

There are walks in both directions along the river on the Thames Path and the Plough Inn can be reached by walking to Days Lock along the river and then by quiet lanes to the village.

All in all a delightful peaceful campsite right on the banks of the river, well maintained and with very friendly and helpful wardens. Both my mate and I agreed we would be returning but due to the high price it is not a campsite I would use when camping alone unless they decide to implement a solo concession.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Thorntop 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite while canoeing the Thames. It has a wonderful location right on the river with easy access for canoes.

Unfortunately we turned up without booking (not knowing how far we would paddle in advance) and despite the campsite being nearly empty the owner made a big fuss about checking bookings before she let us stay. We were shoved in a tiny corner despite no other tents being there. It seems the campsite is mostly for itinerant workers. She explained the rules in great detail, no children, no dogs off leads, BBQ 50cm off ground, etc etc. When one of our dogs was caught off the lead only yards from the tent we were threatened with expulsion. To be honest I have never felt less welcome at a campsite before, she clearly didn't want us to stay.

The facilities were very basic and a long walk with no washing up facilities. Fine for a cheap campsite but simply not what you expect when paying over £10 per person per night.

There is a shop in the village for basics but the shop keeper was not very friendly. What is it about living in a beautiful village that makes everyone so miserable.

We would have liked to stay longer but we had children joining our group and hence were forced to move on to the Bridge House campsite at Shillingford. See my review for how a campsite should be.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vangelina 16 reviews from this member

Our advice to anyone who has booked into this site is to phone ahead about 5 minutes before you turn into the entrance. There is a security barrier in place but not enough room for a car and caravan without the caravan overhanging into an extremely busy cut through road.

There are details of a phone number to ring by the barrier but it would be much better if the owner was there to greet you at the barrier on arrival. Having no prior knowledge of this was extremely stressful and scary.

We appreciate the owners do not want gypsies on the site but there wasnít enough space between the road and the caravan. To us it is a real health and safety issue. We are experienced middle aged caravanners and do not really need to be reminded that our 2 dogs should be kept on leads (as they always are on any site). We popped out for a walk along the river and when we returned a list of site rules was under our windscreen wiper.

This could be interpreted as helpful but we felt it was over zealous. The facilities are very tired but clean however you canít wash your hands in warm water without paying 20 p. To summarise the site wasnít really our cup of tea.

Itís only redeeming feature is itís position on the river. We know lots of reviews praise this site but it wasnít for us.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hecate105 7 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite right on the river Thames, perfect for paddlers, cyclists and walkers.

Level ground, pretty setting and spacious site. Facilities were more than adequate, good showers, laundry room, loos. There's a famous pub 'The Barley Mow'which featured in my favourite book 'Three Men In A Boat' right next door, a shop is just over the bridge. Lovely villages and countryside to visit - if you are not paddling about on the river!

Friendly owners, and (sorry parents!) so good not to have screaming kids running around!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 70 reviews from this member

We returned hoping for better weather and got it.

Parked almost riverside it was wonderful.

We walked to Dorchester on Thames riverside all the way, about 8 easy miles return, was a fine walk. Next day we walked the other direction then looked around on a footpath returning back to the village, via the nice little shop.

We had lunch in the adjoining pub, Dog friendly and great food and service.

This is a no frills site, facilities could be better but were clean, adult only and well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Webmaster 41 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a one nighter, midweek, outside of school holidays - have passed this site many times and always fancied staying here, so took the opportunity to check it out with dog for some walking. It cost me £15 for one night, one adult and dog, no hookup.

It's a lovely setting beside the River Thames, most pitches can see the river, even if you're not directly alongside it which some aren't.

The facilities were slightly tired, but clean and effective. There are mens and ladies toilets, and three showers. The showers take 20p which lasted long enough for a good wash. Two of them have the coin slots outside, so just be prepared before you put your money in!

There's a great pub next door called the Barley Mow. - there's a separate gate into it directly from the campsite! I wandered over and had a pleasant meal and drink.

On both days I walked a few miles along the Thames path, a different way each day. Again, there is a gate directly from the site, and then just one narrow road to cross to access the path. Going one way, about three miles through very pleasant pasture and grazing fields ( beware cows do use them ) you will come to Day's Lock. There are numerous places for your dog or you to access the river for paddling and swimming, and many lovely houses on the other side to gawp at. About a mile extra past Day's lock will take you on to either Dorchester village, or up the hill to Wittenham Clumps.

The other way was not quite so pleasant, the Thames path is very neglected that way, and there's not so much to see. It struggled on about 3 miles struggling through the overgrown path before giving up. There's only once place to actually access the river this way, and for most of the walk you cannot see the river at all.

So, if you've got one walk planned, my recommendation would be to go towards Day's lock.

Anyway back to the site. I found the owners extremely friendly and helpful and really genuinely lovely people. Makes such a difference when you are made to feel so welcome.

It's adults only, but there were a group of DOE staying the night, although to be fair they were up one end of the site, and well behaved and quiet, so made no difference to me.

All in all, would definitely recommend this place and will be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 70 reviews from this member

Jeff and Mo did us proud, great hosts on this cute and scenic site.

Superb location with great walks up and down the Thames, wildlife a plenty with loads going on on the river.

Facilities are tired but clean and functional and they are trying to get upgraded, take 20p for showers and 10p for hot water.

Smashing eatery (pub) is just 50 mtrs from the site so a great bonus, we eat there and was good.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vango 200 3 reviews from this member

Great down to earth site, right on the river. Lovely for short breaks or long summer holidays. We will be returning next summer for longer as this time it was only an overnight stop for the Abingdon marathon.

Plenty of room between units and a village pub that's literally 2 mins walk away. We didn't have food there but it was recommended that we book a table in advance. Happy camping everyone.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RJB1973 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable weekend in Clifton Hampden. Geoff ('Sir Geoffrey') was most welcoming on arrival. He met as at the gate to provide us with access to the site and showed us our pitches (we had two tents).

One day he took us in 'Oliver's Army' his lovely boat to Days Lock from where we walked into Dorchester on Thames. Interesting name as it's almost a mile from the river. He then returned later to pick us up. The trips were £5 pp each way & were a highlight of the break.

Another day saw us walking the Thames Path to Sutton Courtenay and on to Abingdon. Showers were basic but worked fine and were 20p. Chef & Brewer pub next door to site was handy. Alas the other pub in the village is now just a B&B.

A lovely weekend was had by us all and thanks to Geoff and Moo for their help.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stars10555 5 reviews from this member

The perfect spot, only a few miles from Oxford, for 4 nights relaxed camping right on the banks of the river. So lovely by the old bridge, with shortcut under to the pretty village and little Post office shop.

The very friendly new owners have done a lot of work on the site which is flat grass, with plenty of hook ups. They directed us to a dry spot, so that even though there had been a lot of rain that week, and it really is right on the river bank, we had no problems.

Toilet block has all been re-painted, with clean, well stocked showers(50p)and loos. (No washing up station).

The site is behind (but not belonging to) a popular pub which serves excellent meals, but if you want evening dinner at the weekend you need to book!

There are some static mobile homes at the back of the site, but you hardly notice them. As it was early in the season there was plenty of space. It would be wonderful to pitch a tent right by the water in Summer. We will definitely go back.

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4118 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019