Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Site Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 399
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 99 Reviews
                6/10 from 99 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynda190graham 10 reviews from this member

Should have been warned by the difficulties in getting our booking made by telephone. Telephoned in order to make sure that two units could be accommodated on same ferry crossing and site. Away Resorts seemed to have gone away when it came to promised return phone calls.

Bookings made and correct we turned up to ferry to be informed that one of party have been booked for a crossing seven days later, this despite printed confirmation.

Agree with other comments about the crowded feel to the site, although they did appear to meet all legal spacing requirements.

With two units we sited them to create a large play space, secured with the use of windbreaks, for our small grandchildren.

On a positive note, the children loved the beach and the indoor and outdoor pools, although due to pressure of numbers access was rationed.

We did complain and have been offered two return ferry crossings for a future visit.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazormshaw 23 reviews from this member

We booked here for our family holiday, when we arrived early we were able to get on the premium pitch straight away, arriving at the pitch we found a small patch of overgrown grass that had been churned up in a few places by previous users. We didn't complain and set up camp.

We soon found out the site is totally unable to cope with a british summer, the weather had been wet prior to our arrival and soon after and once we started walking around in our tent we could feel the ground beneath churning up, when our neighbours left their pitch resembled a pond, the pitch was so bad under their tent that it uncovered old pegs and ruined their ground sheet.

The pitch size was small considering the size of tent we had booked with, the units were crammed in, the back of our tent was far too close to the caravan next door.

The site had 2 toilet blocks, which provided plenty of toilets and showers, including a family and disabled room. The water pressure on the cold taps in the lower block was inadequate for the volume of people using it.

The touring site is over the road from the main complex, and the entrance is located just after a bad bend with no pedestrian crossing, it would only take 1 car speeding around the corner to cause an accident, with either vehicles pulling out or people crossing the road.

The site as a whole was severely lacking in pedestrian routes, a lenth of the footpath as you enter the main complex provides the only safe path for people on foot. The touring site has none whatsoever, with a single tarmac track taking you into the field which then turns into gravel tracks.

The club house and nab bar form the hub of the entertainment on site, which to be fair was very good on the nights we went, bit of a trek for us 'poorpers' on the touring site.

I'm sure the site is fantastic for those stopping in statics on the main complex however the touring site seems to be an after thought, with no site drainage and units crammed in. As a base it is a pretty good location with its own beach (avoid at high tide) however be warned its a steep access road.

All in all this was a disappointing site for touring units and needs a significant amount of work to make it suitable, particularly if you are assigning pitches as 'Premium'. I would recommend looking at other sites on the island of which there are plenty which are well signposted.

On a positive note the staff were helpful particularly when we wanted to rearrange our ferry crossing.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheepyspurs 2 reviews from this member

Been using this site almost every year since I was a child my parents used it. It was the best caravan site it could be when it was owned by the Humphrey family. It has since changed hand and is now owned by away resorts. Who have ruined it. Basically They don't want campers or tourers on there site and are rapidly putting statics everywhere. Even family's that I have seen every year have had enough facility's have gone down club house you could stick to tables or floor. And to top it off they had not booked ferry for caravan. Thank God wightlink was fantastic. Really disappointing and upsetting to watch best site you've know go to worst! Oh and because there in that much of a hurry to put statics aĺl over the pitches are getting tiny

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hevseys 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here over Easter. We chose this site because my daughter was staying in a static van there. She had a lovely time, all the facilities on her side of the site were good and the up keep of the site was excellent.

Unfortunately the touring park was not the same. At the top end where they are putting in new static vans the roads are new and it has been returfed. At the bottom end it was like a mud bath.

The weather had not been good before we arrived, this is their excuse for everything however as this is England the weather will always be changeable and it will probably rain regularly!

The toilets and showers were ok but simply not cleaned so mud was the order of the day ( every day) the shower I used on day one had a large amount of something horrible on the wall and it remained there all week.

The new 'hard standings' were anything but hard and after driving off once became deeply rutted and unusable. We were moved to a concrete pitch which was surrounded by mud but at least we could drive on and off.

We went out all day everyday, there was no pleasure remaining on site to watch the vehicles ( mainly white vans) drive constantly around and children throw gravel whilst shouting obscenities at passers by.

One night we were woken at 3am by very loud music. The following day the site manager told me she was going to ask them politely to leave, we saw her go over but clearly it didn't go to plan as they stayed. We were told afterwards that everyone is given a chance to improve - not what it says in their site rules.

The concrete pitches have no view. We had to pay 40 extra for the pitch and when we wrote to them afterwards (very politely) they offered us 40 off our next visit which has amused us greatly as I can't imagine why we would want to go through this again.

We have tar from the 'hard standing' firmly ingrained into our carpet, as soon as we realised we sacrificed our plastic tablecloth for the rest of the week, mud was still everywhere and splashed over all our clothes, I can't imagine what it would have been like to have children there.

The staff were very helpful, they offered to tow us out every day if we stayed on the 'hard standing' strangely enough we declined this offer! They were always polite but are unable to change the situation as the site needs a complete overhaul starting with drainage.

We saw other people emptying their toilets into the grey waste drain then filling their toilet cassette from the drinking water tap to rinse out. We did suggest to staff that they should put up signs to remind people to use the toilet disposal point.

The Isle of Wight is lovely so we would return but not to Whitecliff Bay. We left a day early as we couldn't bear to return to the site for another night.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deanchivers 1 review from this member

Have stopped here in a static as a child, returned with the family (3 kids 10, 5 and 2). Had a great time staff were on hand to show us to the pitch. It was a great holiday. Only one gripe (which was the wife's not mine), all the activities and food outlets were across the main road on the static site. Plan to return though.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beth9696 2 reviews from this member

The staff were lovely, that is about all that was good with the site. What we encountered wasn't the fault of the campsite, but this was our last night on the island after cycling around it and it was awful. After paying a lot of money (more then any of the other campsites) we were expecting more. He pitch we were allocated was slanted and had muddy bumps on it, however after finding a place we could put our tent we put it up. In the evening we had lots of children (understandably, because it is a child friendly site) running on our pitch and hitting the tent ad falling on the tent, I know this is at no fault of the sites owners but very infuriating when trying to get to sleep when your absolutely shattered, so had to get out of the tent and tell the children to stop playing on our pitch and tapping our tent. After a loud night with a huge caravan next to us with someone snoring all night, we woke up and walked out of the tent to get breakfast only to find dog poo right next to our tent door, this was disgusting. The facilities were awful, the loos and showers were grotty and unclean and they had a very loud speaker in the facilities blurting out bird noises which was just plain annoying. Very unimpressed with the campsite although the staff were lovely.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigalw35 13 reviews from this member

We decided to visit the Isle of Wight and booked in to the 'Wightcliff Bay Holiday Park' 90%, the park itself is massive, covering about 6 very large fields over a couple of basic sites, one for static homes and one for touring vans and tents. We were in a tent, when we arrived the touring site was quite busy, so picking a pitch was limited, s*ds law the pitch we picked was like trying to put the tent pegs into concrete, seriously !

The site generally is quite good, it has a hairdressing salon, a clubhouse complete with amusements for the kids (old and young) and cabaret and bar, there is a couple of shops (one for each site) there is also the 'Nab Bar & Restaurant' which is like a public house elsewhere, it also has two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor and a crazy golf for the kids, and a private beach, quite a walk down to it and I imagine a very strenuous walk back UP HILL !

We booked over the internet and the camp booked the ferry as well, we ended up paying 220. 00 for two weeks on the camp (including ALL facilities) and the ferry (return) this visit was September 2014.

All in all we had a great time there and generally on the Isle of Wight, but be warned the site is built on a hill (as is much of the Isle of Wight) we ended up at the top end of the site, the toilets and showers etc; are at the BOTTOM of the site, BAD NEWS ! The good news is that the showers and washing up facilities are FREE !.

Enjoy

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jscadden 6 reviews from this member

We made a last minute booking through Red Funnel and got a good overall price. Alternatively you can book through the camp site and receive a similar overall price.

The pitch was adequate for a caravan, awning and my large car (8-seater 4X4). Even had space for the picnic table! Hook-up was included on the serviced pitches.

Site facilities included good quality showers, toilets and washing up facilities. There was also a good laundry room. A small shop in the reception provided basic goods and freshly baked French Sticks. The site also had Glamping modules for hire including three retro-caravans. There was also a 'lounge' were entertainment was provided occasionally and wifi reception was available. Because of the location, mobile coverage was extremely sporadic.

Recreational facilities were available on the site across the road in the newly refurbished clubhouse where evening and some day time entertainment was provided. There was also a bar/restaurant further up the hill which provided good quality meals at a reasonable price. This complex also housed outdoor and indoor heated swimming pools. Some entertainment was provided on the lawn in front of the complex which afforded a good view of the bay. Access to the bay was by a footpath which lead down to the beach. A rather nice cafe was situated on the beach offering refreshment and beach goods.

Children's activities were available but needed booking. Some were free but the more complex, including snorkeling, archery etc. Attracted a 4 charge. This could be further reduced by taking advantage of the special offers. These needed booking the previous day at the main reception.

The local village of Bembridge had a few shops and a bank. A free ATM is situated inside the Co-op and is available during shop hours. There is also a Fish & Chip shop. The harbour at Bembridge had a couple of sea-front cafe/restaurant and there were several pubs in the vicinity offering food. Ryde was only a few minutes drive. Other attractions on the Isle of Wight were within easy reach.

The site was owned and operated by Away Resorts Ltd who were investing heavily in the site. It was refreshing to go to a site that was receiving investment rather than being run on a shoestring which seems the norm. Much had been spent modernising the 'clubhouse' which boasted two stages thereby allowing continuous entertainment during the evening. The resident band and entertainment staff provided most of the good quality entertainment with one or two visiting cabaret acts. As well as the obligatory games machine, there was also a take-away which supplied bar snacks and light meals. Quality and price were good. The only criticism I could make is that there was no 'real ale' on tap although there was three beers from a local micro brewery available which I can recommend.

We found all the staff to be very helpful at all times especially the site managers on the touring field who kept the site clean and well maintained.

Our party consisted of three adults and three children spanning three generations and everyone enjoyed themselves. We would definitely consider a return visit at some time in the next year or two.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ben1012 2 reviews from this member

Firstly the touring area is not clearly signposted so upon approach turned into main park on right only to be told touring is up the road on the left when pulling a caravan makes this quite a task to turn around ! When we got to the touring site found it very cramped and overloaded with tents and vans situated together (shared a pitch with a tent !)didn't like the fact that I booked 2pitchs for my family and my sisters family 6 months ago only to be told on day of arrival that they don't reserve pitches so we may not be near each other. All the facilities are on the park on the opposite side of the road which is quite a dangerous trek with cars coming in and out constantly. Playground is on main road where cars are entering and leaving. Showers are dirty and staff said there's no hot water until later on in mornings I went at 9 they were very cold ! Swimming pool very old and dirty in need of updating. Electricity on site was poor went out one night and wasn't sorted until the morning which resulted in frozen food being thrown away. The only plus was the entertainment they deserve a pat on the back excellent for both adults and children. All in all it was a terrible site for touring we regularly go to their park in Lincoln and expected this park to be on the same immaculate level-was very disappointed don't stay here there are plenty of other parks on the island.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fuzzypaws 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for our main holiday, & was very under whelmed.

Pitches are small, vans face up hill so the only view is another caravan, instead of the great views behind your unit, shower block grubby as they try to clean it while its in use instead of shutting it for a deep clean, roadways tight & disabled loo/shower was disgusting, broken tiles covered in dirt etc.

On the plus side, food at the top bar was great, & the location is good, & is it cheap.

When we were there, it was very hot which was great, however the club in the evening was baking hot, a lot of people wouldn't go in it was that uncomfortable.

Could do with a complete redesign then might be a top park.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Isle Of Wight   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3130 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019