Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cannich Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Strathglass > Cannich Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Cannich Caravan & Camping Park
Cannich
Strathglass
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV4 7LN
Tel: 01456 415364
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 43
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Irvine45 75 reviews from this member

 A great site in a lovely part of the country. Easy to find and easy access. The staff are friendly and helpful and aided me into my pitch.

The toilet and showering facilities were very good under current climate.

You use the ladies for the showers and the gents for the toilets. Although, it may sound a pain but in fact works well if a family go all together. Some of the campers couldn't quite work it out! Causing queues.

I would recommend this site and area, especially for the countless walks at all levels. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Usual Suspect 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely setting among trees at Glen Afric. Quiet even though most pitches were occupied when we were there, plenty room between pitches, lovely laid back atmosphere.

Toilets and showers were restricted to 1 person/family at a time but there was little need for queuing and sanitiser gel was on the wall outside every communal area. Staff worked constantly to clean regularly as well.

Very nice on site cafe catering for all tastes, ours being breakfast bacon rolls! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 41 reviews from this member

 Had another night in one of the two camping pods. Really like this site. Camping pods are basic but solid and clean as are the facilities. Pitches for tents and campervans look good.

Pod has picnic table outside and I collected dead wood from around the site to get a wonderful camp fire going.

Lovely wooded site with lots of bird song. Friendly welcome. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lorfal 23 reviews from this member

 Nice site, good sized pitches and great to have electric and water at pitch. Easy to drive over motorhome grey waste emptying area too. Very family friendly place, though if you want peace and quiet, avoid pitches around the children's play area. Dog friendly. There is a cafe on site though we didn't use this. Facilities spotless. Informallly laid out site in small forested area.

I would go back, but own preference would be off season, as I can imagine it's popular with families and potentially a bit noisy.

Cannich has a pub and shop within easy walking distance of the site. The pub is dog friendly.

Great central area for exploring the glens of Affric, Cannich and the very lovely strathfarrar.

Free wifi is a bonus.

Didn't quite however have a getaway from it all feeling as site is fenced off from people's homes at one side. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BertF 3 reviews from this member

 The owner is very friendly. The facilities were clean but only one washing machine was working when we were there : it's not always enough. A very good idea for those who wants to rest outside of the tent : a room with couches, table & TV. Free Wifi (slow but useful).

Good advices for hiking in Glen Affric. We've loved this place and would like to go back there ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndiElliot 2 reviews from this member

 A gem of a site. We have visited this place several times over the last 5years. We always spend our 1st and last camp of the year here. Last year it was slightly colder at the end of October when we went for a stay but we booked a Pod for that reason. The site is brilliant, the ground is quite stoney though so take adequate pegs, location for so many walks is fab. The Loch Affric walk is our favourite.

The toilets and showers are fine and clean, could do with removal of the midgies off the ceiling though. The dish washing area/laundry is great, there is a freezer to re-freeze your ice blocks. Tv room, which we've never used but may be handy for kids on rainy days. There is also bike hire.

Midgies are a problem at times but with repellent they are fine.

The Wooden Pods are great. Basic with Mattresses, a heater and electric, just take anything you would need when going camping except the tent.

The coffee shop is lovely too and every so often they do 'pop up restaurant' evenings where you pay a set price for a menu and bring your own booze.

There is a great pub, The Slaters Arms within a 10 minute walk, great place and lovely food and they allow dogs. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rat-Bag 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely peaceful site, with generous sized pitches, distributed with privacy in mind.

The owner was really welcoming and friendly.

The site has comprehensive facilities, including a cafe, TV room, laundry and washing up room and lots of toilets and showers.

We only used the toilets and showers and these were clean and warm with plenty of hot water and no queues.

I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Busybee1968 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 5 nights at this lovely campsite and were fortunate enough to have beautiful weather while we were there. Very peaceful and well kept. The site is in a lovely location in a small village with 2 pubs and a small Spar shop for essentials and is central for exploring the area. The toilet block has 4 toilets (1 cubicle has a sink) and 3 showers (1 of these also has a sink) and there are 4 separate sinks also, with a pay as you use hairdryer. The showers are hot and we never found them running out of hot water.

For all there were quite a few caravans and tents using the site, they were never busy and we didn't have to wait once for them. The washing up area is a nice room with 5 or 6 sinks, 2 washing machines, 2 tumble dryers and a fridge freezer - invaluable if like us, you have ice blocks to freeze for your cool box. We had a pitch for our tent with EHU and I think there were 1 or 2 pitches for tents with hook up.

There is a TV room which also has books to borrow. For all we didn't use the cafe, it does look very nice. The small play area was very well maintained and the equipment looked relatively new. The site is approached via a single track road if you travel from Beauly side, but if you travel from Inverness down the edge of Loch Ness to Drumnadrocht, its a normal road - I wouldn't like to tow a caravan down the other road.

Drumnadrocht is a lovely little village with cafe and coffee shops and a small courtyard of shops. We travelled in both directions - Fort William to Ben Nevis & a cruise on the Loch and up into Glen Affric. A visit to Plodda Falls is worth the very bumpy ride up - there are a few short walks in the forest and the waterfall is beautiful.

Overall a lovely site which we would definitely recommend and use again, if back in that area. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sher951 5 reviews from this member

 I'd recommend this to anyone, its very peaceful, it had all the amenities/facilities you'd need, the hostess was welcoming and explained where everything was.

We didn't use the cafe but had a look in, very nice indeed. There were bikes to hire too.

It was slightly further out of Drumnadrochit than we realised, but not a problem.

It was signposted from Drumnadrochit up near the Loch Ness Centre on the bend. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

 A lovely peaceful situation which we used to explore the amazing Glen Affric. The site offers hardstandings with EHUs, set amongst trees and grassy areas used by tents. The picnic tables (there are several) and shade are a bonus but the site seemed a bit neglected. When we were there (early season) the entrance road potholes were a disgrace and when we arrived, the owner/warden was absent.

The pitches for tourers adjoin a small park of statics and the local playing field, the path to which appears to be used as a short cut by the local youngsters.

The on site cafe and bike hire are convenient but we did not use them. The local shop was useful (try the frozen venison steaks) but the pubs (there are 2 about 15 minutes walk) looked basic and we did not try them.

The site facilities were also quite basic / barely ok and the plug in points for TV appeared to be derelict.

We enjoyed our 2 night stay and we felt the 16pn fee with EHU was reasonable value, but the site needs some TLC from its owners. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cannich Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cannich Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cannich Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Strathglass      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4423 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement