Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Compton Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Brook > Compton Farm Reviews

Compton Farm
Military Road
Brook
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO30 4HF
Tel: 01983 740215
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 28
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BecB 3 reviews from this member

We visited for a week this July and were lucky with the weather I must say for a start! I chose it because it is sheltered from the coastal winds by being in a valley, but still very close to the sea.

I am a single mother with 2 children age 8 and 10 and we had a glorious time. The children went off running and playing and hanging out with other children and I found the other adults there friendly. Not always the case: single mothers can be looked upon with suspicion / curiosity / envy / as a threat? The staff are friendly too.

There is a little playground, not much to get excited about, mainly used to hang out. Showers cost 50p, we only used them once as we enjoy the break from all that and use baby wipes instead, but all areas are clean. 2 washing up sinks. A freezer for freezer blocks.

Mobile reception not good (for me anyway), I had to walk up the hill, but I enjoyed the break from the outside world.

Nearest shops: Co-Op and Sainsburys in Freshwater.

I got gas from a little hardware shop in Freshwater too, can't remember the name I'm afraid, but it's quite a small place, I think it was on the way to the Co-op.

Locally, the beach is walkable although down 6 steep flights, definitely not for buggies. We had a cream tea at Warren Farm which is on the Needles, delicious.

Further afield: we visited the Zoo (fantastic, the talks and big cats are excellent) and Steam Railway (perfect if it's your thing).

All-in-all, a perfect campsite for us because:

Quiet, friendly, no music, no late loud parties, clean, simple, just good plain camping with respect for everyone else.

We're thinking about going back next year for a week!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Stevespeller 2 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Compton Farm but this time we were staying in one of the static caravans instead of our tent. The reason we keep coming back here is because this is a wonderful setting and a very friendly but quiet site. Unspoilt sandy beaches are just a short walk away, there are great walks over the downlands behind the site and small towns are a convenient distance when you need to go shopping. Facilities are fairly minimal but clean and well kept. Because it's a working farm with cows, geese and hens there's a lot there to interest children and also a good sized playground to suit most ages. If you're looking for somewhere to unwind and relax with a slower pace and not so interested in the more developed Eastern side of the island then this is the perfect spot.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dorset4 2 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite in a beautiful setting, facilities basic for price. However, during our stay the only cleaning we saw was the empyting of bins and brushing grass from toilet block floors. This did not bother us too much as it was pretty quiet when we were here.

Only 2 showers in the mens and 2 in the womens which I imagine would pose a problem in the school holidays. A lovely beach on your doorstep with a little bit of surf!

From the campsite you could walk up onto the top of the downs from where there were excellent views all around. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (the fantastic weather helped) but if you want mod cons and loads of facilities this site is not for you.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: IOW fan 1 review from this member

We loved this place! Incredible views and surrounded by countryside so that if you stand outside at night you can see every star.

The caravans are basic but immaculately clean and with enough utensils to get by.

Great for kids - especially when they make friends with the other kids on the campsite and do wide games, fly kites and go roaming over the hills. There is also a small playpark which the kids seemed to really enjoy and there are plenty of cows, chicken, geese and ducks roaming about which will delight small children.

There's no shops or anything until you get to Freshwater so you need to get basic food for your first night there before you get to the campsite!

We are definitely going to go back next year!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoeSurf 2 reviews from this member

This was the final destination of our three week coastal tour and what a way to finish! It's a rural/rustic camp site with plenty of space and great walks nearby. You can see the white cliffs from your tent and almost hear the sea crashing on the rocks!

Pitching was very relaxed but be aware that the basic facilities are at the entrance to the site, which means if you park right up the far end you have a good walk.

The nearest nice pubs we found were a short drive away in Yarmouth as there wasn't much at Freshwater.

If we go camping to the IOW again, we'll certainly give this camp site another go.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suts 7 reviews from this member

This is a great site. Facilities basic but very clean and always lots of hot running water (showers cost 20p so make sure you take some with you)

A classic small farm and the children love the animals and the wide open spaces. There is a small playground which the children spent most of their time in.

Quite a steep walk down to the nearest beach but very pretty views.

The Sun Pub at Hulverston was a gem, with a varied menu and reasonable prices. Nearest shop was the Co-Op in Freshwater Bay which is about 3 miles from the site and stocks most things.

We made our decision to go to Compton Farm after reading the great reviews on this site and they sum up the site completely. Lovely!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairelouise75 1 review from this member

This is a really great campsite, quite basic but it has all the amineties you could want, but be warned if you want a shower get up early or you may have to queue as there are only 2 in the ladies and 2 in the gents!

The site has some lovely views of the cliffs and sea but can be a little windy if the wind is coming off the sea it comes straight up the valley towards you!

Great place to take the dogs as there is lots of room for them to roam free.

The couple who run it are both very lovely and very helpful.

All in all a great site, in a fantastic location ideal for exploring West Wight! May we also recommened the Sun at Hulverstone for great food and a fab view at sunset!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pupdaddy118 2 reviews from this member

I completely agree with the other reviews - this is a great campsite! The site and facilities have already been reviewed so I won't say anything more about them. We must have picked the windiest weather to go camping and there wasn't much shelter from the wind that was coming off the sea and up the valley, but our tent survived the week - just! One of the best things about this site for me was the fact that there is a bus stop at the top of the drive. I must recommend buying a 7-day bus pass for £20. It sounds like a lot of money, but we travelled all over the island and definitely got our money's worth! The buses are so frequent that it was very easy to get about and it saved the hassle of finding parking places.

I would like to mention The Sun Inn in Hulverston. It's a lovely pub only about a mile and a half from the campsite, very friendly and they do excellent food. The bus stops right outside it and runs till quite late. What more could you ask for?

So, it's a lovely site and an excellent base for exploring the Isle of Wight - enjoy!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemma Joseph 1 review from this member

I have been coming to Compton Farm since August 1999 with my mum, dad and two sisters. The campsite is fantastic. Very basic but that's what makes it even more special. I loved waking up at 6:00am just to go and milk the cows and then sell the milk and eggs to the campers at about 8:30am. Jane and Den are lovely and really down to earth. 
The facilities are kept very clean with 2 showers that cost 20p for about 5 minutes, Toilets and permanent hot water. You will also find sinks outside the loos for washing up and a laundry room next door to wash and dry your clothes for about 20p I think. Its best to have your shower as soon as you wake up as in the afternoon there is a big Que as everyone is coming back from the beach. The beach is only over the road but they are very steep wooden steps and not for the faint hearted and if your afraid of heights like I am.
There is a co-op supermarket just a few miles in Freshwater and a large Tesco in Newport fir your shopping.
All in all its a excellent place to take the kids and whole family and guarantee you will have a wonderful time. See you this August 2007 bank holiday if your there.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kelk 1 review from this member

I have visited this site ever since I can remember (I'm 31 now) & have photo's of my parents going there before I was even thought about! Yes, it's basic but that's what camping is all about, nothing around you except open space, lots of wild life and fab views, miles of walks in every direction. No one can pitch in the way of your view as only pitch along one hedge row in field. The perfect site for a family who enjoy quallity time together. More space to play ball, ride bikes and run around than you can ever wish for. Dogs love the freedom, kids love the freedom, WE LOVE COMPTON FARM. Perfect site, couldn't ask for more, 100% recomend.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4487 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019