Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sauchope Links Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Crail > Sauchope Links Caravan Park Reviews

Sauchope Links Caravan Park
Warsea Road
Crail
Fife   (Browse area)
KY10 3Xj
Tel: 01333 450460
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: Easter To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lg2211 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site. We had a pitch right on the sea. Views were magnificent. Itís a very peaceful play, site was full but hardly seen a soul.

Toilets and showers were nearby and were pretty much what to expect. Though the continuous shower was a very welcome surprise instead of those horrible 10 second button ones!

We would definitely return itís so quiet and peaceful and thereís lovely walks into Crail along the Fife Coastal Path where you can continue to enjoying those fabulous views
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Macmoto 5 reviews from this member

We chose this site as we liked the location and a friend had recommended, however, would agree with a lot of the previous reviews that there are major issues with the site and we would not return in spite of the excellent location.

Firstly, our pitch was exceedingly narrow, we returned from a cycle ride to find a new caravan plus awning about 6-8 feet from our door. We have our leisure door on the driver side, they had on the passenger side, so there was absolutely no privacy for either of us. They were very apologetic, and had pitched up as far away as possible.

Ours was not the only pitch affected, on walking around it was obvious that the owners have valued quantity over quality in laying out the pitches.

The toilet block is badly in need of extension or replacement. As mentioned by others, there are only 3 showers for all of the tourers on site, and the door would not close on 1 of these, so only 2 were functional, ludicrous considering that there is a swimming pool on site. I have no great issue with unisex shower cubicles, but the area was chaotic in the afternoon with hordes trying to get showered after using the swimming pool and I can understand some peoples' concern regarding unsupervised children.

If the site was cheap I would probably have been less unhappy, but at £27 per night, (plus charging £3 for 1GB WiFi on only 1 device), this is massively overpriced.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FindlayMac 7 reviews from this member

We were delighted that St Andrews was fully booked so we headed to Crail & found Sauchope.

An absolutely stunning location & very well looked after site, perhaps a higher price compared to other sites but the view is well worth it.

Our only gripe is what previous reviewers have said. That for the size of this site 3x unisex showers are not enough & in today's world Unisex for me is a total NO & not suitable. There were kinds running around naked in the wc/shower block corridor with no parents to be seen & that was alarming as nobody should have to witness that and if you have children then keep them under your eyes & total control at all times.

Also there were kids kicking a ball on the caravan park when it clearly states on the site regulations that No balls are permitted. Again it is up to the parents to control their children and respect other holidaymakers on the site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BScotland 7 reviews from this member

As others have said, this site is in an excellent position, right on the coast and an excellent walk into the village. The first part is the Touring site with the Residentials beyond with expensive chalets! This is our fourth visit in 8 years and it is only 30 miles form home, but we still think it is worth going back. They need to pay a bit more attention to detail, the instructions for the code to get into the Toilet Block says enter code and then turn to the right, which works at one end but at the other end you must turn it to the left! The actual showers are fine, it is the users that let them down. Once you know to take paper towel to dry the seat and an old towel to lay on the floor, they work fine. A better design and better cleaning and not being unisex would be better but you can work with what is there. We will keep going back for the location.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

This site has glamping and lodges as well as touring pitches. Its on the coastal path a short walk into Crail. The shower block is very tired and the 3 individual showers are unisex. We have been on much better sites for the same cost.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

Firstly I must repeat other peoples views that this is a stunning location, literally on the beach as it were.

Unfortunately for us the weather had just turned quite nasty as we had arrived and also bearing in mind the month probably did not do it justice.

The site looked well maintained, and is a mixture of statics and touring plots.

The toilets were slightly confusing to us at first as M & F can access either side of the block with female and male toilets separated inside, slightly disconcerting while we were there as a group of kids had deemed it a designated playground. There were also three showers for either Male or female. Also a laundry although we did not explore that option.

Washing up facilities were at the rear of the block.

For once my trusty TV aerial failed me totally. My mobile (Virgin) and with it internet was non existent. To be fair other regular campers had no trouble TV wise, but I did not enquire about mobiles.

This was important for me (phone wise) and despite walking in every direction for a good distance could not improve it.

It goes to show the generosity of the Scottish people, that someone who I had previously only communicated with on this site offered to drive from 38 miles away to bring us a TV aerial that he knew worked there (many thanks for the offer Vangoman), MÚran taing or as we say, thanks butt.

As mentioned the weather was pretty bad and from the comfort of the van we watched some of the fishermen retrieving their lobster pots hats off here.

Complain about the price of Oil, gas or electric but seafood, how can you?.

We also done the walk to the harbour and seen the fisherman we had seen numerous times in front of us come in, his wife and children were on the harbour wall cheering him in.

Now anyone who has had kids could not fail (like myself ) to have something hit them in the eye at that point.

I had a fairly high risk job but to watch that man risk his life,

He has my total admiration.

The only downside, due to the non existent phone signal we could not stay there our planned time, when my wife explained we had three days booked but would have to leave, it was a case of tough luck. Now in peak times I can understand this but when they could hardly fill half of the site?. Very difficult to get in touch with the company afterwards.

Had the company representative said we will meet you halfway, come back and see us next year with this voucher for a discount(nothing racist here) but I don't think the lady (Polish?) grasped what the wife was saying.

Back on a high note, the village butcher has the widest smile ever and refuses to take money, go to the hatch for that(his wife?) H&S must be well pleased with them, he will not touch the money.

His food, exceptional. The Chippie had a great reputation, sadly we never used it, friendly Coop, people, superb.

Trying to be fair here, would I visit again, perhaps. Worth a visit, definitely

The lobster fisherman we talked to with his family, stay safe Butt.

Would not have missed it.

Regards,

Greg

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsHotrod 3 reviews from this member

We arrived here on Tuesday, what a stunning location.

Most of the pitches have a sea view, some right on the coastline. Some pitches were on a slope so had to use levellers.

Showers/toilets/wash up area were nice and clean. Although there are only 3 showers for the site, we never had a problem, hubby had to queue one morning for a few minutes. I went at night and there wasn't a problem then, showers nice and hot and not one of those push button types. There is a pool on site which is good, although we never used it.

Walked along the coastal path into the harbour, it's beautiful. Hubby had fresh lobster bought from a small hut there. Gorgeous.

A lovely site, would return, no problem.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this place. Found it by chance one evening - followed the signs from village centre down narrow access road - but what a view. Feels like you are actually on the beach. We saw Dolphins the first evening we were there - what a bonus. The staff were lovely and very helpful, the static area is large but beautifully kept. Toilet block is more than adequate with excellent modern facilities. Lovely walk along coast path into Crail in one direction, or just along beautiful coast in the other. Crail is a lovely village well worth a visit. Lovely site - will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tranny1 4 reviews from this member

Lovely position next to the shoreline with a view over the sea to the Isle of May. Walk from site along the coast to village 10 minutes where there's a lovely harbour and picturesque village (plus Hotel for a beer which we didn't try). Great chippy but long queue although well worth the wait as best fish & chips I've had for a while. Good facilities with 2 wash blocks and all inclusive for £25 for 1 night inc EHU. Also had indoor kitchen, TV room and lounge area. Maintained well and couple of guys came round to empty the bins and clean up. Wished we'd stayed longer.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gem64 1 review from this member

Great site with fantastic views & couldn't be any nearer the sea. Wardens friendly & helpful. Pleasant walk into Crail. Great for anyone with dogs, they are welcome at The Golf Inn & good food served there too. Only thing which lets the site down is the toilet/shower block. I'm sure there must be plans to replace it. But right now it is a cold, dark, uninviting place if there was ever one. Found it impossible to shower without soaking the floor of the changing area soaking my towels trying to get dry. In the cold. The toilet/shower block is a relic from the 70's & lets the whole place down. Wifi at £3. 50 a day a bit steep too particularly when it could best be described as 'intermittent'.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4095 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019