Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ken Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas > Loch Ken Holiday Park > Reviews

Loch Ken Holiday Park
Parton
Castle Douglas
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG7 3NE
Tel: 01644 470282
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 120 Reviews
                9/10 from 120 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackiearm 3 reviews from this member

 Great site. Lots a walking areas for exercising dogs with lots of poo bins ! Shop had all the necessities you might require.

Clean site with basic toilet block. No hairdryers or radio in toilets. Showers are above ground level in ladies block so you step into it. Separate disabled room, I found it cold and a little cramped.

Having said all this I will go back as the staff were friendly and approachable.

Ideal if you enjoy fishing and paddle boarding/ kayaking.

Wetsuits available to hire also.

Lots for young kids to do on the site and seems very family friendly.

We were in MHome and the pitches have great views and EHU. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SimonP 1 review from this member

 Lovely site in a great location.

Pitches are large and facilities are very clean.

Great site if you like watersports as you can launch your kayak or paddle board into Loch Ken from right beside the touring pitches.

Friendly, helpful staff were always on hand.

We loved our stay and couldn't give any less than 10 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CliveNGill 17 reviews from this member

 Great site in a beautiful loch side location.

Friendly helpful staff who make an effort to make sure that you enjoy your holiday.

Good facilities.

The loch has good fishing and you can hire canoes, rowing boats and paddle boards and wet suits.

Nice walks local to the site.

A short drive to castle Douglas, Threave House/Gardens/castle where you can see ospreys nesting, also the Red Kite feeding station is nearby. A little further away is Galloway Forest Park with really nice walks and plenty of red squirrels.

Only downside for us was there is no pub within walking distance, but a bus does stop outside.

Mungo the owner is friendly and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Guinnessone 1 review from this member

 Can highly recommend this site

Itís right next to the loch,

Clean, tidy and very friendly welcome.

I can see us staying here again it was so enjoyable stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mcdade 1 review from this member

 Lovely setting, however, some issues with toilet/shower location in proximity to tourer/ camp site as they were just too far away,

Otherwise a clean tidy campsite except for the waste /refuse location which was located in a field across the A75 opposite the campsite with no recycling facilities, but we were reassured by the manager that this is only temporary until the new bins arrive for next season. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mrpete070377 1 review from this member

 Fantastic stay at Loch Ken holiday park 16/08/21-19/08/21.

Beautiful setting right on the Loch with stunning countryside views beyond. My boys loved it. Lots of other children playing together, either on the football pitch or on the park and swings.

We had a perfect pitch opposite so could sit round the campfire and keep an eye while they made friends and played happily. Happy parents!

I had read the comments RE the shower/toilet facilities before arriving. I found no issues and the showers nice and hot and I really liked the disc system to limit people when inside buildings.

Mungo couldnít have been more friendly and helpful, even given us a small refund against our booking as my wife somehow overpaid. Very honest fella.

Quite sad we only had time for 3 nights as could have happily stayed for more. We have found another favourite site and canít wait to visit next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lesley 1 review from this member

 The location and size of the site was good however the showers/toilets could have done with being cleaned more regularly.

Of the 3 days I was there I only ran in to the cleaner once at about 10 in the morning.

Other campsites I have been to clean there showers/toilets every 2-3 hours, especially since covid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Catbusadventures 1 review from this member

 We loved Loch Ken Holiday Park. The grounds are kept lovely and pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. Staff were professional and present. Lots of areas to fish and boats available for hire.

The toilet and shower block could definitely be attended to more often and I was a bit shocked at the bin situation.

There are no bins on site, you have to cross the road and enter a gate to a field where a huge container sits for rubbish. No glass or recycling bins.

There was also an area not cleared where people had dumped furniture etc.

We would however stay again as overall happy with our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MandaN 4 reviews from this member

 Positives:

1. Beautiful location and well maintained grounds.

2. A small shop on site that doesnít over charge. Milk available each morning.

3. A huge dog walking field adjacent.

Negatives:

1. Loads of campers when we arrived and felt shoehorned in.

2. Facilities inadequate for so many campers. Werenít as clean as could be and showers quickly flooded.

4. Dog waste bins too overflowed for first three days of holiday.

4. No refuse collections local to camping areas. Have to carry your waste over busy road at site entrance to a large skip on uneven ground. First few days of holiday skip was overflowing too badly.

5. Wash up areas no bin so bits of peoples waste food etc get left on the side of sinks etc. Not nice.

6. Be prepared if camping to walk long distances to the toilet, to wash up or to take rubbish to skip.

7. Dog walking field brilliant until latter part of week when sheep were put in field so couldnít let dog off lead.

8. On our last night fireworks were let off gone 10pm. Presumably an unruly element. Noise a problem late at night, shouting commonplace.

Would we return?

Never. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lillia 1 review from this member

 Nice and peaceful, lovely clean park great views and fishing as well, walking biking etc.

Everyone very friendly.

Cant rate services on park as were closed due to current climate with virus.

Hopefully next visit things will be different. 
via mobile


Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ken Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ken Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Loch Ken Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Castle Douglas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45933 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement