Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Loch Ken Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas > Loch Ken Holiday Park Reviews

Loch Ken Holiday Park
Parton
Castle Douglas
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG7 3NE
Tel: 01644 470282
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Anniemum 1 review from this member

 Beautiful campsite on the edge of a loch, we visited as extended family with wee ones and teenagers. Family run with a personal touch owners around and available and so helpful, continually working to improve site.

Boat hire is the draw for us with the older children and adults spending hours on the water but still enough to entertain wee ones. Having coffee van on site is a bonus and great for easy dinner. Lots of wildlife and red kites circle the skies daily.

Tent field is a bit undulating so pitch carefully, warden allocates pitches so we always end up at far end- beautiful views but a long trek to toilet block which is well maintained but can get grassy as the evening goes on. If there was another block at the far end of the tent field it would be perfect.

It is our happy place we canít wait to go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location, the water of Loch Ken was attractive at all times of day. Birds were special - Red Kites whistling close overhead, geese arriving noisily, a pair of owls calling from the Ken-Dee Marshes RSPB reserve on the west shore. The "dog field" wasn't available because it had ewes & lambs, but there's an enjoyable walk across the road - the path up to the Red Kite viewing area, and over the hill to Parton, is fenced off from the woods and fields.

The site is well maintained & actively upgrading. A new terrace is being built below the tent field. Free Wi-Fi (needs password). The toilet block in the static area looks newly refurbished with generous cubicles combining toilet, sink, shower plus free hair dryer in each cubicle. Both the pot wash areas are covered. They are looking to install a motorhome service area - until then, you need to take grey water to the designated drain by the CDP (but lazy MH folk dump on their pitch). The MH stances are generously spaced in the area below the tent field - on the steeply terraced area, they look a bit back to back, albeit offset.

Looks like an interesting program of Easter activities for families with children. Boats out on the water - fishing here for pike, perch, & bream and the loch has the invasive American crayfish.

Cost £22 for MH + EHU, all on hardstand, plus £2 pn for the dog.

Yes, we'd go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Chelle25 4 reviews from this member

 Loch Ken is a wonderful site, with pleanty uf pitches. They have both pitches with EHU and some without.

Site is always clean and tidy and staff are always pleasent. On arrival you are welcomed and shown to your pitch, you are given the opportunity to ask any questions by staff.

Toilet and shower blocks have always been clean on our visits although showers are quite small and tight. If travelling with young kids that you need to shower it would be worth using showers at caravan area as these are larger.

There is plenty of bins, water points, a chemical waste disposal area and 2 washing up areas, 1 of which is underroof if raining.

The site also has a little herb garden in the camping area for guests to use, so you can spice up dinner if you wish with a few items from here.

There is a shop which is open daily, fishing permits, boat and kayak hire from here also. There is also a good information point next to the shop with all the info you could need forsurrounding area.

For the children there is plenty to do from rope swing, park, football area to a treasure hunt around the site. The fact that it sits on the banks of a loch, make it a winning attraction for us. You can take your own boats, kayaks, etc or hire from the site. We have spent many hours in and on this loch with the kids.

This is a site we have and will continue to return to time and time again. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hud1 11 reviews from this member

 Recently returned from a 5 night stay at Loch Ken, facilities and campsite immaculate throughout our stay.

Site is set in stunning location and a great base for exploring the area.

Fished the Loch a couple of times without much success, will return and will seek some local advice on fishing techniques.

Definitely worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Braewalkers 3 reviews from this member

 Went here for a fishing weekend with the family. Nice setting and a busy site. Everything was acceptable but it is definitely not for a holiday. Facilities needed cleaned but this was due to campers being untidy and not caring less. We caught some fish and went home happy, that is the main thing. We will go back sometime. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Timvan 6 reviews from this member

 This is an Excellent site in beautiful location. Very friendly welcoming staff with Good facilities. Will definitely come back. So good to find a campsite open all year to enjoy peace and quiet. Good choice of pitches. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mondeocort 38 reviews from this member

 We arrived in the rain and were shown our pitch by warden. Had booked an awning pitch but neighbours in a massive outfit with a boat trailer did encroach onto the pitch we were given and so did without rather than cause a nuisance as occupants of outfit weren't around. There was a mix of static, seasonal and touring pitches and we were on the 2nd of 4 tiers. Did feel a little penned in and also felt that we were intrusive of the tier below. Plenty of bins, taps etc on site with a central waste and chemical disposal point at the toilet block. Toilet block was open all day and cleaned in the morning but all the surfaces were dripping with condensation all the time and the floor was dirty constantly. They were good showers though and plenty of room. The reception was central and had a book exchange and info room and also groceries on sale. A massive tent / camping field next to the hard standing was slopped and also suffering somewhat with the amount of rain, very boggy in parts. Massive dog walking field next to the camping field which was a god send as the only alternative was to walk along the main road to the nearby village which wasn't pavemented unless you are happy to get in and out of your vehicles constantly. We like to park up and not move so on that basis will probably not visit again. I could imagine for families interested in boating or fishing, this would be an ideal site and with plenty of play area's, great for families with younger children. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Burscobilly 7 reviews from this member

 We received a friendly welcome at the reception and were guided to a choice of pitches overlooking the loch. The views from our pitch were stunning and it was lovely to sit at the front of the tent in the morning with a brew; watching the occasional boat on the loch.

The camp field has lots of flat areas to pitch. There is a play area with climbing frame and there is also a football pitch. Would suggest you don't pitch too close to the goals! Some of the pitches had electric hookup, but we chose not to. The EHU pitches are nearer to the loos but further back from the loch.

We found two toilet and shower blocks. There was no charge for showers when we went. The toilet blocks were clean and we never had to queue for showers.

Some reviewers mention that the site was very crowded, but we didn't experience that in August. (We were there for the last week of the Scottish school holidays)

The reception doubles up as a shop and they will freeze your ice blocks for a small charge. There is a coffee van that is open in the mornings.

We didn't take hire a boat, but wish we had!

Castle Douglas only 10/15 mins away in the car and we found a beautiful chippy in Kirkudbright.

We hope to visit again. Next time we would take our bikes and find some off road spots to pedal; there are lots in the area.

The site was quiet and clean and well maintained. Well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alison Ian 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, beautiful area and views over Loch Ken are stunning. A very well run site with great facilities and welcoming staff. Great for kids, big area for them to run round with parks, football pitch, table tennis. Boats available to hire and are good value for money. Will be happy to return here again and again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

 What a great place to stop on the edge of the Town, Hard standing or Grass right on a Loch. The town has plenty to offer Tesco coop and local shops, Brewery to go and visit strange opening times as it shuts at 6pm. The Place has places to eat and if fishing is your thing then the Lake has it for you.

The site has 3 toilet blocks and a swipe card is required for entry. The staff are the best, Will come again 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ken Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ken Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Loch Ken Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Castle Douglas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements