Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tanyfron Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dolgellau > Tanyfron Holiday Park Reviews

Tanyfron Holiday Park
Arran Road
Snowdonia
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL40 2AA
Tel: 01341 422638
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 43
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshwom 1 review from this member

This campsite is within walking distance of Dolgellau, it is peaceful, showers/toilets are immaculate, the dutch and French tourist board visited and praised how clean the toilets showers are. The owner did have some personnel problems but the site is now being run by relatives with plans to change the access road and allow well behaved dogs etc. Due to the insurance there is no play area for children but its only a five minute walk to the local park play area.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ssmale 4 reviews from this member

We booked this site because it advertised fully serviced pitches. We often stay on fully serviced pitches in winter, enjoying the water and waste facility. While setting up we realising the water was turned off. We asked for the water to be turned on, only to be informed that it will be at least two weeks before the water supply can be restored, I was very disappointed and explained how I had telephone days earlier to confirm all was OK, I also said how I understand the problem and said “It would have been fair if I had been informed and so given the choice to make alternative arrangements”. We were in the area with friends that were staying in the town centre, and it was difficult to rearrange.

At this point a man over hearing the conversation said (I will remove the swear words) what the ----ing hell do you expect, it’s -----ing winter, come to my office collect your money and you can ----off now. The young man who I had been talking to in a polite and controlled manor apologised and told me that the man was the owner of the site.

The site also mentioned well lit at night, the only lighting was around the service building.

The distance from our van to the water supply was about 100yrds but with this being a significant gradient made things difficult (Old age & Arthritis)

I don’t wish to comment on other problems or the good things about this site, my experience would cloud my judgement.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Luce104 2 reviews from this member

When we first arrived we were very impressed with this clean and tidy site, with pleasant flat pitches for camping. Also lovely views from the camping area. Although we noticed that the top level of ground was quite thin before you reached rock in some areas, making putting pegs in difficult.

However, a large young group arrived this first night and stayed both nights we were there. They were very loud, swearing and playing music through the day and until way into the night (not sure what time exactly, but past midnight) and this really ruined the experience for us (and probably lots of others), especially seen as we had young children with us.

It was such a shame as we were hoping for a peaceful stay but now when booking a site for my family I will check their policy of large groups and noise in the night.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Couple - early 50's – Normally look for peace, quiet and tranquillity, but with a few mod cons, but on this occasion, we were part of a 3 x unit group, large tent, small tent, and caravan.

Stayed 3 nights - Fri 03/03 to Mon 06/03

Cost for us - 2 adults + Tent + Car + EHU = £27pn (More for the caravan, and less for the small tent).

Primarily as a double family birthday weekend, and secondarily to “give Snowdon a go”, we decided to head to Snowdonia. Still a fair few sites either still closed, not taking tents on grass, or simply not answering the ‘phone, so Niece booked us in here, as they answered the ‘phone first time, and were apparently very helpful and nice to deal with.

Website states “tent prices from £7pppn”, but we guessed that would be for single backpackers, and upon arrival, that proved right. We opted for our pod plus awnings, which equates to approx. 3. 5m x 7. 6m plus guys. That came under “Large tent 4/5 berth” and were subsequently charged £27. There was confusion on the hostess’ part, as the reception notice board seemed to hint at EHU being extra, but after making it clear we wanted EHU, she never added more.

We were pointed in the direction of our pitch, as the first couple in our group had already arrived, and was advised to pitch anywhere we liked on the grass area adjacent to our friends hardstanding caravan pitch.

It looked great, and very spacious, as there was only one more tent due, and they were with us!

The various grass areas are terraced, and fenced off, but in a nice way, to keep the cars off. Plenty of room to park close for setting up, and again for parking out the way, all on hard roadway.

First feel of the pitching area though suggested the grass was rather long, and the ground very soft under foot. “Squidgy” seems appropriate.

By the time we had set up our awnings to give us space for all 6 to sit together out of the forecast heavy and constant rain, there was a lot of surface water. By the end of the first evening, it was almost to festival levels, and the foam mats at our tent doorway had been literally swamped by a watery mud. Not great, and we had to ask for a spare pallet to act as a high door mat, which in fairness the site owner brought over on his fork truck, with no qualms, so can’t fault the service. That improved things immensely, and gave us a good clean and stable area to get in and out of wellies. This was not a time for crocs!

Ground conditions were pretty much the only negative. I did think that’s due to us camping at this time of year, in this kind of weather, but also wondered whether they should have been at least ringing us to forewarn of the soggy conditions. I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt, as it was all green, green grass when we arrived, and there was high foot traffic in that area, and to be fair, we did actually laugh off the conditions and not let it (and the weather!) spoil our weekend.

The loo/shower blocks were much of a muchness. No wow factor, but certainly ample in number, cleanliness, and practicality. Showers cubicles were a tad slim, but adjustable temp and no push-button. There was a report from one of our party that hot water was running out on one evening, but never experienced that myself.

Never used the pot-wash room nor the laundry room, but had a peep, and they looked fine. As we were on EHU, we also never used the hairdryer or socket in the loo block either… they were on 20p meters.

The views were at least good if not great. Lots of hills, and even snow on some peaks. A bit of a housing estate in one direction probably took away any chance of a wow factor though. We also had no trouble from the graveyard next door, despite my reservations!

Didn’t use the shops and/or hostelries in the local town, but we drove through en-route to other areas, and it appears a 15min walk to be central to such amenities.

There were a couple of back-packers on another camping area, one other caravan on the first night, and a few folk in statics. One of the timber pods were occupied on the first night, and on the second night, a couple were on a parking area in what looked more like a van than a camper van? Other than that, we pretty much felt like we had the whole site to ourselves. Nice and peaceful, and as a whole, I’d say the site is visually appealing and practical. Don’t normally like cars being away from the pitch, but as the camping areas were small and spread out, it worked very well, to be fair. And besides, if we had have got our car on the grass, I doubt we’d have got it off again!

Other than initial reception, and the pallet delivery, we saw nothing of our host and hostess. They never once approached to check all was ok, but on the flip of that, they never once came to tell us to keep the evening laughter down!

Bang on an hour’s drive to Pen-y-Pas car park at Snowdon itself. This was full by the time we arrived at 09:50 on the first Sunday in March, with lousy weather, so be warned if you head for that.

20min drive to Barmouth. Quiet, damp and grey of course, but I reckon it would be nice with a little sunshine.

Overall, a great weekend, in a very good location, on a good site.

Yes, we’d stay here again without doubt, but wouldn’t consider it ideal as a winter site for tents (perfectly fine if on hardstanding of course!) The layout seems to hint that all would still be good when the weather picks up, and it get’s busier, but I’m only guessing.

I’ve no idea whether they would have allowed us to pitch our tent(s) on hardstanding if we’d requested. Sorry, should have at least asked, for the purpose of research!

Oh, and for those that like, there’s a barrier at the entrance with code number entry, so nice and secure.

Ultimately, I’d say at this time of year, with these ground conditions, £27 was somewhat over the top for two in our tent, even with EHU. I’d have thought £18 - £22 would be a fairer “low season rate”, and more in keeping with what we are used to paying for similar standards of amenities etc.

But hey, we were on a weekend family celebration, and all went reasonably well, so no complaints from us.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bartsville 4 reviews from this member

Nice site close to the village and its pubs. Showers and toilets were ok. We got the feeling though that these owners were trying to extract as much money from us as was possible. The site fee was £28 for which we got a hard standing and electric but no water as it wasn't turned on we then had to pay £5 for wifi which ran out after a couple of hours. There were coin machines for hair dryers, irons, hot water, electric sockets and at £28 a pitch plus the £5 for internet you would have thought these things could be provided free. We had just come from a site which had the same site wide wifi system and it was free. A good site spoilt by the overpricing and exploitation. Even 15 minutes tumble dryer was £1

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laurenprobert 1 review from this member

I was extremely pleased with the campsite itself as well as the service provided. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, they showed us around and informed us of everything we needed to know, they gave us a brief overview of the area and activities nearby and when needed they were always on hand to answer any of our questions. The site was immaculate and had a fantastic view. The toilet/shower blocks were always clean and left open all night. The only criticism we would have is with the family in the tent next to us who tended to be very noisy, even at night, but this was down to them not the campsites. Outside of the site we found a particularly lovely restaurant/pub/hotel which served amazing food - cross foxes. This was just a 5 minute journey from the campsite. Everywhere you go has lots of footpaths and walks to follow. Just a 10 minute car journey to 2 beaches. One being Barmouth which is a quirky seaside town with shops, fairground, food etc.

Overall, wonderful place. Absolutely stunning, clean, peaceful. Would definitely recommend it, especially to those who like to walk, relax and enjoy a nice view.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Somersetarcher 12 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights in a two person pod. Normally die hard tent campers we found this to be luxury! Very high quality, warm and spotlessly clean as are all of the site facilities. The pods are sited on the highest level with lovely views across the town and surrounding countryside. There is a private loo for pod users which saves the walk down to the main block, much appreciated during the night.

No lighting at the top of the site which we like.

Easy access to the town and walks

One of the best sites we have used and compares with many European sites which are generally better than British ones.

Hope to visit again

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joe+2 3 reviews from this member

Lovely camp site, been coming here off and on for years, new owners now and they seem great, good luck to them. The site is wonderful for kids in their summer hols, you feel safe with the play area, good facilities, not a large site but big enough with tents, statics, caravans & motorhomes, lovely views and terrific walks up hill behind campsite. No shop on site except for gas, but really only a short trip from shop in village or to the towns of either barmouth or porthmadog for your big shop.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jen+Fred 8 reviews from this member

Clean well-maintained site 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Dolgellau. The site has several terraced areas with four for tents. Extensive scenic views of the hills on the other side of the valley to the North East. Rather exposed, so suggest pitching tent appropriate to the direction of the prevailing wind if strong winds are forecast.

Plenty of places to eat and drink in Dolgellau, including at least two cafes serving breakfast as well as restaurants, takeaways and four bars serving Real Ale. Co-op supermarket not far from campsite and Spar shop with Post Office in town.


Ideal base for walkers with walks of various levels of difficulty in the area; from a gentle stroll along the riverside to a strenuous walk to the top of Cader Idris which overlooks the town.

Several bus services go from Eldon Square in the centre of town. The bus service is good, but timetables are not published, so not always easy to find. Copies are kept in the Tourist Information Centre but suggest printing any timetables you are likely to use before you go. These can be found at https://www. Gwynedd. Gov. Uk/en/Residents/Parking-roads-and-travel/Bus-timetables/Bus-timetables. Aspx

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 75 reviews from this member

We have just spent the one night at Tan-y-fron to break a rather long journey. The chap at reception was very welcoming and showed us to our pitch from which we had lovely views up the valley. The facilities were fine, if a little confined and the water pressure was rather low, but were clean, so no real complaints.

Although the pitches are terraced, there are some steep and tight sections to get to and from them.

All in all a pretty reasonable site, but rather expensive for the one night.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3992 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019