Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cartmel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Grange Over Sands > Cartmel Park Reviews

CLOSED: Cartmel Park
Wells House Farm
Cartmel
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Touring Closed From 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, it is now lodges only. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samstevenson 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights as it was within walking distance of Cartmel Show. Toilets were dated but clean and with 4 showers were perfectly adequate for the number of campers. Outside covered pot washing area with piping hot water. Owners were welcoming and helpful. In the surrounding area of Cartmel there are several pubs and a variety of eateries although they are pricey. At the end of the lane, 2 minutes walk from the campsite, there is a bus stop which will take you to nearby Grange Over Sands or into the busy lakeland towns of Kendal and Ulverston. The only drawbacks were the pitches, some of which were not level and the entrance to the field muddy after rain. No play area but you could play ball in the camping field.

We would stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rolstherat 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend for our first Family Camping trip. We chose Cartmel as we have been to the village before.

As expected the campsite is brilliantly located in the village handy for the pubs etc. I felt it was expensive for the facilities but you pay for the location.

The shower block could be nearer the camping field, I assume they have used the nearer camping field for Caravans, hence the distance now. Perhaps a sign of things to come here.

Having said that the shower block was nice and clean and recently painted. However the timer switches on the showers means the water stops often, they should be switched to last longer. Also the outside washing up area could be a bit cleaner.

It was not too busy, possible due to the weather not being great, but there was a great atmosphere for the kids to play with each other.

The owners were friendly and it is a lovely place to stay, but expensive for what you get beyond where it is. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annsoeters 1 review from this member

 This campsite only caters for tents or holiday homes. It is a lovely, safe, quiet, clean campsite in close proximity to a lovely village. I had a 4 man tent accommodating myself and my young son. However, the electric tariff is excessive at £6 per night for a tent. National rates tend to be £2 - £3. When I enquired about this tariff, the justification was that the holiday homes use a lot of electricity. If the tariffs are graded for size of accommodation, then they should also be graded for appropriate use of electricity. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NANAJUDE 1 review from this member

 First time at this site and what a gem. Located in beautiful surroundings. Toilet block old fashioned but cleaned regularly. Push button showers but not a problem as stay on longer than most. Only two showers but this is a small site so didn't have to wait. Cartmel town 2 min walk away where there is a Londis and a lovely butty shop (great as we were there in a heatwave so food in the tent was not an option). Cartmel has 4 pubs & a hotel all serving food/drinks but we opted for The Royal Oak as the food was excellent and there is a lovely beer garden. We were lucky enough to be there for the Cartmel races - well worth a trip so pubs had entertainment on so really lively. We were only there for Sun-Wed but that was enough to make this a favourite. We hope the owners keep the site open to tents as we hope to return soon. Only one downside, The Priory bells chime on the hour so if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs. Good location for touring the Lakes- only short drive to Windermere etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saranevans 5 reviews from this member

 Home from a fabulous weekend camping with friends and children. 15 of us in total with 4 tents.

Superb surroundings. 2 camping fields. We were in the second field slightly elevated but generally flat where we pitched. Considering the weather it didn't get exceptionally busy although felt that all the groups were herded into one area of the field.

Toilets were clean and despite only 2 showers, there wasn't any issue with queuing or anything. Plenty of toilets and again, the building is quite basic, it was always cleaned regularly. Showers were always hot.

Lovely little stroll into the village and a great children's play park en route.

We ate in the Royal Oak which catered for us all and food was excellent. Lovely beer garden backing onto the little river.

No shop on site. They will freeze icepacks for you though for 20p each (with that going to charity).

Little stroll to a Londis which stocked the usual plus some nice local produce.

We'd definitely come back here again. The glorious weather helped but it was a very relaxed site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ews29 2 reviews from this member

 The site is in a beautiful location, with excellent access to Cartmel.

We found that the facilities were clean and although there are only two showers in each section we never had to really wait. The showers were a good size with a separate drying space (that had rubber matting and plenty of coat hooks) so your clothes were in no danger of getting wet.

There are no signs asking people to be quiet after a certain time. I would love to give this campsite 10 stars however we had major issues with noise on our stay from other campers and the statics nearby until midnight the first night and 1am on the second. It really affected our stay and would put us off from returning to an otherwise lovely site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billyboo 3 reviews from this member

 Spent a few days here over the bank holiday. The site changed hands last year and there is an air of “change “about the site. Received a very warm welcome from the owners who took us to our pitch.

The facilities are very basic, with two showers. I could have done with the water being a little warmer in the showers, although it’s plenty hot enough in both the hand basins and wash up area. There is a hairdryer. The facilities where kept clean. But not always tidy! There is nowhere to wash or dry clothes and no local launderette, normally this does not pose a problem, but we did get very wet and I could have just done with a dryer. A bigger problem was nowhere to refreeze ice blocks.

The site was busy it being a Bank holiday, but not over crowded. The camping fields are level and the pitch size was generous. There where quite a few children making use of the open space left in the middle of the camping area and you could keep an eye on your kids whist sitting outside your tent with a nice glass of wine. The playground is not on site, its just at the entrance and is the local playground.

Although this site does not have a shop, the Local londis is within strolling distance and opens normal londis hours.

This site is ideally placed for Cartmel, being literally a two min walk to the beautiful village. There are four pubs and we ate at The Royal Oak, which changed hands last August. I was a bit dubious about eating there as it was so busy but the food was superb, reasonably priced and the staff very friendly, and welcoming. Well worth a visit but I would book a table at busy times.

If you like cheese than the cheese shop is a must, stocking many local cheeses from small farms and you can have a taste of as many cheeses as you want! There is also a micro brewery – the pale real ale was delicious.

It will be interesting to see how this site develops and I do hope it continues to take tents. Although it’s a basic site at present, our trip was made all the more enjoyable as other campers where very friendly as where the people of Cartmel. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Townie_luvs_country 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site, we had EHU so the pitch was chosen for us but very flat that backed onto a hedge the other side of the washing up facilities so never really needed to fill the water bottle, just nipped round the corner with the kettle and filled up.

Clean showers/toilets, plenty of hot water. Showers were push button to conserve water but it stayed on for quite a while before your next push, unlike some campsites with 5 second intervals!

Nice village we used the Pig & Whistle pub, dogs were allowed in the pub with you. Ideal if, like us, you go for the race meeting, not too far to carry your cool bag with your beer/food in.

No fires allowed? Hmmm. A few people were lighting a few logs in BBQS, nothing too radical, just a small fire, above ground, to sit round and chat and have a glass of wine. If I had known that I would have brought my portable BBQ.

All in all a very good campsite that I will be booking again for next year. One gripe, the site could do with a freezer to freeze ice-blocks or to chill down cans or bottles of beer/wine. For a campsite of this quality I was surprised that one was not provided. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mpr87 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Cartmel and had a great weekend. This was my first proper camping trip so it's hard to compare it to other places but I had no problems.

Turned up and popped to the house to find out where to go etc. Was told where to pitch up and of we went, Didn't see the owner again but that didn't bother me. Really nice little campsite, we were in the second field which was slightly hilly but nothing major, the first field was certainly a lot flatter.

Didn't think fires were allowed but saw other campers with fires lit which was disappointing, had we known we would have taken something. Having read some of the reviews I was a bit concerned about the toilets and showers but they weren't anyway near as bad as some previous reviews have made out.

The building itself is very nice and clean, the toilets are clean and well stocked with loo roll. With about 5 sink units, 2 shower cubicles which where nice and warm, only problem was the concrete floor. When this got wet in the shower cubicle it was impossible to dry your feet.

A little bench of some sort would have made a massive difference, There where hooks on the walls for bags and towels etc. Don't really know what could be done about the floor, maybe some sort of vinyl or something would make it not as cold on your feet but then it would probably be slippy, so not sure what they can do.

The odd cobweb knocking about but hardly worth noting. I've seen a lot worse in public toilets all over the show. There was also an outside washing up area for cleaning pots and pans. No problem with the price.

Very close to cartmel village centre, the sticky toffee pudding is amazing! we also went to the pig and whistle for a sunday lunch which was nice, £8. 95 which seemed the cheapest in the area, the cavendish arms was a lot dearer so we avoided it.

The cartmel village shop was a bit pricey but there was a londis across from the pig and whistle which was a lot better price wise, and also a butty shop next door.

Overall I'd say it's a perfect campsite for a weekend. Any longer than that and the lack of facilities may be a bit of a problem, as far as washing clothes and drying stuff is concerned. (atleast in wetter weather anyway) I'd definitely recommend this site though and will most probably return at some point. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2813 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020