Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Pengarreg Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Pengarreg Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pengarreg Caravan & Camping Park
Llanrhystud
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 5DH
Tel: 01974 202247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: March 1st - January 1st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandra1 3 reviews from this member

Pitch right next to the beach with sunsets to die for. Pitches not level. Front legs hardly down at all with 10 packing and almost fully extended legs at the rear.

Toilets and showers very clean and beautiful red kites flying overhead - especially at meal times! No rubbish bins on site, rubbish has to be taken 1/2 mile down the road.

Restaurant closed on Monday and not open till 6pm any night. Nice quiet site when we were there but would not use again mainly because of the negatives in this review.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LandyBellTent 1 review from this member

We visited for two nights with our little boy and two labs and had a fabulous weekend. My email enquiry prior to our visit was answered quickly with clear instructions as we would be arriving late on Friday night. On arrival we chose a pitch that overlooked the sea. Absolutely stunning! The facilities were excellent, very clean and never too busy. Access to the beach was great and we spent both evenings throwing stones in the sea. We paid 27 for two nights which we felt was good value for money. We will definitely be going back! Oh and the red kites overhead almost all the time were an added bonus!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 209 reviews from this member

I enquired by email and received a quick response saying it was 13. 50 per night for me and the dog in a campervan, so we headed on down there.

The siteis easy to find off the main road and there is a petrol station opposite for any bits you may need.

The site is mainly statics and seasonal pitches all overlooking the sea and the area for tourers is on the edge of the cliff offering dramtic views of the coastline and sea. A wonderful spot to camp. It can get windy, but just be prepared.

The facilities were clean, modern and well maintained. There are water taps along with the touring pitches and plenty of bins, etc.

There is a large pub, restaurant, games room and children's play area a short walk up the lane called The Barn at Pengarreg. The staff were very friendly, chatty and relaxed. A good selection of drink and food was available and all very well priced.

The play area and field behind the pub was great for kids and dog friendly too.

There is plenty of walking in the area and as it is the coast path it is quite steep, but the walk is great and the views stunning.

I would choose this site to stay at if in the area again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sona 5 reviews from this member

Okay, we were recommended to go to this site by a family member. We were told by the lady at reception that we could choose our pitch, we had requested a nice quiet one with as much privacy as possible. Off we went and pitched up just above the beach, lovely views over the sea, drinking water tap right behind tent. Sorted! It was lovely during the first few days, sunny, though windy. The walk behind the site gave lovely views and was worth the climb. The toilets, showers and wash up area were lovely and clean, modern and warm, with free, plentiful hot water. The washing machine was only 2 and washed the clothes very well. The children loved the play areas, there are two, and beach-combing at low tide. Our problems started when it began to get really windy, not the fault of the site but the exposed pitches up by the beach were battered beyond belief! Our tent survived, but we left a day early after a harrowing night with very frightened children. Because the children loved it we would go back, but camp on the more sheltered area for tents, down by the tourers. No view, but a lot less windy!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slippets 1 review from this member

Generally Excellent Site, First visit in touring caravan with small awning off grid using gas for showers, plus solar panels/inverter. Its a large Caravan Site, mainly statics with some tourers and tents. Very Quiet site away from main road and very relaxed atmosphere. Toilet/Shower block was clean and tidy, the small shop was good for odd items and the children's play areas x2 were ok. There is a restaurant/pub on site which is very clean and well priced with good sized portions. The staff and other residents and visitors were all very friendly. Its fantastic for dog walkers across the sea front. The beach, although rocky and pebbled it has a ramp/cleared area for boats and other access.

We will definitely be going again next year. Day trips to Aberaeron and New Quay are also within 10 miles down the coast, New Quay has a sandy Beach. There is a Large petrol station suitable for caravans just at the entrance to the site on the main coast road.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 145 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night whilst touring Wales. We arrived at the site mid afternoon and had a choice of the five or so touring pitches. The site is mainly long stay or static vans.

Whilst this wouldn't be a site I'd visit in the summer because of it's size, it was great for an out of season stay. The location is very good, right on the sea front with the coastal path running directly behind.

The facilities were a little dated but were clean. At 10 for the night with EHU, I thought the site was very good value and well worth a visit for the location alone.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LawmanSmith 12 reviews from this member

Quite a decent site, split between static and touring seasonal pitches with reasonable space for touring pitches.

Where we were it was flat with a great view of the sea.

Fair to good little shop and quite a good clubhouse with good food.

Decent children's park.

Very reasonable prices.

I would stay again if I was in the area !

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meryldawn 16 reviews from this member

What a fantastic view we had of the sea from our caravan window. Although the site is full of static caravans tiered from the shoreline tourers are on the top tier looking over the top of the statics. The only drawback is we were there when the 70mph were coming off the sea and sleeping made me feel as if I was on a boat. Having driven down from Anglesey with a very wet awning it was trying to put up the awning to dry it out. The owners/wardens/staff were all very friendly and helpful. The toilet block was very nice but I didn't like the showers/cubicles. Otherwise had a lovely time.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madammedusa 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from spending two weeks in our tent at this campsite. Would highly recommend this site, it is well kept, we had a fab view of the sea. Staff very friendly, the clubhouse is ideal and the food is excellent and also reasonably priced.

Shop has all you need and again reasonably priced, although it does shut between 12pm-3pm. Location quite good as you are 20 mins away from both Aberystwyth and New Quey which has a brilliant sandy beach.

Free hot showers/toilets although if I had to give tham a mark out of 10 for cleanliness they would only get a 6! The only thing I was disappointed about was the fact my two boys of 15, could not go into the children's games room without someone of 16 and over.

One of the reason we chose this site was because it a children' s games room. I think they should advise of this on their website.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lozzybeanhead 1 review from this member

The site was easily located although upon arrival it seemed that everywhere was shut (surprising considering it was only 11am on a Saturday). We spoke with a long term camper who advised us to just pick a pitch then pay the next day. Fair enough!

This site is predominantly for caravans and is more suited for a relaxing weekend which suited us down to the ground. There is a little club house, a little shop, clean and free showers / toilets, and all the usual cleaning facilities. We picked a spot right at the end of a jetty to the beach and by 12 we were sun bathing.

The pitches are well spaced out and the views are wonderful. My only disappointment was that the beach was rocky, however when the tide comes in you can swim off the jetty without worrying about the sharp rocks under foot. At this time it seems every man an his dog takes their boats out for fishing too!

There are some nice walks up nearby hills which was good for the dog, although beware of the heard of cows (which chased me off the hill!). There is a nearby Costcutter shop / restaurant too.

The following day we managed to catch the shop being open and paid our 95p. We (or should I say the other half) then went on to spend a small fortune in the shop as they were selling second hand designer clothes for cheap prices.

Positives were location, cleanliness, peace and quiet, and friendly staff. Negatives were the rocky beach and the lack of staff. All in all a lovely weekend and would definitely go again.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Pengarreg Caravan & Camping Park?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is Pengarreg Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Aberystwyth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3493 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020