Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Loch Ness Bay Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Drumnadrochit > Loch Ness Bay Camping Reviews

Loch Ness Bay Camping
Borlum Farm
Drumnadrochit
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV63 6XN
Tel: 01456 450 544
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 1st April - 31st Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 26 Reviews
                6/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Orangejacket 2 reviews from this member

Sadly Loch Ness Bay, has no view or access to Loch Ness. Right by the main road. Very clean and tidy but a bit sterile compared to other sites I've stayed at. No shop on site but local shops a short distance away. Nothing on site for the kids. Probably a good base for getting out and about if you had a car / caravan/ tent or walking long distance trails.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GAlcock 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night as it was convenient on our route. Very expensive for standard of facilities. £26. 50 for two adults, plus £2 for the dog. Shower block clean but cold, despite some heating. Push button showers set to stop after less than 30 seconds. Water tepid, rather than hot. We were on a pitch furtherest away from A82 so slept fine. Some pitches right by the roadside. Would probably not stay here again. Wi-fi good.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tubby2 20 reviews from this member

Just off Great Glen Way walk small campsite idea for walkers, level well kept field, near road. Toilet facilities and showers, with washing machine and dryer. This is basic but more than reasonable, especially for walkers. The showers are free( previous review 20p) and also each one is nice and large. These toilets and showers must have been updated as lots hot water and space, yes it is in a Porto cabin. The town is a 15min walk away with takeaways and pubs etc. The tent site is near road and you may be disturbed by traffic, but as we were walking no problem sleeping. If touring as a base, but not much for kids.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Macduff 6 reviews from this member

Extremely basic facilities !

'Shower block' resembles an outhouse there is a single shower and 2 toilets for females and the same for males. Plus you have to pay 20p for the privilege of showering when you have already paid £4. 00 for electricity.

When we were there the Chemical Toilet disposal point which was overgrown with weeds was 'out of order'.

As has been said in previous reviews it is a yard

And the price of £7. 00 per person and £4. 00 for electricity is daylight robbery.

Management response: Please note that since this review, throughout 2016 and 2017 we have upgraded the facilities on the campsite, and this review no longer reflects the current site.

We have created 25 new 10m x 10m hardstanding pitches (17 with electricity) for Caravans and Motorhomes

There are two new toilet block facilities for Ladies and Gentlemen which are fitted with 3 showers to a block and have ample toilet, shaver points and washing facilities. There are also facilities for Disabled people. Free wi-fi is available right across the Park.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NatureLovers 1 review from this member

I wouldn't recommend this camp site for anyone who is new to camping or who wants any kind of luxury living.

This place is very basic but well worth it. We visited for a few nights with our kids. I agree it is just stables with a couple of left over grassy patches used for campers but the views are spectacular. This makes the bad points seem trivial.

There is not much to do with the kids but there are bus services which take you into the town where the loch ness centre is. We used the site as a base to sleep.

The sunset is glorious and the horses running around together at is great. There are also a few resident chickens running around the camp site which amused the kids when they came to visit us.

All in all we enjoyed the whole experience.

Note the closest way to the shore of the Loch is through Urquhart Castle which you have to pay for. We could not find any other way to get to the Loch and later found out that there is ONLY 3 access points around the entire area of Loch Ness.

This campsite is on the opposite side to 2 of them! Urquhart Castle is the 3rd and closest hence the £40 day trip we had to do just to touch the water of Loch Ness!

This isn't a reflection on the camp site. There should be better access especially for Scottish residents not wanting to do the usual tourist things!

Management response: Please note that since this review, throughout 2016 and 2017 we have upgraded the facilities on the campsite, and this review no longer reflects the current site.

We have created 25 new 10m x 10m hardstanding pitches (17 with electricity) for Caravans and Motorhomes

There are two new toilet block facilities for Ladies and Gentlemen which are fitted with 3 showers to a block and have ample toilet, shaver points and washing facilities. There are also facilities for Disabled people. Free wi-fi is available right across the Park.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Florence Romahome 7 reviews from this member

Only stayed 1 night on our way north, this is not a site I would recommend for any lengthier stays. It is really only a riding stable with spare bits used for campers.

Access is poor, up a steep narrow track with sharp turns which would be difficult for large motorhomes or long trailer vans. Once there you find a gravel car park with caravans and campers and a sloping tent field. There is another grass field lower down but a long way from the toilets - we weren't offered this.

Toilets and showers are poor and very basic, and shared with the stables. Showers are 20p but we weren't tempted. The whole place smelled very horsey and the midges were very hungry. N

Ear to shops and pubs but a long climb back up to the site. Not a site I would go back to.

Management response: Please note that since this review, throughout 2016 and 2017 we have upgraded the facilities on the campsite, and this review no longer reflects the current site.

We have created 25 new 10m x 10m hardstanding pitches (17 with electricity) for Caravans and Motorhomes

There are two new toilet block facilities for Ladies and Gentlemen which are fitted with 3 showers to a block and have ample toilet, shaver points and washing facilities. There are also facilities for Disabled people. Free wi-fi is available right across the Park.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Astencijo 11 reviews from this member

We have expected stables next to the campsite, but the place is basically stables with a bit of place left that they are letting as camping place to get extra money.

Top camping spot is on a slope, so its a bit uncomfortable, but you get brilliant views. At the bottom, next to the main road, there is flat field for tents as well, but then its a bit of walk to the toilets/showers.

There is one shower in each gender toilet block, 2 toilets. But showers are horrible. First of all it uses 20p (says for about 5 min but more likely 2 or 3min). And the water so luck warm, couldn't call it hot, and so weak streem, almost like dripping tap, so you have to be almost glued to the wall to get some water on you. Shower was dirty.

Was nice to see horses running free in the evening on the hills, but most of the ladies from stables very miserable. Nearest town Drumnadrochit is pretty, has few pubs, shops, places to have coffee.

Urguhart Castle is walking distance from campsite (about 10-15min slow walking), which looks stunning. The place is more for backpackers who come just to sleep overnight.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 3-6-6.com 16 reviews from this member

Having read the previous reviews we thought we would give Borlum Farm a shot, imagining nice stables with subsidiary campsite, loch views etc. However it cannot be emphasised strongly enough - this is a stables. The campervan/caravan area is simply a car park, not level, no privacy and no delineation of pitches. Yes there are some hook ups but this is by no means a campsite. The access for a large motorhome is VERY difficult, with a very sharp left hand turn from a major, fast road into a tiny drive with stone bridge, a narrow steep gradient upwards into the stable yard. Then you become aware how much the horses take priority - you have to be quiet, cut engines and you do feel like an interruption. Inevitably there is a lot of horse manure and that honest farmyard smell. There is not a lot else. Toilets are small, outdated and muddy. Showers? Well there is one for each sex and they are similarly dirty, but cost 20p for 5 minutes. There are token operated washing machines and a small wash up area, but NOTHING ELSE. There are no views of Loch Ness, no walks, no play area. The walk into town is along the main A82 so not advised. No facilities for children. We were going to stay a few days but decided to just do an overnight - really very disappointed, and paid £23 per night even off season: more than we had paid throughout Scotland for a very, very great deal less. Sorry not to be able to recommend this site more.

Management response: Please note that since this review, throughout 2016 and 2017 we have upgraded the facilities on the campsite, and this review no longer reflects the current site.

We have created 25 new 10m x 10m hardstanding pitches (17 with electricity) for Caravans and Motorhomes

There are two new toilet block facilities for Ladies and Gentlemen which are fitted with 3 showers to a block and have ample toilet, shaver points and washing facilities. There are also facilities for Disabled people. Free wi-fi is available right across the Park.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Db123 6 reviews from this member

I stayed here for a week over the August bank holiday.

Got booked in at reception straight away, with the choice of the top field, which is on a slope, or the bottom field which is completely flat, I chose the bottom field.

Which was really boggy, as it had had some rain, but the sun was shining now and it dried out really well in a couple of days.

The toilet block was close, only had one toilet, and one shower though, but had hot water and was clean, I could not get any hot water at the sinks outside for washing pots up though, but just boiled a kettle for that.

Very close to the shops and pubs, lovely area and people, will be back there next year no doubt.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robray100 3 reviews from this member

I was disappointed with this site, the only area we had was the top field, that is a slope is an understatement. Their open gate policy was very detrimental to the site with people turning up at all times of the night and pitching up. The latest was 11. 30 pm, then we had a full coach party each with their own pop up type tent that just overran the site. The facilities on site were clean but basic, with just one shower in each male and female blocks, these I felt were inadequate. With a 20p slot for hot water to the showers, if your 20p runs out while you are in the shower you have to open the door into the public area to put another 20p in. One good point thought the staff was very friendly when they were making their apologies.

Management response: Please note that since this review, throughout 2016 and 2017 we have upgraded the facilities on the campsite, and this review no longer reflects the current site.

We have created 25 new 10m x 10m hardstanding pitches (17 with electricity) for Caravans and Motorhomes

There are two new toilet block facilities for Ladies and Gentlemen which are fitted with 3 showers to a block and have ample toilet, shaver points and washing facilities. There are also facilities for Disabled people. Free wi-fi is available right across the Park.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2863 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019