Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ness Bay Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Drumnadrochit > Loch Ness Bay Camping Reviews

Loch Ness Bay Camping
Borlum Farm
Drumnadrochit
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV63 6XN
Tel: 01456 450 544
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 30 Reviews
                6/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (16)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: NotWelshy165 1 review from this member

 I rarely leave reviews but felt so inspired by the one one left by Welshy165 I thought “how could I not!”.

So, to quote ol’Welshy, let’s start with the name.

1. Which is not “Loch Ness View”, “Loch Ness Vista” or “The Shore of Loch Ness” - a quick google of the location will clearly show you where the campsite is located which is in the valley of a river which feeds the Loch. So ‘Loch Ness Bay’ isn’t entirely inaccurate. Having used the internet to inform us of the location we had a good idea of what to expect.

2. The internet. Obviously one of the most important things for a “get away from it all’ Highland adventure is WiFi connection. We connected to this fine, though I concede that the site wasn’t full when we were there. But don’t worry peeps, there is a very good 4G signal if you’re struggling.

3. TV Signal. I mean. WTAF. I dunno. Maybe come with a book or travel/ board games or readiness to converse. Or if none of those float your boat and it’s just the two of you, enjoy other, ahem, fun evening activities.

4. Communal toilet and shower blocks. During our two week visit and tour of the Highlands we experienced this a couple of times. But we were aware of this before we left home and was one of the reasons we chose to lug a chemical toilet round with us (certainly wasn’t for the delightful odour of campervan toilets).

Again, a quick peek on the campsite website will clearly tell you this before you book. Yes it’s a tad inconvenient but we felt incredibly privileged to be holidaying at this time, immensely conscious of the importance of respectfully visiting more rural communities and very grateful to those campsites who had decided to reopen safely.

This seemed to occur more at smaller campsites so if a deal breaker for you then look before you go. We only stayed a night so it wasn’t a big issue for us and gave us the opportunity to further finesse our campervan toilet technique.

5. The price. On the website - you pay before you arrive - again not a surprise what you’re paying for. On a par with other sites and this is a touristy area. We consciously chose to park sites most of our visit because we wanted to give back to the local economy and have access to electricity and bins and piped drinking water.

All of which we were very grateful for. Each plot at this site has super easy access to their own drinking water tap (no plodding across the site) which was much appreciated. Though be warned, in keeping with most campsite taps, the drinking water tap will spurt water at a random direction and flow - most likely towards your crotch and not the bottle you’re holding. Good luck!

6. Other stuff. It’s easy to find. Plots are level and generously spaced. The site allows for later check-ins which was important for us as we had misjudged our journey times from Thurso in our slow, but lovey, old campervan. We informed the site beforehand that we’d be late and they were really helpful.

All in all did the job for us!

Don’t do a Welshy165 - look before you book so you’re not in for any disappointment and don’t leave crappy reviews which show how embarrassingly poorly you planned your trip.

Enjoy and stay safe! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jgbar7 1 review from this member

 Good ground site and level pitch

Pitches are large with room for motohome and awning

Unfortunately due to Covid showers / toilet blocks were not available, however grey water and chemical disposal points were readily accessible

Short walk into town, just be careful crossing main road to pavement on other side 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Welshy165 9 reviews from this member

 Let's start with the name Loch Ness Bay. No where near Loch Ness. No view of Loch Ness. Next up the only site on our week long tour of the Highlands not to open the toilet blocks.

Next still charging £27 same as every other campsite we stayed at but all you get is electric hook up. No toilet/shower and no TV signal again the only site we couldn't get a TV signal.

They do give you free WiFi but this becomes useless as more people connect to it.

Would have been better wild camping for 1 night and saving the £27 pounds. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Abbeyhughes97 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities - toilets and showers have more than enough space for purposes required. Showers exceptionally clean (as well as the toilets).

They also have extra facilities for people staying longer than a couple of days.

Small walk away from the local town and other amenities.

Staff extra friendly and helpful and answered any questions that we had.

Quiet and in a peaceful location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Orangejacket 2 reviews from this member

 Sadly Loch Ness Bay, has no view or access to Loch Ness. Right by the main road. Very clean and tidy but a bit sterile compared to other sites I've stayed at.

No shop on site but local shops a short distance away. Nothing on site for the kids.

Probably a good base for getting out and about if you had a car / caravan/ tent or walking long distance trails. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GAlcock 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night as it was convenient on our route. Very expensive for standard of facilities. £26. 50 for two adults, plus £2 for the dog.

Shower block clean but cold, despite some heating. Push button showers set to stop after less than 30 seconds. Water tepid, rather than hot.

We were on a pitch furtherest away from A82 so slept fine. Some pitches right by the roadside.

Would probably not stay here again. Wi-fi good. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tubby2 27 reviews from this member

 Just off Great Glen Way walk small campsite idea for walkers, level well kept field, near road. Toilet facilities and showers, with washing machine and dryer.

This is basic but more than reasonable, especially for walkers. The showers are free( previous review 20p) and also each one is nice and large.

These toilets and showers must have been updated as lots hot water and space, yes it is in a Porto cabin. The town is a 15min walk away with takeaways and pubs etc.

The tent site is near road and you may be disturbed by traffic, but as we were walking no problem sleeping.

If touring as a base, but not much for kids. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Macduff 6 reviews from this member

 Extremely basic facilities !

'Shower block' resembles an outhouse there is a single shower and 2 toilets for females and the same for males. Plus you have to pay 20p for the privilege of showering when you have already paid £4. 00 for electricity.

When we were there the Chemical Toilet disposal point which was overgrown with weeds was 'out of order'.

As has been said in previous reviews it is a yard

And the price of £7. 00 per person and £4. 00 for electricity is daylight robbery. 
Management response: Please note that since this review, throughout 2016 and 2017 we have upgraded the facilities on the campsite, and this review no longer reflects the current site.

We have created 25 new 10m x 10m hardstanding pitches (17 with electricity) for Caravans and Motorhomes

There are two new toilet block facilities for Ladies and Gentlemen which are fitted with 3 showers to a block and have ample toilet, shaver points and washing facilities. There are also facilities for Disabled people. Free wi-fi is available right across the Park.


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NatureLovers 1 review from this member

 I wouldn't recommend this camp site for anyone who is new to camping or who wants any kind of luxury living.

This place is very basic but well worth it. We visited for a few nights with our kids. I agree it is just stables with a couple of left over grassy patches used for campers but the views are spectacular. This makes the bad points seem trivial.

There is not much to do with the kids but there are bus services which take you into the town where the loch ness centre is. We used the site as a base to sleep.

The sunset is glorious and the horses running around together at is great. There are also a few resident chickens running around the camp site which amused the kids when they came to visit us.

All in all we enjoyed the whole experience.

Note the closest way to the shore of the Loch is through Urquhart Castle which you have to pay for. We could not find any other way to get to the Loch and later found out that there is ONLY 3 access points around the entire area of Loch Ness.

This campsite is on the opposite side to 2 of them! Urquhart Castle is the 3rd and closest hence the £40 day trip we had to do just to touch the water of Loch Ness!

This isn't a reflection on the camp site. There should be better access especially for Scottish residents not wanting to do the usual tourist things! 
Management response: Please note that since this review, throughout 2016 and 2017 we have upgraded the facilities on the campsite, and this review no longer reflects the current site.

We have created 25 new 10m x 10m hardstanding pitches (17 with electricity) for Caravans and Motorhomes

There are two new toilet block facilities for Ladies and Gentlemen which are fitted with 3 showers to a block and have ample toilet, shaver points and washing facilities. There are also facilities for Disabled people. Free wi-fi is available right across the Park.


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Florence Romahome 7 reviews from this member

 Only stayed 1 night on our way north, this is not a site I would recommend for any lengthier stays. It is really only a riding stable with spare bits used for campers.

Access is poor, up a steep narrow track with sharp turns which would be difficult for large motorhomes or long trailer vans. Once there you find a gravel car park with caravans and campers and a sloping tent field. There is another grass field lower down but a long way from the toilets - we weren't offered this.

Toilets and showers are poor and very basic, and shared with the stables. Showers are 20p but we weren't tempted. The whole place smelled very horsey and the midges were very hungry. N

Ear to shops and pubs but a long climb back up to the site. Not a site I would go back to. 
Management response: Please note that since this review, throughout 2016 and 2017 we have upgraded the facilities on the campsite, and this review no longer reflects the current site.

We have created 25 new 10m x 10m hardstanding pitches (17 with electricity) for Caravans and Motorhomes

There are two new toilet block facilities for Ladies and Gentlemen which are fitted with 3 showers to a block and have ample toilet, shaver points and washing facilities. There are also facilities for Disabled people. Free wi-fi is available right across the Park.


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ness Bay Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ness Bay Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Loch Ness Bay Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Drumnadrochit      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2751 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement