Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monnow Bridge Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth > Monnow Bridge Caravan Site Reviews

Monnow Bridge Caravan Site
Drybridge Street
Monmouth
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP25 5AD
Tel: 01600 714004
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dealer Dan 1 review from this member

Basic site but good location close to Monmouth town which is lovely.

Owners of this site seem to forget you are there to chill and relax, they have a shed and storage close to the camping area and constant noise from there plus the boys revving up vehicles.

Facilities near bringing up to scratch, only one shower in washroom and three toilets.

Unlikely to return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

I last left a review for this site in 2010.

I have to say very little has changed from our last visit.

Ideally suited for visiting the town of Monmouth as it is just around the corner from the main street.

Very nice town to visit with many shops, eateries and pubs. Very historic town as well.

Back to the site, basic showers and toilets and room for approximately

10 tourers or tents. The rest of the site is taken up with statics.

My only real gripe would be the build up of rubbish in the bins.

The best part of this site is the price, 15 a night for the motorhome, two adults and EHU.

It will never be in the Best of Britain list, but for a basic stopover to visit the town it's hard to beat.

As I stated in the last review, it is situated between two buildings, I believe it is 11 feet clearance. Blink and you will miss it so keep an eye out for the campsite sign on one of the buildings.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bessy525 46 reviews from this member

Went back to this site 1 year after our first visit, very little has changed except all people on site this time had issues with ehu's tripping out regularly. Last year we were able to use a microwave this year it tripped the ehu immediately. Other guests had the same concerns, but the owners were adamant nothing had changed. If you do decide to stay here be aware of this issue, other than that what a great location on the doorstep of Monmouth itself. Toilet facilities have not been updated and its still 50p for a shower, they are old but serviceable.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon56 19 reviews from this member

We just returned home to Lincolnshire after a 2 night stay at this site. We are new to the motorhome scene and all we can say we is cannot wait for the next trip. We had a most enjoyable 2 night stay and can highly recommend this site. We had a fantastic welcome and a lovely pitch. Site is 2 minutes from town and it has all the facilities you could need. Will be going back very soon. If you need a place to park and explore Monmouthshire then this is the one.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bessy525 46 reviews from this member

Small very reasonably priced site well situated for Monmouth with its ample choice of pubs, restaurants and shops. 6amp EHU, freesat/Satelite fine, grass pitches well maintained, toilets clean but very dated still 0. 50p token to shower. 12 tourers on site whilst we were there and no issues using the facilities, 3 toilets/1 shower for each gents and ladies. Mix of tourers and static caravans. Absolutely nothing for children to do, all adults on site during our visit. Access to site tight but OK if taken slowly. Pub and good Indian restaurant situated either side of the entrance, may other options in town we tried Moco a Mexican restaurant, food was fine and plentiful at reasonable prices.

Great for a long weekend break

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lesatre 9 reviews from this member

This is a basic site, but the welcome was friendly and efficient, the price reasonable, and the site is perfectly situated for exploring the town. The toilet and shower block is adequate, and we found a sheltered space for our tent.

We enjoyed overlooking the Monnow River and the fascinating stone bridge, especially at night when the bridge is lighted. There are ample pubs and restaurants very close by.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jawlbach 7 reviews from this member

As others have said this site is very convenient for Town - a short walk across the historic Monnow Bridge. There are plenty of shops etc. In town including a Waitrose.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the small site is well kept, with Statics. The site entrance is a bit daunting, between two houses, but OK if you take your time, and the road outside is quite wide.

However the toilets and showers, although kept clean, are really tired and outdated. In the Gents there was no electric hand drier or paper towels, just a dirty hand towel which had not been changed in the time that we were there. The Ladies is also not very inviting. Showers are 50p (token) for 6 minutes of hot water which is ample.

We will visit again as the site is so convenient but the facilities really do need updating.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Selkie55 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights in September and upon arrival found the staff very welcoming and helpful.

The site is very clean and well kept and the toilets and showers were spotless. There is a club on site and the live entertainment on the Saturday was most enjoyable.

The town was ten minutes walk away with plenty of shops and pubs with lots to see and do.

The only downside to this site is that although dogs are allowed (and charged for) there is no dog walk and you are not allowed to exercise your dog on the site grounds. I had to walk my dog off the site and across the road on the park area opposite which I found unreasonable particularly as we had to pay.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MandLRhodes 1 review from this member

Me and my Wife recently married and decided to have a small honey-moon in Wales, After driving around the Monmouth Area for a couple of hours looking for somewhere to stay, we came across Monnow Bridge Caravan Site.

A small camp site, but very well situated near to the main town centre. A handful of static caravans on site, room for standard touring caravans and tents.

We stayed only for 2 nights and used it as a base and somewhere to return to after our days excursions.

There are an couple of great pubs and restaurants just over the bridge into the main town, The Robin Hood Pub and the Fish & Chip Shop are all good.

The Toilet block was immaculately clean, even though only one shower cubicle, only 20p for 3/4 minutes of hot water, quite reasonable.

The gate is closed late at night, but we we're able to find parking out on the main road, as we had broken down in Wenchford Woods, and didn't get back until 01:30.

The lady that greeted us on arrival was very friendly and polite, and very accommodating.

We will certainly be returning for repeated visits with the kids next time.

Thank you a very pleasant stay. Highly Recommended.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lassie121 1 review from this member

This campsite is ideally situated for a stopover or to visit the town in Monmouth because it is only a 2 minute walk into the town centre. Plenty of nice little shops,and also a couple of supermarkets like Waitrose, Marks and Spencers and Co-operative.

There is also a nice choice of pubs, all very down to earth and all serving food. The food in The Robin Hood was really nice and we'll certainly eat there again if we are ever in the area.

The campsite itself was very basic. I certainly wouldn't use the shower, there was only one in the ladies, this required a 20p piece for about 3 mins. Thank god for my motorhome shower.

We were charged 13:00 a night and to be honest it might be cheap but I wouldn't pay anymore for the facilities available were very poor.

All in all though, the people were pleasant and if you only want a town to visit within quick walking distance and plenty of pubs, this is the site for you.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019