Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oldbury Hill Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sevenoaks > Oldbury Hill Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Oldbury Hill Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Styants Bottom
Seal
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 0ET
Tel: 01732 762728
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jasonshort 5 reviews from this member

 Great little site with level ground.

Site has electric hook up, water tap, toilet and elsan point.

Very quiet and clean great for a couple to relax for a weekend.

There are attractions around the area but you will need to travel.

Great site for young run away children as its all fenced in but no play area so toys and games are essential. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smelljeffshand 7 reviews from this member

 Spent August bank holiday weekend here.

PROS.

1. Weather was stunning.

2. Site was clean and tidy.

3. Wardens were very pleasant and helpful.

4. Shop sold good essentials.

5. Washing up had very hot water.

6. Good walks right from site.

7. Was very quiet at night.

8. Bus stop at end of lane for Sevenoaks and Maidenhead

CONS.

1. Its on a very steep slope!

2. Only one water tap in the middle of the pitch

3. Hook up was very far and few between

4. Site is not so quiet during the day. Popular with family and kids.

Would I come here again?. YES 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Littlefizzal 8 reviews from this member

 Arrived at the site on a Friday evening for a weekend break.

Glad it was only a weekend break. The site is in a clearing in a forest with a single track from the main road. The only site security seamed to be a chain across the entrance. The hole site is on a slope and even through there has been no rain for the previous week it was very muddy.

The toilets were clean but needed updating. They are cold due to there being a gap along 1 edge where the wall and roof meet.

When we arrived at site during the booking in process we mentioned we were going into London on Saturday and meeting with friends on the Sunday so would not be leaving early. We asked about the nearest train station and was told to go to Sevenoaks and was given a timetable that didn't haven't this station in.

On Sunday morning we mentioned again to the staff that we wouldn't be leaving at 12 and was then told that if we wanted to stay any longer we would to pay 33 for another night even though on there web site it say's they are happy for you to stay longer. It was there last weekend of the season and got the impression they wanted everyone off so that they could close up early.

I then had to try and find a site that would let me store my van with them for the afternoon which meant that I spent less time with the friends I was there to meet. Luckly there was a site Thiftwood holiday park that after I explained my situation found me a space for me to store my van

Will not be staying here again 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Moggy61 7 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for one night because it was on our have a look list. Wish we hadn't bothered. Site is a large grass sloping field, caravans already there were parked at daunting angles, with back on ground and front 2' in the air. We were offered a pitch at top of site, but know way could we get level, after several attempts we got stuck in the mud because site was so wet, . One of the 2 ladies who run site came over and offered some useless tips on how to get out, mostly were don't ruin my grass, , after getting free and covered in mud we were offered a spot on the road which did for the night. The Toilet block looks dark and dank at first sight, but is kept nice and clean although it is freezing cold and reached by leaf covered steps making it slippy. Seeing this site during Summer may be a different experience, but not one for us, , Would not recommend, , 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D J M 8 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here although were a little put off at first by the list of Don'ts issued to the children on arrival. The member of staff was helpful in her advice about where to pitch as had been pouring all day. The site seems quite particular about pitching and they checked we were following instructions precisely! The toilet block and washing up facilities are adequate but might be over stretched when the site is full. The site was quiet at night. It is in a lovely location near to woods and close to some good places to visit. We would go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bamptonian 4 reviews from this member

 I appreciated being able to come and pitch up on this lovely site for two nights as a non-member. It's always nice to see the sign 'non members welcome' at the gate and I did feel welcomed. It's a very well kept campsite, immaculately mown and very ordered without being too regimental.

The setting in a clearing amongst woods is quite special and it does add to the ambience.

The only surprise for me was that there was no recycling on site - these days it's definitely the norm for campsites to encourage people not to chuck everything in landfill, but perhaps this has to do with the local council more than the site? If not, perhaps the Caravan & Camping Club could look at their policy on this?

I'd definitely come again - I'm normally looking for camping on a more basic site but I enjoyed the relative luxury all the same! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

 We stayed for August bank holiday weekend. We were a family with a toddler in a tent without EHU.

On arrival we had a friendly welcome and were given the choice of being at the top near the toilet block, or at the bottom which gets the sun in the evening. The site is basically a square field on a hill, but is slightly terraced which breaks it up a bit. We chose to be at the bottom as we arrived early evening and the sun was out! I'm glad we did. Although it is a fair trek up the hill to the loo block it was a nicer spot. The spaces at the top and middle constantly had people walking right past their tents on all sides to get to the loo block! It also seemed to be where the jumbo size tents were and got a bit noisy with large families. At the bottom we had the hedge behind us!

The loo block was adequate with 2 separate areas for each gender - the main area for ladies had about 4 loos, 2 handbasins with doors and 1 shower. The other behind the dishwash had one loo, another shower and a couple of sinks. I only tried the shower in the main area; it was free and hot with hooks and space to get changed. With only 2 showers for whole site I had thought there'd be a queue but pleased there wasn't on either day.

The site is great for some gentle walks. We bought a local map of footpaths for 4 from reception which was worthwhile. Oldbury Hill woods are right opposite the site which are great to explore. Our toddler loved it! There's also the Crowne Point pub a few minutes walk away - a path through the woods runs alongside the small road (at campsite reception they said to walk down the road - I'm not sure why when the path through the woods is a lot safer. ) The pub was ok, cheap food but flat beer. We also walked to Ightham Mote National Trust Property. It's probably 2-3 miles, but includes going up and down a steep hill. Ightham Mote is lovely and fantastic for kids with a natural play area, stream and rear garden to play in. Another day we drove to Emmetts Garden a few miles away and had another lovely morning exploring National Trust gardens, walking the estate and having tea & cake. We stopped at the Cock Inn nearby for lunch and was lovely - great service and very good food. But we were lucky to get there early and squeeze in as almost all the tables were reserved!

A fantastic weekend and would recommend to others as a good base. Shame about the rain at the end of the weekend, but that's not the sites fault :-) 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topcat+Dibble 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights on a grass unseviced pitch towards the top off the slope. Gradient fine for a tent. Staff very helpful. Facilities fine if a little rustic and would be definitely bracing if used early or late season. Took the bus to Sevenoaks one day and walked through the woods to Ightham Mote the other. Both recommended.

Crown point Inn easy walking distance but you will need a torch if returning after dark. All in all a good site. Recommended.

Ps. If towing a caravan the entrance road is very narrow. Don't turn up before 12 because you won't want to meet another coming in the opposite direction! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chalmers30 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights bank holiday weekend. We booked late and with a distance to travel weren't sure if would make their preferred arrival time (before 8pm) but they were quite at ease about that over the phone and we did just make it. I think they know its difficult to predict M25 traffic. The road to the site is very narrow and of course, being what it is, you may well meet a large Winnebago coming the other way so note the passing places.

As said by others and the website, the site is fairly compact and on a slope. Nicely mown grass. Virtually flat pitches at the bottom have an uphill walk and a couple of hundred yards to the toilets. Those at the top are nearer, but on very slight slope and, as said by someone, close to the trees so with less sunshine - esp in the morning to dry out the tent. (didn't find tree roots interfering with tent pegs). In between the pitches are on an increasing slope. Our pitch was really quite large and none seemed on top of each other.

The site is very clean and during our stay was always pretty quiet from about 10pm. Small play area for kids helps socialising. I did however notice aircraft noise at night - not dreadful but noticeable against the quiet. I also heard owls hooting in the woods - which is lovely.

The toilet blocks are fine. Many seem to miss the second ladies' shower behind the washing up area, which has an electric shower so the hot water seemed always on. The septic tank does smell a little.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. For info they do not freeze down freezer blocks but hire out their own. There are recycling bins near the entrance.

Its some distance to the nearest shops but Borough Green is 5 minutes by car and has at least two chippys, a Chinese takeaway, a burger place and some convenience shops. There is an interesting Italian restaurant/shop on the left on route to Borough Green.

Although it may seem some distance on the map, the motorways made it easy to stay here and visit much of Kent - Canterbury, Whitstable, Leeds Castle, Dover Castle. It also seems a popular one night stopover for European travellers in motorhomes presumably to/from the channel tunnel. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GPG89 7 reviews from this member

 Quiet site that is well kept and very pretty. We camped at the bottom and despite heavy overnight rain we were not flooded out. Great site for children as they can play in the nearby wood. Only one men's shower so maybe could do with another but toilet block kept very clean.

The nearby National Trust property, Igtham Motte, is worth visiting and is within walking distance (3 miles). We ate at The Bell in Kempsing. Copious portions and reasonable prices. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oldbury Hill Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oldbury Hill Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oldbury Hill Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sevenoaks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1268 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement