Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Springwood Estate

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Springwood Estate
Springwood Estate Office
Kelso
Borders   (Browse area)

Tel: 01573 224596
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Statics only
Open: Late March To Early October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for two nights. Hard standing pitches with 16amp electric and water and waste right at our caravan. Very tidy site with well kept grounds which are a pleasure to walk round.

The hard standing pitches could do with a bit more greenery as they are a bit like a car park.

The toilet block was a bit dated, however kept very clean and my only grumble would be that there was a bad drain smell.

Reception staff could have been a little more friendly as we had to ask all the questions about pitch, toilet etc.

Lots of static caravans which all seem very well kept and at the time of staying the site was very quiet.

Good swing parks around the site for children and the children that we did see were having a great time on their bikes cycling around all the pathways.

The site is near a lovely river walk and the surrounding area is beautiful. Kelso itself is a beautiful wee town and a visit to Floors Castle is well worth it.

There is a large field next to the site which holds many large events and staying at the caravan site would be well worth it if you were going to one of the events.

I would like to go back to this site for a longer period of time as there was lots in the area to see and do and we simply ran out of time.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sophiedog1 16 reviews from this member

Loved this site from the moment we arrived. As previously stated, all pitches hard-standing with hook-up, water and waste. Toilets very clean with individual cubicles containing shower, toilet and wash hand basin.

Lots of statics surround the tourer area but are not too close and are sited in such a way that lets everyone have their own space. When you check-in, you are then left to pick your own pitch from the 20 available.

A great riverside walk is accessed directly from the site.

Kelso town centre has a good variety of local shops and a new Sainsburys is being built.

We will definitely return to this value for money site(20/night inc. Hook-up & awning), so do give it try, but book ahead due to the limited number of pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindadf 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this campsite primarily because it was close to a horse event we were attending.

The site seemed quite busy when we arrived but we had a choice of pitches, there is an electric hook up point, water and grey waste for every 4 pitches. The pitches are huge. Facilities are close and are of the highest standard, despite the site being almost full there was always a shower available. The showers were hot and powerful.

There were several children on the site when we stayed but due to the site having good play areas available, there was never a problem with children playing near the pitches.

Once dusk descended the site became very peaceful and quiet, with very little noise other than that of a couple of owls in the nearby trees.

Plenty of walks from the site - was a great site to take the dogs to.

My only criticisms would be the elsan whilst being well out of the way is quite a walk away from the pitches. Also the staff in reception whilst really helpful when questions where asked could have been a bit more informative about where the facilities where ( waste water and elsan etc) when booking guests in.

This site is definitely one we would return to, 3 night stay was too short.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

Not having been in this area before, I wasn't sure what to expect of Kelso or this site. But what an outstanding site.

Marvellously spread out with mature trees and shrubs, it's split into various sections. It's mostly statics down at the front, but they're all nice fresh units nicely arranged, not crammed on top of each other like at many sites.

Tourer pitches (just a few by comparison) are towards the back of the site, but large, neat, tidy and superbly maintained.

Washrooms and dishwashing facilities are close by and are exceptional. EHU, fresh water supply and grey water drain at each touring pitch.

There are a couple of play areas for kids - the new one looks like it was pretty expensive.

We only staying for one night, but this would be a lovely site to return to each evening after day trips exploring the Scottish Borders or Northumberland.

I saw a pheasant and a fawn with it's mother on the site, and you don't get that often on a campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailk 18 reviews from this member

A lovely site, mainly statics with 20 touring pitches. Pitches all hard standing and loads of space - we got to choose which we wanted.

Staff friendly with good tourist information.

About 15 minutes walk to Kelso - got a taxi back for 5.

Toilets lovely - separate cubicles with shower, basin and toilet and spotless. Dishwashing room.

Small children's playground.

Would recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nibbles1 11 reviews from this member

Spent three nights on this site over Easter Holidays. Site is mainly statics with a small area for 20 tourers, all hard standing pitches with electric hook up.

Site was lovely, well laid out, plenty of room on touring pitch for caravan, awning and car.

Childrens play area was well equipped and well used, good grassy areas for ball games which were also well used.

Toilet and shower facilities always clean and never closed.

Site was right next to the river and it was a pleasant walk along, river was really high and fast flowing when we were there, saw several canoes.

Kelso was a 10-15 minute walk away with local shops, small swimming pool and several eating places. Can recommend The Courtyard for good food and good value, family friendly and staff were excellent.

While walking through the site one evening we spotted a few young deer and they crossed the road right in front of us, closest I have been to a deer, it was a lovely experience.

Would definitely recommend and would return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tighthead 3 reviews from this member

I have stayed here on a number of occasions and can recommend it for tourers. 15 min walk to Kelso with good selection of shops, bars, restaurants and locals who are, in the main, friendly. Lots to do in the area for those who want to visit Borders history, architecture, industry, walking and rugby.

Site is clean, tidy and well arranged with river walks along the Teviot and a good walk along the railway to the old railway viaduct at Roxburgh - excellent architecture and interesting to photograph. Return via the opposite side of the Teviot where there a numerous anglers to study. Good for dog walks in particular. There are also horse race meetings at Kelso which is a great day out and good value, although none on this visit.

Site toilets are spotless and with hot water for showers, sinks and dishwashing area. Laundry near reception. Play area for children was well used and children had lots to do if the weather held up, unfortunately on the weekend I stayed it was bucketing down most of the time.

The only slight down side is that some of the owners of statics nearby drove past the toilets and play area too quickly and that included the site man who cleaned the toilets - they should take more care. I would have told the reception only I had to get home but they need to remind resident about care near the playpark. Otherwise 9/10.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Copta 15 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site when we went to the Jim Clark Rally nearby. It is a lovely site. Very pleasantly laid out with roomy level pitches.

Toilet block was nice and clean. The site is very pretty to look at, nice flowers and shrubs and near the river.

Lots of facilities in Kelso nearby which is within walking distance.

Very pleasant - would stay at again.

Reviewer: k davies

may 2003
This campsite is one of the better ones. It is very clean and well managed. The toilet blocks were spotless, warm and offered individual shower/baisin/toilet cubicles - a must with small children. There were some wonderful walks along the river. The childrens play areas were good and rabbit spotting was a favourite pastime for the children. The only very minor downside to this campsite was that there was only one sink in the dishwashing area for tourers. Again, very clean but I imagine that at busy times of the year there will be a queue.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3716 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!