Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tresseck Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hereford > Tresseck Camp Site Reviews

Tresseck Camp Site
Hoarwithy
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR2 6QH
Tel: 07901 127097
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chudleightim 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely location on very flat ground beside (but well above) the River Wye. Popular with canoeists both as a launch/retrieval site and as an overnight stop. Lots of campers also brought stand-up paddleboards for river fun, although the current is quite strong alongside the pebble beach.

The camping area has some of the flattest, grassiest and most peg-friendly ground I've ever camped on. The site is divided-up by some older and newer fenced hedges/ treelines. There are some bookable areas for larger groups, but on most of the site most of the tents are pitched in lines due to the layout. Some of the gateways through the fences seemed a bit narrow and awkwardly positioned.

The only toilets are portable chemical toilets, most of which only have hand gel instead of a sink. Although they were indeed kept very clean during the long (dry) Jubilee weekend, there's no getting away from what they are.

And with such a large and popular site it really feels as though they're inadequate both in quality and quantity. Proper trailer type Portaloos would be a big improvement even if they can't build anything on the site.

There are no sinks or showers, which is not a problem for a shorter stay, but also no washing-up facilities (or even drains for grey water) and that feels inadequate too.

By contrast the on-site catering seemed good, although we didn't use it. They sold breakfast baps, cakes, hot and cold drinks, and pizzas - although some of this is presumably dependent on how busy they are.

I wasn't aware of there being a shop or place to freeze ice blocks, but to be fair I didn't actually go looking. It was a bit odd that an ice cream van toured the site playing its jingle between about 20:30 and 21:00 each evening, when many smaller kids would be in bed.

Campfires are not only permitted but encouraged - BYO fire pit or just light a fire on one of the many scorched patches. Kindling and logs were on sale for £1 and £7 respectively, and wood scavenging was not allowed.

There's a large open field between the village and the camping area, with a football pitch. It seems to be used as an overflow camping area and event space.

Next to the gate to the field is a pub with a tiny village shop for basic provisions.

Although we had a great stay with a group of friends and their young kids, I don't think I'd necessarily want to camp there for a whole week because of the limited facilities.

One of the claims they make on their website is that they offer a great first-time camping experience. I wouldn't agree with that, and I wonder whether genuine first-time campers might be put-off from camping by how basic it is.

But if you're looking for (or willing to accept) a simple camping experience on a beautiful site then you shouldn't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Tintaglia 1 review from this member

 The owners have done a lot over the years since I last stayed to make this site even more picturesque with trees and shrubbery giving shade and shelter.

Fencing has been put along the riverbank ensuring safety for kiddies but not detracting from the beautiful views.

The sites pretty level and beats most hardstanding Iíve stayed on!

Good base for canoeing

Easy steps to beach/launch and the rivers shallow and clean. We canoed to Ross on Wye where we were picked up and returned to Tresseck.

There is a lovely pub at the entrance which also often runs a breakfast van. But on site has a great little coffee n cake van plus burger tent perfect for emergencies like when someone forgot to defrost the burgers! 🤦‍♀️

Personally I really love the atmosphere of kids having fun on inflatables in the river, campers, hikers, kayakers and all types of vehicles tents and different size groups. No marked pitches meant groups were able to form a camp and it all had a bit of a happy festival feel to it 🥳🤩

If you like a sedate CL or regimented pitch space this wonít be suitable.

Loved seeing little camp fires at night with people sat around chatting 🔥 🍷 🍻

Some were maybe a bit too loud and late and werenít very considerate but unfortunately they werenít challenged on this so I presume there arenít any wardens.

There are no EHU or facilities other than taps and portaloos which suits me perfectly. Single travelers will find it even more affordable as itís charged per person rather than having to pay a pitch price.

All in all Iíd say this has been my best camping experience because rather than being met with a 20 minute check in full of rules n regs including which way to face we were met with a brilliant smile and a fun lively site and told to park wherever we like. 😃

Canít wait to return! 🙂🙂 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Alphapets 9 reviews from this member

 A basic campsite. Portaloo toilets.

Take your own wood if you are going too have a fire, as the site charges £1 for kindling and £7 for a very small pack of wood.

Be aware of the hidden £3 landing fees if travelling down the River Wye.

Not listed River aside and only evident once up on dry land. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 14 reviews from this member

 I thought this a lovely site. Very friendly and helpful owner - well maintained, flat terrain - very dog friendly. Tariff friendly to the solo traveller. A great base for kayaking, and lovely clean river water to wild swim in, but a strong current.

No list of DOs and DO NOTs in red print. Yes the toilets are portaloos, but they were attended to daily. For me the users were the problem - putting some toilet roll in the pan beforehand saves a very unpleasant experience for the next user.

Glad to see they didn't have disgusting toilet brushes in there and grateful for the ladies only cubicles. My complaint would be that the doors snap back and bang, unless you close them mindfully (which most did not), this can grate after a while if you're camped nearby. My dog cowered everytime as though it were a gunshot. A rubber bung ideally located would surely help, or adjustment to the door hinge.

I found the general ambience to be quite communal, and whilst it was noisy, it was just people all enjoying themselves which was nice to be amongst - and they did respect the time curfew.

I will certainly be returning - thank you for a good stay Tresseck :) 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Mark74 1 review from this member

 Just had the most perfect weekend at Tresseck for our annual class camp.

The location is stunning - right on the river with easy access for wild swimming and kayaking.

Everyone had such a fun time, thank-you! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim2804 1 review from this member

 Just got back from Tressek. We stayed three nights in a tent: my wife two kids, and I. This cost us £19. 50 p/n. The sight was pretty much as expected: basic: portaloos and a tap only and campfires allowed! It is very much sold on being a quiet site: absolutely no music or loud noise allowed, as the signs stated. We were happy with this and found it very refreshing.

On our second night though there was a group of lads opposite us, maybe on a stag trip who played music unchallenged by the owners and had their hubbly bubbly pipe out on show which I presume was only used for tabacco: they woke me up at 12. 50AM as well as 6. 50. *I'm not a fussy old man, but it is worth remembering that depending on the guests your experience may be very different and the owners may not enforce the rules/run a tight site.

It was generally populated by rowers and families rather than groups of lads/large family parties. The site is clean, the views back towards the village are beautiful. The portaloos got a bit nasty by day 3, but always had paper in them.

It is worth noting that although you are on the river bank, you cannot see the water and are set back a little. You can buy fire wood from the owners when they come round every night and there are loads of allocated fire areas. *Do not expect to be able to forage for fire wood as there is no opportunity to do so.

The village us beautiful with a fantastic Victorian Italian style church and amazing views and countryside. The local pub has a shop built in. We popped in for a drink which was nice, but food starts at £13 and averages £15 a meal, so not for us this time. Overall I loved it. Will go again, happily. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laurs234 1 review from this member

 Just back from a night here and were a little disappointed. Great location but noisy and the facilities were very basic given the price.

We knew it was a basic campsite before we went, but the toilets weren't kept clean which was disappointing. Our biggest issue was the noise- we were kept up half the night by large groups shouting and swearing into the early hours.

The campsite is advertised as being a quiet one so we felt the owners should have enforced that, but instead they vanished come 6pm! The location was great for kayaking though so that's a plus point! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaycie 3 reviews from this member

 I have been to this site before and it has been pretty empty and we have even had the small separate field, so it feels even more secluded! Unfortunately this time we were there on a bank holiday so it was very busy, plus the small field had been reserved (which I wasn't aware people could do, or we would have!)

The area is beautiful, it is right on the river bank, with a pebbly entrance to the river, ideal for canoe and perfect for paddling, swimming and catching things in nets! The little village is pretty, the church is well worth a walk upto. There is a pub just up from the site, it smelt lovely in there! They have a small, basic shop attached that was open the same hours as the pub, so easy to stock up on milk, bread, playing cards or even get your bacon for the morning. The pub also sold fire wood as well as the lady from the campsite having some when she came to collect money.

I felt like the site was more aimed at people passing in their canoes, it was very basic (4 portaloo's in our field) and they smelt pretty bad by the end (although always stocked with toilet roll and soap) the owner came to collect money and that was all we saw of her, so even when people were loud at night and playing music nothing was done about it. This wouldn't be such an issue if we hadn't ended up paying quite a lot to camp as all children had to be paid for, even the toddlers. It was also quite impersonal and the owner woke some campers next to us at 8am on a Sunday declaring they had to pay then, not the attitude you expect in such a relaxed environment.

I wouldn't stop again unless as part of a canoeing trip, it is a shame because it is so beautiful and secluded it is just what some campers want, and with a little bit more effort and a few simple touches it would be lovely. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hettycamper 1 review from this member

 This campsite did exactly what the website showed. Basic, but kept clean. It has fresh water, portaloo's and a field to camp in. The portaloo's did get a bit smelly towards the end of the week (they are cleaned regularly, but only emptied once a week).

The site was beautiful, right on the banks of the Wye river, with the Hoarwithy church in the background.

You could access the gravel 'beach' edge of the river and paddle and swim in the river.

A lovely pub across the field from the campsite, some lovely walks nearby and easy striking distance from Ross on Wye and the Dean Forest.

We didn't have any problems with noise (as some people leaving reviews have mentioned), a lot of people camping here are for 1 night only as they canoe down the river, rather than family's camping for a period of time. But the owner does only collect money and does not monitor the site or visit after 5pm 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wrigglytummy 1 review from this member

 A lovely site on the edge of the river.

Plenty of places to have an open fire which was lovely. Wood for sale by owner or bring your own.

Lots of grass, plenty of space, lovely village & a nice pub.

Facilities were basic, but absolutely fine. Portaloos (OK, cleaned twice daily by owners), no showers/hot water (as advertised), plenty of fresh water points.

Fees were as advertised on their site - about £5 per adult, £3 child & £2 car. Pretty reasonable.

Beautiful river for swimming and canoeing, you can camp far enough from the river not to have to worry about young children too much.

Lots of outdoor activities in the local area.

Sadly, the 'rules' of the site were not adhered to by many of the users, late night & early morning noise (shouting & swearing) made it an unpleasant environment for the kids. The owners did not visit to check things after 5pm which was a shame or this could have been prevented. Overall a lovely site, but disappointing as it was not quite the peaceful family site that we had hoped for. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tresseck Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tresseck Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tresseck Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2904 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement