Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04 To 16/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs E 37 reviews from this member

This site is beautiful when the sun shines, and it did on our arrival and first day. Pitches face the sea so you have a nice view. However, the shingle/fine gravel for the hardstanding gets absolutely everywhere and we ended up with quite a bit in our 'van despite our best efforts.

We had booked a pitch with EHU. However, my husband was asked not to use a splitter connection (by the owner?) despite saying it was only for running our coolbox and the connection to our campervan, for charging phones and devices. So we had to faff about a bit when wanting to charge our phones.

The hotel next door was pleasant and a lot nicer on the inside from some of the outside. The outdoor seating areas are nice too when the weather's kind and we enjoyed a couple of drinks on our first evening. They also serve food too.

I was disappointed with the Wi-Fi as I only managed to connect for a very short time when we arrived. Despite sitting in the tv room, where you were advised to go to use their Wi-Fi, I couldn't get back online for the duration we were there.

There were 2 showers, and (I think) 3 toilets in the ladies washblock. They were ok although I didn't actually use the showers although I'd intended to on our 2nd day. But the weather turned and the thought of coming back in the cold and wet put me off. Water to the dishwashing sinks, which were located between the ladies and men's washroom was hot so that was a plus point.

However, we both preferred the first campsite we stayed at as it had a "nicer vibe" and feel to it and we felt it was better located for us personally so I'm not sure we'd return here.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Calibra1 4 reviews from this member

Called here for 3 nights after seeing some of the stunning views, and after a 5 hr slog on the motorbike up there we weren't dissapointed,

Yes the site is on a slight slope but we were placed 10yrds from the beach which for us was stunning watching the fishing boats and cruise ships go by.

Teresa was very friendly and helpful letting us dry and charge our helmets up in the office and the day room was a great boost for getting a signal and watching a bit of TV, The Pub/hotel next door has stunning views of the bay and is very handy after a ride out around the island.

I cant see why it could get negatives, but everyone has different expectations, , Ours was pretty much 10/10 and cant wait till we get back again

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gracesett 17 reviews from this member

Good site despite the road on the last few miles. We have been away for several weeks and Arran roads were in the worst condition bar the strip from Lochranza to Lamlash.

Also Arran appears to be the most 'expensive' - 21/night vs 13 on Islay (for better conditions) and Kintyre 13/night (! adult +2 dogs).

As the 'standard' island price it was acceptable. The site worked well and friendly but it would be welcome to not have to press the shower button every 10 seconds - maybe increase the time a bit would be appreciated as well as hooks for clothes in all shower booths.

Great vista with good facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Merlot65 6 reviews from this member

Small site mainly with campervans. Couldn't get electric hook up for tent. Nice views and you can walk straight onto beach.

Midges are evil though. Two showers in both ladies and gents with further cold showers in another building. Showers were a bit tight for space and shower head not at a great height for tall people and push button.

4 toilets in ladies that didn't flush great most of the time. Undercover bbq area and free WiFi available in games room which consisted of tables and chairs a tv and some board games.

Tent pitches were a bit slopey where we were.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cessie 5 reviews from this member

Lovely spot for wildlife watching. Facilities all clean with some nice extra touches like the undercover cooking area.

However, whole experience marred by difficult owner who took offence at my (cheery) hello when I found the office empty and proceeded to be subtly sarcastic and difficult about everything I then said or asked. Also changed his telephone quote (for a van and small 2 man tent on the same pitch) refusing to recognise what I was saying.

Definitely wouldn't go back -his attitude completely spoiled my stay there.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jonny h 1 review from this member

WE arrived here mid April 2018 and it was all we have read and hoped it would be. We were a bit lazy and had booked a camping hut rather than the usual tent but it was worth it for the 4 nights we were there. The owner was friendly and welcoming and showed us all the facilities and the hut (we named it the shed).

Firstly, the shed. Wonderful cosy little place to stay. There is a small heater which was more than enough on our first night which was a bit chilly. There are also 2 power points and a light. The fold out sleeping platform isn't the largest width, our double airbed hung over the edge a bit but it was fine to be honest.

I wouldn't want to sleep 4 in there, 2 would have to be on the floor and it would be a squeeze, but for 2 it's perfect. There is no cooking in the shed or on the little balcony but this is perfectly understandable and fine. The door locks nice and secure so leaving anything of value behind when you go out isn't a worry like it can be in a tent. A great little home from home.

The site is real nice indeed. We went after the school break and it was nice and quiet. A few motor homes and caravans and a couple of tents. It is right on the sea front and a nice rocky shore to explore. There is a sandy beach a few minutes walk away if that's what you want but I enjoyed exploring the rock pools etc. The toilets were spotless, the showers the same. The showers in the same block as the toilets are good but there are four others which are more like small wet rooms which are much better.

There is a microwave and fridge, day room, undercover BBQ area but we didn't use any of those. There area for cleaning your dishes is nice. We never used the on site shop so can't comment on that. Overall I couldn't find any negatives with the site.

A quick word about Arran. The most friendly place you could visit. We were blessed with perfect weather and couldn't of asked for more. Only a couple of downsides. The road surfaces on a lot of the island are awful. Thank the lord we had gone in our old 4x4 which could take a beating. Saying that, there were a lot of roadworks going on and signs for road improvement schemes so I imagine this is being taken care of slowly.

Don't let it put you off, just be aware not to take a low slung sports car. 2nd downside. For the love of god don't eat from the only chippy on the island which is by the port in Brodick. I'm saying no more, just don't.

So to sum up, brilliant campsite which we will certainly be going back to later in the year after midge season.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The2Lees 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful small beach-side site ringed with palm trees! Facilities are very good and the site has a relaxed homely feel.

The owner is very helpful with an interesting background. The adjacent hotel and bar is an asset on cold wintry days and, we guess, balmy summer's evenings. What more do you need.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 88 reviews from this member

Breath taking views South towards Ailsa Craig. Easy access to the beach. You could spend all day just looking at the view. Gently sloping field, surprisingly sheltered for the location but watch out for the rabbits!

Arrival somewhat marred following a discussion with the owner and his pricing policy. He wanted to charge us for the maximum capacity of the tent, not just for the two of us! We came to an agreement that a Berghaus Lomond 3 is only a 2 man tent (the 3 must be for the number of poles!) Be warned / prepared.

Facilities are fine, clean and tidy. Free wifi (patchy service) and camping kitchen/ bbq/ information areas.

The Kildonan Hotel, next door, is not what you would expect inside. Good atmosphere and a short stagger home.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aclassownersclub 5 reviews from this member

Such a beautiful location and view. Good facilities including free wifi, BBQ area, use of microwave for free.

Hotel next door good for food and drinks. Nice size pitches and site smallish making it great for children. Everything kept clean and tidy including the chemical disposal point.

Friendly owner. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We had a lovely holiday here. Recommend this campsite and recommend Arran.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night in a motorhome, stunningly beautiful location overlooking Ailsa Craig and Pladda Island and lighthouse.

We had amazing weather although being right on the coast it was windy but with pure blue sky and sunshine who cares.

There is a lovely beach where we revisited our childhood and spent a couple of hours rock pooling. There is a pub/hotel almost next door but we didn't use it as the weather was so good but would imagine on a cold wet day it would be good.

Welcome was very friendly and would definitely visit again. Toilets and showers were good and very clean.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4027 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019