Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Newquay
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4HS
Tel: 0344 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 151
Open: 03/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           03/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 29 Reviews
                6/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Gudgy 1 review from this member

 Just returned from site. Outdoor swimming pool is good. The site is VERY steep, on hills.

I stayed in a static (8 berth) which had a good layout. However, the single beds are very small. I am 5'9" and my feet were hanging out of the bottom! Incredibly noisy every morning, from birds.

Our biggest disappointment was the lack of cleanliness, upon arrival at static. The floor was vacuumed, but the patio style doors were disgusting. There was a greasy hand-print, from a 2-4 year old toddler on it, and the window itself looked like permanent rain streaks!

I would have thought hygiene/sterilising, including window cleaning, was top of the agenda, during the pandemic but, sadly, it wasn't. Also, asked for someone to come and vacuum the carpet after one week (we stayed 2 weeks) and were told they would come that morning. They never turned up. Reported it next day, and they never turned up again. It seems, once they have your money, forget about any customer service! 


Date of Visit: March 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nomoretogo 1 review from this member

 Crows squawking all day, wake you up at 4. 30 in the morning, worse than a chinese torture

Caravan covered in crows poop

Rubbish under caravan

Worst place we have ever stayed.

Would not recommend going here at all.

Parkdean do not tell you about this in advance of booking.

Head office not interested in your complaint, just fob you off with its down to nature! 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Springer1140 1 review from this member

 We had booked a star pitch for a 10 night stay with our touring caravan. The pitches are very small and cramped. Unsuitable for any caravan over 6m in length. If you have a awning there is insufficient room to park your car on the pitch and you are forced to park it infront of your caravan on the road.

Trying to manoeuvre in and out your pitch is very difficult due to the narrow road and lack of space. The pitches are not of a very high standard with a concrete standing for your van which has lots of weeds growing through and the awning area is made up of a clay and Sand mix which when slightly wet sticks to everything. The water tap on our fully serviced pitch was hanging of its mount and leaked all over the grass making it very wet so we had to keep turning it off

The shower and toilet block was of a very poor standard particularly in the current climate. Two of the four toilets during our stay were out of order and one of the remaining two had a broken toilet seat, the showers are disgusting and had the same dirt and debrise on the floor during the whole time we were there. The shower cubicles were engrained in dirt and we were forced to use our own shower as a result.

There are posters around the park trying to persuade you to exchange your touring caravan for one of their own holiday homes and going by the facilities for the touring caravans you definitely get the feeling that you are the second class citizen and not really wanted.

The toilet and shower blocks are probably the worst I have seen in regards cleanliness. They are clearly past their date and need renewing.

If you have a touring caravan I wouldn't recommend staying hear and if you are used to a hardstanding pitch with room for an awning and car where you arnt a meter away from your neighbour then look elsewhere. The park is advertising a 1 million pound investment over the next 12 months but despite the touring area being in desperate need of modernising I will guarantee this wont be where the money is spent 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ripleyt 1 review from this member

 Caravan dirty and ill equipped. Clumps on hair on bedroom carpet. Stains on duvet. Cig butt under sofa cushion. Dirty smelly pull out bed. Ripped curtains.

Onsite restaurant badly run and dirty toilets. No table numbers to order online as advised to. Staff all too busy to help. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Margaret Ashwell 1 review from this member

 My husband and I have just had the most amazing few days at this park even though it a little way from beach but the staff and atmosphere makes up for it

We ate every night at the park but our last night was as perfect as perfect could get, the chef luke aka the bearded chef made the most amazing steak meal and I can tell you I have had a few lol. The steak cooked to perfection, peppercorn sauce amazing. So I would definitely recommend eating at the park

Prices are reasonable but the holiday the staff gave us was priceless 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daflad 6 reviews from this member

 Arrival of main road be careful as you turn in take it slow as the road dips a little. You then go up the short hill to reception. 3 lanes to park up plenty of room. Staff very helpful and pleasant, collect your pack with all the info you will need.

We were directed to our pitch by a very helpful young lady. We stayed on a star pitch with waste and water. Star pitches are literally 30 seconds drive from reception. Our pitch in the corner was big enough for our van with awning and a gazebo. [not sure about the other pitches].

Word of warning the star pitches are in a enclosed area and if most pitches are occupied it is best to unhitch and push your van onto the hard standing. There is always plenty of help from the other people on site.

The showers are next to the star pitches, and toilets, and chemical waste. The showers have plenty of hot water[to hot at times]. The shower cubicles are to small though you get under the shower and you are literally head butting the panel. They definitely need alteration.

Great areas for kids to play, large arcade, decent bar, bit pricey but no different to all the other sites. The concert room is ok but we only used it once. Pub food in bar/restaurant very good and reasonably priced. Try the pizzas.

All in all we had a really great time all the staff were really friendly and always had a smile, showers and toilets spotless pitches all large[star pitches]would return. Ps forgot about the pool heated and brilliant. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 We only booked to stay at Parkdean because my son and family were booked into a lodge for a week and I wasnít sure what to expect from a site which is primarily aimed at the static caravan market.

I booked a star pitch which was hardstanding with water and waste points. There was about a dozen or so of these pitches and the area looked dated and not particularly well cared for although the grass had been mown. However, it turned out the pitch was fine and although very close to the swimming pool area we didnít experience much noise from it as the pool s are situated quite a bit lower than we were.

We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was acceptable. There is quite a large shop on site with most of your grocery needs. We did not sample the entertainment. The swimming pool area is great for children and the water very warm.

From a touring point of view sanitary facilities are very important and this is the only area where I felt some attention was needed by Parkdean if they are to continue offering a touring option. The sanitary block looks dated but was cleaned three times a day, and the toilet facilities were good. However, I challenge one of the female management team to take a shower in the star pitch block. The water comes out of the shower head like a hosepipe, rather than a spray Ė but there is also a problem with the siting of the shower head. It is angled to hit the wall opposite instead of pointing downwards.

Fortunately for me this was only a problem in the showers on the star pitch site, so I trudged up the hill to the top shower block every morning where I was able to have a reasonable shower. The water was warm and plentiful.

Just one other observation on the subject of showers Ė whilst the showers were cleaned three times a day, Parkdean donít help their cleaners as they donít provide a mop and bucket for customers to clean the shower floors after use. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilson829 1 review from this member

 We recently had a midweek break here. Weather was brilliant which I think makes any break feel better but here goes for what we thought about the site as a whole.

The site is up a steep hill, but then again as soon as you get off the M5 and onto the A30 there is nothing but steep hills anyway so I didn't class it as a problem. Pitches are a reasonable size - nothing fantastic, saying that we are currently using a Hi Gear Corado 6 which is a bit of a monster.

It just fitted in lengthways and we were left with more than enough room at the side to park the car and have a few other accessories set up too. Only painted lines to divide pitches so you may end up right next to your neighbour but we didn't find it a problem at all. Electric and water point on each pitch was good to have too.

Showers/toilets/washing up area were always clean, never ran out of hot water while we were there and we never queued once for any of them either.

Outdoor pools are brilliant and heated, I am 40 but felt like a big kid going down the slide and just splashing around for hours with the family. There is a huge pitch and putt course but we didn't get to use it this time.

Food was very well priced we thought, but drinks are a little more expensive. Evening entertainment is not the best but still entertaining, a few of the acts we thought were going to be painful to sit through but we all still came out smiling every night.

Would we go back again you ask, for 4 nights with all facilities and entertainment for just over £90 - we will be going back! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulZ 6 reviews from this member

 We made a big mistake staying here! This is not a site for tourers who want to spend their time exploring Cornwall!

It's a full blown holiday park complete with on site entertainment, bingo, bar, disco etc. There is reasonable shop on site and also a swimming pool. Hence you are paying for all these facilities whether you are using them or not. We did make use of the bar which was very good and had some staff who were excellent (others a bit gormless and unable to take basic food orders). The bar served a decent range of food which was not expensive.

The site rate itself was very expensive (£42 for 3 of us) which is double the cost for most campsites and I regard as poor value for money.

The tent area is a series of terraces and, following the wet summer, comprised mostly of waterlogged mud. The ground squelched under your feet and everything in the tent was wet from moisture coming up from the ground. While the site cannot be held responsible for the appalling weather this summer, they are responsible for the total lack of drainage in this area which, if installed, would do much to improve the ground conditions and visitor comfort. There is no screening around pitches - you are right in the face of your neighbours - and pitches, although wide, were not very deep leaving some tents with virtually no outdoor living space.

The main facility block had plenty of toilets & showers but was basic in its style.

We only stayed one night and were relieved to find a much better site further south in Cornwall the following night.

We have learnt from this to be wary of any site that has the words 'Holiday Park' in its name. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ahaf 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with great location. We have stayed here before although it was about 6 years ago.

Pool is brilliant if you have children and they really loved the water slides. There is also great play facilities and somewhere for them to play football or cricket.

Pitch was good and had our own water point and electric which is really handy.

It is expensive in the summer but as you have everything you do get what you pay for.

The showers and toilets were nice and always clean and staff really nice and helpful.

Entertainment was good.

Location is great as you can get to watergate bay, mawgan porth all in about 10/ 15 mins drive and newquay is even closer, You can also get the bus into newquay and back from the entrance to the park if you did fancy going into newquay for a few beverages.

Definitely going back to this site again. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3279 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement