Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Newquay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Newquay
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4HS
Tel: 0344 335 3548
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March - November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 24 Reviews
                7/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daflad 6 reviews from this member

Arrival of main road be careful as you turn in take it slow as the road dips a little. You then go up the short hill to reception. 3 lanes to park up plenty of room. Staff very helpful and pleasant, collect your pack with all the info you will need. We were directed to our pitch by a very helpful young lady. We stayed on a star pitch with waste and water. Star pitches are literally 30 seconds drive from reception. Our pitch in the corner was big enough for our van with awning and a gazebo. [not sure about the other pitches]. Word of warning the star pitches are in a enclosed area and if most pitches are occupied it is best to unhitch and push your van onto the hard standing. There is always plenty of help from the other people on site. The showers are next to the star pitches, and toilets, and chemical waste. The showers have plenty of hot water[to hot at times]. The shower cubicles are to small though you get under the shower and you are literally head butting the panel. They definitely need alteration. Great areas for kids to play, large arcade, decent bar, bit pricey but no different to all the other sites. The concert room is ok but we only used it once. Pub food in bar/restaurant very good and reasonably priced. Try the pizzas. All in all we had a really great time all the staff were really friendly and always had a smile, showers and toilets spotless pitches all large[star pitches]would return. Ps forgot about the pool heated and brilliant.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

We only booked to stay at Parkdean because my son and family were booked into a lodge for a week and I wasnít sure what to expect from a site which is primarily aimed at the static caravan market.

I booked a star pitch which was hardstanding with water and waste points. There was about a dozen or so of these pitches and the area looked dated and not particularly well cared for although the grass had been mown. However, it turned out the pitch was fine and although very close to the swimming pool area we didnít experience much noise from it as the pool s are situated quite a bit lower than we were.

We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was acceptable. There is quite a large shop on site with most of your grocery needs. We did not sample the entertainment. The swimming pool area is great for children and the water very warm.

From a touring point of view sanitary facilities are very important and this is the only area where I felt some attention was needed by Parkdean if they are to continue offering a touring option. The sanitary block looks dated but was cleaned three times a day, and the toilet facilities were good. However, I challenge one of the female management team to take a shower in the star pitch block. The water comes out of the shower head like a hosepipe, rather than a spray Ė but there is also a problem with the siting of the shower head. It is angled to hit the wall opposite instead of pointing downwards.

Fortunately for me this was only a problem in the showers on the star pitch site, so I trudged up the hill to the top shower block every morning where I was able to have a reasonable shower. The water was warm and plentiful.

Just one other observation on the subject of showers Ė whilst the showers were cleaned three times a day, Parkdean donít help their cleaners as they donít provide a mop and bucket for customers to clean the shower floors after use.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilson829 1 review from this member

We recently had a midweek break here. Weather was brilliant which I think makes any break feel better but here goes for what we thought about the site as a whole.

The site is up a steep hill, but then again as soon as you get off the M5 and onto the A30 there is nothing but steep hills anyway so I didn't class it as a problem. Pitches are a reasonable size - nothing fantastic, saying that we are currently using a Hi Gear Corado 6 which is a bit of a monster. It just fitted in lengthways and we were left with more than enough room at the side to park the car and have a few other accessories set up too. Only painted lines to divide pitches so you may end up right next to your neighbour but we didn't find it a problem at all. Electric and water point on each pitch was good to have too.

Showers/toilets/washing up area were always clean, never ran out of hot water while we were there and we never queued once for any of them either.

Outdoor pools are brilliant and heated, I am 40 but felt like a big kid going down the slide and just splashing around for hours with the family. There is a huge pitch and putt course but we didn't get to use it this time.

Food was very well priced we thought, but drinks are a little more expensive. Evening entertainment is not the best but still entertaining, a few of the acts we thought were going to be painful to sit through but we all still came out smiling every night.

Would we go back again you ask, for 4 nights with all facilities and entertainment for just over £90 - we will be going back!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PaulZ 6 reviews from this member

We made a big mistake staying here! This is not a site for tourers who want to spend their time exploring Cornwall!

It's a full blown holiday park complete with on site entertainment, bingo, bar, disco etc. There is reasonable shop on site and also a swimming pool. Hence you are paying for all these facilities whether you are using them or not. We did make use of the bar which was very good and had some staff who were excellent (others a bit gormless and unable to take basic food orders). The bar served a decent range of food which was not expensive.

The site rate itself was very expensive (£42 for 3 of us) which is double the cost for most campsites and I regard as poor value for money.

The tent area is a series of terraces and, following the wet summer, comprised mostly of waterlogged mud. The ground squelched under your feet and everything in the tent was wet from moisture coming up from the ground. While the site cannot be held responsible for the appalling weather this summer, they are responsible for the total lack of drainage in this area which, if installed, would do much to improve the ground conditions and visitor comfort. There is no screening around pitches - you are right in the face of your neighbours - and pitches, although wide, were not very deep leaving some tents with virtually no outdoor living space.

The main facility block had plenty of toilets & showers but was basic in its style.

We only stayed one night and were relieved to find a much better site further south in Cornwall the following night.

We have learnt from this to be wary of any site that has the words 'Holiday Park' in its name.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ahaf 3 reviews from this member

Great site with great location. We have stayed here before although it was about 6 years ago.

Pool is brilliant if you have children and they really loved the water slides. There is also great play facilities and somewhere for them to play football or cricket.

Pitch was good and had our own water point and electric which is really handy.

It is expensive in the summer but as you have everything you do get what you pay for.

The showers and toilets were nice and always clean and staff really nice and helpful.

Entertainment was good.

Location is great as you can get to watergate bay, mawgan porth all in about 10/ 15 mins drive and newquay is even closer, You can also get the bus into newquay and back from the entrance to the park if you did fancy going into newquay for a few beverages.

Definitely going back to this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: 0121ade 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 10 nights 2 children and 3 adults on our pitch and a further 4 adults on another pitch.

Upon arrival was greated with the steapest hill I've had to climb to get into a caravan site!

booked in ok and told where to go to find pitch but wasn't taken to it and didn't have anyone check to see if it was vacant or even if I had pitched up on the correct area. Pitch wasn't very well marked out but did have your own water and electric hook up, not much room when pitched and was literally on top of the unit next to us, also there wasn't a lot of space from the units opposite either and you could just about get a car down the gap.

This meant if your children rode their bikes you were in constant fear of them hitting someone elses car or unit. V

On the plus side the site had good play areas for the children plus an entertainment zone where your little ones can bleed you dry!

Swimming pool was nice 3 in total that were heated to a lovely temperature, it didn't matter how the weather was as it was always warm in the pool. There was also a slide which my 6 year old enjoyed but not suitable for older children as you could stop half way down!

Site could get noisy as all tourer pitches are close to the main entertainment rooms but this didn't really bother me as I can sleep through anything but if you are a light sleeper beware as it is quite loud.

There is a shop on site with most things available but over priced in my view. All big name stores close enough to use and much cheaper.

The toilet and shower rooms are in need of a refurb nothing like you get on a club site not very clean, mould on walls and sometimes no hot water left for a nice shower. At the prices they charge they should invest a few pounds in a better more modern block, a better move would have been to take my soap and sponge down to the pool!

Site was approx 2 miles from newquay centre and we found it to be well located for visiting the local area, places to visit perranporth, St Ives, Padstow, Porth and Mawgan Porth all very nice and had lovely beaches.

Although we had a good holiday we wouldn't recommend this site for touring purely on the basis of the space. We will be going back to the area as it is lovely but will be staying somewhere else

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Belinda1967 1 review from this member

We got back from this site yesterday. Not having been to newquay before I really enjoyed visiting the beaches.

Really impressive waves. We did have rain showers most of our 4 nights but there's plenty to do in the local area.

The pitch was large and a short walk from the shower block which was clean with lots of hot water and a hair dryer.

Entertainment was good. Swimming pools, there are 3 all out doors are heated an the slide was popular.

The only thing I can think of is no heating in the shower block.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ngmbje 3 reviews from this member

We have just come back from an 8 night stay at this holiday park. The site is well laid out with plenty to do for the kids. The pool is only open 10 - 5, I don't know if this is the same through July and August but it meant we had little time to use the pool as we spent most of that time out either visiting the local attractions or at beaches.

The site management are very good at responding to complaints about noise, however, they decided to dump our neighbour's rubbish (which was bagged up tidily) straight into their tent. We thought this very poor behaviour as the neighbours were quiet and orderly and kept their pitch tidy.

The Park security team can be contacted at any time of night to deal with any noise issues. We were visited by a hedgehog which tried very hard to break into our tent the one night so I would recommend keeping the doors zipped.

The ladies' showers are lukewarm if you use the ones to the right as you enter the building so I would recommend using the two at the end of the section of toilets. Plenty of hot washing up water available. The handdryer in the gents was out of action all week and power was turned off twice to the whole site while we were there without any notice even though the management were aware this would happen.

The cafe was reasonably priced but the food quality was poor, we ate there twice one night of greasy pizzas and cheap sausages for breakfast. The mushrooms were terrible and there were no alternatives for items you didn't like e.G. Scrambled instead of fried eggs.

Apart from the bizarre incident with the neighbour's rubbish (which has reduced considerably the customer service score) and the noisy group on our first night we enjoyed the stay.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brookekim 5 reviews from this member

My children aged 12 & 13 loved it, spent most of their time in the pools as well as myself! Showers- Mens were fine no problems but the ladies at the top of the park had 5 showers 3 were cold and the other 2 were hot, didn't discover the hot ones until the morning we were leaving!

Dish washing area was small only 3 sinks but water was really hot. Great entertainment in the club, the shop was reasonably priced with offers on alcohol.

There was noise on site in the evenings but it all went quiet on time, security was great. Pitches available from 12pm but we arrived earlier and was allowed on our pitch. Our pitch size was great a fairly large pitch big enough for all our stuff, and we took plenty! We even had a game of golf!

We have already said we are going to return to this site next year.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmyjj111 4 reviews from this member

Yes the hill on the approach to the office is a major hill / mountain, wouldn't like to tow a caravan up it.

Pitching areas are tiny, smallest we have ever camped on.

Showers are little beady eyes protruding slightly from the wall, if you squash your body flat against the tiles you can just about get your whole body washed with the scalding non adjustable, pressure or heat, water. You have four minutes before the shower switches itself off, it will return after a sensible 2 minute delay ?

Good news for the ladies you wont be scolded as my daughter and wife reliably informed me theirs were freezing, different days different times tried too, they will also take a break after 4 minutes.

It only gets better, hand dryer didn't work for the full 3 days, managed to bump into the toilet attendant on our last day, he told me it was temperamental, he then slapped it in various different directions and hey presto on it came, I put my hands under it and off it went.

Toilets were clean, plenty of toilet roll but don't use the first cubicle you come too, the lock has been repaired and the catch is 3/4 of an inch above the lock, as it was the only one left I decided to hold the door closed with my hand which was fine

Bar is excellent, nice wines on offer at sensible prices. Spent a couple of very pleasant evenings in the bar playing pool with the kids (13 year olds ) watching tv etc.

Kids loved the place full stop. Swimming pool is fine slide unfortunately is disappointingly slow according to our kids. Plenty lifeguards on duty.

We stayed a couple of hours extra (cost an extra £28 for campsite) and went to Watergate bay with our kayak and had a fantastic morning getting battered by the waves.

In fact we had a fantastic 3 days, I couldn't, wouldn't stay at Parkdean again until they sorted their showers and toilet facilities out and then would definitely upgrade to their larger pitches.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019