Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Black Bull Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Black Bull Caravan Park > Reviews

Black Bull Caravan Park
Malton Road
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8EA
Tel: 01751 472528
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 214 Reviews
                9/10 from 214 Reviews

Photos (27)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  214 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Argyllie 12 reviews from this member

 Extremely clean and tidy site run by helpful, friendly staff with spacious gravel hardstanding pitches and a reasonable strip of grass to the side of each.

We chose the fully serviced option which included a TV aerial socket in addition to the usual fresh and waste water connections.

The site has good recycling facilities.

There is a strictly on lead dog walk on site which is handy for morning and evening, but if your dogs need to stretch their legs a bit more than this allows, there is a good choice of walking nearby and slightly further afield, Dalby Forest just on the other side of Pickering being a good option.

All in all, one of the best sites we've visited. 


Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Biosdoctor 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 3 night "shake down" first outing of the season. We picked the site from UK Campsite and being about an hour from home.

We arrived mid afternoon (check in after 1pm) and were met by a lovely lady who explained the site facilities and gave us a map with our pitch marked.

Entry is via a barrier with a code, the site is spacious and very well maintained, each pitch is well marked and separated by a hawthorn hedge. We had a serviced pitch with water, drainage and TV aerial.

The facilities are excellent, from the spotless showers and toilets to handwash next to the chemical WC disposal point, there is a kids playground and a dog walking area.

The touring site is behind the Black Bull pub who serve "Yorkshire" food, good portions, reasonable prices.

The main Pickering road runs alongside the site, but apart from the odd noisy motorcycle, you would never know. It's a 25-30 minute walk into Pickering.

The only minor negative points I would make are the hawthorn hedges need care when moving around the caravan exterior and the push button showers need adjusting to give more than 10 seconds per press.

All in all a really nice site, we'll certainly be back 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Winnievan 1 review from this member

 Whilst we only stayed two nights, we were impressed by this clean, tidy, well-maintained site, where every team member we met was pleasant and helpful towards us.

All facilities were clean and well maintained, but showers (though warm and effective) could do with updating.

Good recycling.

Tidy shop with useful stock items. Lots of literature on local attractions.

Dog friendly - though must be kept on lead, two on-site dog walks.

Local to:

Two dog training fields (on-line booking, charges apply)

Bus stops.

Good taxi service for Pickering (30/35mins walk)

Black Bull is a (people and dog) friendly pub 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pommie 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site with excellent clean facilities.

Plenty for the kids to do, playground, football pitch, crazy golf, pool table.

Would highly recommend. Very welcoming owner. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nigeln 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, shower block kept lovely and clean,

All the wardens were very friendly and helpful and lovely big pitches, ,

Good bike paths into pickering 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vanlife39 4 reviews from this member

 On paper this site looked perfect and in many ways it was.

Great location for visiting the many local coastal towns and close to some lovely little villages.

The staff are very friendly and the site is beautifully flat, well maintained, clean and quiet. However, we have a dog and chose this site because it had a dog walk.

Although it does stress that dogs must be kept on leads at all times, we never imagined that we would have to keep our dog on a lead in the designated dog walking area. Everyone we talked to with a dog was unhappy with this and couldn't understand the reasoning for it. In the end we had to cross the very busy road opposite and walk our dog up a quiet lane so he could run off lead. Not ideal.

Although clean, the shower block was very 'tired' and could do with updating. The showers are a fixed height and temperature too. The shop had odd opening hours, more we feel to suit the staff rather than the people paying to use the site and had very little stock.

It was possibly the worst stocked shop we have ever come across. The hawthorn bushes that surround every pitch were a problem too and our dog had thorns in his paws twice.

We were worried about out blow up awning suffering a puncture but we were ok. We would advise to check out the pitch before you let your dog on or put up an awning.

Finally, the site also has an ongoing problem with sewage as there was an overwhelming stench by the shower block which the owners know about but are reluctant to address. So, if you don't have a dog or a sense of smell, this site will be perfect for you. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JAM60 6 reviews from this member

 Best site We have ever been on!

Everything and I do mean every thing was immaculate and the staff were very friendly.

The pub was dog friendly which was a bonus as the food was lovely.

We will definitely be going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Daveandsue2 6 reviews from this member

 We had an excellent break at the Black Bull.

The site is within easy access to Pickering and Mallon.

To venture further the bus stops outside of the site giving access to York Leeds and Scarborough.

We also had a lovely meal at the pub next door. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Montys Mum 2 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site conveniently located next door to the Black Bull Inn which serves good, reasonably priced food.

Good central location for visiting many tourist attractions

Dog friendly site with a good dog walk.

Only negative was that the connection to the "free" WIFI was impossible, even having tried 4 devices. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Kontikiman 13 reviews from this member

 On arrival the new Corons virus inspired rapid check in was easy to deal with (collect an envelope) and all the information you needed was included.

The site gas been upgraded since our last visit with many super pitches of which we were located on.

All services were easy to attach to although unfortunately at the time of the visit the local TV transmitter had caught fire so we were unable to test the TV point.

Although very busy the site was exceptionally clean and credit to the wardens for keeping it that way.

The new shower and toilet block has certainly improved things at the far end of the site.

Recycling, dog walking and children's play areas are all provided and the pub in front of the site provides excellent food and craft beers.

We will certainly be back again. 
via mobile


Previous     214 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Black Bull Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Black Bull Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Black Bull Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59497 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement