Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Bull Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Black Bull Caravan Park
Malton Road
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8EA
Tel: 01751 472528
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 72
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 184 Reviews
                9/10 from 184 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  184 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 19 reviews from this member

Just had one night here, made very welcome on arrival, given info sheet with code for toilet block, this place has everything you need including a shop for essentials and itís been well thought out. The whole site is clean and tidy.

Settled in and we had a walk (15mins) to the nearby garden centre and country store, it has a cafe too. Not too far to walk into Pickering where there is lots to see and do and lovely shops and of course the North York Moors Steam Railway, a must. Bus stops near the site if, like us you are in a motor home and want to park up, walk or use public transport.

Evening meal at the Black Bull, Wow, superb food, great helpings, roaring fire, warm welcome.

The siteís toilet facilities too have been planned well, cosy and warm, powerful hot showers which are spacious and plenty of hooks for stuff and a stool to put your things on.

When you come to leave everything is close together so itís a one stop to get rid of rubbish/recycling, waste water and elsan point.

We will definitely be back!
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Pallas 2 reviews from this member

We chose this site on the strength of ukcampsite reviews which seem to be very accurate. The reception were very friendly and directed us to the allocated pitch. There were plenty of flat hardstandings with easy parking access.

The shower block was always spotless, despite some inclement weather. A short walk into Pickering and a bus stop directly outside the site. The Black Bull pub had a good selection of reasonably priced meals with the added bonus of live music.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jenniwren 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site, can't fault it! Easy to find, wide entrance, large hedge screened pitches, everything tidy and clean, all facilities pristine and modern, staff happy to help, bus stop outside. What more could you want?

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gregg495 2 reviews from this member

Wow what a lovely little site this is.

We stayed fri to sun for a short break away and was surprised how nice it is.

Private pitches for all caravans with nice flat manicured grass.

16 amp electric, great showers/ toilets.

We will definitely go again.

Awesome.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Talbot Calypso 5 reviews from this member

We wanted to visit the NYMR in Pickering for the steam train journey from Pickering to Whitby and this seemed to be one of the nearest campsites. We could not have chosen better. A lovely welcome from the receptionist. There is a little shop to purchase essentials. Our spacious hard-standing pitch with electric hook-up (no. 10) was next to the Malton Road but with the tall hedge between us and the road there was no problem with noise. We both had a good night's sleep. Lovely birdsong here and we were delighted to see wild rabbits playing on the site - dog owners, please note.

Shower Block/Toilets were a short walk away from the pitch. Very clean and shower cubicles were large. Only criticism is that had there been a longer shower curtain then water would not have been able to enter the area where you dry off after showering. If not a longer shower curtain then perhaps a bar between the two areas, but that may be considered a trip hazard by Health & Safety. Take your own hair dryer as there isn't one, although there is an electric socket.

I asked the lovely lady at reception about getting to the railway station and she told me that there is a bus stop very close to the site to take us into Pickering but once in Pickering it's quite a walk to the station. My husband has heart problems so can't walk too far so I asked about a taxi. Two firms were recommended and we chose Harper's (tel. 01751 476060) - great choice! Prompt and courteous service and just £5 each way.

We ate evening meals at the Black Bull Pub/Restaurant which is next to the site but, again, not noisy at night. Meal portion sizes are large - I had to leave a lot of my meal on the first night, not because there was anything wrong with it - it was delicious - but simply because there was way too much. We are not big eaters so just a starter is ample for us, which is what we both had instead of a main meal on the 2nd night.

We were sorry when it was time to leave the campsite as we had enjoyed a wonderful break, that we extended slightly by stopping for coffee in Thornton le Dale, which is a very picturesque village close by that has a pretty beck running through it.

We can definitely recommend the Black Bull Caravan Site if you are looking for a base to explore this beautiful part of the country as, not only is it an excellent site (with easy waste water emptying and chemical toilet waste disposal facilities), but it is also perfectly situated for visiting the many attractions nearby.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Lopo 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long weekend in our folding camper. We had a hard standing with electric hook up. All pitches are large and separated with a hedge row for privacy. There are grass pitches with hook up, but these were not in use due to the ground still drying out after the winter. The toilet block was clean with free showers. There also was a pot washing area which we didn't use. Raised bbq's are allowed. There is a nice reception with small shop offering basics, milk, eggs etc plus you can order newspapers. For us we booked this site because it had a pub which is lovely and the food looked amazing with very large portions. We knew there was another pub close by and asked one of the locals. He said that the Black Bull didn't want anyone knowing were it was. We found it down the lane opposite the pub. Wow! what a find. Spencers is amazing and so cheap for drinks. Half the price of the Black Bull. Hand pulled beer £2. 50 a pint. G&T top brands with mixer £2. 50. They also do food. Have a lovely outside beer garden with lake and ducks. The site is approx 30 mins to either Whitby or Scarborough. Pickering is a couple of mins down the road with a large Co-op and Lidl. On a Saturday and Sunday there is a large carboot just a minute away in the car. It starts at 3pm on both days. We loved this site and would definitely return. We wanted to book for the end of May Bank Holiday but it is already full up.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 33 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights, easy to find just outside Pickering on the Malton Road, the entrance at the side of the Pub. Hardstanding, plenty of room with small hedges separating the pitches. Never far away from drinking water. Showers and other facilities are top quality, very friendly in the reception and groundstaff very helpful. Easy flat walk into town which took us 25 mins, plenty of eating places and pubs ( Most dog friendly) A couple of supermarkets in town also. Oh yeah a purpose built dog walk which was good but a little bit muddy the weekend we stayed. Lovely place

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carol may 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site, no hassle level pitches with electric hook up and each pitch has its own area marked off with a hedge plenty of room for a large tent and car and privacy. Shower and toilet block very clean. Utility room hairdryers, washing up station. The site was very handy for the East coast and North York

Moors. Had a great time will be returning soon I hope.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Squiff69 1 review from this member

We have just spent a week here for the 3rd year and it certainly doesn't disappoint. What a lovely place a really good base for surrounding coastline. The site itself is a credit to the owners. A very friendly place well presented and looked after. Facilities are A+ from shower block to games room and a pub in site. A nice quiet getaway everyone friendly and no noise policy after 11pm!. A definite booking again. Dog friendly too! There are no cons with this site all good

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doddsy2978 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is probably the best I have visited, thus far. The plots are lovely, the people are friendly, and Kathy's toilets are awesome. The pub is well worth a visit for an absolutely fantastic meal at very reasonable prices. There are lots of things to do, well within striking distance. I will definitely will be returning.

Previous     184 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3555 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019