Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Black Bull Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Black Bull Caravan Park Reviews

Black Bull Caravan Park
Malton Road
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8EA
Tel: 01751 472528
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 72
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 193 Reviews
                9/10 from 193 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  193 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Deb Pearson 1 review from this member

 Have just been back to The Black Bull campsite with our grandson, we have been visitors for quite a number of years now which I think says everything.

Toilet/showers are spotless as are the portaloos at the bottom of the field. Site is very well maintained with good sized private pitches.

Good value for money and staff are really friendly and helpful.

Site is in a good location with easy access to Scarborough and Whitby and has a handy supermarket or two in Pickering, also food is excellent at the Black Bull pub.

Cannot fault this site. Keep up the good work! 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SamPerry 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this lovely caravan park for the first time, we have 4 boys aged from 5-12!

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the park itself was very well maintained. Showers and toilets were lovely and clean.

There is a play park for the children, which kept them busy and occupied!

Also has a pub on site that serves lovely food.

Highly recommend this site! 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 23 reviews from this member

 Easy to find, pleasant greeting and reasonable access to water etc.

For some unknown reason we were told to pitch right next to another motorhome when virtually the whole site was empty! It was probably done to save the grass on entry to the pitches which were quite narrow to access.

Toilet block was a fair walk and needed a code to enter, cant see that three showers and three loo's will be enough when it is busy but not likely to come then. Push button showers!

WiFi is free and needs to be as poor signal strength and range.

The pub is OK, good beer, well kept and the food servings are large and well priced.

They say a twenty minute walk into Pickering, very fast walking maybe and along the busy road though there is a pavement.

Buses every two hours. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crichtontcc 1 review from this member

 Very nice campsite, easy to find and walking distance into Pickering.

Very tidy with good size, very clean toilet and shower facilities. 2 good pubs serving food two minutes away on foot.

All in all an excellent find, will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: PendlebG 1 review from this member

 Really nice friendly staff, could not be more happier with just how helpful they all were.

Great sized pitches - we were in a 8 man, 7. 4m x 3m - with still plenty of space outside for our things including the car!

Facilities were adequate, there was only a small single freezer but as you are only allowed ice blocks in it was sufficient space for the site. There are several washing machines and dryers (launderette type).

Toilets/Showers were clean, always had loo roll there.

The only issues was wasps/hornets, they really were a pain. This was the only issue we had that stopped it being perfect.

Will look to book again. 
via mobile

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mumamialeeds 3 reviews from this member

 We drove to Black Bull in April to book our pitch nice and early and check out the exact location. Really good location for exploring the area and a very well maintained site.

The Coastliner bus stops outside for trips to Scarborough or Whitby and the NYMR can be picked up in Pickering.

The washroom facilities were spotlessly clean first thing in the morning and the reception staff were very helpful.

Great pub a short stroll away serving a menu with plenty of variety.

All in all a good stay. Other campers very friendly and no loud noise at night. Which we were grateful for.

Only down side was that the pitch we had booked earlier in the year was given to someone else and we were allocated a pitch some distance away. The receptionist I spoke to was apologetic and did say we could have a credit against our next booking, which was very nice. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jona124 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a very pleasant stay at the Black Bull Caravan Park where we were welcomed by the helpful & friendly staff.

The site is very clean and well laid out. We were on pitch 71 at the far end of the site away from the main toilet block so the two toilets they have at the top of the site are a great idea. (Portaloo type fitted with proper porcelain flushing toilet, wash basin, soap dispenser & hot air hand dryer)

The Black Bull Pub next to the site is well worth a visit, serving great Beer & large portions of very nice food.

The site is well situated for access to Pickering & the surrounding area. So would be happy to recommend it to any one & yes we will return at some point in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magsie 47 reviews from this member

 A well laid out campsite with hedged pitches for tourers. Good facilities with outdoor wash-up sinks and a coin-op laundry. The free WiFi was slow but worked across the site.

Well stocked shop at Reception and a very friendly family in charge. Sited behind the Black Bull restaurant/pub, open all day with a wide range of food.

Less than 2 miles into Pickering, with a footpath (wide enough to cycle) alongside the main road. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: NeteLiz 1 review from this member

 First time visit to this well run site, having booked tickets for special steam train event in Pickering, thusour chosen location. Family owned and run, welcoming and friendly.

Small shop on site for essentials. Welcome pack in caravan, tea, coffee, milk, snacks.

Also adjacent, caravan and camping site. Facilities for laundry, waste disposal, recycling, dog walking and "poop" waste, overlooks the Vale of York, expanse of fields for miles. Though just off main road from Malton into Pickering, the site is away from any traffic noise. Approx 1. 5 miles from Pickering, small market town, banks, shops, supermarket, chemists, etc.

We stayed in a brand new caravan, bed linen provided, collect at reception on arrival, leave on departure, (bring own personal towels. ) Security barriers, access card and keys provided.

We were asked to give feedback about the new caravan, any "snags" encountered. We thought very sensible, and we felt at ease telling Reception of any problems. (Nothing serious encountered. )

The caravan was well equipped for self catering.

The weather erratic, so the central heating was welcomed!

NB Some of the static caravans are privately owned.

This site has "consideration rules", which we very much appreciated, (details in the terms and conditions. )

Excellent location for visiting North Yorkshire, both countryside and coastline. Car necessary for travelling, but walkers and cyclists would enjoy this location, too.

Obvious steady and busy custom for the caravan and camping site noted.

We definitely recommend, and would stay again.

We stayed only four nights, seemed much longer, such a refreshing stay! 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 28 reviews from this member

 Just had one night here, made very welcome on arrival, given info sheet with code for toilet block, this place has everything you need including a shop for essentials and itís been well thought out. The whole site is clean and tidy.

Settled in and we had a walk (15mins) to the nearby garden centre and country store, it has a cafe too. Not too far to walk into Pickering where there is lots to see and do and lovely shops and of course the North York Moors Steam Railway, a must. Bus stops near the site if, like us you are in a motor home and want to park up, walk or use public transport.

Evening meal at the Black Bull, Wow, superb food, great helpings, roaring fire, warm welcome.

The siteís toilet facilities too have been planned well, cosy and warm, powerful hot showers which are spacious and plenty of hooks for stuff and a stool to put your things on.

When you come to leave everything is close together so itís a one stop to get rid of rubbish/recycling, waste water and elsan point.

We will definitely be back! 
via mobile


Previous     193 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Black Bull Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Black Bull Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Black Bull Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1949 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements