Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Rhos Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay > Tyn Rhos Camping Site > Reviews

Tyn Rhos Camping Site
Ravenspoint Road
Trearddur Bay
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL65 2AX
Tel: 01407 860369
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 51 Reviews
                8/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tinypea 4 reviews from this member

 It was quiet when we stayed and there was a temporary shower /toilet block whilst improvements were being made.

Considering they were temporary I think they were the nicest facilities I've ever used on a site !

Spotlessly clean, very warm and lovely hot powerful showers - just what you need after a days hiking!

Great location - short walk into the bay.

Friendly staff - would stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Laughingbear 7 reviews from this member

 We've used Tyn Rhos for a number of years now, often as a part of a larger family group and also as a mature couple. The site owners are always very friendly and the site is spotlessly clean. The views from some (most) of the pitches are great especially with the mountains of Snowdon in the distance.

It's a 15 minute walk to Treaddur Bay epi-centre and beach via one of 2 routes (that we know of) and there's a lovely walk along the cliffs and sea front to Rhos Colyn(?) which we also try to do each visit to this site.

The site is sea facing so be prepared for some breezy weather on occasions.

My only suggestion would be that the toilets and showers (although spotlessly clean), could do with modernising.

Happy to recommend and happy to return here next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shoultsy88 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Nice and clean, toilets and showers were lovely to use.

Little shop on site sells everything you need when camping. Only thing I would say is it can get quite windy when it blows due to it being on the top of a hill.

All in all a lovely site for families with plenty of space for kids to roam!

Will return in the near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: All41 5 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a week at tyn rhos trearddur bay bank holiday, thought we should travel earlier so we arrived on the Thursday, so glad we did as the site got busy and they stopped people coming on Friday night

We had our friends with us and more to join us so we were told to spread ourselves out a bit so as our friends could pitch next to us when they arrived because the site doesn't take bookings for none elec pitches.

We were ok with this having been coming to tyn rhos for 12yrs now I love to visit trearddur bay.

Tyn rhos is a great camping site

Facilities are always clean sometimes when in the toilets there would be no paper but guys come on you are camping I always take my own

I will return again soon thanks tyn rhos. X 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyt1960 2 reviews from this member

 We love this site. After having problems with the site next door - we booked in here very last minute and were welcomed with open arms. In fact the owners moved others to accommodate us.

We had a great week and nothing was too much for the owners. Great food from the shop and nice clean facilities. We will be back - next time in our motorhome. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: All41 5 reviews from this member

 Just had three nights at this great site. We love it here and tbe beach is just brill as well as the breakfast baps in the morning.

The shop / reception where you book in now does burgers, and fish and chips oohhhh, lovely.

While waiting for my food I overheard someone booking in said they were directed the wrong way, please make note the postcode for this site is LL65 2AX. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Galvi 2 reviews from this member

 Terrible campsite, it has 4 toilets in one toilet block to cover about 300 pitches located only at the front of the site, (so it's a small hike in the night,

There is never any toilet paper in there too,

Only one water tap located next to the toilet block 53 for a family of 5 no electricity, owners are rude!

Didn't feel welcome at all! I do not recommend this site especially for a family! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stel123 1 review from this member

 I have been going to Tyn Rhos for many years, first as a camper in a tent then as a caravaner.

The location to me, is perfect. You have a lovely open aspect wherever you are pitched on the site.

The owners are passionate about their job, they work hard at keeping the site trim and tidy.

There are showers which operate by a token. These can be purchased for 50p for one, one token lasts aprox five minutes. There are dish washing facilities, which are clean. You have to pay 20p for water. The toilet blocks are clean, they are cleaned every evening.

However, clientele have not respected the facilities in the past and have left them a mess. There are secure toilets, you have to put a code in a panel on the door.

During the week it's a lovely peaceful site, due to popularity bank holidays and summer weekends can see the site busy, and noisier. The owners do police the site on busy occasions, as proven in the past not everyone who holidays there appreciates the peace and quiet.

The shop come booking office is open for b reakfast sandwiches on busy periods, they are very nice. The shop sells anything to wet suits to milk, at a reasonable price.

If you choose to visit, you wouldn't be disappointed in my opinion.

Thanks for reading. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philcaisley 1 review from this member

 We visit this wonderful little site several times each year and never get fed up with it, Dave and Alison are excellent hosts and always make us welcome. The scenery is spectacular, (including overflying military aircraft from nearby RAF Valley). It has an excellent club house with very reasonably priced beers which are well kept. All in all a gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katy oxo 1 review from this member

 We have been camping at this site for more than 12 years and we love this site. The views are spectacular we often drive over to Snowdonia during our stay for one of the many walks. The cliff top walks around Anglesey are a must. The nearby beaches are lovely can get busy during bank holidays and good weather. The kids loves exploring in the rock pools on the beach give them a net and a bucket and they will explore for hours. There is a park nearby the main beach and there are plenty of quiet coves around and about.

The toilets on the site are a little dated but always clean, stocked with toilet roll and warm in the cold weather which is welcome when nipping out of your sleeping bag during the cold nights. The owners check them regular but occasionally they can run out before they come to restock during busy periods so take some toilet roll with you just in case, it costs pennies. You are camping after-all what do you expect. The toilets are coded which in my opinion is a good idea it stops strangers coming on site.

The showers are dated but always clean, they take tokens from the shop, 50p for five minutes. Get yourself undressed take the tops of your shampoo etc before putting your token in and you have time with just one token to wash and condition your hair. There is a hairdryer in the shower room again this is token operated. The only criticism I would make about the showers are they are just a bit too hot for my grand-kids who were aged 2 and 3 last year I had to stand them in the sinks and use a bucket to swill them down and wash their hair after the beach. If the owners get to read this they should take heed and look to provide some kind of facility for young children and reduce the temperature of the hot water just a little. I'm not an early riser before 8am as I go to relax but the showers have always been open at 8am so if others have experienced them not being open before then the owners need to take notice if they want to cater for all.

There is a small shop on site which has essentials if you run out they sell breakfast baps which are good and chips in the evening.

There is no facilities on site for kids such as a park but I prefare it like that and so do the kids. I go to spend quality time with them and want to play games, go for walks, exploring, swimming etc.

There was a small play area many years ago but in my opinion it was more trouble than it was worth so I'm glad it was removed.

Not sure about the comment in a previous review saying you have to pay 20p for water this has never been the case before so this must be new if its true. On first thought this irritated me and I didn't think the small some of money in profit justified this but many times the taps have been left on by the children and water wasted maybe this has been done to prevent this as the owners have to pay to fill the water tanks underground.

There is a dish washing area undercover with three sinks as there is usually a lot of caravans on site you very seldom have to wait.

As for the owners they are a very nice couple with a young daughter who work very hard on the site. I have never seen them rude to anyone and have stayed many times over the years so I was surprised to read this in a previous review maybe either parties were having a bad day cant comment as I wasn't there but as stated they have always been very helpful to all campers when I have been there.

The camping fields are always very well maintained, the main field seems to be getting taken over by caravans now it used to be mostly tents but there is plenty of space in the rest of the many other well maintained fields including secluded areas if this is what you want. I think the owners need to expand the areas for electric hook ups for tents as they are getting harder to come by especially in busy periods.

There is a bar owned by the adjoining campsite which can be anything from 4 steps to 20 yrds depending upon were you are located on the the campsite. The owners are very pleasant and work hard for their custom. It sells food at a reasonable price, has Wifi and had sky tv showing the football, cricket etc last year, can't comment this year as we haven't had the chance to go yet but are planning to go next week if there is space. The pub has entertainment during busy periods and it can get very busy. Children are welcome and they have a small pool room in the back where the kids tend to congregate. There are a few pubs down in the bay and a very trendy restaurant/bar a 10 minute stroll away but we prefare to stay on site and go to the pub there as we don't have to worry about having a drink and leaving the car. We like to go for a few scoops before retiring to bed.

There are three supermarkets closeby, with plenty of other shops including Argos Next etc etc. There is also a public swimming pool and a nine hole golf course/pitch and put for all ages.

During very busy periods the owners of the campsite will stay in a caravan on site and will have a word with people if they get too rowdy during the night.

All in all a good campsite which suits our needs. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Rhos Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Rhos Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyn Rhos Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Trearddur Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement