Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Worksop > Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Lime Tree Avenue
Clumber Park
Worksop
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
S80 3AE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 188
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
                9/10 from 108 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nocorienteer 1 review from this member

 Great site for exploring Clumber Park and North Notts.

TV signal not great, require a 25m+ co-ax cable.

Site spot on for with Covid rules and cleanliness. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: AndyJ82 4 reviews from this member

 Really pleasant stay again (3rd time). A bit of a queue on arrival but too be expected for such a popular site and the additional COVID measures at reception. Wood fire pizza van two nights during our stay. Although we did not partake they looked amazing.

We utilised our own facilities so cannot comment on the amenities block.

Site was full but no nosier than normal.

Returning in October. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mc281 1 review from this member

 Just arrived at Clumber CAMC site after receiving a message not to arrive until after 1pm if booked in the 12pm slot. Being sensible we arrived at 2. 40pm and then queued to get to the office stop line for 2 hours. No mention in the message was made if this is a new rule general rule or just for this particular site today. Apparently it is a new Club Site general change.

Anyhoo.

Drove around and found a vacant hard standing. Walked back to the office to be told the pitch was taken. Then drove around more to find a vacant spot from about 6 left.

Caravans and MoHos cruising round to find those remaining. All grass only left.

To say it was controlled chaos is true but spoiled our first afternoon completely.

Three points. The entrance road is too narrow and putting white stakes alongside actually prevents a car and caravan to pass, adding to the stress. It also means if you want to leave the site to go locally you have to leave before new arrivals start turning up. That also means that you cannot get back on site without joining the incoming queue so you have to wait until around 5pm to return.

If you take a pitch and leave it empty you should be required, or at least be considerate enough, to leave a pitch marker.

If the years old system of picking your pitch from the office plan was brought back there would be no need to go back to the office to report your choice or wait in a second queue which neatly doubled the risk of C19 transmission.

The club need to address all of these issues as a matter of urgency. I trust that they are, as this is not a rant. It is however entirely accurate as to timings etc. I was told by one of the poor wardens on traffic duty that it has been like this every day since 4 July but it is usually like this at most weekends anyway.

PS. I take my hat off to the wardens who were without exception polite and welcoming. The guy on the gate had not had a break for 8 hours. This problem falls neatly at the feet of the club managers in my opinion.

Phone signal is zero on EE etc. Club WiFi seemed much improved. Site was looking superb and well cared for.

To be fair, it's only just reopened after lockdown but it is a concern and I would suggest contacting the site before setting off to check for the likelihood of similar delays, at least for this summer's visits. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 27 reviews from this member

 Well 1st time out with the CMC Derbyshire Section.

Members where welcoming and friendly.

Site was fantastic, great bike riding and play area for my granddaughter. Fantastic dog walking in Clumber Park, which you would expect.

Being January a lot of the facilities in the main park where closed.

No phone signal on site either, which in my case was a blessing.

Close to the Market town of Worksop, with plenty shops and nice street market.

Site again was a credit for the Wardens. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fatboy34 4 reviews from this member

 The greeting was great, as expected, the assistant stewards were polite and helpful,

The site and woods are a great break.

No telephone signal, internet from the caravan club,

Toilet blocks old and a little tired,

The head steward is a throw back to the seventys. The rule book is eaten for breakfast and quoted all day, hopefully not the new way forward!

Other than him, great night away 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chappies43 33 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely stay at Clumber for the Easter holidays after changing our plans last minute due to the heavy snowfall the week before. We have been caravanning for over 10 years and live about an hour away from Clumber but this was our first visit and it certainly won't be our last.

It's a fabulous site for campers with dogs and our 14 month old cocker spaniel was in doggy-heaven with the miles and miles of woodland to explore. It was disappointing to see how many irresponsible dog owners did not pick up after their 4-legged friends in the woods though.

You can truly get away from it all at Clumber Park as there is no mobile phone signal or internet on site but you can pay for CC wi-fi which will then allow whatsapp/facebook calling if necessary. It claims to be 'Gold Standard' but we found it rather hit and miss considering it is quite expensive - kept the son happy though as it meant he could still keep in touch with his friends. You can pick up a mobile signal walking along the main road running through the park if you really need to keep in touch via mobile.

We spent much of our 5 night visit walking in the vast Clumber Park but we did venture out to Sherwood Pines where our son and his Dad had a go at segway which they thought was wonderful. It was quite expensive but we used a CC Great days out voucher to reduce the cost a little (easy online booking).

The visiting fish & chip van was worth using, as was the pizza van but be warned, the pizzas ran out on their first visit so don't leave it until the last minute if you want to guarantee some supper. We managed to get some on their 2nd visit and they were good but quite expensive.

All in all, a gem of a site and we will be back - already checking for weekend cancellations throughout the summer as it's booked up. Well done CC for a great site! 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Georg Johannes 28 reviews from this member

 First stay here. Not a happy camper. Won't be returning.

1. Found a truly disgusting half-eaten butcher's dog bone and other litter on my pitch on arrival.

2. Could not park where I should have done, for fire safety reasons, and also make my very long TV aerial cable extension reach the van. Had to choose one or the other. Very unsettling because I knew I was too close to the neighbouring van. I did return to the office the following morning to discuss a possible pitch move but it was closed between 10 am and 12 noon for toilet block cleaning. I would have thought that this was the time when most visitors would need to call into the office before they go out for the day.

The site needs to advise of the length of TV aerial cable extension required before you arrive. Had I known I could have bought an even longer one.

3. Whilst I realize woodland has to be managed, especially in the autumn, I was very much disturbed by the almost constant noise of chainsaws during the day, which, on one day seemed to be right behind my van. I think this could have been foreseen and I could have been placed elsewhere.

4. Although I was given the choice of a few pitches I was also told, on arrival, that many people had not yet left when they should have done. It was 12. 30 pm and leavers should have departed by 12 noon. Clearly, this cut down the number of pitches available to me, even though I had arrived after the earliest time allowed.

5. Finally, but most importantly, it is of the utmost importance to me to feel valued as a customer by the site staff. I was treated on two occasions, by the same woman, as if I was a naughty school-child. Not impressed. There really was no need for that. There are ways of speaking politely to customers and this wasn't one of them.

I will be making a formal complaint to the CAMC. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Exit A1 for Worksop and at roundabout at end of slip road take first left onto A614 in the direction of Ollerton. In about half a mile watch out for signs to Clumber Park and CMC sign to the right and proceed through stone arch. Continue for about a mile and a half to cross roads and turn right and immediately left for campsite.

Clumber Park CMC site is, as the name implies, situated in the midst of the beautiful Clumber Park which is run by the National Trust. There are 178 pitches on a mix of grass or hardstandings, all can accept awnings. The site is quite wooded but there are pitches which have a more open situation. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors, twist action required to lock them into bollard socket. The bollards also have a co-ax TV connector as the terrestrial signal is poor. These are free to use but you must provide your own cable. There are two toilet blocks of the usual Club standard. Fresh and waste water service points are dotted around the site. The motorhome service point is alongside one of the toilet blocks and is yet to be converted to the new standard so still requires heavy drain covers to be lifted and the drains are not very well positioned to allow alignment to allow you to position the motorhome. A new innovation on this site is a bike and dog wash. For children there is an adventure style playground and next door a small ball game area. WiFi on site is currently pretty poor and the Club are in the process of upgrading this to a more acceptable standard. Mobile signal in the immediate vicinity of the campsite seems non- existent. So perhaps not the site for internet loving teens! The location of this site seems to make it vulnerable to on site theft, particularly of bicycles and to counteract this, the Club has a secure bicycle storage unit with is accessible from 8. 00am to 10. 00pm when the storage is locked down for the night. Reception sells a few essentials and newspapers can be ordered. Across from Reception is an information cabin with details of local attractions. During our short stay we noticed two off site takeaway food options, one a fish and chip van on a Friday night and a Pizza van on the Saturday.

Out and about I suspect Clumber Park is probably the main visitor attraction with lots of opportunities for walks and cycle rides. If you take a car offsite into the park you will have to pay a per person fee. However this does not apply to Nation Trust members or walkers or cyclists. There is a visitor centre and café near to where the old Mansion stood. Bike hire is also available. Worksop is the nearest town with major supermarkets. Further away but certainly within easy day travelling distance are Newark on Trent and Lincoln. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hotbeat52 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our very first outing in a caravan, going to Clumber Park. I cannot speak too highly of our reception and back up from the staff. Offers of advice and help from Andy were soon acted upon, travelled with security lock on, reversing caravan compressed alco and made unhitching impossible. Andy arrived and sorted us out in two minutes, a common problem for complete novices, which we certainly were.

So much to learn in such a short space of time, awning erected without argument which was a bonus. We needed the help of a fellow caravanner who let us borrow a lump hammer and steel pins, without them, awning would not have gone up, lovely couple from Lancashire.

As well as the practicalities of our first trip, it is obvious from a negative comment on here that there are certain 'conventions ' unwritten rules to learn, I. E. Sticking to paths and not walking over the grass or pitches.

I have learned from trip advisor that some people will find fault in a locked room, this is a fabulous site, which has needed a terrific amount of overwinter work from the team, clearing leaves and twigs. As a professional gardener I know how never ending this job is, every time the job is finished, the wind puts you back to square one. Well done team😄

The constant support and friendly staff really helped us to survive our first outing.

What a fabulous area with walks galore, seeing buzzards circling overhead and hearing large numbers of owls at night made a return visit as a wildlife photographer a must. Watching the great crested grebes in early courtship display, wonderful.

This place is a jewel of peace and tranquillity.

See you soon ! 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nick56 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely camp site right in the middle of Clumber Park, the facilities are as you would expect from a Caravan Club Site, very good. The site was full when we arrived but only one ablution block open, why!? Sign stating closed for the Winter, clearly winter is over and the members are coming out to use the nice weather. Get the ablutions open. Wifi not functioning as it should, the staff have had all winter to sort out maintenance, it appears the staff are just stating to work. 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Worksop      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement