Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennine View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Pennine View Caravan Park Reviews

Pennine View Caravan Park
Station Road
(lake District)
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4SZ
Tel: 01768 371717
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 50 reviews from this member

 One night stay in our van returning from Scotland. Online booking system is excellent and allowed to book a single night on a Saturday which is really helpful.

Young woman on reception was relatively new to the job but really helpful and friendly. Pitch was spacious and positioned near the river at the far end of the site. We couldn't find the EHU for our pitch and I couldn't tell which of the 7 or 8 vans in the row had connected incorrectly. The young woman again was very helpful and sorted it.

Engine Shed pub on site is very pleasant. Still had table service when we were there. Inside and outside seating available. I wouldn't particularly want to pitch up adjacent to the pub so worth checking when you book.

Facilities very clean but one gripe: no shower curtains! This might be a Covid measure but we've had shower curtains elsewhere. This meant that you either had to leave your gear outside the shower cubicle or get it wet! 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ericaleicester 6 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site. Facilities clean, pitch good, friendly staff and Engine Shed, beer garden and food van lovely.

Really enjoyed watching England final on big screen put up for occasion.

Surrounding area gorgeous. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Freshair1 9 reviews from this member

 Perfect for my C2C walk. Facilities clean and site quiet even though quite busy.

Not far into town for pubs or food.

Didn't meet anyone but information for where to pitch was left in a marked envelope so this was no problem. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 50 reviews from this member

 Stayed two separate nights in two different camping pods. Good location within walking distance of the centre of Kirkby Stephen. Efficient and straightforward online booking system.

Friendly welcome at the reception on arrival. Key and details had been left in envelope to minimize contact.

Both pods were clean and well maintained. One pod was brand new. £40 per night. Pods equipped with kettle, fridge and a few utensils. Heated. Plastic mattresses which were comfy. Very handy for the facilities which were clean and well maintained. Showers included in the price.

I could park my motorcycle directly outside the pod.

Very nice pub on site (closed Weds). Food trailer on site most nights - pizza, flat breads etc depending on the night.

Rest of the site looked good. Well organised and well maintained. Will be back at some point in my campervan. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Chris3 2 reviews from this member

 A great site. On arrival I was given a pitch right next to the 'pub', which (with Covid restrictions) was only serving outside, so was a bit noisy for me! So I asked if I could move elsewhere and, after a phonecall to a colleague, a very quiet spot was found for me although the site was officially full for the weekend.

The site is near to roads so there was a little traffic noise but not sufficient to worry me. I can't comment on the showers etc because of Covid regs, but the toilets were open and seemed adequate and clean.

There are loads of great footpaths around; one day I walked 8 miles in lovely countryside but was never far from town (or the site) in case of a change of weather. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Miss P 4 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Toilets and showers were spotless. Site was clean, tidy and well presented. Pitches are flat and spacious.

There is now a bar on site and a van that serves pizzas and loaded flatbreads on certain days.

The ladies that run the site were lovely, great customer service.

Walk into Kirkby Stephen is about 15 minutes there are some lovely shops, places to eat, takeaways and dog friendly pubs.

Nice circular walk along the old viaduct.

Can't wait to visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martgr 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at pennine view it was a good base to enjoy the surrounding area and village's.

The camp itself was very clean and tidy and extra precautions were in place due to the corona virus.

The facilities for a drink and eating were adequate

But on the whole we would recommend the site and would use the site when visiting the area again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deesha 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Very well kept.

Great bar ‘The Engine Shed’ unfortunately only open Thursday to Sunday but it was nice the one night we were able to use it.

15 minute walk to Kirkby Stephen and about 30 minute walk to Nateby in the other direction. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: GWTE 5 reviews from this member

 The site is on the left as you exit Kirkby Stephen travelling south or on the right as you enter travelling north. The site is on an old railway yard.

On entry to the site you are given an envelope containing information and a fob for the barrier, which is needed for re-entry. Payment is made by bank transfer before you arrive at the site. There is hand sanitizer outside the reception.

The caravan pitches, most of which are on hard standings, are large and flat.

There are at least two fresh water points on the site.

There were no restrictions on the use of the toilet/shower facilities although there were reminders to keep socially distant. They are closed for a deep clean from 12. 30 to 14. 30 and regularly cleaned throughout the day. Handsanitiser is readily available outside of the toilets and CDP.

The free wifi was good, although it did drop out for short periods and the mobile phone signal was good. TV reception is not always good but I did mange to find enough stations to watch if need be.

The children’s play park was open and well used.

There is a bar, which is open from Thursday to Sunday in high season with seats well spaced as well as outdoor seating. They sell very good pizza, which needs to preordered, twice a week and loaded flat breads once a week.

There are some lovely walks from the site and I particularly enjoyed the one entitled ‘The three viaducts. ’ 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andym1 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite. Very well managed. Very clean.

Claer Covid guidelines in place.

No negative comments from us at all but two people were unhappy with radio at well past midnight in toilet blocks.

This did not affect us but radio was still on at 02:15 when I visited toilet block.

There were plenty of hand scrubs and gels on site. 
via mobile


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pennine View Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennine View Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pennine View Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2970 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement