Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennine View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Pennine View Caravan Park > Reviews

Pennine View Caravan Park
Station Road
(lake District)
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4SZ
Tel: 01768 371717
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oisin 8 reviews from this member

 Firstly the site is perfectly just situated off the A road, so some traffic noise but limited, within 5-10 minutes walk of the the village and in the other direction a gentle walk over viaducts, turbulent flow of the river and woodland red squirrel haunts.

Secondly the site is well policed with barriers reception which doubles as a small provisions shop was manned by friendly and informative staff.

The hard standing pitches are large and well maintained- as is the site overall.

Shower and toilet block were clean showers were hot and and didn't operate on the push button system that interrupts the flow of water, as on other sites. The washing up area was to the side of the block and had a boot, and muddy dog washing area also- very handy.

The engine shed is a spacious area set with long tables and sheepskin lined benches, for the sociable, and knots of armchairs gathered round tables creating small personal spaces for those wishing a more intimate atmosphere.

The bar well stocked with gins and other spirits had several lagers to choose from and keg and cask ales.

An added bonus was the pizzeria which within minutes a tasty fresh pizza could be yours, along with other items for a nominal amount.

It rained, of course it did, it's September by the Pennines, but it didn't spoil our trip one iota. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Catthedoglover 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived after reception closed but full instructions showing our pitch were left outside in a box. So we didnít see any staff at all so I canít comment on their friendliness etc.

Toilet block was clean and there was a sign explaining they are planning some improvements over the winter which seem to be very eco friendly.

Best thing was the shower wasnít one of those push button ones that keep stopping but Iím sure that means we all use much more water than we need to and will likely change. Nice site. Child friendly with a playground, but quiet.

The Engine Shed was great - fabulous beer on tap and at a reasonable price. It has a lovely feel. When we went to order pizza though they had ran out of everything except chips so get your order in very early.

The staff recommended a pub nearby in Nateby for alternative food and we scuttled off there, and indeed the food was good!

Thereís wifi, but a poor tv signal so download something onto an iPad or similar if you want to look at a screen for your entertainment.

You can access the river from the site, leading to lovely walks towards Kirkby Stephen centre which is almost a mile away (more if you take the nice footpaths by the river) which is nice with a good selection of pubs and takeaways, a pharmacy, small supermarket, etc.

All in all will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brian robson 1 review from this member

 Real nice place

Very well kept

Good services

Great location with plenty of attractions nearby.

Would definitely re-visit as really enjoyed our visit,

Even the kids enjoyed it and no rain 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobbowling 5 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site, clean, well maintained and all done to a good standard.

Lots to do nearby.

Small shop in reception and fresh eggs available at the gate.

We'll be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Danny 52 5 reviews from this member

 Brought our two grandkids with us. They loved it, swimming in the river, playing in the play area with other children they meant there.

Showers a bit dated but told they were getting updated.

Fire pits allowed, kids loved the marshmallows and toast.

Town 10 mins away. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carol Tyler 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a beautiful setting.

Clean, family friendly and great that it has its own bar /dining shed.

Staff are welcoming and helpful.

Beautiful walks around the site. Not too far into town.

We have already booked to visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Kimber 1 review from this member

 Campsite was clean and tidy, lovely walk just through a gate by some waterfalls. Nice playwark for children,

The Engine Shed bar/eatery serves different foo each evening and not at bumped up prices you normally see on campsites. Really nice atmosphere in here.

Showers not the nicest I've ever seen but nothing wrong with them. Hairdryer takes 20p's but if you bing your own the plug sockets are available to use free of charge 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 66 reviews from this member

 Amazed we got in at last minute at this time of year, booked Thursday to arrive Friday and staff were most helpful when I was having tech problems during the booking. On arrival we were quickly and efficiently shown which pitch we had been allocated. Price for pitch was very competitive for season and lower than 'club' prices.

The pitches were spacious and in the main level and there was a full mix of caravans, campers, motorhomes and tents. The ambience was nice although we did feel there was a bit of a clique atmosphere and some patrons didn't even pass the time of day or even make eye contact.

The site itself is very family friendly but we found children riding bikes at some speed around the site unsupervised amid drivers who we thought were driving too quickly around the site a bit disconcerting and an accident waiting to happen.

The Engine Shed, food and drink venue on site is a great asset and reasonably priced.

Both Men's and Ladies facilities were clean, adequate and mirrored in style. 2 showers, a row of sink cubicles and toilet cubicles around the outer of the building and a massive empty square of nothingness in the middle. This space could easily accommodate 6 individual, fully accessible wet rooms, maybe more and could be designed easily by some one with vision and a bit of money.

Out and about, lovely walks with some stunning views. A short walk from site is the market town centre with usual mix of independent and national shops, pubs and cafes. We had a lovely brunch at The Mulberry Bush cafe and would recommend it.

Would we return to Pennine View?? I'm not sure. It doesn't fit our usual peace and quiet getaway although we did choose the 1st weekend of the school holidays to try it. Maybe term time, it would be more sedate. I wouldn't not recommend it though as it does have a lot to offer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kismet dal 5 reviews from this member

 Love this site, pub is amazing, walk from the site are fabulous and the facilities are clean and as an extra little touch they play the radio straight into the toilet block!

Will definitely be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jamesb 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place,

Nice play area for kids

Facilities were good and clean and the on-site bar was really great, plenty of people and a good atmosphere,

Itís a 4 star + in our book and will defo be visiting again. 
via mobile


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pennine View Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennine View Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pennine View Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement