Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site
Slingsby
Malton
Helmsley
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 4AP
Tel: 01653 628391
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wilsonfamilyholland 5 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. The pitches were huge. The wardens were friendly. The facilities were very clean and wonderfully warm in the cold weather. The showers were just what we love. Lots of warm warm/ hot water.

There was absolutely nothing you could complain about on this beautifully kept campsite.

We came back for one night on our journey back home. That says everything. We certainly will use it again in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie58 9 reviews from this member

 Very nice holiday. Wardens are very friendly and helpful. Hedges are overgrown which prevent# use of satellite dishes. Shame to have no sun due to a 20 foot hedge. Also beautiful sunsets missed due to hedge height.

Agree comments about facilities being a long walk. Particularly from the tent field. Could possibly shorten the walk slightly with steps from the higher level to the toilet block. But really a block by the tent field is required.

If visiting donít use the satnav. It will take you to the back entrance. Also donít be misled by the brown sign on the crossroads into the village.

Donít go into the village, but turn right. Also be aware that you are asked to leave your vehicle and walk to reception.

Donít forget your mobile phone as when you get to reception the opening times are very limited so youíll be greeted with a sign with a mobile phone number.

If you donít know this youíll have to walk back to your vehicle, fetch your phone and walk back to reception.

After taking the badly signposted wrong turn, finding the right route, leaving vehicle with no phone, returning to vehicle to collect phone. , ringing the mobile number, I got the answer phone!

Eventually someone appeared but itís not possible to get a second chance to make a first impression so I would suggest more thought is put into greeting arrivals. Cleanliness is patchy. Elsan point never cleaned.

Health hazard to leave this so unkempt. Laundry block not cleaned. But toilets and showers well maintained.

We had a good holiday but a few improvements would have made it a wonderful holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andy c71 1 review from this member

 Nice clean & friendly site. Small issue with toilet & shower block itís a bit of a walk from camping field, if raining you get shower on way there & back.

Located in same field as statics which seems a bit crazy as statics donít need toilets and shower block they have there own.

Other than nice site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Loopylas1986 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely time here for 2 nights in May with our 2 young children Aged 3 and 5. The kids had so much fun running around and on the park.

We also took part in the treasure hunt that goes around the site and also into the local village.

That was lots of fun and the kids loved getting to open the treasure chest at the end and picking a piece of treasure!

The only downside to this site for us was the distance away to the toilets from the tents.

Having a 3 year old and 5 year old who leave it till the last minute to tell us they need the loo meant we had a few near miss accidents would defo take a potty or travel toilet with us next time for them to use! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Windowman 5 reviews from this member

 Disappointed, we arrived on Monday same dirt and grass on floor in w/c showers for 3or4 days, men's and women's toilets not cleaned, no hooks in showers to hang your clothes. Outside toilet block large bins overflowing with rubbish. Very difficult to get to down steep hill to the shower block if not good on your feet.

Dont try and drive to reception towing your caravan you will have great difficulty getting back and there are NO SIGNS to warn you!

Had a problem connecting to water supply - guy at reception suggested we go to Morrison's for a part. Its 5 miles away !not really helpful.

Nobody available when we arrived and never met owners except for wife booking in, not welcoming at all. We didn't get any contact with staff or owners - very poor customer service.

Shame because pitch was great, level and lots of space - really quiet. A fabulous location for touring in the area.

No we wont be going back to this site. Definitely return to this area. We plan to look for a Caravan Club site, in this locality - because the price charged is very similar for a dramatically better service. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ernie1 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean well cared for site. Room for children to play and nice playground that is separate from pitches, but close enough for safety.

Toilets a bit of a walk from camping pitch, If had some and pot washing nearer would be perfect site.

Close to lots of fab attractions in Yorkshire. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MRSCAMPING 4 reviews from this member

 The campsite was badly organised - having to drive all the way through to get to Reception - then all the way back to the tent field. The children's play area was masked by hedges and you had to cross the entrance road to get to it - making it dangerous to let little ones play freely. The toilets were a very long way from the tent field and even when using the badly positioned un-lit path (which had 2 huge difficult to open/close gates) you ended up on the campsite road with no footpath - totally unsuitable for children. It was a good 5+ minute walk from the tent field to the toilet block. Why put the un-slightly overflowing bins right outside the toilet doors?! Bins in camping field were also so full we couldn't get anything in them. The lovely views of the Howardian hills were obscured by 15 foot hedges around the whole site. Would not recommend or re-visit (despite being handy for Castle Howard). 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adms007 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in two units, with electric hook up, with three families of first time campers. Tent pitches were large and spacious, not overcrowded at all, plenty of room for the kids to play and a great park too. The site was well maintained, lovely clean facilities, but a bit of a walk from the camping field. Could do with another block nearer the main tent area. Great area for loads of outings, all in all a great holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richardtur 3 reviews from this member

 We spent a week at Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site in August 2015 with our 3 children, using it as a base to visit the North York Moors and the coastline. The children loved it and made lots of friends. The camping area is large, with plenty of space to play games. Each pitch is large. There is a good set of equipment for the children to play on. The campsite is well looked after - trees all around giving a bit of privacy and neatly cut grass, comfy under foot so you could play games without shoes on. The facilities were great - clean, and sufficient in number so that there was never a queue to use the toilet. Showers were hot and free. We went for the electric hookup option. What was great was that each pitch with electric hookup had its own tap and light which came on when it got dark. The staff were friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: William-moe 11 reviews from this member

 We tend to try not to stay in the same place more than once however we have stayed here several times. I can't exactly put my finger on what makes it so lovely, but everytime we stay here we absolutely love it, no matter the weather. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and it seems to be one of those sites that attract nice people with whom you can have a chat with. The site is always clean and tidy and although we stayed over Easter I never found the toilets/showers to be busy. The area is also stunning, Castle Howard is minutes away and worth a visit and there are some lovely villages nearby.

No doubt we will be back again. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement