Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site
Slingsby
Malton
Helmsley
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 4AP
Tel: 01653 628391
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Loopylas1986 1 review from this member

We had a lovely time here for 2 nights in May with our 2 young children Aged 3 and 5. The kids had so much fun running around and on the park. We also took part in the treasure hunt that goes around the site and also into the local village. That was lots of fun and the kids loved getting to open the treasure chest at the end and picking a piece of treasure!

The only downside to this site for us was the distance away to the toilets from the tents. Having a 3 year old and 5 year old who leave it till the last minute to tell us they need the loo meant we had a few near miss accidents would deffo take a pooty or travel toilet with us next time for them to use!
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Windowman 5 reviews from this member

Disappointed, we arrived on Monday same dirt and grass on floor in w/c showers for 3or4 days, men's and women's toilets not cleaned, no hooks in showers to hang your clothes. Outside toilet block large bins overflowing with rubbish. Very difficult to get to down steep hill to the shower block if not good on your feet.

Dont try and drive to reception towing your caravan you will have great difficulty getting back and there are NO SIGNS to warn you!

Had a problem connecting to water supply - guy at reception suggested we go to Morrison's for a part. Its 5 miles away !not really helpful.

Nobody available when we arrived and never met owners except for wife booking in, not welcoming at all. We didn't get any contact with staff or owners - very poor customer service.

Shame because pitch was great, level and lots of space - really quiet. A fabulous location for touring in the area.

No we wont be going back to this site. Definitely return to this area. We plan to look for a Caravan Club site, in this locality - because the price charged is very similar for a dramatically better service.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ernie1 6 reviews from this member

Lovely clean well cared for site. Room for children to play and nice playground that is separate from pitches, but close enough for safety. Toilets a bit of a walk from camping pitch, If had some and pot washing nearer would be perfect site. Close to lots of fab attractions in Yorkshire.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MRSCAMPING 2 reviews from this member

The campsite was badly organised - having to drive all the way through to get to Reception - then all the way back to the tent field. The children's play area was masked by hedges and you had to cross the entrance road to get to it - making it dangerous to let little ones play freely. The toilets were a very long way from the tent field and even when using the badly positioned un-lit path (which had 2 huge difficult to open/close gates) you ended up on the campsite road with no footpath - totally unsuitable for children. It was a good 5+ minute walk from the tent field to the toilet block. Why put the un-slightly overflowing bins right outside the toilet doors?! Bins in camping field were also so full we couldn't get anything in them. The lovely views of the Howardian hills were obscured by 15 foot hedges around the whole site. Would not recommend or re-visit (despite being handy for Castle Howard).

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adms007 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here in two units, with electric hook up, with three families of first time campers. Tent pitches were large and spacious, not overcrowded at all, plenty of room for the kids to play and a great park too. The site was well maintained, lovely clean facilities, but a bit of a walk from the camping field. Could do with another block nearer the main tent area. Great area for loads of outings, all in all a great holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardtur 3 reviews from this member

We spent a week at Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Site in August 2015 with our 3 children, using it as a base to visit the North York Moors and the coastline. The children loved it and made lots of friends. The camping area is large, with plenty of space to play games. Each pitch is large. There is a good set of equipment for the children to play on. The campsite is well looked after - trees all around giving a bit of privacy and neatly cut grass, comfy under foot so you could play games without shoes on. The facilities were great - clean, and sufficient in number so that there was never a queue to use the toilet. Showers were hot and free. We went for the electric hookup option. What was great was that each pitch with electric hookup had its own tap and light which came on when it got dark. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: William-moe 11 reviews from this member

We tend to try not to stay in the same place more than once however we have stayed here several times. I can't exactly put my finger on what makes it so lovely, but everytime we stay here we absolutely love it, no matter the weather. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and it seems to be one of those sites that attract nice people with whom you can have a chat with. The site is always clean and tidy and although we stayed over Easter I never found the toilets/showers to be busy. The area is also stunning, Castle Howard is minutes away and worth a visit and there are some lovely villages nearby.

No doubt we will be back again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: C jensen 2 reviews from this member

Hi campers we went here back in April 2 adults 2 kids age 12 and 7 for a 3 night stay we had booked a hard standing pitch but on arrival noticed that the grass pitches were closer to the park so I asked if we could move and the owner was more then happy to move us. The park was a huge hit with both kids and with us too as we could see them from our caravan and know they were safe and happy. We had a great time the pitches were huge had loads of room with your own water drainage and electric points with a bin at the end of each row. The site is in a great location and some nice places to eat within a 15 min drive (recommend Hookleberrys American diner and thompsons fish and chip restaurant). We used the sites facilities toilets/showers every day didn't queue they were clean and showers were hot A nice touch free shower gel and shampoo. Didnt use pot wash did ours in the caravan did use chemical toilet waste it was clean did the job needed. Little well stocked shop kites bubbles balls milk bread ect take note of opening times. Will be back thanks for the break THE JENSEN FAMILY. Xxx

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redlobster182 3 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have been to this sit and all that I can say is we find it for us 100% spot on. There is a couple of minutes walk to toilet but the site owner is trying to get permission to make extra shower toilet block. (we hope ya successful ).

Cant wait to visit again.

And if you read this its from the guy who wanted one of your benches hahaha.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

We recently spent a long weekend with friends at this site and enjoyed our stay.

The camp site is is a tiered site with the top field being on a slight slope, we pitched our tent on the middle field which was flat in an ample sized allocated area.

The site has a play ground for the kids and is safe for them to ride around in. The EHU was ok but due to someone not using it correctly (as we were later informed) it did go off and on during our stay a little too often.

The slight negatives are that the site could do with an additional toilet/ shower block at the top of the field as it is a long walk to them and ideally a little more space for the kids to play ball games for example in the field we camped in by not having three pitches in the middle it would have given a brilliant and safe place to play in.

One final point is our Sat Nav took us to the rear of the camp site and not the entrance which is not clearly marked as the site.

Overall a really nice site and one we would return to.

Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3224 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019