Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Strathcarron > Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant Reviews

Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant
Applecross
Strathcarron
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV54 8ND
Tel: 01520 744268
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 87 Reviews
                7/10 from 87 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Karenturner 8 reviews from this member

 It was lovely to be back here. I was concerned about the reviews mentioning how busy the site was. I was pleasantly surprised that in spite of the NC500 there was still space to spread out. I didn't find too much traffic Noise.

The toilet block in first field is in need of upgrading, as many people say, but the second field facilities are excellent.

Staff, lovely and helpful. Plenty of deer around.

If you are planning to go here, be aware that most people seemed to stop for one night whilst doing NC500.

Applecross Inn excellent and some other outdoor eating options are available but take something just in case. Try the bacon rolls from the stall opposite the inn. ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidg 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic time on the NC500 and Applecross was our last stop. Campsite was clean enough and check in was straight forward.

Location is good with only a short walk to the Main Street. Didnít use the shower block so canít comment.

Would happily return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rgenoc 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Friendly staff. Newly renovated and looking good. New toilet block in second field.

Had wifi outside reception. Also says wifi in campsite.

Doesn't connect which doesn't help if you need to make a call as there very limited if any mobile coverage in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisajk 17 reviews from this member

 Site is the only campsite in Applecross so you are a bit stuck for choice. It is a nice location, and the staff were friendly, but other than that it's not good VFM.

Confusing situation with the two toilet blocks, for some of the time neither appeared to be open. They were clean but that's all that could be said. Third campsite on this trip and yet again showers in both blocks were pathetic - barely warm. Not good enough! 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Claire 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with clean, easy accessible facilities.

The campsite is only a few minutes walk to the village and near by amenities with a lovely view over the bay.

The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay and during the booking process.

Lovely peaceful atmosphere in a very relaxed, welcoming campsite.

We will be back soon! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Smartecosse 14 reviews from this member

 So.

Let me first say that the scenery in the area is simply astounding. We've been past a few times on the way north but this is the first time we've ever gone across to Applecross itself and it's well worth the effort.

However. The campsite itself leaves a lot to be desired. Vastly overpriced for what is basically a grass car park.

Being in the NC500 you have bikes and vans coming in at all hours and leaving from 5ish onwards.

You get to hear the sound of drunken laughter and sliding slamming vans doors for most of the night rather than enjoying the peaceful countryside.

Toilet facilities. Completely inadequate for the number of guests. They have built a wonderful new toilet block. No hooks to hang anything on when you are showing but they are very nice. However. They have put each shower and toilet together which means if the five or six toilet/shower rooms are busy with people showering you may have quite a wait to use the toilets. There was a queue most mornings and evenings.

The original toilet block behind the reception is one of the dirtiest I've ever seen on a campsite. Two showers in the gents and two in the ladies. Being old and tired is fine if they are kept clean. Whoever "cleans" them obviously has no idea what bleach and a scrubbing brush are. Mopping the floor a couple of times a day is not enough.

All the showers had black and green mold in plentiful supply on the grout between the tiling. I can understand broken and missing tiles but there is no excuse for dirt. Especially at the prices that they charge.

Can't understand people giving this campsite good ratings. Noisy with cars / vans / bikes so little space between the hardstandings if you are in a tourer you can't park next to the van but on the other side of the hardcore road through the site.

When we go back to the area we will either drive into it from elsewhere or will simply wild camp the same as a great many others do. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Situated in the stunning Applecross village with great, friendly pub with a big menu and scrumptious seafood. Also a cafe, gift shop and various craft shops. Site has 10 hardstandings which are essential if you have anything bigger than a VW size van as the ground gets really boggy.

Mostly level, 8, 9 & 10 benefit from ramps. Reception closed 1 - 3pm but has a small shop. Facilities, including laundry, are basic and tired but clean. Camping pods also available.

There are plans to develop the site further with more hardstandings and new facilities (the existing facilities will revert back to the estate). There were stags roaming around the farm buildings, largely oblivious of the people taking photos.

The drive to/from over Bealach na Ba is 'interesting' - in a pretty poor state, 'usually impassable in winter' and I would guess pretty busy in the height of summer. We opted for an early morning departure to miss traffic.

At £29. 50 for 2 adults I thought a little expensive but the only option in Applecross. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Red_leader 9 reviews from this member

 Great camp site. I will be going back some time I hope.

Walking distance of very good pub and restaurant.

The sea is just as close.

Credit card petrol station in village.

Shop 2 miles along the coast

Facilities good and the staff friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

 Spent a night here in early July and was a bit nervous about coming due to quite a few negative reviews. And I was lucky due the fantastic weather we'd all been having at the time - so no mud.

The lady at reception was polite and businesslike rather than friendly but that was fine. The facilities are a little basic as previous reviews will testify but they were adequate - this is camping remember. I think we've all been spoilt by CC club standards and we've forgotten what camping used to be like. The facts are that I got to use the loo and the showers when I needed to - there are actually a couple of shower suites in the laundry room which a sink and toilet too.

It's a 5 minute walk down to the waterfront where you have the pub and a bistro - I agree with the reviews below - the seafood in the pub was fantastic.

The other reason you have to come here is that it is along some of the best driving coastline you will ever see.

So, if you don't mind wiping your feet on the grass after you leave the shower then you have to give this place a try 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

 A lovely site very quiet and easy walking access to the village of Applecross. The pub is excellent and serves some of the best seafood I have eaten in a pub restaurant.

The views from the pub over the loch are stunning and well worth a visit. The shop is in the next village, about a twenty minute walk and don't expect morning papers to be there in the morning. The facilities in the campsite are small but more than useable.

I will definitely be going back. 


Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Strathcarron      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3406 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement