Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Strathcarron > Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant Reviews

Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant
Applecross
Strathcarron
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV54 8ND
Tel: 01520 744268
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Smartecosse 14 reviews from this member

 So.

Let me first say that the scenery in the area is simply astounding. We've been past a few times on the way north but this is the first time we've ever gone across to Applecross itself and it's well worth the effort.

However. The campsite itself leaves a lot to be desired. Vastly overpriced for what is basically a grass car park.

Being in the NC500 you have bikes and vans coming in at all hours and leaving from 5ish onwards.

You get to hear the sound of drunken laughter and sliding slamming vans doors for most of the night rather than enjoying the peaceful countryside.

Toilet facilities. Completely inadequate for the number of guests. They have built a wonderful new toilet block. No hooks to hang anything on when you are showing but they are very nice. However. They have put each shower and toilet together which means if the five or six toilet/shower rooms are busy with people showering you may have quite a wait to use the toilets. There was a queue most mornings and evenings.

The original toilet block behind the reception is one of the dirtiest I've ever seen on a campsite. Two showers in the gents and two in the ladies. Being old and tired is fine if they are kept clean. Whoever "cleans" them obviously has no idea what bleach and a scrubbing brush are. Mopping the floor a couple of times a day is not enough.

All the showers had black and green mold in plentiful supply on the grout between the tiling. I can understand broken and missing tiles but there is no excuse for dirt. Especially at the prices that they charge.

Can't understand people giving this campsite good ratings. Noisy with cars / vans / bikes so little space between the hardstandings if you are in a tourer you can't park next to the van but on the other side of the hardcore road through the site.

When we go back to the area we will either drive into it from elsewhere or will simply wild camp the same as a great many others do. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Situated in the stunning Applecross village with great, friendly pub with a big menu and scrumptious seafood. Also a cafe, gift shop and various craft shops. Site has 10 hardstandings which are essential if you have anything bigger than a VW size van as the ground gets really boggy.

Mostly level, 8, 9 & 10 benefit from ramps. Reception closed 1 - 3pm but has a small shop. Facilities, including laundry, are basic and tired but clean. Camping pods also available.

There are plans to develop the site further with more hardstandings and new facilities (the existing facilities will revert back to the estate). There were stags roaming around the farm buildings, largely oblivious of the people taking photos.

The drive to/from over Bealach na Ba is 'interesting' - in a pretty poor state, 'usually impassable in winter' and I would guess pretty busy in the height of summer. We opted for an early morning departure to miss traffic.

At £29. 50 for 2 adults I thought a little expensive but the only option in Applecross. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Red_leader 9 reviews from this member

 Great camp site. I will be going back some time I hope.

Walking distance of very good pub and restaurant.

The sea is just as close.

Credit card petrol station in village.

Shop 2 miles along the coast

Facilities good and the staff friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

 Spent a night here in early July and was a bit nervous about coming due to quite a few negative reviews. And I was lucky due the fantastic weather we'd all been having at the time - so no mud.

The lady at reception was polite and businesslike rather than friendly but that was fine. The facilities are a little basic as previous reviews will testify but they were adequate - this is camping remember. I think we've all been spoilt by CC club standards and we've forgotten what camping used to be like. The facts are that I got to use the loo and the showers when I needed to - there are actually a couple of shower suites in the laundry room which a sink and toilet too.

It's a 5 minute walk down to the waterfront where you have the pub and a bistro - I agree with the reviews below - the seafood in the pub was fantastic.

The other reason you have to come here is that it is along some of the best driving coastline you will ever see.

So, if you don't mind wiping your feet on the grass after you leave the shower then you have to give this place a try 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

 A lovely site very quiet and easy walking access to the village of Applecross. The pub is excellent and serves some of the best seafood I have eaten in a pub restaurant.

The views from the pub over the loch are stunning and well worth a visit. The shop is in the next village, about a twenty minute walk and don't expect morning papers to be there in the morning. The facilities in the campsite are small but more than useable.

I will definitely be going back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Colin and Soozy 2 reviews from this member

 The site benefits from a lovely location and good local services but has little to offer itself. The lady at reception was delightful and friendly, however everything else was a bit of a let down.

The fees are overpriced (presumably due to lack of competition) and the facilities are inadequate for a campsite of this size.

The gents had two showers, two toilet cubicles and two urinals and the ladies had four toilets and two showers. All were mouldy and had tiles missing. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

 We have visited Applecross before but never with a caravan or at this campsite. Some of the reviews are quite critical so I was a bit wary but, as others have said, it is the only game in town so we thought we'd risk it.

I actually liked the campsite. The location is fabulous and we found the staff helpful and friendly. When we arrived, we were expected and our hard standing had a reserved sign with our name on it. Some of the hard standings nearer reception (possibly older ones?) were of the block and grass type but ours appeared to be a sort of compacted rock type. We didn't try the awning so I'm not sure what pegging would have been like (definitely rock pegs required though).

The facilities on the site are a bit basic but they do work. The water taps were plentiful (one for every 2 hard standings) and recycling facilities were very good (they seemed to take everything!). The CDP was basic but functional. Grey water also went in here. I believe that there isn't any facility for motorhomes to drive over a grid to deposit water.

The shower block for ladies was old with 2 showers. It was busy in the mornings. The showers themselves are showing their age. My opinion is that they were kept as clean as possible given that they are old (missing tiles, dodgy sealant etc) which makes them harder to clean plus troops of campers walking mud and grass in all day doesn't help. However, the water was roasting hot and unlimited (although press button). The toilets were similarly basic but had a good strong flush so they were always left clean by other visitors.

I would urge visitors to stay longer than just one night. The Applecross Estate is a charitable body which promotes the region and has set up some fascinating, enjoyable walks. There is a series of 4 booklets (£1 each) which provide lots of interesting information and ideas for walks, things to see etc. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

 This site is well situated just up the hill from the lovely little village of Applecross, which I think is just famed for the magnificent (and sometimes scary) scenery on both roads that access the place, as apart from the pub & cafe there's nothing else there !

The site itself is pretty basic with a handful of hardstandings but plenty of grass pitches (which were very wet in March) and quite a few static mobile homes, some areas had a nice elevated view over the sea, the facilities block is somewhat primitive with no heating but was clean !

I think a little investment would make all the difference but as this is the only site to camp for miles in such a stunning place, the owners have no motivation to make improvements 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Captain Nemo 2 reviews from this member

 Campsite is idyllically situated and is a pure grass court with 9 hard standing places for mobilehomes.

Organization of the campsite simply catastrophic ! On the Internet homepage can be read that the office has opened until 7 PM, on arrival shortly before 6 PM the reception office was closed. Office is according to notice in the afternoon only from 3-5 PM occupied. The pre-booked (and paid) pitch was not found due to obviously wrong naming on the plate at the pitch.

Notes on the office door for late arrivals are rather useless since the warden is simply not contactable. I finally put myself on a pitch which was not occupied by chance or it was my pitch but with a wrong name.

Sanitary facilities are absolutely unreasonable, showers dirty and not maintained for at least days (drains blocked by hair). There is NO heating in the entire shower area, the fittings are dirty and rusty. Water pressure left much to be desired and the hot water was from the beginning only lukewarm! To demand 25 Pounds for a night with the mobile home here is simply outrageous!

Overall rating: Disgusting showers, lousy organisation and staff which is simply unvisible. This campsite is not recommended!

If the scores would allow a minus I would rate that ! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Custard15 18 reviews from this member

 You have to accept that as the only campsite in a deeply desirable location, this place will have no difficulty pulling campers in. Unless you want to wild camp, this is the place to stay before/after driving the Bealach na Ba and exploring this beautiful peninsular. Perhaps then this explains why this site lacks any of the special touches that others in this part of the world go out of their way to include in their sites.

Itís an area that gets a lot of rain fall, so hardstanding is attractive, especially in October, but this is a block and grass hardstanding Ö rather than gravel. So while your van wonít sink in, youíll be padding in mud. Get used to paddling in mud, Ďcos thatís what youíll do to get to the facility block Ö and in fact while youíre in the facility block. If it wasnít for the attraction of EHU, I would have been with a couple of VWs on the carpark. Still, the WiFi reach us and was reasonably stable for a while, then absent thereafter.

I donít want to sound unfair about the mud, but my sadness is over the lack of care and attention given to the toilets and showers. Thereís two showers for each gender, each with a small changing area with hooks. Thereís also plenty of hot water, but no mop for drying the floor (or removing mud that you canít around walking in. You can get a good shower if you take care where you put your clothes and have flip flops to wear, but the lashings of hot (unmetered) water canít take away from the feeling that youíre showering in a cow barn. The building is so full of cobwebs that I doubt itís been brushed through above floor height in the last couple of years, and the shower walls, grout and sealant were unclean.

A handy overnighter to give you the chance to dine at the Applecross Inn and linger longer on the peninsular, but this isnít any more than a convenient parking place. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Applecross Campsite And Flower Tunnel Restaurant dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Strathcarron      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5413 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement