Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gallows Hill Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Scargill Reeth > Gallows Hill Camp Site Reviews

Gallows Hill Camp Site
Ponder Gill
Scargill Reeth
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9SS
Tel: 07862 722 853
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sabrinaman 1 review from this member

 Excellent little site, basically just a field with grass which had been unused for some time when I visited so was very comfortable. The noise from the almost adjacent dual carriageway would have been a nuisance had I not taken ear plugs.

The attractive town of Barnard castle is 2 miles away, all down hill, with the excellent cycling and walking country of the north Pennines just beyond.

Mark, the host, was friendly, chatty, helpful and got me out of a tight spot with a cycle problem. The toilet and shower is rustic, in a lean-to by the adjacent farm house but at the time of my visit Mark was busy constructing a shower block in the camping field. Extremely reasonably priced too, I'll be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is still open. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GLH23 1 review from this member

 It was a really lovely place to camp. Random though as it a field which was full of sheep and the boys has to pick the poop up before we set up our tent.

Toilet has no light though so it was quite creepy peeing in the dark! Torchlight is a definite must have. Only place it was near was a dual carriage way and we did actually drive right past it, although it was good as it was remote and although next to the dual carriage way it was dead quite. Couldn't hear the cars going past.

Was a dead good atmosphere though and we were allowed to get as drunk and rowdy as we liked! All in all, a very nice place to be! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracy1977 3 reviews from this member

 This is a wilder site, ideal for us. The owner is really canny and only charges 2 a night. The good things about this site are that there are no silly curfews regarding noise and campfires are allowed. Ideal for the larger group.

It is right next to the A66, however the road did not bother us. The traffic was infrequent through the night, therefore surprisingly quiet. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M4rk3y 1 review from this member

 Gallows Hill was a lovely stay for 9 of us. The camp site offers one toilet and shower which was ample. We were the only people on the camp site.

The owner was spot on, he was very helpful with directions to barnard castle. Even offered us a discount price. He had also provided fire wood and even started one log smouldering before we arrived.

This site was perfect for our age group (18 - 27) as we had pretty much been refused from other places on account of our age and number of campers.

The site was very easy to find just off the A66, other reviews have mentioned the road noise. This was not an issue for any of us.

Over all we had a lovely weekend camping in a nice country environment and we were not over looked by other campers.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dedexxxx 1 review from this member

 We have been camping now for approx 8 years and are a mixed adult group aged 16-48.

We have found it so difficult to find sites that will take large adult groups (3 tents 17 people)

This campsite was absolutely perfect for us.

Mark the owner is a lovely man and couldn't of been more helpful.

Site is basic. Lovely big field surrounded by country side (main road does run along side but noise wasn't a problem)

Only one toilet and shower. But 17 people there and it served its purpose.

Camping to us is relaxation. Bbq's and having a drink in a nice peaceful area and this site had it all.

At night we were able to light a big open fire (in another field just off from the camping feild) which was ideal to sit around chat and have a fantastic time.

Price was great 2 per person per night. The owner gave us a little discount too and 2 extra people ended up going and he didn't charge us any extra.

Most campsites have noise restrictions. Here we were able to sit up in to the early hours, drinking, chatting and having a laugh without the worry of being thrown off the site.

This site might not be everyones perfect camping ground but it certainly was ours. Would highly recommend to any group wanting a great get together, ithout any worries. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hulltrucker 14 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for one night as a halfway stopover from Scotland. I had emailed the owner prior to arrival and was surprised how low the charges were.

I found the site easily as it is literally just off the A66 12 miles from Scotch Corner - the downside being there is some (but not excessive) road noise.

The field is sloping and grass, which could be a consideration in heavy rain but I didn't experience any problems - The adjoining fields have sheep in them and you really feel in the country.
The gate to the field is perhaps a little narrow - I had to have two goes at getting in with my Escort and 13ft Mardon, so anyone with a longer van / car combination might have to unhook and re hook to be able to swing into the site.
The track through the site was all hardcore so despite what the previous poster says once you are in you should have no problems.

The EHU is a little 'Heath Robinson' as it is basically just a lead run from the owners house but it worked fine - although I was careful to hook my lead over a tree branch so as to avoid it trailing through a very small brook or drain that runs along the side of the field.

The toilet and shower area was again a little basic, and are attached to the owners house - but they were clean and functional.

The owner was friendly & Helpful and told me about the local pub over the road which is apparently very good. The local town (Barnard Castle) is about 2 miles away and has plenty of shops with a good value BP / Co-op filling station at the very top of the town.

This would make an excellent small rally field and is perfect if you like getting back to basics and enjoy being in the countryside. I will definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irons 13 reviews from this member

 We were supposed to go there for the Easter weekend with friends who have a caravan, we have a tent. They arrived before us and after searching for the site found it, then rang us as we were nearly there. The one toilet was had with a shower curtain dangling down and no EHUs. We had to ring round for somewhere else. Oh the approach was so bad that 4 by 4 would have had trouble with it 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gallows Hill Camp Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gallows Hill Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gallows Hill Camp Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scargill Reeth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1194 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement