Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Holywell Bay
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5PR
Tel: 0844 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 41
Open: 22/03/2021 to 04/11/2021
           22/03/2022 to 04/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 We camped here on the last weekend the tourer park was open before closing for the winter. We booked on line and paid £18 for 2 nights with EHU. We chose this site because it is close to the beach and the SW coast path. If you have an OS map there are other footpaths near the site. There is a lot we like about this site, and other things we weren’t so keen on.

We like - Close proximity to the beach, small on-site shop, small bar/club which serves food (we had good burger, chips & beer) and has free bar wifi, the site is kept clean and tidy, lots of hot water in the washups, with large pumps of washing up liquid.

We didn’t like - The pitches are grass, and although we knew this before we booked, we thought that due to the weather we had had, they would be drier. The site is at the bottom of a hill, and the pitches were pretty wet, we couldn’t have travelled out for the day and back as our pitch would have got too churned up. The pitches are very close together and cars have to park in front of caravans, luckily there was no-one next to us. The toilet/shower block was very clean, but it was somewhat dated and would be under pressure when the site is full. Still you have to look at what we paid, and at this time of year there are some sites charging double what we paid with no facilities, so we’re not complaining, this certainly was good value for money.

There is a pub close by but it looked like it was shut for the winter, there were a couple of shops in the village which also looked like they were closed for the winter, so we did appreciate the facilities on site.

We will stay here again. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roxy90 3 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely trip at this campsite. On arrival we checked in at reception and were given helpful instructions, a map and informed which pitch we were staying on. The pitch was a very generous size, easily fitting our large tent and included water and electric hook up. Due to the time of year we were the only tent on site for most of our stay so enjoyed having the shower block to ourselves. The toilets and showers were nice and clean with a good supply of hot water.

On one of the nights we tried to on site bar for food. The food was average and a small mix up was made with our food but quickly rectified by the keen to please staff. In the bar was lots of different entertainment catered for families which looked fun but as 2 adults with no children not to our taste.

The campsite was also a very short walk from a lovely local pub which had fantastic food and drink selections. The beach was also a very short walk from the site which was lovely and sandy with some fun to walk up dunes.

The only issue we had with our entire stay was the pitch placement. Although the campsite was very empty we were placed next to a caravan with 3 young lads in it who were consuming a lot of alcohol and other substances. The lads also thought it was great to play loud music and cook on a bbq at 2am making it difficult to sleep. The site does send a warden round midnight everyday but unfortunately the lads had decided to got out for around 1 hour at this time so the warden missed the disturbance. We couldn't find anyone during the night to inform so we were stuck with it. We complained on our departure about the noise and the staff were apologetic but not much else could be done (we only stayed 2 nights) They did however say the would be extra vigilant following our complaint. A bit of extra security presence would have been nice being it was a very big and busy site. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shaggy2000 2 reviews from this member

 Been visiting this campsite for a number of years now, each time it just gets better and better.

It is literally the perfect campsite, the toilets are always spotless, the on site shop stocks pretty much everything you could ever need including camping equipment. The three bars on site are perfect whatever your situation, want a sports bar? sorted, a family pub with entertainment? sorted, want a bar with food? yep they do that too.

The only downside to the site (and its very small downside) is that the walk down to the beach is a little long, and also goes through quite a large section of big sand dunes, which if your 12 are fine and good fun, but at my age, take quite a while to walk through.

Other facilities on site include a heated outdoor swimming pool, that has 'adult only' swim times, laundry, fishing ponds, play park, games room, take away, restaurant etc.

TV reception can be a little bit hit and miss if your in a caravan/motorhome, some days I found it fine, other days we got nothing.

Just outside the site is the small village of Hollywell, I would recommend anyone to go to the small pub in the centre, they do great food plus they allow you to park really close to the beach (no walking through the dunes) 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TimStraw 2 reviews from this member

 The Site is very clean and easy access with a touring van. The Staff are fab, very friendly, hard working and professional.

The pitches are narrow but long. The shower blocks need updating. If there are more than 2 being used, the water trickles out and down the wall. So you have to flick the water on to you off the wall.

This is a great site for young families.

It's not for families with teenagers. There is nothing for teens to do. There is no mobile signal and the TV signal is very poor. The wifi signal in the club house is poor. Only a few can get on at any one time. As we all know life is over for a teenager without mobile, TV and Internet.

The beach is lovely, just a 10min walk. The Treguth Inn is a great pub. Just a five minute walk with great food and friendly staff and atmosphere.

The site is in a great location to go visiting other lovely Cornish places. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Dootsons 7 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Holywell Bay. The beach is perfect for everyone, sand, dunes, caves, rock pools, surf and no tacky shops or arcades.

The St Pirins Inn is a great pub, good food, good beer, good service, good garden and great views.

In all we love Holywell Bay.

We stayed in one of Parkdeans caravans during our first visit in June '09 - Perfect value for money and had a great time (amazing weather helped)

This time we camped - Busiest time of year - Oh dear

The pitches are a good size (our tent is huge, but it fitted) however they are deep not wide so our tent was less than 12 inches away from our neighbours, cars park in front - Not a pretty view. There was no space for the kids to run around except the roadway where the speed limit was routinely ignored. We seemed to be the only people who did not make a wall of wind breaks around our area - There was no wind.

The loos and showers were great, but only 3 showers per sex was not enough, 6am seemed to about the only time for no queue

The washing up area was very good, the pool is fantastic and all the staff were wonderful.

We did not use the club house, but the wifi was a fantastic boon for up to date weather reports.

I would go out of season again, but, despite having 2 kids at school - Never during the school holidays again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dishydeb 5 reviews from this member

 Weather was not too bad to say most of the country were having floods, we called the site to make sure everything was fine there and it was. Think they had some areas near the caravans that were a little water logged. This is the 2nd year we have been as the location is wonderful amazing beaches fantastic for photography. Lots of good sized pitches and even with some heavy rain they did not become water logged.

We were allowed to pitch the tent as soon as we arrived @ 9am on a Sunday after a 6 hour drive.

Very clean site, always see staff picking up litter and very regular patrols around the site too for security. The only thing they can not protect you against is the seagulls stealing your food of your plate. We had one steal a full ham salad sandwich whilst our backs were turned. And they also investigate any carrier bags that maybe located outside your tent.

Showers and toilets all cleaned regularly, plenty of loo role, think they could do with better hairdryers though. Showers also FREE and amazingly hot.

The Quiz night in the club was fun. If you wish to play bingo get there early to get a seat. While you're there use the wifi.

On site shop very expensive £1. 38 for a tin of baked beans shocking! I suggest what others have said so already, go to morrisons or Lidl. Take a good cool box or fill buckets up with cold water to cool your beers. Cool blocks can be refroze in the reception for 20p per block

The beach is a 10 min walk and is amazing and the reason why this was our 2nd trip. If you're a member of national trust there is a car park there which is free so you can load the car up and then walk across the dunes. If you are not a trust member this is £4 per day or over the road St Piran's Inn at £3 per day. Used the laundrette £4 for a wash, advise to spin them after for additional 40p saves a lot on tumble dryer.

Places we visited not too far away.

Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm - Free tasting, (cider and jams were amazing) recommend the scones and clotted cream in the cafe here is a tour of the distillery, musemum and via tractor a visit to the orchards £7 per person

Watergate Bay - Amazing surfing

St Eval Kart Circuit - Teenagers were so pleased at the adenaline thrill.

Annual duck race on the beach and they held a family fun day at Treguth Inn to raise funds for the local school

Would I go back - Yes ! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thelittlesthobo 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a lovely weekend camping in our tent with our children. Firstly the weather was fabulous, 34 degrees.

We were pleased with our pitch size plenty of room for our 6 man tent, mpv and room for he kids to play. The showers and toilets were always clean, my only gripe is that the showers were piping hot, far too hot for my children, I had to stand them in the cubicle and splash water onto them, as they couldn't stand under them. I managed to shower but that water was too hot to be comfortable. I also wish they had somewhere to straighten my hair!I never had to queue but then there were only about 8 pitches taken.

The outdoor pool was wonderful and due to the weather it was like being in Spain, plenty of loungers and tables and chairs. My kids loved the slide and I tried it too before I let my four year old on it to make sure it was safe. It didn't have any drops in it, it gently slopes down and isn't too fast for smaller children. The life guards were friendly too and if they told anyone off for jumping in the pool they were jovial about it.

The clubhouse was nice, the kids enjoyed the entertainment. We ate there both nights and found the food to be very nice and the prices were good too. I would be wary about coming here in August as the clubhouse was full when we were there and there only seemed to be about twenty families in there.

The play area was fine for small kids but again very small, you can buy similar sized things for your own garden in argos just to give you an idea of the size.

The indoor play area was also very small.

The shop was expensive and again small to move around in, you are better off stocking up at newquay morrisons, the shop also shut at 7pm.

Holywell bay village basically has a pub and a small shop. The beach there is lovely but a fair walk away if you have to carry lots of stuff, cool boxes, wind breaks etc. Also to point out the toilets are in the village about a 10 minute walk from the beach so if you have kids that need the toilet regular it's about a 20 minute round trip to take them.

All the staff from the cleaners, bar staff, waitresses were lovely, the friendliest we have met and were very welcoming.

Also the website states about not accepting groups of under 25's but there was a few static caravans full of them and the noise coming from them was horrendous.

Overall we had a lovely time, the weather was a major factor in this. If you were coming for a week, it's a great base as there isn't too much to do in the days especially if the weather isn't great.

We would come again but because the facilies are very small I wouldn't come in the August Holidays. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jojo802 5 reviews from this member

 Location

This site is in a fantastic location a short walk to an amazing beach and a short drive away from Newquay and Perranporth. The beach had everything you’d need for a good holiday – caves, rockpools, sand dunes, body boarding waves and a stream. If I was 20 years younger I could’ve spent hours attempting to build a dam! We went to St. Ives (definitely worth using the park and ride train for amazing views) and Padstow which were within easy distance. We also drove to the Minack Theatre which was a fantastic experience if rather cold.

Facilities

Quite good value and nice atmosphere but rather overcrowded the couple of nights we went there. This may have been because it was Easter weekend and the site was quite full but in the summer the situation could be worse. The bingo and quiz were fun and, although we didn’t have children with us, I got the impression there was lots of entertainment for them.

There was a Costcutter shop on site which was well stocked but rather overpriced. If you can it’s best to go to Morrisons on the main road to Newquay or Sainsburys / ASDA in Newquay. We needed to use the laundrette because everything we owned was so muddy or wouldn’t dry due to weather – it was £4. 00 for a full load of washing (you don’t need powder as it includes this) and about £3. 00 for the tumble dryer so quite pricey but worth it to have clean dry clothes!

Toilets and Showers

They were kept very clean despite the large amount of mud due to poor weather and seemed to be regularly inspected. The showers were hot which is always a plus. My only concern would be the fact that during summer months when the site is full the 5 toilets and 3 showers could get full but when we were there I never had to queue.

Pitches

A good size, accommodated a large tent, awning and car easily and we weren’t even on one of the larger ones. If I was going to be picky the only thing I could really moan about were the rabbit holes and stony patches on the pitch but we worked round them. Electric was great and we managed to use a small heater (it was very cold!).

One other point of interest….

There is no mobile signal whatsoever at the site, which suited us fine, but could be annoying for some.

We would definitely return, hopefully for better weather so we can enjoy the amazing beach! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Srpayne1974 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from a one week camping holiday at Holywell Bay Park (five of us in total including three children aged 12, 10 and 6).

Whilst easy to jump on the bandwagon of previous reviews, the one toilet block (separate for gents and women) could do with a lick of paint and modernisation. That said, the shower cubicles are plenty big enough and the water was always hot. I understand the development this year was the entertainment area, it would be nice for future budgets to be spent on decorating the existing one or even adding a second block.

Positives:

Location – walking distance to an absolute fantastic beech – if you get the weather you couldn’t ask for better – buy some body boards, everyone on the beach has them for surfing.

Pitch size – We have a large Sunncamp family 900 tent and sometimes struggle with normal pitch sizes, here though the pitches were really large ours was 14m long by about 8 wide, plenty big enough for the tent, trailer and car.

Entertainment:

Swimming pool + water slide – decent size swimming pool with a 300ft water slide which the kids enjoyed. Friendly lifeguards on duty all the time who didn’t seem to be whistle happy Hasslehoff wannabes – with the beach being very close the pool never seemed overly busy.

Evening entertainment – The entertainments team run by Clare was really good providing fun for smaller children early evening, bingo and evening entertainment for adults afterwards. Our 12 year old was too old for the younger bits but enjoyed playing pool and air hockey in the amusement arcade.

Restaurant + Bar: I think this is a new bar for 2011, bar staff are really friendly, prices for drinks are around normal bar prices, good choice on the food menu and of good quality although I thought a bit expensive for a family of five and perhaps served as a reminder that I should have been cooking in the great outdoors more.

Overall we really enjoyed our week at Holywell and would recommend this site certainly for family camping holidays. The touring pitches are about a 5 minute walk away from the main club and became quiet at a reasonable time. The staff are very friendly and provide a good service, the beach is superb, decent tent pitches, good entertainment, well stocked shop etc etc. Yep, all in all a good fun holiday, and already talking about returning next year with more of the family. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sp1sweet 2 reviews from this member

 Came here for two week and was really pleased that after a 7.5 hour drive was very glad of the over night holding area. Park very easy to find and accesa very easy even with my big hobby 700.

As soon as reception was open we were allowed down to our pitch which was clean and the grass freshly cut,. The park itself was very clean. After setting up we had a walk down to the beach which was a 10 min walk and I could see why so many people come back just for the beach alone.

Now the park. As mentioned on loads of other reviews yes the toilet block does need updating but its still very functional but a lick of paint and a good tidy up ie new pane of glass a new door lock and even may be a little bit of local radio playing would be nice. We also found that the children's playing area was not quite what the brochure makes it out to be and from the touring area its about a 10 min walk and to be honest there not much there, but even with this my two boys (4 and 6) loved it.

Club. Well what can I say. Scott and gavin are great but after 2 weeks here the same jokes etc do get boring and could do with some new material but I think this is down to park dean and not them. We all enjoyed the show and I was well impressed with the guns and roses sweet child o mine version. The hall needs updating as the mens toilets is very poor with only 2 urinals for a max of 400 people.

Food here is the biggest issue with no restaurant and the take away was very limited and a bit hit and miss, please get a restaurant which is open all day!

Bar was good and priced quite fairly. Staff all very good and pleasant.

All in all a good holiday and would I go back? Yes I would but would want know things have improved before booking

The pubs nearby are also very good but the one on top of the hill we thought was bit dear but St Pirans is great and you get a very warm welcome and great food. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window