Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holme Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Holme Farm
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD   See Map
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 91 Reviews
                7/10 from 91 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: JEA4004 1 review from this member

The site is well placed for use on the pennine way, the showers are good enough to clean up (it's 1 for 10mins) the overall cleanliness of the toilets and shower block could be better - but for 9 I'm certainly not complaining!

Me and the other half used the site for another night in the bootjump (link below), so I can't comment on the camping field - however the field is pretty large and the tents are a good 4-5 meters away from each other.

Overall, it was a pleasant place to stay the night and I would stay again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loudjane 1 review from this member

This is a good site for exploring the dales, doing the three peaks or as an overnight stop for those walking the Pennine Way. Facilities are basic - 1 male and female shower, 3 toilets and washing up facilities. It is quite a large site and could perhaps do with a few more toilets and showers especially during the busy periods. We stayed Weds through to Saturday and for the first couple of days the site was very quiet but come the weekend it became very busy and noisy and it felt like a festival site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wheresmetroosers 5 reviews from this member

Good basic campsite. Pitches nicely marked, grass well cut. Very handy for the local pub (Golden Lion) which serves food. Very handy for 3 Peaks walking, too. Prices are low, so it represents good value for money for a stay of a night or two.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markhem 9 reviews from this member

Nice little site, remarkably cheap and beautifully positioned at the very feet of Pen-y-Ghent, next door to the Golden Lion pub.

The pitches are neatly ordered in a lawn-mown latticework, but are very small! The long grass is a nice touch however. The facilities are pretty rural, but given the fees you get what you pay for.

Only main complaint was the lack of night-wardens. It seemed to me that everyone was there for the same thing, the Y3P Challenge, but a few utter morons were allowed to shout and shriek way past 1AM, when most decent people had turned in by 11PM for the requisite night's kip!

Would go again, but I'd take ear-plugs.

One last word - the Golden Lion is expensive. 9 for a plate of slop and 4. 50 a pint. Disgraceful and cynical.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulc67 1 review from this member

I have just returned from a trip with 4 newcomers to hiking and camping and had an excellent stay at Holme Farm. It is an ideal location to do the Yorkshire 3 peaks, you have a great view of Pen-y-Ghent from the site. The site itself is well maintained and well laid out. The shower blocks aern't the newest but planning permission is hard to come by from the national parks and the facilities are more than adequate, including a sheltered place to wash your dishes. The campsite owner Chris is a lovely man, very welcoming and leaves his guests feeling at ease immediately. There are 2 pubs nearby but we only used the Golden Lion as it is 2 minutes away, nice food, sky sports and a pool table, happy days.

We didn't find the site noisy, maybe we were the 'noisy group' when we stayed?

I will be going back in the spring because it's such a lovely area and I didn't manage all 3 peaks. I can highly recommend the site for people of all ages, with or without children or pets.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eastholme 3 reviews from this member

I first visited here about 40 years ago and slightly more recently about 18 years ago. Sadly I don't think the facilities have been updated since those times.

As a base for the famous 'Three Peaks' it is perfectly placed and also only a few paces off the route of the Pennine Way.

The field is quite uneven in places and can get quite busy over weekends.

When all is said and done, generally you don't visit the Dales to sit around on the campsite so for most purposes the site would meet your needs, The pricing structure is a bit strange and the extras (like a tent, car, people. ?) soon bump the total price per night up. Had we inspected the facilities first I don't think we would have stayed but I do think you could turn up at almost anytime day or night and you can find a space. One downside is that you cannot park a car next to your pitch (unless you pitch nr the car park) and the site is next to the main road which starts to get busy with lorries for the quarry from 0600 onwards.

Chris, the owner, is a friendly character though and is worth chatting to for his local knowledge.

A good base for 'hairy-arsed' walkers but not one for a longer stay on a family holiday.

Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938