Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Reviews

Holme Farm
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 93 Reviews
                7/10 from 93 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: T30man 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a trek around the Y3P with my young brother. ( he is 70 and I am 75 ). We had stayed at this campsite 27 years ago whe we backpacked the Pennine Way in 14 days, and chose it for memory's sake for our 3 peak challenge.

The site is ideally located for many walks, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves over the last 3 nights. I wasn't confident I could do the whole Y3P in 1 day ( this turned out an understatement, as I struggled on the climbs, Peterborough, my hometown, is flat ), but the challenge for me, was to do it at all. So we got the 8. 58 train from nearby station ( 10 mins walk, costing just over 3 quid) ) to Ribblehead.

We got the train out rather than catch it back as we didn't want pressure of rushing and maybe miissing the last train back. It meant we did Whernside and then Pen-y-Ghent clockwise on the first day, and then got the same train out again, to do Ingleborough anticlockwise on day 2.

It worked well, but the total distance is about an hours walk more than the whole loop in one go, and a purist may say it doesn't count. But, to me it does.

Anyway, about the campsite. Full of PW and Y3P walkers, and quiet. Amenities are basic but clean, but that is all I wanted. It was cats and dogs on our first day of walking, and lack of drying room could be a problem.

The management are extremely helpful and a great sense of humour. Worth 5 stars and would recommend it to any serious, or not too serious ( like us ) walker, cylist or country lover. Have fun. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmystuart 7 reviews from this member

 Very accommodating let me pitch 2 tents in one allocated space and only charged for one, This site is well situated amenities are basic and dated but an effort is made to keep them clean, cannot grumble at the price, take your own food, there are no shops. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: JEA4004 1 review from this member

 The site is well placed for use on the pennine way, the showers are good enough to clean up (it's 1 for 10mins) the overall cleanliness of the toilets and shower block could be better - but for 9 I'm certainly not complaining!

Me and the other half used the site for another night in the bootjump (link below), so I can't comment on the camping field - however the field is pretty large and the tents are a good 4-5 meters away from each other.

Overall, it was a pleasant place to stay the night and I would stay again.  


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loudjane 1 review from this member

 This is a good site for exploring the dales, doing the three peaks or as an overnight stop for those walking the Pennine Way. Facilities are basic - 1 male and female shower, 3 toilets and washing up facilities. It is quite a large site and could perhaps do with a few more toilets and showers especially during the busy periods. We stayed Weds through to Saturday and for the first couple of days the site was very quiet but come the weekend it became very busy and noisy and it felt like a festival site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wheresmetroosers 5 reviews from this member

 Good basic campsite. Pitches nicely marked, grass well cut. Very handy for the local pub (Golden Lion) which serves food. Very handy for 3 Peaks walking, too. Prices are low, so it represents good value for money for a stay of a night or two. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markhem 9 reviews from this member

 Nice little site, remarkably cheap and beautifully positioned at the very feet of Pen-y-Ghent, next door to the Golden Lion pub.

The pitches are neatly ordered in a lawn-mown latticework, but are very small! The long grass is a nice touch however. The facilities are pretty rural, but given the fees you get what you pay for.

Only main complaint was the lack of night-wardens. It seemed to me that everyone was there for the same thing, the Y3P Challenge, but a few utter morons were allowed to shout and shriek way past 1AM, when most decent people had turned in by 11PM for the requisite night's kip!

Would go again, but I'd take ear-plugs.

One last word - the Golden Lion is expensive. 9 for a plate of slop and 4. 50 a pint. Disgraceful and cynical. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulc67 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a trip with 4 newcomers to hiking and camping and had an excellent stay at Holme Farm. It is an ideal location to do the Yorkshire 3 peaks, you have a great view of Pen-y-Ghent from the site. The site itself is well maintained and well laid out. The shower blocks aern't the newest but planning permission is hard to come by from the national parks and the facilities are more than adequate, including a sheltered place to wash your dishes. The campsite owner Chris is a lovely man, very welcoming and leaves his guests feeling at ease immediately. There are 2 pubs nearby but we only used the Golden Lion as it is 2 minutes away, nice food, sky sports and a pool table, happy days.

We didn't find the site noisy, maybe we were the 'noisy group' when we stayed?

I will be going back in the spring because it's such a lovely area and I didn't manage all 3 peaks. I can highly recommend the site for people of all ages, with or without children or pets. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eastholme 4 reviews from this member

 I first visited here about 40 years ago and slightly more recently about 18 years ago. Sadly I don't think the facilities have been updated since those times.

As a base for the famous 'Three Peaks' it is perfectly placed and also only a few paces off the route of the Pennine Way.

The field is quite uneven in places and can get quite busy over weekends.

When all is said and done, generally you don't visit the Dales to sit around on the campsite so for most purposes the site would meet your needs, The pricing structure is a bit strange and the extras (like a tent, car, people. ?) soon bump the total price per night up. Had we inspected the facilities first I don't think we would have stayed but I do think you could turn up at almost anytime day or night and you can find a space. One downside is that you cannot park a car next to your pitch (unless you pitch nr the car park) and the site is next to the main road which starts to get busy with lorries for the quarry from 0600 onwards.

Chris, the owner, is a friendly character though and is worth chatting to for his local knowledge.

A good base for 'hairy-arsed' walkers but not one for a longer stay on a family holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Padmcpad 4 reviews from this member

 Nice site well laid out. Friendly guy called Chris running it. (slightly) pricey for the available facilities but not too bad. The toilets are a bit cramped and only one shower per male/female for the whole campsite but as it happened this didn't cause any issues. My only real down point to this campsite is there is no hot water (outside the showers) in the toilets, otherwise highly recommended and superbly placed for the three peaks which we did over three days, anyone doing this in 24hrs or less must be mad and very fit!

All in all a lovely site only slightly let down by the facilities.

Pubs close by and good food / friendly. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garys1969 1 review from this member

 Stopped here whilst doing the 3 Peaks Challenge.

Nice owner, very laid back.

Facilities are basic, but OK. Although if the site is busy, expect to queue to use the loos etc.

Use of the showers(one in each block)is 1, which I gave a miss due to it's state. Do need a refurb!

Prices per night are:

3per person

4per tent

2. 50per car

More pros than cons. 


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1791 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement