Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Campsite Malham Cove

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Riverside Campsite Malham Cove
Town Head Farm
Malham
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4DJ
Tel: 01729 830287
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 77 Reviews
                8/10 from 77 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnebabe 1 review from this member

Stayed for two nights with my husband, lovely place! Very well kept site and the toilets were spotless. Woke up to the sight of beautiful Malham Cove, doesn't get much better than that! We will definitely be returning to this campsite, it had everything we required.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

Just one night here over the weekend. The owner asked me to leave my car in the carpark and carry things into the field which was no problem, but we did wonder why other people had their cars on the field.

Toilets, showers, dish wash etc were in good clean order and perfectly adequate even though there were about 50 DoEs camped next to us. Incidently they were asleep long before us as they had come over Penyghent that day but they were up sixish.

There is a covered area with bench and stools for backpackers.

Malham is a short walk with two pubs. We used both.

The site is perfectly located for Malham Cove etc.

We paid £18 for a tent with two people and £12 for a tent with one person. I think backpackers were £7.

I'd happily use this site again but will pack mozzy spray next time.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NuCampers 9 reviews from this member

Great campsite, fantastic location surrounded by stunning views and walks, really don't understand some of the more negative reviews on here. The owners are BOTH really friendly and chatty, couldn't really do enough or anymore.

Yes there are rules all over the site but I'm sure there's a reason for the rules as it looked like they have Duke of Edinburgh kids camping and if they don't know the rules or haven't been camping before the rules will mainly be aimed at them.

The site is a great base to explore Malham and beyond. It has good working toilets, washing up facilities and 2 showers. Yes the showers are a £1 for 7 minutes but for us that was more than enough time for 2 adults to get showered and it's only a pound!

Malham is fantastic and has 2 great pubs and a lovely cafe. Buck Inn is nice, great selection of ales and food looked decent. Lister's Arms is fantastic, amazing selection of ales and spirits, food is amazing, really really good and is why we didn't try to food in the Buck Inn.

Make sure you take a torch on a night time if walking back from Malham when its dark as the road back is pitch black.

All in all a great stay and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coypu 3 reviews from this member

Nice little site a few minutes walk from the village, unbeatable location with mostly flat pitches, can access all the local sights and trails on foot. Ideal hikers. Unsuitable for caravans and truck sized campervans. Nice having the stream running alongside the site. Spacious showers and kept very clean, but locked at night. Only two showers so might be overrun at weekends. The token system for a shower was a bit antiquated; would rather have an inclusive tariff. Couldn't find anywhere to refrigerate ice blocks, so our milk went off.

Just be aware that groups of D of E students use the site and usually camp at the far end. We ended up having to move pitch to get a peaceful night.

Other people mention the notices - I tend to agree there's too many so in the end people don't read them. I missed the one about calling at the house. It just needs one simple message. Behave, respect the facilities and your neighbours, or leave. Nice to have the cars away from the tents which avoids disturbance from door slamming etc.

All in all a good place to stay. Would go back again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LisMorris 1 review from this member

This is a charming, well-run campsite in a gorgeous location, literally on the doorstep of Malham and within very easy walking distance of two excellent pubs.

The owners (names redacted due to the review rules) are very friendly, helpful, and always ready for a chat (if you're reading this, Mrs M. , the plant I identified for you was called Ornithogalum, so you might guess who I am!). The facilities consist of a washing up area, an undercover concrete bench area for backpackers who want to cook (I was in a car, but I felt this was a brilliant idea), toilet facilities and a shower block. All of them are impeccable- clean, well-designed and decorated with tubs of flowers and cheerful pennants. The showers, in particular, were the best I've seen in any campsite, hands down. They cost £1 per seven minutes, but was absolutely worth every penny, with big shower rooms divided into a dry and a wet half and even a box for muddy wellies outside!

As others have mentioned, there are signs with rules on them, but they're nothing an experienced camper will not already do instinctively. I suspect they are there for the benefit of DofE walkers who may be camping for the first time and aren't used to the usual camping etiquette. There were two rules that were a little unusual: first, due to the softness of the ground (I didn't even need a mallet), cars are not to be driven off and on the turf repeatedly. There is a gravel carpark if you wish to park away from your tent and make frequent trips. Secondly, frisbee and ball games are forbidden due to previous complaints from campers, which I felt was a shame for family campers. However, there is plenty for children to do because there is lots of space to run around and a little bit of the stream was diverted through the camp and gives them an area to splash about and play in.

This campsite is justifiably popular and books up pretty quickly in the high season, so I recommend booking ahead. They have a policy of always accepting backpackers even when fully booked.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: XFMGx 4 reviews from this member

Had a lovely bank holiday weekend camping in Malham. The site was lovely and clean and not short of notices telling what you can and can't do! The amount of notices actually made us laugh. There was just me and my son (age 14) and the dog camping. My son had a good time however was a bit disappointed that you weren't allowed ball games, frisbees etc. Also no 3G internet. Nightmare for a 14 year old boy, great for me! There were some wifi spots in the local village, thank heavens! The campsite owners were always knocking about and very helpful. The site is situated at the bottom of the path to Malham cove which is very handy to go exploring. The village is also only 5 minute walk away. The village was very busy with a Malham Safari, local groups made a trail of statues and figures of different animals to find. The village had 2 pubs, both welcomed dogs which was great! I would definitely recommend this site as it is in a perfect location, we didn't move the car all weekend as we could walk to the places we wanted to explore!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dw5110 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here having been disgusted at the facilities and lack of cleanliness at another local site. The owner willingly showed us the facilities before paying up and reassuringly the toilets and shower room were immaculate. The pitches were easily accessible with the car, it being a quiet night anyway. Good access into Malham village and two excellent pubs a short walk away and very close to Malham Cove and other local attractions, we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LucyF75 1 review from this member

We have just arrived home after two nights at this incredibly well kept campsite. In total we were 4 adults with 2 tents. The field is split into two, one side where you can park with your tent and the other where you have to leave your car in the car park (due to drainage issues on the field) - we arrived quite late on Friday evening so had to pitch up on this side and carry our tent etc from the car park. It's not a long walk though and no trouble. The site was advertising full when we arrived so I was glad that I'd booked but we did notice that they don't turn away hikers even when full. Even though the site was full the field wasn’t crowded. Quiet time is between 11. 00pm and 6. 00am – an alarm is probably not required as the resident ducks can be quite vocal in the mornings! The toilets and showers were cosy and very clean (you need to buy tokens from the owners for £1 which gives you 7 minutes of shower or 7 minutes of electricity) and the water was hot. We ate both nights in the Lister Arms (5 minutes walk into the village) as we were so impressed with the food and had a lovely walk to Malham Cove and Gordale Scar where we scrambled up the waterfall. We will definitely return!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camp chaos 24 reviews from this member

This was our first outing in our new van so apologies to the others on the site who were possibly woken by our alarm going off every time we moved during the night! Hopefully that's sorted now.

We stayed for one night at the end of the Easter holidays. We were warned in advance that the ground was too boggy to drive our van onto the field so they reserved us a space at the end of the (small) car park, next to the fence and field. This was fine as it was a very short stay and we were planning to eat in the pub but for anything longer it may have been a bit grim!

The site was lovely though and the rules weren't too bad - just obvious things that people should really be doing already, without being told. The toilets were clean and adequate, I didn't use the shower so can't comment on that and the field, particularly down by the river, looked good. I like sites where cars are parked away from tents.

I'd recommend the food in the Lister Arms although maybe not the bar service - it was very busy and there was a long, slow queue for a lot of the evening.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmeach 1 review from this member

Loved the campsite, its at on a working farm, in a great position and although lots of do's and don'ts they had very clean facilities and we loved it, we stayed when the Malham show was on, its only a short walk to all the local pubs etc.

Jean and Norman try very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay, and we would visit again.

Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3106 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938