Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Campsite Malham Cove

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Riverside Campsite Malham Cove > Reviews

Riverside Campsite Malham Cove
Town Head Farm
Malham
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4DJ
Tel: 01729 830287
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hanwick 1 review from this member

 Campsite in a beautiful location, really short walk to Malham cove and the surrounding village. The lady who runs the place is very lovely and chatty. She gave us a free walk map and was very helpful when explaining how to get to Janetís foss, gordale scar and ending up back at Malham (very highly recommend this walk).

We are quite inexperienced campers and didnít realise the showers would be £1 per token, lasting for 7 minutes. We were able to get some cash from a tearoom in the village, but we would have appreciated being warned on the phone when making the booking.

We also didnít realise that no cars were allowed on the pitch, which was a minor inconvenience, however there was a fairly large wheelbarrow we were allowed to use to carry out stuff to and from, which was a massive help.

We really liked the outdoor shelter for cooking and hanging up clothes, this came in extremely handy as it was raining the entire weekend!

The toilets and showers were fairly clean, although (in the ladies toilets) there was one hand towel for drying hands. This was quite damp when we arrived and by the final day (day 3) this was still damp and hadnít been replaced. I was just air drying my hands towards the end as I didnít particularly want to touch it!

All in all we had a good time, for £10 a night you canít really go wrong. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: PetertheCamper 7 reviews from this member

 Great location.

Notices state that you have to pre-book (unless youíre hiking or cycling) and itís cash only.

Showers are £1, operated by an archaic grooved coin in a box outside the shower cubicles. You get 7 minutes for the shower and the light! There are only two showers.

Clean and tidy. A covered area provides a cooking bench and drying area if required. Separate pot wash area.

Lady owner is very friendly. Site can be prone to midges. As well as tents, there were two VW camper vans on the adjacent car park so these are allowed also.

My son and I arrived by bicycle and paid £18 for one night, plus showers.

The Lister Arms nearby is very good but expensive for food. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Median 19 reviews from this member

 Absolutely lovely site well situated just outside Malham and within very easy reach of Malham Cove.

No cars allowed on the tent field however a large barrow is available to take your kit to/from your car, which is a really nice touch. Toilet block and washing facilities were very clean, and there was a covered outdoor area where we could cook if we wanted. Very welcoming owners, we enjoyed hearing about their new cows!

Very quiet site with campers keeping a respectful distance between tents. The site is used by DofE groups although none were there when we stayed. Please don't let this put anyone off staying at this site, it is big enough to accommodate the groups and my experience is that the young people involved in such ventures are unlikely to cause a nuisance. We all had to start our camping adventures somewhere!

There were some midges in the evening however this is to be expected at a riverside location, and a bit of midge spray and a citronella candle did the job.

Overall an excellent site, which I would definitely recommend and revisit. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Bob Cantrell 4 reviews from this member

 Good location about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Malham.

Parking for cars is limited. The site is popular with DofE groups so the toilets/showers etc can get busy.

There is a covered area with benches and tables to allow cooking when the weather is bad.

£7 per tent per night.

Midges can be bad. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cvblak 1 review from this member

 It did the job and was in the most perfect location a short walk from all of Malhamís landmark, pubs and restaurants etc.

I feel it was a shame they didnít have firepits of some sort to hire, this is something that would have vastly improved the stay without damaging the landscape.

Also a shame the showers were out of use- if they had 1 in 1 out rules Iím sure it would be covid compliant.

Would definitely stay again, but I would be much more likely to recommend to a friend if there were a few more ďspecial touches. Ē 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dominikandgeorge 1 review from this member

 Beautiful campsite, beautiful surroundings.

Campsite.

Very nice and clean. Super well kept. Clean toilet. Very nice land lady. Also loved seeing the farmer with his staffy on his quad bike. Other campers were quite and everyone seemed very chilled out and super respectful. We stayed with a dog and it was a hot sunny day there is a stream too where he was able to have a paddle. 10/10

Views and walks.

Amazing, breathtaking, would not recommend going right up to Malham lime rock in rain ( super slippery) as well as on a super hot day.

After all like mentioned in previous reviews. If you want to stay there and party all night itís not your place. Itís very quiet after 10pm.

If youíre a light sleeper, donít camp right next to the stream.

Would recommend for sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: FRED69 3 reviews from this member

 A basic site but youíre there for the location and it was only £10 a night per person so happy at that.

5 mins walk and youíre in Malham and 5 mins the other way you have Malham Cove.

Itís a working farm so you do get noise but You are in the countryside.

All in all a no frills site but I couldnít fault it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 132 reviews from this member

 I arrived after a day of exceptionally heavy rain and was pleasantly surprised to find the site wasn't under water. There is a gentle slope down to the river, which was in flood and noisy as a result, but there was plenty of space within an open field to pitch up with some great views up to Malham Cove.

Despite it being half term week I pretty much had the place to myself too. There is a small car park / camper van park near the entrance and you'll have to carry your kit a short distance across the field, no parking next to your tent here.

The prices hadn't increased since I was here 5 years ago, it's still £9. 00 per adult and £1. 00 for a 7 minute shower token. The shower timer works the light too so take a torch in with you.

The facilities, although very clean are still pretty basic so I think the £10 a night is quite enough. You're paying for the location really, which is worth it! Town Head Farm is a working livestock farm so you'll wake up to the sound of tractors early on in the day.

Two pubs a 5 minute stroll away (The Bucks Head and The Lister Arms) both excellent for real ales. The butcher in Settle (Drake and Macefield) makes the best pies going and the black pudding and smoked bacon will set you up for the day.

The walk round to Janet's Foss, up Gordale Scar waterfall and then back over Malham Cove is one of my favourites (3 to 4 hours). There is also a fantastic walk to Settle along Stockwell Lane. Over 12 miles round trip and up and over the moor.

Malham gets very busy at weekends but this is still one of my favourite campsites because of the location. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Kirste 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite & owners, very clean shower/toilet/washing up facilities. Good value for money.

Camped right next to the lovely stream and was greeted by a small heard of cows on the other side of it each day,

Will be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jimmystuart 9 reviews from this member

 One of my favourite campsites went during the Malham Safari, unfortunately the weather wasn't good and the turnout was poor, but there is some lovely walking around Upper Airedale some of it very challenging on the feet !

Facilities are still very good and Mrs Moon is a joy. Will be returning someday. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Campsite Malham Cove?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8316 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement