Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Trebellan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Trebellan Park Reviews

Trebellan Park
Cubert
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5PY
Tel: 01637 830522
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 144
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 15 Reviews
                7/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Apintofstones 6 reviews from this member

Visited this site 3 time before and had a great stay. This time was ok, no complaints about the showers or toilets as both are very good. On the previous 3 visits we have had good weather but this time was very wet and our pitch was very very wet and muddy. Not all the pitches was in the same state and one the tents had to be relocated due to mud and the smell of rotting grass that was coming from that area.

Something needs to be done about the drainage on some of the pitches as this is not good enough.

I sure we will visit again but we will not book the same pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: C and T Dean 1 review from this member

Had a wonderful holiday at this caravan site. Went with our son, daughter in law and two grandchildren. The minute we drove on to the site, we knew it was going to be good. Last year we stayed on at site at Holywell Bay, and it was just not our scene, noisy, drunks etc late into the night. Trebellan has no clubhouse, the facilities are great, free showers, nice and hot, the swimming pool is great and a nice kids play area. The folk on the site were all very friendly and we would definitely go to this site again. Electric hook ups and great views. All within walking distance of the Smugglers Den, great food etc.

The only negative is the toilets were not as clean as could be if cleaning facilities were provided to the campers, eg toilet brushes in disinfectant, mop/squeegee in disifenctant for showers and a few more hooks on toilet and shower doors. All cheap, easy to achieve and would result in a higher rating from this one satisfied family. Will be back next Year.

No shop on site but a very good little supermarket in Cubert and a Morrisons not too far away.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brettandmandy 1 review from this member

We have visited this site twice already and are going again in a weeks time, we love it here.

Plenty of room for tents on the pitches, the staff are friendly and helpful. The showers are great (an awful lot better than some sites we have been to), they have a tv room, and undercover washing up area and freezers that any1 can use, great for freezing your cool blocks or even keeping icelollys in for the kidS, And a nice little room for washing and drying your clothes.

Our kids love the swimming pool and the park and hubby likes the fishing lakes.

We usualy go as a big group (there was 15 of us last year, 3 familys) and we ALL love it there.

Its always nice and quiet in the evenings too which we like after a busy day at the beach or exploring.

The nearest beaces are Hollywell and Crantock which are both fab, we have been to the carribean a few times however if you get the sun here the beaches are just as good. Infact last year we saw dolphins in the sea at Hollywell and they were so close to us it was amazing.

There is also perranporth just down the road which is great for rock pooling.

There are some fab coastal walks to here.

The pub across the road (Smugglers Den) is great for an evening pint too, however we have never eaten there.

Hollywell fun park is a five minute drive too which has some great atractions we paticularly like the crazy golf.

There is a local shop in the village just a couple of minutes in the car which is well stocked, or morrisons is a 10 minute drive away in Newquay which is easy to get to.

And there are so many other attraction to visit which are all easy to get to like lands end, flambards and Heeley's cider farm just to name a few.

Staff on site are friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Cant wait to get back there.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davinamarie 1 review from this member

Visited this site in 2010, 2011 and we are heading there again this year. We absolutely love this site, perfect location to the beaches we like Holywell, Perranporth, and Porthtowan.

Great to pop to the supermarkets and super close (a very short stroll) to a really lovely pub with great food (Smugglers Den) the facilities are excellent, warm and powerful showers and clean toilets/wash area.

Exactly what you want after surfing or a day on the beach. It also has great fishing lakes, really nice to chill down there in the evening with some wine. Can't wait to go in August 2012. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TrudiNeil 1 review from this member

We came to this site as we spotted it when we used to go to the Smugglers Den for drinks and meals when we were based on another site.

The pitches were a lovely size. We had our caravan, large awning and our car at the side with no problem and still space.

We adored this site, the facilities were excellent, showers and toilets always clean, swimming was always clean and inviting

the wardens were always on hand if you needed anything or you wanted to ask any questions about the local area.

We found the smugglers food no more expensive as other pubs we had been to, except the food was always excellently cooked and they had different draft beer on.

We will definitely be coming back to this site again and again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nayfe93 1 review from this member

Trebellan is perfect for those who want some peace and quiet out of a family holiday in cornwall. It is a very small site and is a world away from these big noisy commercial sites such as neighbouring site trevornick.

The site is run by a friendly and polite couple along with their very small band of staff, who seem to manage the site rather well. The site features 2 large well stocked course fishing lakes,a small play park,a tv room,a 'heated' swimming pool- always freezing, a launderette, toilet and shower block,and a 16th century pub / restaurant- the smugglers den, with its friendly staff and jack,the manager just across the lane. Who could want more?!

the pitches are level and spacious, in the sense that they're wide but not very long. We can only just fit our 23ft tourer on our pitch, and it often gets splattered with mud from the road

The site is very peaceful and you don't get the rowdiness and noise that you can get on these large commercial sites. The site does have a few bad points as follow -

Lack of a shop

Toilet block isn't as clean as it could be at times

The aforementioned freezing cold pool.

And the stone roads can become very boggy as it does rain a lot in Cornwall. I have seen cars and caravans being towed out by a tractor in previous years, but I suppose this is the case in a lot of sites in Cornwall.

Apart from this, a lovely site, located near a nice village, family friendly, peaceful, generally tidy and cheaper than these large commercial sites. Give it a try!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marcopolo 2 reviews from this member

Not the best of sites. Five Families On arrival we were told where to pitch there tents which we did, next day another guy told us we should not have put them there and we had to move them. You can imagine the reaction, anyway the tents stopped where they were.

We also had a visit from the Fun Police who patrol the camp on buggies that we were talking too loud the night before, not singing or shouting just talking. This happened a couple of times more even though we were in bed for midnight because we got fed up of the Fun Police visiting us.

The showers and toilets were mostly filthy and if you could get any hot water the showers were ok although had very small cubicles. The advertised heated pool is non existent, there is a pool but it is freezing. If you are looking for a fun holiday go elsewhere you will not like it here.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teck 1 review from this member

A real gem of a site! Perfect for our needs with fishing lakes, an outdoor swimming pool, a beautiful old pub next to the site, excellent and very clean facilities and friendly and helpful owners. The pub serves good food at reasonable prices and is not a problem at all in terms of noise. It was a welcome haven for us when we arrived in the rain.

There are plenty of level, spacious pitches, many with electric hookup,and all with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. The walk through the fields to the nearby village of Cubert is worth getting to know.

It takes about 15 minutes and was a lovely start to the day going to get the papers and milk from the village shop. Wouldn't recommend the walk to the beach as it is quite a hike and getting through some of the fields can be tricky. Better to take the car - about a 10 minute drive to a beautiful beach. Great for our son who loves body boarding.

Avoid Newquay if you can. Do visit Padstow via the coast road stopping at the National Trust Bedruthan Steps, if only for coffee and cream tea with fantastic views.

I would go back tomorrow if it didn't cost so much getting over the Irish Sea!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil+friends 18 reviews from this member

The site is split into 2 large fields and tiers, the tiers are level but the fields do slope towards the lake at the bottom, our 12 man outwell hartford xxl just fit on a 9x9m tier pitch which was fairly level, with electric at the top of the field.
The site was great for everyone, adults could chill out and the kids could just play, ride their bikes or mess about in the pool there. There's plenty of toilets and showers which were cleaned regularly.
There's 3 great beaches, Crantock which was the best, Holywell and Polly joke all within easy reach . Newquay was only a short drive to the shops and morrisons. The pubs in the area are nice with a good selection of food, the Smugglers den is over the road from the site which was busy so only had a drink there.
The owners are very friendly but they could just improve this site by doing 1, separating the caravans / motorhomes from the tents who want electric, these pitches on the tiers where quite close together and 2, putting jay cloths next to the sinks so when the campers make a mess they can clean it up.
On the whole Trebellan park is an excellent site for exploring the Newquay area and we enjoyed our stay there.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Buzzard 1 review from this member

A nice location but if you want to park at the beach at Crantock get up early as the car park fills up fast. Easy access into Newquay but expect traffic queues. Small play area. Nice outdoor swimming pool although water a little murky. Pretty old Pub (Smugglers Den) a few yards away - rather pricey for pub-grub though.
There is no shop on site and the nearest village shop is a good 15 minute walk away across fields. There is a good selection of supermarkets within 3 or 4 miles.
Toilet/shower block adequate but not cleaned to a good standard, we even had to ask for toilet roll to be replaced.
The lakes were good for fishing, caught a good sized carp. However, we would probably not return to this site, it is OK if you want the absolute basics.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Trebellan Park?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is Trebellan Park dog friendly?   NO    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2971 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020