Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cherry Tree Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Croyde Bay > Cherry Tree Farm Reviews

Cherry Tree Farm
Stentaway Lane
Croyde Bay
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX33 1NH
Tel: 01271 890495
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 300
Open: July To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Melanie yates 1 review from this member

 Always glorious! great walk to pub/beach :)

I will be booking for My beautiful Daughter @deliayates working hard dental Nurse at the NHS Emergency Hub <3 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smg1 7 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely site, in fact one of nicest sites we have stayed at.

The site is split into several different fields, we were in a couples only area, with great views of the bay.

There are so many showers, each day you find some more hidden away, all really clean and stacks of hot water.

You can walk down through the campsite and on to the beach road, or the other way, 5 mins and you are into the village.

We were walking, and saw most of the other sites, by a country mile, this was the best site.

Great site, really clean, not over crowded, friendly staff, just just a really good site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mammoth17 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site, great location within easy walk of beach in wetsuit. Nice hot showers. Toilets and washing-up facilities ok.

We are family of 4 with 2 teenagers. Disappointed than we had to pay adult price for teenagers. We were also told to take a pitch in Jinnies field as this was allocated to families with teenagers and would ensure 'we weren't next to crying babies'.

Low and behold, we did end up next to 2 families with 6 grisly kids (all shouting and crying at 6. 30am!). When we checked at reception as to how this happened if field allocated to teenagers, the receptionist just smiled, said she had had a few other complaints and that it was too late to move them! It was not good, and I decided to move my family (not an easy feat once set-up) to adult only field.

Once moved, we had a great time and a lovely pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattcruse 2 reviews from this member

 We booked for 4 nights here initially but enjoyed the location so much that extended for another night. We were put in the 'Little Strawberry' field on pitch 2 and the view down to the sea was outstanding. This was the couples field bordered by larger family fields either side so at least the kids were contained there :) Pitches are a good size and we easily fit a 5 man tent plus car on there.

At the bottom end of the campsite is access to the beach road which will take you a 2/3 minute walk to the Nisa shop within the Parkdean complex that you can use. There is also a fish and chip shop, surf shop and public pool that you can use. It's about 5 minute walk to the beach from the bottom of the campsite.

Towards the bottom of the field there are 2 x male and 2 x female toilet blocks (approximately in the middle of the campsite) but it is about the same distance to the main reception buildings where there are further toilet and shower facilities. The facilities are good with hot water (no cold showers exprienced, even when it got busier) and though the toilets floors and shower floors did have dirt on them, this was partly due to the exceptional amount of rain that we had as opposed to any lack of cleaning and at the end of the day, it's camping, they're bound to get that way. There are some plug points in some of the toilet blocks for those needing a hairdryer.

There are ice blocks available for hire plus phone charging in reception and the staff are all helpful and friendly. Will definitely be using Cherry Tree again on our next visit to Croyde Bay. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ktjc 3 reviews from this member

 We had a great 2 week holiday on this lovely campsite. Our pitch was against a hedge, with less view of the sea, but sheltered from the breeze. Great for families with plenty of space for the kids to play, but quiet in the evenings. Inevitable queues for showers at the end of the day, but we were there in the school holidays and it was easy to avoid the queues if you went earlier. Ice block exchange worked well for a donation and there was a food van visitng some evenings and for breakfast one day. All the staff were really helpful and friendly.

Croyde bay beach is a short walk away. We found the Nisa shop in Ruda campsite convenient for basic groceries and lovely ice cream parlour in the village as well as pubs, another grocery shop and the expected surf shops. Lovely walks around the coast and also across the fields to other beaches. We also had lovely days out at Woolacombe, Ilfracombe and Braunton, but spent many blissful days on the beach at Croyde, which was fun for surfing, rock pooling and play fycon the huge sandy nip each at low tide.

Would whole heartedly recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonybacon 10 reviews from this member

 Just come home from a fabulous week in Croyde, staying at Cherry Tree Farm. We were given pitch 15 with a picnic table which had a lovely sea view and fit our large tent and car perfectly. It was a bit blowy sometimes and next year will try to get a pitch near the hedge. The site was very well maintained and the staff very helpful. They had donations to charity to hire ice-blocks, the week's weather and surf forecast written on the site office door, a security barrier, plugs in the toilets for hairdryers etc. Plugs to recharge phones in the office. The site was full and it was the school holidays so there was the inevitable wait for the showers at the end of a day on the beach and sometimes a queue for washing up, but everything was regularly cleaned and there was a separate area to wash wet-suits etc. It took about 10 minutes to walk to the beach through the back of the site and about the same down the road to Croyde village. The village was very pretty with some good places to eat out, lots of places for the kids to play around on the fields. - we'll be back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PnKT 4 reviews from this member

 Just come home from a fabulous week in Croyde, staying at Cherry Tree Farm. We were given a pitch in 'Breezlands' which had a lovely sea view and fit our large tent and car perfectly. The site was very well maintained and the staff very helpful. Lots of little things made the site feel very well organised- a window sticker for the car, donations to charity to hire iceblocks, the week's weather and surf forecast written on the site office door, recycling bins, washing up bowls in the sinks, a security barrier, surf hire, street food van on Friday nights and Saturday mornings, plugs in the toilets for hairdryers etc. Plugs to recharge phones in the office, evening drive rounds by the site owners to check all was well. The site was full and it was the school holidays so there was the inevitable wait for the showers at the end of a day on the beach and sometimes a queue for washing up, but everything was regularly cleaned and there was a separate area to wash wetsuits etc. It took about 10minutes to walk to the beach through the back of the site and about the same down the road to Croyde village. The village was very pretty with some good places to eat out - we loved the Blue Groove. Nearest big supermarket was Tesco in Braunton, although there was a 'Nisa' at the Ruda holiday park for basics. Lovely village, lovely site - we'll be back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soulsurfer64 1 review from this member

 Just back from a 3 night break at Cherry Tree Farm - lovely campsite. Spacious pitch and lovely views of Croyde Bay.

Site was busy, subsequently had a short wait once for a shower but to be expected. Shower/toilet/dish washing facilities very good. Dish washing outside. Fine for us as weather was superb, not sure what happens when it's raining.

Cooler bag ice pack exchange was great. Put your 'defrosted' pack/s in one freezer and take frozen packs from another. For small packs you pay a 25p per pack donation to a charity - excellent.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Site was very busy but once 11ish came - all seemed to calm down and no noise issues re sleeping except for dawn chorus of birds!

Short walk through site to Croyde beach. Used NISA on the RUDA holiday park site for milk etc and ate in their restaurant one night. Croyde village small - couple places to eat. Drove about 5 mins to a Tesco to stock up.

Only criticism - shower blocks could have been 'washed through' during day to clear sand and mud etc. Recommend staying here. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Honeybee77 4 reviews from this member

 Spacious site in a great location, nice relaxed vibe, views to the sea even from the lower fields where we were pitched and an easy short walk to the beach or village - we did a round trip walk several times through the village and across the beach with 2 and 6 year olds, both managed it fine.

Ruda park facilities handy for takeaways or supplies, there is a laundrette there too and a weekly summer market a little further along on a Tuesday which had lots of cheap beach/camping/surf supplies, much cheaper than local shops and some nice little craft stalls too.

Friendly and helpful staff, lots of consideration given to the ages of our children when deciding which pitch to put us on to ensure their safety,

Plenty of showers/toilets, soap and paper available, bins emptied very regularly but the sinks/floors could have done with a more regular clean over a rather wet muddy and busy bank holiday weekend, particularly the toilets servicing the lower fields. (The main shower blocks near reception were better as less muddy up there) but this was the only thing we felt let the site down given its not especially cheap.

There were several large groups camping whilst we were there but we didn't feel it was especially noisy and there was plenty of space for groups and families to camp together too.

Croyde is lovely, some great little places to eat, we had a fab breakfast at the Blue Groove, very reasonable prices and lovely kids menu. Braunton only a few minutes drive away has a bigger selection of takeaways and shops. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tent4us24 2 reviews from this member

 Visited Cherry Tree Farm last week in July, extremely lucky with the weather. We were given a beautiful pitch overlooking Croyde Bay. Tents were spread out which was really nice. Showers always had hot water and never had to wait. Plenty of toilets and always clean. Washing up facilities great and always again hot water.

Croyde Bay was 5 minute walk, lovely beach and great for surfing. Ruda Park (by Croyde Bay) had a shop which was handy for milk etc.

Croyde Village was quaint and really lovely, we had a nice meal in local pub there.

We visited Saunton Beach which was stunning again fantastic for surfing and a 10 min drive and took the coast line for Baggy Point, again stunning.

We loved the site, location and the staff were really helpful and nice. We rented surf suits, board and roof rack from site, good rates.

We will definitely be going back, was sad to leave! 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cherry Tree Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cherry Tree Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cherry Tree Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Croyde Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5748 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement