Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wild Boar Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Wild Boar Campsite
Wincle
Macclesfield
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SK11 0QL
Tel: 01260 227219  or  07539 262847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 24
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 47 Reviews
                7/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Steffybo123 1 review from this member

Owners extremely friendly and welcoming. Pub on site with artists and karaoke well stocked bar and great atmosphere with friendly people.

Toilets and showers excellent, clean with constant hot water. Site clean, tidy and well maintained.

Quiet site which is great for an escape, walking trails around the site and excellent views. Dog friendly and lots of fields off site to excercise them.

Macclesfield and Buxton not far away.

We were a group of 8 from Dukinfield and had a brilliant weekend. Will be returning in the near future. Couldn't fault anything.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fredslad 1 review from this member

Nice little site, adults only. Very quiet mid week but gets busy at weekend. Handy for days out as itís fairly central. Pub is on site, no noise heard from it and very friendly locals. Mature bikers occasionally use this midweek. They are a good crowd. We had a chilled 4 days there a few weeks ago and have just returned after another 3 days there.

No food served mid week otherwise it would have got 10/10

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maidenchild 1 review from this member

Excellent site, clean powerful shower. Very well thought out with chair to sit while getting dressed plenty of room, for myself with disabilities this means a lot. Water supply is ice cold even in the hottest of weather as in the shade. We camped with my assistance dog who loved the space. Owners are lovely, yes they have a couple of dogs which do the odd bark like dogs do. But certainly donít bark til late as some reviewers have said. If you want a small friendly, quiet site with no noisy children around this is certainly for you. Highly recommend this.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swstbrk 2 reviews from this member

Back for the second year at the Wild Bore & had a fabulous weekend, we are a beagle group & rented 26 pitches this year a mix of caravans, campervans & tents. Val & Alan made us all feel very welcome and went above & beyond making us breakfast butties Saturday and Sunday. The evening meals are very tasty, home cooked and generous portions. The site is basic but has everything you need. A great base for walks with beautiful scenery. There was karaoke on Fri night and live music on the Saturday, we were welcomed in the pub and had 2 good nights. The group all enjoyed it, wish all campsites made dog walking groups as welcome as we were made at the wild bore - We will be back.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheBradleyBunch 4 reviews from this member

Several of us booked to meet up between Christmas and New Year. There should have been 10 caravans/motorhomes coming, but some couldnít come due to lack of pitches!

The site is advertised as 24 pitches, what they donít tell you is that 5 out of the 6 hard standing pitches have permanently sited caravans on them. The remaining pitches are in a sloping field, again not mentioned when booking.

We were second of our group to arrive and had to put our caravan 3 feet in front of two of the permanently pitched caravans. As others arrived, they also had to squeeze in to the small area. The field was soaking and boggy, to be expected at this time of year, and was unusable. Still 3 units to arrive but no where for them to go so two said they would just drive to see us and one other came and pitched in the pub car park.

We had all paid deposits over the phone when booking. Those that couldnít come, because there were no pitches, were refused a refund of their deposit. One couple who slept in their car where charge £14 by the landlady!

Two adults and a dog, with EHU, £18. 50 per night and none of us, except one caravan, had a pitch. The facilities are basic, the ground uneven. Yapping and barking dogs, which the landlady left out from dawn till dusk, even on the days that it snowed heavily.

If it had been any other time, just a break away, I would have told her, in no uncertain terms, what I thought, and left. But we were in a difficult situation, people had come from all over, it was between xmas and NY, it then snowed, we were stuck with what we had got, trying to find somewhere else nearby, there and then, was impossible.

They happily took bookings and deposits knowing full well that they didnít have the pitches to accommodate us.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Douglinda 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at wildboar Inn Cheshire. Field at the back very good fab views. One ladies loo, one gents, separate shower room and another one with loo and basin chair mirror. Hosts are very friendly. It was a Sat and the pub is very lively with live music. The food is excellent a good range of beers. Will come back a lot I think. Not far from Congleton so spent Sun there.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wheelybarrow 1 review from this member

Booked this one for one night as we were visiting Cappesthorne Hall. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. Campsite had some amazing views of the nearby fells and it was a bonus having walks nearby for the dogs. Facilities offered excellent value for money. We will return.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swstbrk 2 reviews from this member

Went here as a group we booked 19 spaces some caravan some camper van & some tents.

What a great little sight, the owners could not have been more welcoming & helpful 😄

We are a Beagle group & our dogs were also made welcome, this is a rare thing these days.

A back to basic type camp with everything you need for a weekend of walking with dogs & friends.

The evening meals were homely & just what you need after a long day out hiking. Fantastic views from the field and lots of walks straight off the site.

There was entertainment on the Saturday evening, a local fella who had a cracking voice and got everyone involved singing & clapping away. We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening and the whole weekend. Will be returning here again that's for sure.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SheilaC 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is in a great location on the edge of the Peak District with lots of walks from the door. It is just a field behind the wild Boar pub. There is some electric hook-up, but other units had already taken all the points, though I can manage for a few days without power, so no problem.

The field was a bit wet considering it was July, so could be difficult after a lot of rain.

The views from the field are great - looking out over the Roaches and the surrounding hills.

The facilities are basic, but enough for a weekend. Pub is adjacent if you like a drink. I didn't visit.

Very reasonable price: £7 per person.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Strumpo 13 reviews from this member

When I read the reviews of this site that are already on here, I can't believe we were staying at the same place!

I can't argue that the owner was extremely helpful when we arrived, basically telling us to pitch anywhere, we thought about others, and pitched accordingly, on what was a very wet, sloping site, with very long grass! Do not believe this site is flat, if it is, it's flat at an angle if you get my meaning.

The only positive we could offer for the site is that there was hot water in the showers, showers which were in extremely poor condition, generally dirty, but that seemed to be in keeping with all of the 'facilities', which were generally run down, in a poor state of repair, and as I must report bordering on unhealthy. We didn't use the 'washing up' facility which was outside, one old sink, (filthy dirty) with a cold hose supplying it.

There was no lighting on the site, given our caravan was on this field as described, using the 'facilities' after dark was perilous.

There was a hand written sign in the shower area which read, ' please do not wash your dog in the shower', seems to sum this site up completely.

The location was ok if you were a walker, in fact the area was quite nice, that is the only reason this scores a 5 on our otherwise damming review.

Would we visit again, not a chance!

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019