Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Turner Hall Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Broughton In Furness > Turner Hall Camp Site Reviews

Turner Hall Camp Site
Seathwaite
(lake District)
Broughton In Furness
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA20 6EE
Tel: 01229 716420
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 Simply stunning, 98% perfection for me

I enquired though this website and got a quick response confirming they had space and directed me to their website to book, I did this and all was done and dusted in no time.

This site is in such a lovely location that I feel words won't describe it as well as it actually is. It was easy to find following the sat nav and as we had booked online we were able to go straight in and find a pitch.

The site is split into many different areas, some for tents only, cars left in the small parking area, large open spaces, with the most stunning views and a few little nooks to hide away in. We choose a small nook, which was not the flattest, however it was easily leveled and being hard standing / rock, we did not put any type of awning up, not that we wanted to as would have spoilt the views.

There are huge rocks for the children to climb and play on, streams to paddle in, open spaces to play in, farming to watch and learn and just the wonderfulness of the great outdoors. This site is perfect for children in my opinion as there is so much to do, and all this with no phone reception at all, perfect.

There is a lovely toilet and shower block with three toilets and showers for each. The facilities were kept very clean and well maintained and the showers were £1 for 4 mins, which was enough time even after a walk up Scafell Pike. Fresh water points by the facilities and washing up area too. The provide recycling facilities and there is also a portaloo for the far field of the campsite as it is quite a walk to the main block. This was also clean and stocked with loo roll and hand san.

The site is simply stunning, such amazing views all around and there is so much walking in the area you could spend days exploring and never visit the same spot.

There is a pub about half a mile walk away, the Newfold Inn, we had a stroll there after climbing Scafell Pike and the menu choce was good and the food coming out of the kitchen looked great. The range of beers and wine was good too and their scones looked amazing, although we did not have one.

There is also a lovely river across the road with a couple of waterfalls and great to cool down in or have a little swim!

I cannot express how delightful this site is and I will be back time and time and time again, especially for the price, location and the fact there is no phone reception so you can really get away from it all. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Brianalfred 7 reviews from this member

 This is now the 3rd time I've used this wonderful site - the nearest thing to wild camping without actually being in the wild.

I guess as a result the only downside is you have to search for a truly flat pitch if that's what you need. But there are plenty of interesting spaces and nooks and crannies. Try watching the sunrise or sunset from the top of the rocks.

The facilities are excellent, clean, and every time I've been there there were no queues for loos, showers or washing-up. Price is now £10pppn and a 4 min shower is £1. Freezer block freezing is free.

Hilary does a morning tour to check everyone is OK, she's very helpful and friendly.

The only water tap I could see is outside the toilet block so if you're in the far field you have quite a way to go! There's a chemical toilet in the far field.

A path from the farm leads right onto the route up and over to Coniston or Seathwaite tarn.

I'll be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 49 reviews from this member

 First a warning, access this summer via Ulpha is fine but the road bridge to the north of the site is SHUT, probably until the end of August 2021. So no access Cockley Bridge on the Hardknott/Wrynose road. There is a footpath detour but this adds a couple of miles to the journey.

Food: the nearby pub is open, though we didn't try it. The "Crosby Shack Shed" on the Birker Fell road is excellent - bacon butties, hot drinks etc but a 20 mins drive. The site itself sells eggs, otherwise you need to be self sufficient.

Bring ice bricks to keep things cold as there is a freezer.

Everything very well managed and clean. £1 coins for showers. No hair driers. The biggest source of noise were the sheep! Do remember your midge repellent. Don't expect any mobile signal unless you are on the tops of the fells. Endless walking and mountain biking direct from the site. Don't forget your map.

Seathwaite Church is a delight - the home of Wonderful Walker for those who like their Wordsworth. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Peter in Blackpool 14 reviews from this member

 Another visit to this fantastic site, only one or two others on the site at this time of year.

Epic rain whilst I was there but still the most fantastic scenery. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Peter in Blackpool 14 reviews from this member

 Another fabulous camping trip to Turner Hall, first time for the campervan. Weather was scorching, butvwe did have an epic thunderstorm on the first night, it didn't let up all night, but the sunshine the next day was worth it.

Bit different this year due to C-19, had to book in advance and pay via bank transfer, this was so that Hillary could ensure that social distancing was adhered to.

Slight price increase this year £8 per person £1 per tent £2 per campervan £1 per car. Per night. Still excellent value.

Toilet and shower facilities were kept spotless by Hillary (still being cleaned at 1am) and a 1 in 1 out system at the toilets and showers. Unfortunately the Newfield Inn nearby was not open due to a revamp.

As always this is a lovely, well kept, site and the views are incredible. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Murphy 1 review from this member

 Clean well run campsite in a lovely location, second visit here.

Even though there were other camper vans and tents the site didn't feel overly busy and other people staying there behaved in a considerate and respectful way to others, no loud music or selfish behaviour. Wonderful!

Thank you Hilary for another lovely stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elliot 1 review from this member

 Awesome campsite. Great working farm.

Very welcome and very clean. Great location.

I've used this campsite a good few times now and will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Solcol 1 review from this member

 Beautiful peaceful location with stunning views. Camping field has unrestricted pitches, but some areas are sloping.

Very narrow access roads, but personally think this is what keeps this out of the way place so special.

Toilet block and wash up is very clean, and the site is immaculate. Heather the owner, can be seen working all the time around the site to maintain the very high standard.

Good value and a pleasure to stay there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jessev 1 review from this member

 We were definitely pleased with the campsite’s location, facilities, service and general “vibe”.

I would recommend this spot in the future to any of my friends /family members wishing to go camping !

Ps we loved all the cute dogs :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Dranth 1 review from this member

 Great location - nicely away from it all. Really friendly and clean.

Despite the mixed weather we had a lovely relaxing stay.

Recommended and will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Turner Hall Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Turner Hall Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Turner Hall Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Broughton In Furness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement