Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Turner Hall Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Broughton In Furness > Turner Hall Camp Site Reviews

Turner Hall Camp Site
Seathwaite
(lake District)
Broughton In Furness
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA20 6EE
Tel: 01229 716420
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
                9/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Francis 1 1 review from this member

This is a 10 star campsite. The pitches are individual and excellent and pick your own.

There is no greediness from the camp owners trying to cram as many people on as possible if anything the amount of pitch space you have is phenomenal.

Location and walks are excellent there is a brilliant pub serving food (the newfield inn) 5 min walk from site and Hilary who runs the camping side is an excellent host.

I stay here as often as I can.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 15 reviews from this member

Brilliant site!

We stayed 6 nights (Sunday-Saturday) at the end of July with our 2 kids and another family. The weather wasn't great but the site was really quiet until the Friday, when the weather improved and it suddenly got pretty busy.

The site is beautifully situated in the quiet Duddon valley. It is fairly remote and access is along single track lanes so not an easy drive, as such, but equally no real problems if you take it sensibly.

The site is set over 3 fields with a gravel road running through. Although the site is on sloping, uneven ground it is cleverly set out so that there are plenty of level areas to pitch your tent and lots of little private nooks and crannies among the big rocky outcrops. There are no specific set pitches, you can just chose wherever you want to go and the farmers wife will collect your fees in the morning. This site has the most amazing panoramic views of the surrounding fells and is lovely and quiet. The site is well maintained and the grass is thick and green, but kept nice and short. No problems pegging out; despite the rocky appearance the ground was actually fairly soft and easy for pegging.

There is a toilet block at the entrance of the first field, with separate ladies and men's toilets (3 toilets each) and basins with hot water. The shower facilities are in a separate adjacent building, each housing 3 showers. Perfectly practical with large cubicles and kept clean. It is worth mentioning that he showers cost 1 for 4 minutes not long, especially if you have a little one to shower with you! But hot and powerful.

There is a little kids play area with rope swings and a ride on tractor and other toys and the rocks make for brilliant kid friendly climbing. Watching the farmers and dogs gathering and moving the sheep around the fields and fells is great, although it was shearing time whilst we were there and was quite noisy at times. Only to be expected as it's a working farm and all part of the charm.

Great traditional pub in Seathwaite, 1/4 mile walk down the road. Direct and easy access to the fells for walking.

All in all a very picturesque and generally quiet site with all the basics well covered. We loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mlcreed 7 reviews from this member

We stumbled on this camp site after slightly over estimating how far we could run with heavy back packs and tired legs. What a find!

The owners were lovely. There were three huge fields to choose where to camp which were very well kept. The third field was really quiet which was exactly what we were after. The setting was very picturesque with mountain views from pretty much all sides.

The shower and toilet block were clean and well kept. Only downside we thought 1 was a bit much for a 4 minute shower, maybe 6 minutes would be a bit more generous.

The pub down the road in Seathwaite was gorgeous and would recommend food and beer.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peter in Blackpool 11 reviews from this member

Another fabulous two nights at this wonderful site, arrived on the Monday, slightly overcast but the weather just got better and better. Site was quiet ( just how we like it ) only two other tents.

Site fees have remained the same as last year, 6 per adult, 1 per tent, 1 per car. Showers are the same 1 for a good four minute power shower and the toilets and shower blocks are spotless. One minor niggle, got bit to death by midges so remember to bring anti-histamine tablets and midge spray. Very nice site and friendly owners, will be coming here for years to come.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ShirleyAS 1 review from this member

We arrived at the campsite on an extremely wet Bank Holiday Saturday. Unfortunately we didn't quite make it to the camping field as the van engine (poorly on the journey up) finally spluttered to a stop on the last hill up to the farmhouse, and we had to roll back to a track.

The owners were very kind, let us use their phone to call the breakdown service (mobile coverage being non-existent) and refused payment although we used the campsite facilities. The toilets were clean and well stocked, and the washing up area while outside had plentiful hot water. Due to the continuing rain we never made it to the pub but heard good reports of the food and portion size. We didn't see enough of the Duddon valley before being 'recovered', but it was clearly a beautiful area with both easy and challenging walks available from the site.

The site seemed ideally suited to families like us in search of an active weekend but not late night parties. I hope we will return in better weather. The rain and wind did have the advantage of keeping midges at bay though!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peter in Blackpool 11 reviews from this member

Back from yet another visit to this fantastic site, Mon - Wed. One or two families and myself on the site this time so as peaceful as ever. Weather was stunning ( hot and sunny ).

Prices remain the same 6:00 per adult 1:00 per tent 1:00 per car, 2:00 for a campervan and 1:00 for a dog, all per night. Fees are collected in the morning by the young lady who runs the site, she is very helpful and can advise you of an easier route to the site so as to avoid all the single track roads.

Bathroom facilities are clean, hot water is plentiful for shaving in the gents toilets thanks to hot water geyser and the showers are wonderfully hot and powerful (1:00 for for minutes )

Fabulous scenery at this site which is a working farm and it`s always a treat to watch the farmer and his sheepdogs rounding up the sheep in the evening.

Ideal base for walking or for trips out in the car to the Cumbrian coast.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

Almost stunning views. Pitch anywhere, whether for shelter from the wind, or for shade, or for the views.

No need to book - a nice woman comes round for payment in the morning.

Three large hilly (but landscaped for plenty of flat areas) fields. The grass was like a lawn, with pegs going in easily. Other campers were quiet. Zero road noise.

But long or wide vehicles could have access trouble, and miles of single track roads would make summer weekend travel to it a nightmare.

6 per person, plus 1 per tent and 1 per car. 1 for a four minute shower. No hot water, toilet paper may run out, but enough toilets and hand basins. And clean enough for my woman and me.

Quite busy on our Monday night in late July. But not crowded.

One of our top three favourite campsites (see Low Wray and Rydal Hall).

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulandsue 6 reviews from this member

After about 20 years I returned to this site. It has expanded with moor camping area and showers. The shower timer could do with a extra 1 min adding on especially if I was to use the site in the winter. Apart from this what a lovely site. This would be a brill site for the moor adventures kids young and old. Nice pitches among the cragy outcrops adds to the setting. Easy access to the coniston fells and wallna scar.

Overall rating 8 shower fix would get a 9. Don't do 10 as there is always a bit of room :-)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walkers41 10 reviews from this member

This site was recommended to us. It is in a beautiful location which is not the easiest to get there by campervan from the north. Access from the south would be better. The site is peaceful and very relaxed. The price is about average at 6 per person, 2 for the van and 1 for the dog. I was disappointed to find that the showers were an additional cost though.

Although we usually use basic sites I think this one is better suited to tents.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peter in Blackpool 11 reviews from this member

Just back from a quick overnight at TURNER HALL. And am happy to report that it is just as idyllic as all the previous occasions that I have camped here.

Prices have stayed the same at 6 per person 1 per tent 1 per car and 1 a dog, all per night.

Toilet and shower facilities are spotless and the showers are powerful and hot 1 for four mins, which I find is plenty long enough.

Location is as stunning as ever and we were blessed with the most glorious hot weather ( I even swam in the stream nearby)

Only ourselves and one other couple on the whole site, and as usual a well deserved walk down to the NEWFIELD INN to round off the day with local ales and pleasant staff.

As I`ve no doubt said in the past, a fantastic site for relaxing

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4856 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019