Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site
Savernake Forest
Marlborough
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN8 4ND
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01672 515195
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 79 Reviews
                8/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 188 reviews from this member

This is a fabulous site set in the forest.

You can arrive from midday and I arrived at 12:30, the warden was busy on the site but spotted me and wandered over to check me in. She was extremely helpful and pointed out all the facilities, where the walks from the site were, where the path into Marlborough was, etc. She also advised they sell bread and a few bits in case I ran out. A great warm welcome and I was left alone after that.

I chose a non electric pitch and there are to the right of the site, there is plenty of space to choose from from being under the trees to having more open space. The electric side of the site also looked lovely but maybe a little more cramped.

I did notice that the electric pitches seem to get more sun both in the evenings and in the mornings, however it was not enough to upset me and I had a full battery to keep me going anyway.

There are plenty of fresh water taps, chemical disposal points, waste bins and dog poo bins dotted around the site. There is also a nice washing up area and toilet block consisting of 4 toilets and one urinal for the gents, these were extremely clean and well stocked. There are no showers but I knew this before I visited and chose this site for its location next to the forest and to Marlborough.

I didn't do the walk into Marlborough but I understand it is not too far and you pass a Tesco on the way for anything you may have forgotten.

The forest is huge and I navigated a 7 mile circular walk through it and didn't walk the same path twice. I spotted lots of picnic spots, great trees to climb, rope swings, etc. So there is plenty for all the family for a nice stroll, especially on a hot day as it is shaded with all the trees.

The area has plenty of offer from the beautiful town of Marlborough to all the sites that Wiltshere has to offer.

I will certainly be back to this site and myself and the dog had a relaxed stay and a great way to recharge the batteries.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Neil684 32 reviews from this member

Another stay at one of our favourite sites. Very friendly and chatty wardens, lovely location in Savernake Forest. 15-20 min walk downhill to the middle of Marlborough with excellent bus services. Tesco even nearer, halfway down the hill.

The forest provides lots of walking and cycling opportunities (but take heed of the Forestry Commission warning and take map AND compass, the forest can be very disorientating).

The facilities are fairly basic and there are no showers - this was no problem for us, our next site was just a field!.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SueCoo 1 review from this member

The campsite is in a lovely location. Lots of walks nearby. The staff gave us a really warm welcome. I would like to thank Jeanette for taking the trouble to find a bus timetables to get to Avebury on a Sunday. They are certainly not very frequent. Also I would like to thank Rob for taking us into Marlborough to catch our bus, especially as we were loaded with luggage & the taxis are hit & miss from the campsite. As we were backpackers it was a great help. The only let down is the lack of a shower. However, there is plenty of hot water in the ladies sinks. Baby wipes were a must have.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mary ayling 3 reviews from this member

Friendly staff who said just to pitch up wherever, that was ok with us. Ground very lumpy and uneven but it is camping in the forest. This seems to excuse all manner of things including dirty, smelly toilets. But it is camping in the forest. No showers, we thought we would stay another night but what with the toilets, not all four womenís in operation, a hole in the floor in the menís being repaired, and no showers. We drove away after one night. Beautiful site in its location, handy for supermarket and lovely walks. This could be SO good so Camping in the Forest get your act together and put some decent facilities in that can be kept cleaner.

I expect there had been a lot of traffic in and out of the toilet block over the weekend but no excuse for dirty toilets on a Monday. The lower shelf of dishwashing area could not have been cleaned for weeks. There is no way you would want to put any clean dishes on there. The basins were dirty in the afternoon, toothpaste, hair etc. And I donít think they had been properly cleaned that morning at 11 or 11. 30. To be fair the staff have little encouragement with poor standard of facility but they could have made better what they have got.

It is camping in the forest after all. Not impressed. Electric hookup was good.

If you donít mind basic or have your own washroom itís fine as the location is great. Donít expect much other than a lovely setting and you wonít be as disappointed as we were

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skipper10 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for 9 nights in September in mixed weather. There was quite a lot of rain, but mostly at night. The ground puddled here and there, but our pitch was ok.

There are a lot of seasonal caravans on the site, mostly on the electrified half of the site, but this limits the choice of sunny pitches. But this is a huge site with mature trees, rabbits, squirrels, jackdaws, small birds, owls calling at night, all of which made it rather special in this quiet time of year.

There is a Tesco close by which was easy to fit into our journeys and a steepish, rather slippery footpath walk away.

The facilities are simple, worked ok for us, but probably inadequate in busy times. No showers.

Our contact with the staff was minimal, just a helpful greeting, then we were independant.

Would we go again or recommend it to fellow oldies. Yes I think so.

We walked the Great Stones Way in daily sections, the reason for our stay. This is an excellent long distance path, highly recommended. We walked 60 miles in all.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ponder 1 review from this member

Great site and very friendly helpful staff. Lovely forest with great walks for us and our dog. Only wish they would replace the toilets and wash block, very dated and worn out. That does put us off another visit. Also it does state that you should have 3m between pitches (a rule which only relies on the good will and common sense of visitors). We were unfortunate to have a group of inconsiderate women with children and a man pitched very close to us. Not only were they talking loud well into the night but insisted on shooting objects on our tent. They would also spread them selves outside a large area they already took up with they're three tents and gazebo.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelsG 3 reviews from this member

We camped at Postern Hill with our dog on 28/29/30 July. Very helpful and friendly receptionists and really pretty campsite with plenty of room and perfect for dog walking in the forest. The trees break up the camping area nicely and it's much prettier than camping in a field. The toilets are very cramped, particularly as there are no showers, but not bad. Looked like there were plenty of electric hook-ups around, although we opted not to use one. We paid £20. 40 per night, which I think is a little steep without shower facilities (lack of showers was a big talking point at the dishwashing station!) but we will definitely go back as the site is beautiful. Short walk to Marlborough which is a lovely town and has a fabulous butchers for BBQ supplies. The hot-dogs cooked outside the shop were about the best we've ever tasted. Overall we love this place but would only ever stay for 2 nights max due to no showers. Postern Hill - please consider installing a shower block!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Minimadjonesy 7 reviews from this member

Site is lovely and in the heart of the forest with plenty of walks. In Walking distance is a Tesco, a lovely pic. And there is usually an icecream van there on nice weather days!

Kids can freely roam and use the perimeter track for their bikes, traffic is minimal and everyone keeps to the speed limit too!

Pitches are not marked but one of the wardens will guide you to your assigned location and are. Dry helpful. Only downside to the site is the facilities! Toilets are adequate but dated however, there are no showers and the toilets are quite cramped so washing is awkward. In my opinion the addition of a shower block will make this a first class site! (The local sports centre do offer showers for a reasonable fee but is 1. 5 miles away)

We will return as it is very local to us but if you travel a long way be aware of the above!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sumps53 37 reviews from this member

The site was not at its best as there had been prolonged heavy rain but the team were very welcoming and friendly and explained this - as you would expect. They very kindly found us a spot with some firm footings, supplied an extension lead and we used our mover so as not to churn up any of the greensward.

We love woodland sites and - whilst we prefer to use hook-up, do not require any other facilities. We are regulars at Setthorns in the New Forest and thus had, I think, realistic expectations. We had a good two night stay but the site had an overall air of tiredness - not helped by the collection of stored vans, most of which looked as if they hadn't been moved for a couple of years. The site also had a number of apparently long-term inhabitants, who did not appear particularly welcoming. It's difficult to encapsulate our feelings and we have no wish to be unfair. It's possible that our views may have been influenced by the prevailing weather conditions? The location is great, though, for exploring the nearby town of Marlborough, with all its facilities, and the Vale of White Horse, and indeed the Savernake Forest itself. The Tesco nearby is very handy.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carole934 7 reviews from this member

A simple site that really is next to the massive expanse of Savernake Forest.

Basic facilities - only loos but no showers for some reason. Immaculately clean. Washing up facilities too. Loos closed in low season.

Wardens are very friendly and helpful. They keep the site in very good order. No shop as such, just a few supplies during peak season. Tesco is at the bottom of the hill, though.

Very dog-friendly and not far to go to let them off the lead in the forest. Kids seemed to enjoy the site too.

Quite a relaxed atmosphere, which is pleasant, and everyone is very friendly. Road noise is a bit of an issue and it drones virtually all of her time. The sort of site that is great as a base, but not ideal for just sitting and chilling out for a couple of days.

The forest is incredible. Can definitely sit and chill there, and walk a different route every day. More visitors at weekends, not surprisingly, but a magical place with plenty of room for everyone.

Useful, simple site that is well placed for exploring the local area.

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2966 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019