Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Marlborough > Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site
Savernake Forest
Marlborough
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN8 4ND
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Luke H 1 review from this member

 Thanks to Rob at Postern Hill campsite for a brilliant stay. It was just what me and my family needed - and more!

We had an issue with our battery running flat, but the manager came and helped start up the car in no time, such a friendly guy.

Wishing you all the best and we will certainly look at returning in the future.

Luke and family 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nannyhannah 1 review from this member

 We are so pleased to have found Postern Hill. We stayed on a non-electric pitch with our caravan - 2 dogs and 2 children and we all had a lovely time.

Beautiful woodland walks, Marlborough close by for shops and The Royal Oak pub down the road serving divine food.

The campsite was kept clean and tidy. The wardens were very knowledgable and helpful and supervised the site without encroaching on personal space like we've had a previous sites.

The children loved tree climbing and endlessly riding their push bikes.

Highly recommend - just booked our next visit! 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul and Jean 1 review from this member

 Great site within the forest - exactly as described. Yes, it rained everyday so the site was wet and the ground muddy. But the wardens were excellent and really helpful and welcoming.

The toilets are old but kept immaculate - not easy given their age and design.

We will certainly be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Drjbc 60 reviews from this member

 Whenever possible we like campsites with walks straight from the site without having to drive first.

The walks from here are not just in the forest but also along the ridge and river valley to the east and into Marlbourough down the steep hill to the north. If you do want to drive there are other good walking areas within a few miles.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, with a relaxed attitude to where we pitched and even arranged a refund when we transferred to a cheaper pitch that the website had wrongly claimed were all full.

Just one negative - obviously the toilets have to be closed for cleaning, but does it have to be between 9 and 10 in the morning? That's exactly when most campers are going to want to use them! 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CJWholi 1 review from this member

 We came when the weather was awful but the welcome that Chris and Rachel gave us could not have been warmer.

Yes it rained but this forest is as good as you will find anywhere.

We will be back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 33 reviews from this member

 The welcome was excellent and the staff very helpful, the site is clean and well kept, they could do with thinking about having a drive over grey waste for motor homes, but other than that it has good services, but note there are no showers.

Local to the forest for cycling with lots of off road and traffic free routes. There is a footpath down the hill into Marlborough but its not for the unfit, (its a good climb back up the hill for the return).

Lots of level pitches, although some are on a slope, but lots of room and a relaxed attitude to choosing a site to park.

Overall a great site and one which we will use again in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Moonraker1973 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant location, facilities are basic and looking a bit worn. Only major gripe was the fact that one of our party needed to go to Swindon casualty after getting glow stick gel over their face.

This was at 10:20pm, after the gates had been locked at 10pm and the staff on site begrudgingly opened the gate, without showing any care or consideration for the casualty.

Despite this, this site has so much potential, and being located in Savernake Forest it is a great place for adventures. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue6 29 reviews from this member

 When not a peak times this site is a get-away-from-it-all-gem, if you like peace & quiet. There is a steep hill to walk into Marlborough.

There are no showers, there are bugs in the summer! Plenty of good dog walking from this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyctr 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site on the Northern edge of the beautiful Savernake Forest. Its clean well-kept and among the trees it has a great feel to the site, staff are very friendly.

There is one downfall and thatís the lack of any showers. This really lets Postern Hill down and I am afraid this is not reflected in the cost, one small van and side awning for one night with EHU was £26 and with the current facilities its simply not worth this cost.

I was here some years ago and the facilities have not changed, even worse is there were showers that are no longer in place and look to be used as cleaning materials storage. Considering how camping and sites have improved in the last ten years this is a real restraint for Postern Hill which is such a shame.

The location to the forest and the walking distance to Marlborough which is a lovely picturesque town means in has such potential which needs to be Maximised with better facilities, the very least a shower facility.  


Date of Visit: June 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 245 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous site set in the forest.

You can arrive from midday and I arrived at 12:30, the warden was busy on the site but spotted me and wandered over to check me in. She was extremely helpful and pointed out all the facilities, where the walks from the site were, where the path into Marlborough was, etc. She also advised they sell bread and a few bits in case I ran out. A great warm welcome and I was left alone after that.

I chose a non electric pitch and there are to the right of the site, there is plenty of space to choose from from being under the trees to having more open space. The electric side of the site also looked lovely but maybe a little more cramped.

I did notice that the electric pitches seem to get more sun both in the evenings and in the mornings, however it was not enough to upset me and I had a full battery to keep me going anyway.

There are plenty of fresh water taps, chemical disposal points, waste bins and dog poo bins dotted around the site. There is also a nice washing up area and toilet block consisting of 4 toilets and one urinal for the gents, these were extremely clean and well stocked. There are no showers but I knew this before I visited and chose this site for its location next to the forest and to Marlborough.

I didn't do the walk into Marlborough but I understand it is not too far and you pass a Tesco on the way for anything you may have forgotten.

The forest is huge and I navigated a 7 mile circular walk through it and didn't walk the same path twice. I spotted lots of picnic spots, great trees to climb, rope swings, etc. So there is plenty for all the family for a nice stroll, especially on a hot day as it is shaded with all the trees.

The area has plenty of offer from the beautiful town of Marlborough to all the sites that Wiltshere has to offer.

I will certainly be back to this site and myself and the dog had a relaxed stay and a great way to recharge the batteries. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Marlborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement