Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Postern Hill Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Marlborough > Postern Hill Campsite > Reviews

Postern Hill Campsite
Savernake Forest
Marlborough
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN8 4ND
Tel: 01672 515195
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 170
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nannyhannah 1 review from this member

 We are so pleased to have found Postern Hill. We stayed on a non-electric pitch with our caravan - 2 dogs and 2 children and we all had a lovely time.

Beautiful woodland walks, Marlborough close by for shops and The Royal Oak pub down the road serving divine food.

The campsite was kept clean and tidy. The wardens were very knowledgable and helpful and supervised the site without encroaching on personal space like we've had a previous sites.

The children loved tree climbing and endlessly riding their push bikes.

Highly recommend - just booked our next visit! 


Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aishlynsmum 3 reviews from this member

 This is our favourite site so far. Absolutely beautiful setting in the forest.

The on-site team are brilliant & facilities, though basic, are scrupulously clean. You’ll need your own shower.

Hook ups are available - as is a tractor to pull you out if stuck on the grass!

Walking distance to the lovely town of Marlborough as well as direct access to the forest.

Take your anti-slip mats & you’ll love it. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bromsgrove-Man 9 reviews from this member

 Small site in walking distance of the town and with great access to the forest.

I had expected it to be a more secluded and spacious site from what I had read before we visited and the promise of 'Camping in the Forest'. What I found was a small-ish site based around one circular road.

There are trees on the site but not much in the way of shrubbery or hedges, so you can see one side of the site from the other. So its fine but its not somewhere to go if you like to find a private pitch with space to yourself.

We were told the site had plenty of space when we arrived but it seemed quite busy and while there was space we struggled to find somewhere level to pitch - without encroaching too much on others. The electric pitches did seem to take up most of the site and to be more open and have more space as far as it goes. The Grass pitches were well kept, though not all that level.

The toilets had basins with hot and cold water and four stalls. There was some queuing at times but it generally was adequate, and they were kept very clean. There is a code to be remembered for the toilets. No showers, which we didn't realise until a couple of days before our visit, not sure why when they do have plumbing on site.

Have to say everyone else camping on the site was very friendly and we probably spoke to more people on this site than we ever have at any other site, in part I suppose as we had so many neighbours close by. A lot of dogs on site too and people walking them around the circular road in the evenings.

You have to get out and open and close the gate yourself when you enter and leave the site and you also have too keep an eye on the time if you are out all day as the road gate is locked at 10pm. There seemed to be several wardens about the hut on site at all times but other than check in we didn't really need anything.

Overall did feel it was a little bit expensive, given the basic facilities, but it is somewhere I would go back to - more for the location than anything specific with the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ann Dawson 17 reviews from this member

 Wardens were welcoming,

Access easy to find, toilets were clean but a bit cramped

TV signal was poor and no wifi signal anywhere except at Waitrose in Marlborough. As we were working this was a problem for us. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cn150 18 reviews from this member

 This is quite a nice campsite on the outskirts of Marlborough on a hill at the top of Savernake Forest.

Mostly a flat site. All the electric pitches had mostly caravans, motorhomes, or camper vans. There were just a few people staying in tents.

Toilet facilities are ‘forest style’ and perfectly functional and clean. There are dishwashing facilities with hot water.

The wardens are friendly and welcoming.

Torch is needed at night for walking about.

Easy walk out to the forest. Tesco supermarket nearby. You can also walk to Marlborough from the campsite. Campsite gates open at 07:30 and are locked at 22:00.

The wardens have a cabin / reception selling various items, and coffees, ice creams, and possibly pizza too? No campfires are allowed as it’s in a forest.

Recycling is available. Lots of drinking water points. Avebury ancient world heritage site is within easy travelling distance of approximately 10 minutes.

It didn’t rain when we were there but the ground was still quite soft and moist. I recommend using rock pegs here for pegging out your tent. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Hobart0406 14 reviews from this member

 We liked the fact that it was open in February.

Very helpful and friendly staff who helped us place our caravan and get it out later.

As storm Eunice had occurred the ground was soft and muddy but their tractor got us in and out.

Very clean and warm toilets. Ample water and other outlets including electric hook ups.

We enjoyed our short stay a lot. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Justdave73 3 reviews from this member

 We come here a lot through the year

We love this place, the grandkids love it. there is no play area for kids which is great, my grandkids make there own entertainment in the forest making bug hotels, building stick tents. They forget all about technology the whole time we were there

The wardens are fantastic and looking forward to seeing them soon. 😁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ellebee1959 9 reviews from this member

 Just spent a fabulous week at this site. Wonderful walks in the forest, dogs loved it.

Quiet, well maintained site with approachable friendly wardens.

Croissants etc are worth ordering for the next day and Pizza cooked on Saturdays. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Greatwhiterabbit 10 reviews from this member

 This spacious site is in a great location, especially for cycling.

The footpath to Marlborough is steep but good exercise!

The £3 late departure offer is a nice feature. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Luke H 1 review from this member

 Thanks to Rob at Postern Hill campsite for a brilliant stay. It was just what me and my family needed - and more!

We had an issue with our battery running flat, but the manager came and helped start up the car in no time, such a friendly guy.

Wishing you all the best and we will certainly look at returning in the future.

Luke and family 
via mobile


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Postern Hill Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Postern Hill Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Postern Hill Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Marlborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement