Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Marlborough > Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site
Savernake Forest
Marlborough
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN8 4ND
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01672 515195
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 93 Reviews
                8/10 from 93 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cn150 17 reviews from this member

 This is quite a nice campsite on the outskirts of Marlborough on a hill at the top of Savernake Forest.

Mostly a flat site. All the electric pitches had mostly caravans, motorhomes, or camper vans. There were just a few people staying in tents.

Toilet facilities are Ďforest styleí and perfectly functional and clean. There are dishwashing facilities with hot water.

The wardens are friendly and welcoming.

Torch is needed at night for walking about.

Easy walk out to the forest. Tesco supermarket nearby. You can also walk to Marlborough from the campsite. Campsite gates open at 07:30 and are locked at 22:00.

The wardens have a cabin / reception selling various items, and coffees, ice creams, and possibly pizza too? No campfires are allowed as itís in a forest.

Recycling is available. Lots of drinking water points. Avebury ancient world heritage site is within easy travelling distance of approximately 10 minutes.

It didnít rain when we were there but the ground was still quite soft and moist. I recommend using rock pegs here for pegging out your tent. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Hobart0406 14 reviews from this member

 We liked the fact that it was open in February.

Very helpful and friendly staff who helped us place our caravan and get it out later.

As storm Eunice had occurred the ground was soft and muddy but their tractor got us in and out.

Very clean and warm toilets. Ample water and other outlets including electric hook ups.

We enjoyed our short stay a lot. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Justdave73 3 reviews from this member

 We come here a lot through the year

We love this place, the grandkids love it. there is no play area for kids which is great, my grandkids make there own entertainment in the forest making bug hotels, building stick tents. They forget all about technology the whole time we were there

The wardens are fantastic and looking forward to seeing them soon. 😁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ellebee1959 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent a fabulous week at this site. Wonderful walks in the forest, dogs loved it.

Quiet, well maintained site with approachable friendly wardens.

Croissants etc are worth ordering for the next day and Pizza cooked on Saturdays. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Greatwhiterabbit 9 reviews from this member

 This spacious site is in a great location, especially for cycling.

The footpath to Marlborough is steep but good exercise!

The £3 late departure offer is a nice feature. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Luke H 1 review from this member

 Thanks to Rob at Postern Hill campsite for a brilliant stay. It was just what me and my family needed - and more!

We had an issue with our battery running flat, but the manager came and helped start up the car in no time, such a friendly guy.

Wishing you all the best and we will certainly look at returning in the future.

Luke and family 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nannyhannah 1 review from this member

 We are so pleased to have found Postern Hill. We stayed on a non-electric pitch with our caravan - 2 dogs and 2 children and we all had a lovely time.

Beautiful woodland walks, Marlborough close by for shops and The Royal Oak pub down the road serving divine food.

The campsite was kept clean and tidy. The wardens were very knowledgable and helpful and supervised the site without encroaching on personal space like we've had a previous sites.

The children loved tree climbing and endlessly riding their push bikes.

Highly recommend - just booked our next visit! 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul and Jean 1 review from this member

 Great site within the forest - exactly as described. Yes, it rained everyday so the site was wet and the ground muddy. But the wardens were excellent and really helpful and welcoming.

The toilets are old but kept immaculate - not easy given their age and design.

We will certainly be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Drjbc 61 reviews from this member

 Whenever possible we like campsites with walks straight from the site without having to drive first.

The walks from here are not just in the forest but also along the ridge and river valley to the east and into Marlbourough down the steep hill to the north. If you do want to drive there are other good walking areas within a few miles.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, with a relaxed attitude to where we pitched and even arranged a refund when we transferred to a cheaper pitch that the website had wrongly claimed were all full.

Just one negative - obviously the toilets have to be closed for cleaning, but does it have to be between 9 and 10 in the morning? That's exactly when most campers are going to want to use them! 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CJWholi 1 review from this member

 We came when the weather was awful but the welcome that Chris and Rachel gave us could not have been warmer.

Yes it rained but this forest is as good as you will find anywhere.

We will be back. 
via mobile


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Postern Hill Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Marlborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement