Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stroud Hill Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Stroud Hill Park Reviews

Stroud Hill Park
Fen Road
Pidley
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 3DE
Tel: 01487 741333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 99 Reviews
                9/10 from 99 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ChrisBradburn 10 reviews from this member

 First class site, with restaurant and bar on site. Excellent showers and loos, although not many of them.

Individual water taps adjacent along with grey water drain so if you have a long hose and waste pipe, you can connect directly.

Restaurant serves good quality food and a reasonable selection of beer. Nearest shop is three miles away.

There is a golf course and country club nearby, 10 minutes walk. Very peaceful, adult only site with dark skies at night.

Lower pitches are sheltered from the wind by surrounding trees.

Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LR2007 24 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site and told to pick an available pitch.

Some near to the facilities didnít look very level at all but we chose one further on which was fairly level and large too.

There are grass pitches also on the second level.

What can I say about the facilities? Clean but very dated. A beautiful building and I was naively expecting a wow factor, I got more of a blast from the past.

Certainly need more lighting as very dark. Hubby likes to fish but not the best lake for that although Iím sure itís a beautiful setting for the weddings they hold.

Donít think you can fish on those days either? We had a meal which was ok but a little over priced for what it was in our opinion.

Much better sites out there that have kept up to date with things. It was an ok site, one we would return to as a stopover but not one thatís going to draw us back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bongo bongo 1 review from this member

 Classic example of a site Manager who was unable to make a decision without the owners permission. The owner, who hid behind his manager was happy to take our money but when things went wrong didn't show any empathy or enter into conversation with us.

Site toilets very clean. Nothing to do near by. Pitch apart from the electrical problems, you will require a long waste pipe if you are to use what they call their FULL service pitch.

Thank you to our fellow campers who helped us out, no thanks to the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 107 reviews from this member

 We used this as an overnight stop between the Suffolk coast and Stratford upon Avon. £26 pn. The site is on a hill and everyone seemed to need chocks even on the hardstanding.

The pitches near Reception / Restaurant are especially small and uneven. Admin is a bit slapdash.

We were told we could park on any hardstanding only to find, as we got to the very top of the hill that they were all taken! Reception also has limited hours. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Leyburn28 7 reviews from this member

 Booked for 3 nights but only stayed 1 as storm was incoming and did not want to risk damage to tent.

Covid procedures in place and very clear. Have stayed here before and standards high as usual. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Liptrot 5 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site. It is a lovely site with good facilities. Very clean every day although due to Covid extra work put on the staff.

On site restaurant was really nice, with good food at reasonable prices. The fishing lake is a nice feature for dog walking and was always very tranquil to walk around.

It was nice to see a mix of tents and vans on site. A rarity these days.

Access to site is good, and well away from major roads. All I would say is if you are in later years or unfit stay at the Lower hard standing pitches as there is quite a hill to climb up to the higher grass pitches, and a little further away from toilets. Overall a lovely site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 34 reviews from this member

 Probably not our usual sort of site but my goodness do they do it well! Makes use of the terrain - a hill in Cambridgeshire, yes there are some! - to offer both privacy and stunning views, with wildflower areas grass left long interspersed with mown walkways.

Hardstandings are large and level, each with their own water, EHU and grey water drain; if there is no one in reception you are directed to go and find a vacant pitch. We chose a large hardstanding area halfway up the hill which accommodates four units (would be ideal to book for a group of friends together)

There are a number which are very close to the reception area, bar/ restaurant / showers/ toilets and wash up areas which are all located in an attractive large timber barn, so would be suitable for someone less mobile.

Good (undercover!) elsan point and easy access to one central rubbish/recycling skip. At the very top of the hill are grass pitches, some of which have EHU and water points, and beyond this a large and very attractive fishing lake,

There are nice walks around the site, on an easy 1 hour circuit round neighbouring fields and also in the surrounding area. We didn't use the facilities except the restaurant, but a quick inspection of the wash up area showed that it was large and pleasant; lots of notices about social distancing which were appreciated.

The restaurant itself is very good; they serve food every evening and most lunchtimes in high season - we needed to book even on a Monday. We have been shielding so asked to eat on the terrace which was cheerfully arranged; they will also do takeaways. Menu is pub standards but very good quality and well presented and priced; very friendly staff.

Full marks Stroud Hill - a very pleasant stop over and would stay longer next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PHB100 1 review from this member

 Although there is no complaint about the site

We did think that the COVID 19 precautions were not good, there was no checking of temperatures on arrival, people left to there own devices when entering toilets and showers, masks not being worn, not using the sanitiser before entering. It is a big issue when one person is protecting others but others not protecting in this case me. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pendywooley 27 reviews from this member

 Stayed for New Year, first time we have booked for this event. Main reason was that the site didn't have any firework display for NY, as one of our dogs hates loud bangs. Site is off tarmac narrow road with some passing places, at end of road is a golf club. There is fishing available.

Friendly staff on reception, unfortunately the wardens will be leaving soon, they helped make our stay enjoyable, very accommodating, helping out at bar etc.

Facilities and restaurant/bar were in a purpose built barn like building. Washing areas good and clean - but this is adult only, which helps. The dogs are welcome in the restaurant/bar and 2 course Sunday lunch was good quality and a fair price.

We would consider returning later in year, to further explore the area and enjoy a relaxing break where you can stay on site and not use the car. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Flearn 11 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with great facilities. Beautiful oak buildings with toilet blocks and restaurant.

Very clean site with peaceful surroundings.

Easy access to Cambridge, Ely etc.

Restaurant open Wed to Sat. Food very good. 


Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stroud Hill Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Stroud Hill Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3757 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement