Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waters Edge Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Waters Edge Caravan Park Reviews

Waters Edge Caravan Park
The Lake District
Crooklands
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA7 7NN
Tel: 015395 67708
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 29
Open: 03/07/2020 to 30/11/2020
           01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chrish 1 review from this member

 Visited the site with our eldest son (28) for a few days get away as we had not been able to take our original planned holiday Ö. A cruse to Alaska earlier on in the year due to Covid - 19.

A very nice little site with good clean facilities and good Covid - 19 rules.

Only gave the site 8/10 for location as its around 15/20 mins drive into Kendal and overall mark 9/10 for this reason other than that.

The owner/manager was vary good and helpful. We would use this site again without a second thought ***** 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyt2 1 review from this member

 Mr turner. Very nice campsite. Clean.

Owners really nice and helpful. Definitely stay again. Nice walks and easy to get to other places.

Pub just around the corner.

Nice food 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cathryn arthur 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet site, we visited on a Saturday overnight with our two dogs, good sized level hardstanding pitch in nice surroundings water on one side hills and view of church on the other.

With the covid restriction there were a few of the amenities out of use, bar, shop and limited toilet cubicle and showers, what was available was very clean.

One thing l did notice as a dog owner on a dog friendly site there weren't any bins other than the main site waste bin this maybe because of covid, so if you were at the far end of the site you had a long walk to dispose of your doggies poop bag. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Avril Acornley 1 review from this member

 Very clean showers and toilets. These were limited due to COVID but because the site has residents and statics they were always free.

Friendly place and lovely location. Donít be put off by it being behind a haulage yard.

Itís enclosed and well looked after and the predominant sound is the running water from the stream 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Asfc70 31 reviews from this member

 Returned for the third time to this beautiful site.

The reception building houses a small shop and small bar, with a pool table, 3 x 20p, and Tv upstairs. Also with outdoor seating.

Small duck pond, beware the crocodiles, next to the tent area.

The site is one narrow strip with pitches either side. River on one side, stream on the other. The ducks walk from the pond to the toilet block and return via the stream. Our little Dachshund loved watching them.

The toilet block is clean with lovely warm showers, good pot wash and chemical disposal. A few static on site as well. The site is very peaceful and the location is ideal for relaxing.

The Westmoreland County Show is across the road and a MUST. 2nd Thursday of September: Dogs show, loved the Border Terriers, pigs, sheep, cattle, goats, Alpacas and Horses, Foodhall, beer tent, stalls galore, , lumberjacks and lots more. Advance tickets save £3. 00. A pity it rained all that day.

We did a lovely 4 mile walk from the site, along the Lancashire canal towards Nook and under an eerie Motorway subway and to the church close to the site.

Kendal is a great place, 10 minute drive via the A65 route, nice and quiet, Asda enroute. Thai restaurant on Highgate in Kendal is recommended. Not much for children on the site apart from the natural environment.

We will be back, maybe in June for the County Fest. Customer service was good, check out from 9am to get the £10 deposit back for the barrier pass.

The pitches are hard standing with 3 water points along the site. A great location for exploring the Lake District at a very reasonable price.

The site has lots of nice touches and is clean and well cared for 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 31 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for the second year running. Coincided with the spectacular Lake District Annual Show across the road on the far side of the canal to the site.

This is such a lovely site, tranquil in a beautiful setting.

Small shop and a little bar with a pool room upstairs.

Toilet and shower block halfway along the lane of pitches. Washing up facilities.

Owners very friendly.

The show really is a must and has everything. Horse riding, dog show, pig show, lumberjack competitions, stalls galore.

Kendal is a short drive away.

Site is just of M6, no traffic noise at all though.

Not much for children on site.

Will come back again 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 3rackhams 11 reviews from this member

 This was very very last minute get away to climb scarfell, son comes home the night before got tomorrow off lets go. Bank holiday weekend. Spent 10, mins getting phone numbers and post codes every web site/home page fully booked. So we take a chance start at top of page and phone on route.

This was first too answer yes we can make room (as only 2 man tent)

Arrived late 8:30 -9:00 very friendly gent, booked us in shown loos and where to pitch. Quick shower and pint in club house.

Next morning asked if all was OK as next to river and not normally pitched that close, asked what our plans where and said about events that night in bar/clubhouse. The same on Sunday morning bingo and quiz, music went on till early morning but with doors closed not too bad

site was very clean mainly statics and caravans looked like 4 tent pitches with hookup, 2 Brick Built BBQ stands

Loos 2x same with shower free hot water and private wash basin

3x wash up sink

Staff and those staying (locals) very friendly

small on site shop and sold gas, good job as mine ran out half way cooking breakfast on sunday Asda 3mile up the road

Would I go back no only because needed a base to walk scarfell 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danlebath 10 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite. There's a mixture of static and touring pitches. Most are hard standing with electric hookup. It is located close to the M6 and it's entrance may seem off putting as it's through a commercial yard, but well signposted and separated. The site is secured by an electric barrier, key pass operated and available from reception with a fully refundable deposit. The site is a long narrow one, with a stream down one side and a canal feeder channel down the other.

There is a toilet/shower block located about 2/3rds of the way down and ample water filling points/taps at intervals down the main road. The toilet block was very clean and the showers were warm. The Elsan unit is located at the rear. At the reception, there's a small shop selling essentials and Calor Bottles. Morning newspapers can be ordered for delivery here too. Their prices are very competitive. At the rear of the reception there's a bar. Opening times are posted on the various notices around. The beers served would cater to most palates and again extremely competitive pricing. One note here is you may get 'mugged' by the local ducks, so make sure you have some stale bread at hand. ;-)

Points to note. If you rely on a Status omnidirectional TV aerial you may find you need to switch it to boost reception as the signal can be erratic. During difficult weather conditions the signal can be lost, I noticed quite a few normal directional aerials erected so be advised. Also the pitches can be 'snug' so make sure if you plan to take an awning, to position your van to one edge to make sure you can squeeze your car in.

The site is very dog friendly, as long as the local conditions are adhered to (eg: dogs on leads at all times on site) Dogs are also allowed into certain areas of the bar area. Please also venture to the far end of the site as there's a lovely short walk through a gate to where the river and canal feeder divide. On talking to the owners, they have at times people staying for a local Dog Agility competitions with many pooches in tow. (no pun intended). There's a garage (with shop) nearby should you need something the site shop can't cater for). There is some low key lighting throughout the site, but as ever, a torch in a rural area is always advisable.

If you plan to turn right out of the site towards Kendal with your van in tow, may I recommend a friend assist on the other side as it's on a bit of a blind bend. The speed limit is 40mph but we all know that isn't always adhered to.

All in all a wonderful stay and it can be booked with confidence. The reason we were there was to attend a funeral nearby and as most attendees were staying at the Crooklands Hotel next door, sadly they don't allow dogs and we have 2. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynn05 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a 2 nights Friday/Saturday, as previous reviews don't be put off with the entrance, down the short lane to a little GEM of a site. Well maintained. We had a lovely pitch next to the toilet block. Don't be put off with the toilet block - it's very cottage looking but modern inside.

We had pitch 15 with the little stream behind us, just beautiful nice and quiet. Lovely to sit on the grass on a sunny day listening to the stream and of course the ducklings. I recommend pitches 15, 16, 17, 18, We will be definitely going again. Easy access to Windermere and Kendal.

Lovely grounds and scenery. Everybody friendly and the bar is not rowdy. Lovely walks around the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pigginfedup 2 reviews from this member

 Situated just off jct 36 on the M6 this was an easy site to find. First impressions were of a very well maintained site. The reception area was easy to find and Avril was very helpful, explaining about the electricity tokens that you need to purchase if staying in the tent area with EHU, which we'd never came across before, normally when we've had electricity it was included in the price or you paid £x a night. We were very surprised how little we used. We ran a fridge, light, kettle, radio and charged phones and used less than £1 for a 3 night stay!

There is room for about 5 tents and the pitches are flat. There is also 2 stone built barbecue's and picnic benches for you all to use, a nice touch.

We were a little apprehensive about being close to the bar area in respect of noise, but heard very little. Although we never used the bar it looked inviting and fairly busy most of the evening. We had more noise from the stream that ran behind our tent and from the ducks in front of the tent on the duck pond!

There is a shop on site that stocks the basics and is reasonably priced.

The only real negative was the location of the toilet/ shower block, which were the furthest point from the tent area ( a long way to go when your desperate)The toilet and shower area was lovely and clean and had plenty of basins, showers and toilets. And there is also an undercover washing up area that had an abundance of hot water. It also houses a laundry and the waste water area.

Cross the road at the entrance to the campsite and you're on a section of the Lancaster canal, great for walks. There is also the opportunity to grab yourself a free canal boat ride on a Sunday or bank holidayMonday. Turn right out of the entrance and follow it for about 5 miles and you'll arrive in Kendal with a range of shops, eateries and supermarkets. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waters Edge Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waters Edge Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waters Edge Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1354 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement