Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Waters Edge Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Waters Edge Caravan Park Reviews

Waters Edge Caravan Park
The Lake District
Crooklands
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA7 7NN
Tel: 015395 67708
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 29
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Asfc70 25 reviews from this member

Returned for the third time to this beautiful site.

The reception building houses a small shop and small bar, with a pool table, 3 x 20p, and Tv upstairs. Also with outdoor seating.

Small duck pond, beware the crocodiles, next to the tent area.

The site is one narrow strip with pitches either side. River on one side, stream on the other. The ducks walk from the pond to the toilet block and return via the stream. Our little Dachshund loved watching them.

The toilet block is clean with lovely warm showers, good pot wash and chemical disposal. A few static on site as well. The site is very peaceful and the location is ideal for relaxing.

The Westmoreland County Show is across the road and a MUST. 2nd Thursday of September: Dogs show, loved the Border Terriers, pigs, sheep, cattle, goats, Alpacas and Horses, Foodhall, beer tent, stalls galore, , lumberjacks and lots more. Advance tickets save 3. 00. A pity it rained all that day.

We did a lovely 4 mile walk from the site, along the Lancashire canal towards Nook and under an eerie Motorway subway and to the church close to the site.

Kendal is a great place, 10 minute drive via the A65 route, nice and quiet, Asda enroute. Thai restaurant on Highgate in Kendal is recommended. Not much for children on the site apart from the natural environment.

We will be back, maybe in June for the County Fest. Customer service was good, check out from 9am to get the 10 deposit back for the barrier pass.

The pitches are hard standing with 3 water points along the site. A great location for exploring the Lake District at a very reasonable price.

The site has lots of nice touches and is clean and well cared for
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Asfc70 25 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for the second year running. Coincided with the spectacular Lake District Annual Show across the road on the far side of the canal to the site.

This is such a lovely site, tranquil in a beautiful setting.

Small shop and a little bar with a pool room upstairs.

Toilet and shower block halfway along the lane of pitches. Washing up facilities.

Owners very friendly.

The show really is a must and has everything. Horse riding, dog show, pig show, lumberjack competitions, stalls galore.

Kendal is a short drive away.

Site is just of M6, no traffic noise at all though.

Not much for children on site.

Will come back again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 3rackhams 11 reviews from this member

This was very very last minute get away to climb scarfell, son comes home the night before got tomorrow off lets go. Bank holiday weekend. Spent 10, mins getting phone numbers and post codes every web site/home page fully booked. So we take a chance start at top of page and phone on route.

This was first too answer yes we can make room (as only 2 man tent)

Arrived late 8:30 -9:00 very friendly gent, booked us in shown loos and where to pitch. Quick shower and pint in club house.

Next morning asked if all was OK as next to river and not normally pitched that close, asked what our plans where and said about events that night in bar/clubhouse. The same on Sunday morning bingo and quiz, music went on till early morning but with doors closed not too bad

site was very clean mainly statics and caravans looked like 4 tent pitches with hookup, 2 Brick Built BBQ stands

Loos 2x same with shower free hot water and private wash basin

3x wash up sink

Staff and those staying (locals) very friendly

small on site shop and sold gas, good job as mine ran out half way cooking breakfast on sunday Asda 3mile up the road

Would I go back no only because needed a base to walk scarfell

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Danlebath 8 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic campsite. There's a mixture of static and touring pitches. Most are hard standing with electric hookup. It is located close to the M6 and it's entrance may seem off putting as it's through a commercial yard, but well signposted and separated. The site is secured by an electric barrier, key pass operated and available from reception with a fully refundable deposit. The site is a long narrow one, with a stream down one side and a canal feeder channel down the other.

There is a toilet/shower block located about 2/3rds of the way down and ample water filling points/taps at intervals down the main road. The toilet block was very clean and the showers were warm. The Elsan unit is located at the rear. At the reception, there's a small shop selling essentials and Calor Bottles. Morning newspapers can be ordered for delivery here too. Their prices are very competitive. At the rear of the reception there's a bar. Opening times are posted on the various notices around. The beers served would cater to most palates and again extremely competitive pricing. One note here is you may get 'mugged' by the local ducks, so make sure you have some stale bread at hand. ;-)

Points to note. If you rely on a Status omnidirectional TV aerial you may find you need to switch it to boost reception as the signal can be erratic. During difficult weather conditions the signal can be lost, I noticed quite a few normal directional aerials erected so be advised. Also the pitches can be 'snug' so make sure if you plan to take an awning, to position your van to one edge to make sure you can squeeze your car in.

The site is very dog friendly, as long as the local conditions are adhered to (eg: dogs on leads at all times on site) Dogs are also allowed into certain areas of the bar area. Please also venture to the far end of the site as there's a lovely short walk through a gate to where the river and canal feeder divide. On talking to the owners, they have at times people staying for a local Dog Agility competitions with many pooches in tow. (no pun intended). There's a garage (with shop) nearby should you need something the site shop can't cater for). There is some low key lighting throughout the site, but as ever, a torch in a rural area is always advisable.

If you plan to turn right out of the site towards Kendal with your van in tow, may I recommend a friend assist on the other side as it's on a bit of a blind bend. The speed limit is 40mph but we all know that isn't always adhered to.

All in all a wonderful stay and it can be booked with confidence. The reason we were there was to attend a funeral nearby and as most attendees were staying at the Crooklands Hotel next door, sadly they don't allow dogs and we have 2.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynn05 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a 2 nights Friday/Saturday, as previous reviews don't be put off with the entrance, down the short lane to a little GEM of a site. Well maintained. We had a lovely pitch next to the toilet block. Don't be put off with the toilet block - it's very cottage looking but modern inside.

We had pitch 15 with the little stream behind us, just beautiful nice and quiet. Lovely to sit on the grass on a sunny day listening to the stream and of course the ducklings. I recommend pitches 15, 16, 17, 18, We will be definitely going again. Easy access to Windermere and Kendal.

Lovely grounds and scenery. Everybody friendly and the bar is not rowdy. Lovely walks around the site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pigginfedup 2 reviews from this member

Situated just off jct 36 on the M6 this was an easy site to find. First impressions were of a very well maintained site. The reception area was easy to find and Avril was very helpful, explaining about the electricity tokens that you need to purchase if staying in the tent area with EHU, which we'd never came across before, normally when we've had electricity it was included in the price or you paid x a night. We were very surprised how little we used. We ran a fridge, light, kettle, radio and charged phones and used less than 1 for a 3 night stay!

There is room for about 5 tents and the pitches are flat. There is also 2 stone built barbecue's and picnic benches for you all to use, a nice touch.

We were a little apprehensive about being close to the bar area in respect of noise, but heard very little. Although we never used the bar it looked inviting and fairly busy most of the evening. We had more noise from the stream that ran behind our tent and from the ducks in front of the tent on the duck pond!

There is a shop on site that stocks the basics and is reasonably priced.

The only real negative was the location of the toilet/ shower block, which were the furthest point from the tent area ( a long way to go when your desperate)The toilet and shower area was lovely and clean and had plenty of basins, showers and toilets. And there is also an undercover washing up area that had an abundance of hot water. It also houses a laundry and the waste water area.

Cross the road at the entrance to the campsite and you're on a section of the Lancaster canal, great for walks. There is also the opportunity to grab yourself a free canal boat ride on a Sunday or bank holidayMonday. Turn right out of the entrance and follow it for about 5 miles and you'll arrive in Kendal with a range of shops, eateries and supermarkets.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roaming walker 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this beautiful site what a great place a bit put off at the turn in it seems to be a bus depot but no up the tree lined road and you find a great tranquil site the facilities are all spotless we were welcomed by the owners nothing was too much trouble bar great shop great

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vivnut 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very peaceful and pleasant weekend at watersedge. The toilet block was spotless and very well laid out. There are hook ups, plenty bins and even BBQ s to use. The grounds are well manicured with lots of bird houses etc. We were lucky enough to park right next to the duck pond which gave us plenty wild life to watch including a family of ducklings. There is also a small river running along the edge but well fenced of. (the pond is not)the wardens were pleasant and very helpful. There is a small shop and a bar opened at night, although we did not use it. There was no noise from the bar at all. The crooklands hotel has a restaurant and bar and is just five minutes walk onto the main road which leads to kendal(6miles)iyou will also only be a minute of junction 36 so a little road noise can be heard at peak times but not intrusively so. Very handy if you want to venture further north or even south. The only downside is initial impression at the entrance which is shared with a grotty coach and wagon park. If I hadnt booked I think we may have drove on to find somewhere else. But please follow the driveway and you will be just as pleased as we were.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Russandjax 9 reviews from this member

Friendly welcome on arrival, though despite being asked if we had stayed before, we were not advised where the facilities were, Elsan etc. We had a gorgeous pitch overlooking the duck pond, with plenty of grass around us.

There is a really nice dog walk at the end of the site, with the river on one side, the canal feeder on the other. It's about a 10 min stroll each way, so, ideal for a morning walk with the pooch.

The site and facilities are beautifully maintained, the wardens take great pride in the whole site and it shows.

However, the shower block is woefully heated, in the ladies there is a fan heater above the entrance which had no impact on warming such a large space. The windows are vented and you needed to close them to keep the wind out. Sadly it made no difference to the temperature, blooming freezing! Not the standard you expect in today's market. The shower itself was lovely and hot. Speaking to fellow campers, we all had the same gripe.

Noise from the motorway was an issue for us, we don't hear any road noise where we live, however we chatted to folk from Manchester and they were not aware of it, and by night 3 we could block it out.

Wifi was excellent value, 5 for 3 nights, and the signal very strong, we ran a laptop and iPad at the same time.

The Site is one we would happily return to, with so much to see on the doorstep or further afield.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kie68 36 reviews from this member

I keep looking at this site on UKCampsite.co.uk but never got round to going. We decided to give it a try so I rang up and booked, no hassle no deposit required.

This site is just over an hour from home, a bit longer due to traffic. The site is only 2. 5 miles from the M6 J36 but you can't hear the traffic.

The entrance to the site is a bit off putting as there is a bit of an industrial area with wagons and coaches we wondered where we were going to. Once you drive up the lane to the site it is totally different. It is a long narrow site with a river on one side and a stream on the other. There is a nice reception and a bar. There is a barrier and a 10 deposit is needed for the barrier card, which is returned once the card is returned.

The toilets were clean and showers were warm, push button operation.

We walked down to the pub on Friday and people from the site with statics and seasonal pitched were sat out enjoying the sun and having a drink. They invited us to join them so we did. We went in the pub again on Saturday evening, the prices are very reasonable 2. 50 for Thatchers Gold cider.

The people on this site are very friendly and we were made really welcome. One of the most pleasant sites we have been on.

There is the Crooklands Hotel about 300 yards from the site that does food. Kirkby Lonsdale and Kendal are both 6 miles away.

This is a jem of a site, It is really peaceful and relaxing. We are glad we finally went and we will definitely be going back

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3604 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020