Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park Reviews

Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park
The Avenue
Godmanchester
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE29 2AF
Tel: 01480 411977
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 39 Reviews
                7/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Mmm, you expect a lovely location based on the web site, reality differs.

The owners are lovely, as is the the location but, most of the site is full of scruffy seasonal vans. The boats are all pretty wrecked to so lots of “old” stuff around.

The place is tidy ish otherwise.

The facilities are poor, old tired and cold. We said to the owners about the cold and we were advised to turn the heater on 30 mins before a shower, but the windows won’t close so was still cold.

The killer is the road noise, boy is it loud and non stop, in October when we stayed it wasn’t to bad as we were indoors, in the summer sitting outside and with windows open it would be horrendous.

We left a day early. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Transamtrev 3 reviews from this member

 I can recommend this site

Every thing you need

Derek and Chris are so helpful

Location is great

5 minutes walk into the town

Will be back soon 👍

Trev and Mandy 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: H4ppycmpr 1 review from this member

 The site is well maintained and in a beautiful area. The owners are lovely and helpful, however the proximity to the A14 is closer than you expect.

The toilets and showers are very dated and don’t always work. The tokens (25p for 5 mins of water) can get stuck and you have to ask to get them fixed if you want your shower, which isn’t great.

It is an easy walk to Godmanchester or Huntingdon which is a plus, but the road noise is horrific! It is constant and does not quieten down at night. The pitches are close together and are not too far from the toilets.

It is on a marina, which is beautiful but be wary of the midgies! We didn’t get bitten thankfully but in the summer it would be awful! Also be wary of young children and the water, you can pitch your tent on the edge which is lovely but it can be a drop into water if your not careful.

I wouldn’t recommend the site as the road noise is horrendous, I can’t even imagine it being better in a caravan! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Uniblue 4 reviews from this member

 Hi, we stayed at this site for 7 nights in September 2017. We found the road noise from the A14 constant (24 Hours) and very disturbing. We were in a caravan and could still hear the traffic and we think that this would be unbearable in a tent.

The pitch that we were given was very small and we were unable to put up our porch awning. I measured the width of the pitch, it was 8. 00 metres. This was supposed to accommodate a caravan 2. 18 metres wide, an awning 2. 4 meters and a car 2. 1 metres that left us not much more than 1 metre to open doors and to leave space between the car and the next unit.

We did not have room to park the car in front of the pitch as this would have blocked the access to the next pitch, and the site owner told us that we must park our car at the side of our awning. The toilets were very grubby and smelly.

The gents had 2 handwash bottles and 1 was empty for 6 days and the other for 3. They were both replenished the day before we left, even then less than 1 third filled.

The site is on a small boating marina and is very picturesque. Having said that we had quite a bit of disturbance from a nearby boat doing repairs (grinding, banging and sawing). The site is a 10 min walk from Huntingdon High St in one direction and from the centre of Godmanchester in the other. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GMC1958 41 reviews from this member

 I was surprised on arrival to see so many seasonal pitches, 13 but with nobody on site. Our pitch was nice, overlooking the river and moored boats.

Toilet block was clean and adequate. Throughout our 3 night stsy, there was a maximum of 6 other people on site, no issues with toilet block! Would I visit again? NO, the road noise was constant and very unpleasant.

It is a shame but there was no chance of peace and tranquillity. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Veterancamper 1 review from this member

 We stayed for three nights in July. This would be a great camp site for those using a caravan or caravan, who are shielded to a degree from the noise.

However, if you are in a tent, you will find the incessant roar from traffic on the A14 too much to bear. And I mean incessant: it is loud, because the road is very close, crossing a bridge at this point, and it goes on all day and all night relentlessly.

We would have looked for a different site, but we had to pay up front.

The showers and loos are clean and hot water is plentiful. Tokens cost 25p and provide 5 minutes' worth of shower. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rosecol 10 reviews from this member

 After reading reviews booked into the site for 2 nights, shown to flat pitch by owners, overlooking the river. It is very picturesque. We walked to Godmanchester which is very close and enjoyed wandering, admiring the buildings, the park is lovely with a footpath following the river.

Would I stay here again - I would have to say no.

The road noise goes on all night, rubbish bags were left out and attacked by birds leaving a mess, you have to buy a token for the shower which is fine if the showers were any good, both in Gents and Ladies very low water pressure and not very hot. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site, the owners showed us to our pitch and then left us to it. The river runs right round and there is always something to see be it boats or wildlife.

The toilets are dated but perfectly clean and adequate, showers by token, plenty of space in cubicle.

Easy walk into Huntingdon for a few shops pubs etc. Also Godmanchester but not a lot there although there is a nice park with surrounding waiks.

As said on other reviews the road noise could be an issue but after the first night/day we got ammuned to it and it didn't bother us.

We would return to this site if we wanted to visit this area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrbrooks1969 1 review from this member

 Easy location just of A14

Family run business

Good welcome

Value for money

Good fishing

Good dog walking

Nice little bakery just up road

Cost cutter just up road

Boat hire

Great town

Good pubs

Little bit road noise

Overall very good weekend

Thanks & Regards

Mr Brooks 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a lovely weekend. We were shown to our pitch by the owner and told where everything was. Our pitch was overlooking the river and we had plenty of room.

We didn't need to use our car at all as you can walk into town one way or if you turn right you can walk into Godmanchester which has a lovely park a few shops and a couple of pubs/restaurants and a really good chip shop opposite the park right next door to the dog friendly pub.

The site itself has a nicely kept dog walking area, showers and toilets were kept very clean at all times. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4970 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement