Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park
The Avenue
Godmanchester
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE29 2AF
Tel: 01480 411977
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 37 Reviews
                7/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Uniblue 4 reviews from this member

Hi, we stayed at this site for 7 nights in September 2017. We found the road noise from the A14 constant (24 Hours) and very disturbing. We were in a caravan and could still hear the traffic and we think that this would be unbearable in a tent. The pitch that we were given was very small and we were unable to put up our porch awning. I measured the width of the pitch, it was 8. 00 metres. This was supposed to accommodate a caravan 2. 18 metres wide, an awning 2. 4 meters and a car 2. 1 metres that left us not much more than 1 metre to open doors and to leave space between the car and the next unit. We did not have room to park the car in front of the pitch as this would have blocked the access to the next pitch, and the site owner told us that we must park our car at the side of our awning. The toilets were very grubby and smelly. The gents had 2 handwash bottles and 1 was empty for 6 days and the other for 3. They were both replenished the day before we left, even then less than 1 third filled.

The site is on a small boating marina and is very picturesque. Having said that we had quite a bit of disturbance from a nearby boat doing repairs (grinding, banging and sawing). The site is a 10 min walk from Huntingdon High St in one direction and from the centre of Godmanchester in the other.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 36 reviews from this member

I was surprised on arrival to see so many seasonal pitches, 13 but with nobody on site. Our pitch was nice, overlooking the river and moored boats. Toilet block was clean and adequate. Throughout our 3 night stsy, there was a maximum of 6 other people on site, no issues with toilet block! Would I visit again? NO, the road noise was constant and very unpleasant. It is a shame but there was no chance of peace and tranquillity.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Veterancamper 1 review from this member

We stayed for three nights in July. This would be a great camp site for those using a caravan or caravan, who are shielded to a degree from the noise. However, if you are in a tent, you will find the incessant roar from traffic on the A14 too much to bear. And I mean incessant: it is loud, because the road is very close, crossing a bridge at this point, and it goes on all day and all night relentlessly. We would have looked for a different site, but we had to pay up front.

The showers and loos are clean and hot water is plentiful. Tokens cost 25p and provide 5 minutes' worth of shower.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Rosecol 9 reviews from this member

After reading reviews booked into the site for 2 nights, shown to flat pitch by owners, overlooking the river. It is very picturesque. We walked to Godmanchester which is very close and enjoyed wandering, admiring the buildings, the park is lovely with a footpath following the river.

Would I stay here again - I would have to say no.

The road noise goes on all night, rubbish bags were left out and attacked by birds leaving a mess, you have to buy a token for the shower which is fine if the showers were any good, both in Gents and Ladies very low water pressure and not very hot.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

This is a lovely little site, the owners showed us to our pitch and then left us to it. The river runs right round and there is always something to see be it boats or wildlife.

The toilets are dated but perfectly clean and adequate, showers by token, plenty of space in cubicle.

Easy walk into Huntingdon for a few shops pubs etc. Also Godmanchester but not a lot there although there is a nice park with surrounding waiks.

As said on other reviews the road noise could be an issue but after the first night/day we got ammuned to it and it didn't bother us.

We would return to this site if we wanted to visit this area again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrbrooks1969 1 review from this member

Easy location just of A14

Family run business

Good welcome

Value for money

Good fishing

Good dog walking

Nice little bakery just up road

Cost cutter just up road

Boat hire

Great town

Good pubs

Little bit road noise

Overall very good weekend

Thanks & Regards

Mr Brooks

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely weekend. We were shown to our pitch by the owner and told where everything was. Our pitch was overlooking the river and we had plenty of room. We didn't need to use our car at all as you can walk into town one way or if you turn right you can walk into Godmanchester which has a lovely park a few shops and a couple of pubs/restaurants and a reaaly good chip shop opposite the park right next door to the dog friendly pub. The site itself has a nicely kept dog walking area, showers and toilets were kept very clean at all times.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shirldick 3 reviews from this member

Visited over the easter weekend and after booking in we were shown where everything was and then shown to our pitch by the lady owner and advised which way to pitch for the best view. We had a lovely pitch over looking the canal and fields. There is only room for about 7 tents so can be quite cosy when full which it was the weekend we stayed. The cost was 20 a night for a 6 berth tent & 2. 50 hook up charge. The boat yard is right in the middle of the site and they were just putting them back in the water. The camp is great for walking into Huntington & Godmanchester where you will find plenty of places to eat and the dogs were welcome too.

The bad bits was the noice from the A14 which was right next door to the camp so not much sleep for us. The toilet facilities, 2 toilets & showers in each, were very old, dated & cold and you also have to buy tokens for the showers which were 25p each. The washing up room was even worse as full of cobweds and very dirty where it needed a good clean. The toilet block is quite a walk from the tent pitches through the carpark, boat yard and at the side of the owners house.

There was also no wifi on our visit.

Maybe not the place to stay if you want some peace.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

We liked this site. It's small, by the river, has lots of boats moored and overlooks the biggest watermeadow in Britain (which is accessed from either Godmanchester or Huntingdon). Huntingdon & Godmanchester are only minutes away on foot. Toilets are a little tired but otherwise perfectly clean and serviceable - 25p token needed for a shower, this gives you about 5 minutes of hot water. Despite being a small site there was no problem siting our m/h which is 8. 5 metres long. We paid 17 per night which isn't bad for 2 adults and a dog and includes electricity. There is one downside to this site - NOISE - the A14 runs close by and is busy all day and far into the night. The noise didn't bother us as we sort of 'tuned it out' but if you think you may have a problem with the noise I don't recommend you stay here (or why not try it for one night and see how you get on?). We will definitely be re-visiting this site.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beccyandsteve 26 reviews from this member

This caravan site is also a small marina.

The location is quaint. Right on the river with views onto the river and marina. There are picnic tables down by the river along with park benches.

However the proximity to the A14. You feel like you can almost reach out and touch it, but more importantly the noise is awful. I don't consider myself to be a light sleeper but I didn't get a wink of sleep (and I'm in a motorhome - not a tent!) it probably depends on the wind direction as to how bad it is.

There are a mixture of hard standings and grass pitches. I considered our hard standing to be a little tired, but it was fine.

The shower blocks were tired, but adequate. The showers take tokens (which the owners didn't mention) luckily I noticed in time! 25p token gives you 5 mins which is more than enough.

Huntingdon and Godmanchester are easy walking distance.

I can't get beyond the road noise, so I don't recommend this site, but other reviewers seem unconcerned by it. So all I can say is be aware of this before booking.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2208 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019