Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ceiriog Valley Park ( Was Ddol Hir )

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen > Ceiriog Valley Park ( Was Ddol Hir ) Reviews

Ceiriog Valley Park ( Was Ddol Hir )
Glyn Ceiriog
Llangollen
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL20 7NP
Tel: 01691 718681  or  07516942981
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03 To 30/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Theresa Painting 1 review from this member

Beautiful site, excellent facilities. Peaceful with river running through the site. Lovely river walks from the site.

Mike and Tammy are wonderful hosts.

Unfortunately it rained very heavy while we were there but still beautiful site to stay on and listen to the birds.

We apologise to Mike and Tammy for digging up some of the field as we left. Hope there wasn't too much mess left behind.

We will definitely recommend this site to others and if in the area again will visit as long as you will have us.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MSR18 2 reviews from this member

Lovely, peaceful site. Owners friendly and helpful. Small, modern and clean toilet block. The camping field is alongside the small river, very scenic and level.

Shops etc. are available in the nearby village, but a bit too far to walk along a road that is not ideal (fairly narrow and no pavements for most of the way). Mobile phone signal is not good.

I would go again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tom17 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful site, location and welcome.

Nestled in a rural, lush green valley, surrounded by trees. With a gorgeous river running by. Don't expect mod cons and technology, it is a quite relaxing retreat close to Llangollen and the surrounding area.

It is secluded and very peaceful - we stayed for one night and wished we had booked for longer!

Thanks for a lovely stay and a warm welcome.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikro 20 reviews from this member

Site in lovely Ceiriog Valley, right next to river. Bit expensive especially since you have to pay for shower but as it seems to be the only site in the Valley it's pay up and smile!

But it is a nice site with good hard standing. If you want to walk in the valley check that the bus company is running. It failed the day before we arrived!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spikeion 5 reviews from this member

We turned up unannounced and found that the owners were out. We called the mobile left at the entrance and Tracy told us to pitch up anywhere and that she'd be along later to collect our fees. There were 4 of us all together in 3 Land Rovers with roof tents.

The site was immaculately kept with bowling green quality grass. We paid 9 per person per night which was a fair price for the site.

Tracy turned up, was very friendly and had a chat before ambling off home.

Being beside the river, we were dreading the insects but none turned up! We had a pleasant midge-free evening.

Improvements? Free showers please and free WiFi. WiFi costs so little to provide these days and would be very useful in an area totally devoid of any phone signal (we tried EE, O2 and 3 - none worked here).

Great site - Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tedwin 1 review from this member

Plus points:

Very friendly people who just cant do enough for you.

Beautifully maintained site.

Immaculate shower / toilet block (so clean we were frightened of making a mess) !

Very peaceful.

-----------------------------------------

Minus points:

No electric hook-up on tent field unless you can get along the edge of touring field (tall bushes divide the two and Only 3 spaces at best) but if the touring field is full you may have to do without electricity, but it's well worth a phone call before dismissing it.

Only two shower cubicles (one in ladies and one in gents) but they ARE very good showers and we didn't ever need to wait.

Absolutely lots of insects (and beautiful butterflies).

Due to being in a valley and surrounded by trees there's nothing in the way of views.

No mobile phone reception (or radio / television).

No wifi.

Nothing for kids except a large playing field next to river if there are not many tents on.

------------------------------------------

Would we go back ? - Oh YES - Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tezzington 1 review from this member

Spent a lovely long weekend at this site. We had a fantastic time and will defo be going back. Maybe a little expensive at 20 per night for 2 adults (with hook up), but the location was worth it. In the middle of no-where! Just what we wanted!

The toilets and shower are really clean and modern and there is a washing up area inside which was a pleasure to use. However, we were the only campers and feel that maybe during high season, the facilities (for the price), may not be adequate, however, for ourselves, at this particular time we found the site a joy and cannot fault it.

Bit miffed that on top of the 20 per night we had to pay 20p per minute for the shower, but having said this, was a really good, hot shower and once again, very clean. Guess you get what you pay for.

The surrounding area is fantastic, the Horseshoe Pass is a must, its totally jaw dropping and not to be missed. Also Llangollen is a beautiful place to visit and the locals are very friendly.

To sum up, will defo go back and as we said, you get what you pay for, you will not be disappointed with this site, its fab and you also get a lovely welcome from owners.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindasllama 2 reviews from this member

This was a fabulous site in an idyllic location. We were able to pitch our caravan right by the river. There were only a couple of other caravans in use the week we went, although many caravans had booked seasonal pitches.

There was only one shower but we never had to wait to use it. The facilities were excellent. The toilets and shower were very clean and there was a very pleasant washing up area.

There was a Riverside walk right by the site which was great for the dogs. Dog owners beware - there are sheep everywhere. Our dogs spent the week in a state of hysteria.

Mark and Tracy who run the site were very friendly and helpful.

There was lots to see and do. The amazing Pystll waterfall is definitely worth a look as is the Thomas Telford aqueduct in Trevor Basin.

The weather was kind to us - in the 80's most of the time so in the evening it was great that the site was pleasantly shaded

We loved it and would definitely go back

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 19 reviews from this member

Small, quiet site in a beautiful location. Best access is via Chirk, not the unclassified roads from Llangollen.

Flat tent field by fast flowing river and you can pitch where you want. We were there for the Bank Holiday weekend but there was plenty of room for everyone. Pretty walk alongside river from site.

Very clean toilet block, but very small. Only one shower per ladies / gents and one washing-up sink so this area got busy at peak times. No plug sockets in bathroom so you have to use socket by washing-up sink for a hairdryer.

We liked the fact that there were no facilities (other than the toilet block) as it gave the site a lovely quiet and relaxed feel but we did think the fee of 18.50 per night for 2 adults plus dog was on the high side.

Also, we were surprised to discover that the showers cost 20p per minute on top of the pitch fee (The owner forgot to mention this to us when we arrived so, having got to the shower the next morning, we had to return to the tent to search for some change).

We would return to this site as there is lots to see in the area, and the site itself made for a lovely relaxing break.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claireb77 1 review from this member

Friendly couple that run the site, they don`t bother you, quiet site, more for couples and families, negatives. 5 miles from Llangollen, had to use sat nav to get there and back or got lost, and only one shower.

17.50 a night for two of us and a dog!

Would go back though

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Denbighshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2886 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019