Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Butterflowers Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Butterflowers Holiday Park
Port Haverigg
(lake District)
Millom
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA18 4GY
Tel: 01229 772880  or  07718 392654
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scojac 3 reviews from this member

This is more of a beware than a review. We have stayed here many times over the last 4 years. The situation of the park is perfect. Especially for families. It has a fab play area, a stride away from the beach, a cafe, a swimming pool and a lovely pub that does meals, with friendly folk. The cost was 20 night with extra for electric and swimming, ( which is only open for a cpl hrs a day). We decided last Thursday to take a chance and just turn up. There where very few caravans on site, so we thought yeah great. We then got the shock. They have doubled the price to ** forty pound ** ! this does not include Electric or swimming, you pay extra for those. The facilities are no better, just basic, clean enough but basic. The Manager said the price had been increased because they had been quiet last year ! I suspect it may well be quiet this year

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pam52 1 review from this member

Lovely camp site but 20 a night an you have to pay your electric on top of that bit expencive, shower room was freeze ing cold but clean, would have been nice if the hot/ warm water stayed on long enough to enjoy a wash, lots of pubs to eat in that take a dog. Good walks, playground out side camp site, bit fare to let your little ones go on their own, ( don't have that problem anymore) we went to the working men's club which we found very friendly an happy to help an give advice, but wouldn't go back just because of cost of site, o and you have to pay for swimming pool! Unless your related to the owners

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highamz 1 review from this member

Port Haverigg Holiday Village and Butterflowers were originally two sites with one owner. Port Haverigg is the static caravan site where the Ski Bar is located and Butterflowers is the camping/caravan/static off the sea front with the swimming pool.

Butterflowers was sold late last year (2013) to a new owner who is investing a lot of money to improve the site and facilities. Yes, there are a lot of touring caravans permanently on site but we pay annual fees which allows us to go up whenever we want as there are certain time of the year when you just wouldn't be able to book on.

There are tie down bars built into the older hard standings as being on the sea front, it can and does get very windy at times during the year and I sleep better knowing my van is strapped down during the winter.

I would suggest anyone coming to Haverigg check to see if the area offers what they want first. Please don't expect a club and lots of facilities on site and wifi, there are decent pubs in walking distance with food in Haverigg and Millom. A local Londis and Tesco are in Millom for supplies and pretty much anything else can be bought from the shops in Millom. If you like walking or cycling then this area is superb.

There are events during the year which influence the type of people in the area, in particular there is a dog show at the local Rugby club and the sites are packed out with dogs and their owners.

The facilities on site had become dated but the new owners will no doubt do something about it. There are showers with plenty of hot water, plenty of toilets, a washing up room, washers and driers, toilet disposal point and a swimming pool. Mobile signal is poor in the area and if you want wifi, you will need to go to the Rugby club, buy a drink or food and ask for the wifi code.

It is rumoured that Butterflowers will only accept caravans and trailer tents for the 2014 season and onwards and Tents won't be allowed. I am not connected with the site other than I have my van there and would recommend calling the site to check on what they will accept.

I have set my ratings based on the site as it was last year (2013).

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janietc 3 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely weekend at Butterflowers. Its a lovely clean site, unfortunately the swimming pool wasn't open they were having problems with it. Shower/toilet block very clean could do with updating but spotless so only decor wise. Pitches great size - you need hard standing pegs for awning but that's not a problem for most. We know the area as we only live 1/2 an hour away but if you are looking for lots to do this isn't for you. It is right on the beach (can get very windy) & there's a lovely cafe & large playground right next to the entrance. Also a Londis shop 2 minutes away & a lovely pub - The harbour - serving food & drinks only 2 mins away too. Kids loved riding round the site on their bikes. Would be handy to have a small playground on site where smaller kids could go within site of caravans. Staff/owners very friendly & helpful. Thoroughly recommended for a quiet, relaxing break - I spent an afternoon on the beach with my 6 year old playing games & walking through the low channels with a fishing net. Simple pleasures - make your own entertainment.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Iggycamper 36 reviews from this member

Very disappointing. A nice name but not really a touring site as mostly occupied by empty/stored local touring caravans. Very run down and 'tired'. Showers almost impossible for my disabled wife to use - single hard-to-push button providing about 5 seconds of warm water. Concrete hard standings had projecting steel loops which threatened to damage tyres - warden said were there to tie-down caravans in high winds!Surrounding area also quite depressing. All that said suppose is rather off the major tourist routes - only stayed there to visit a relative who lives locally. Last but not least at 20 one of dearest sites we have stayed at recently - especially out of season. One of staff quite rude to my wife.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smedley 3 reviews from this member

Been going here since the children were small, some 30 years plus. The site is small and the shower block is a little dated but always clean. There is at door small static caravan site next door but you never hear or see them. The good thing about this site it has a large indoor swimming pool, a small kids room with a few games and right net door to the beach which overlooks Barrow. Just outside the site there is a small cafe which has been there for years always a great breakfast and somewhere to send the kids and grandchildren for an icecream. Ten minutes walk from the site is the local rugby club, great for a drink and kids always welcome. The area has loads of sand dunes and in the village are a few shops. The main shop has early fresh deliveries of hot pies cakes etc. Horse riding is available at a few nearby locations. You can also ride shire and heavy horses within 5 miles of the site. If you want a site out of the way were the kids have got nothing to spend there money on and you can forget about them, this is the place to go. Great place and nice people.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SCarter 5 reviews from this member

We visited butterflowers camp site in August with friends and found it to be a cheap and cheerful site. It was quite difficult to find it but with the aid of our satnav it didn`t take us long.

The site is situated close to the sea front and sand dunes-so our children enjoyed playing on them most of the weekend. It also has a play area just outside the front entrance which kept them amused however the facilities on site are quite basic,

The toilet blocks are clean, the reception area is basic and the site is adequate. Please be warned to take ear plugs-the seagulls are very loud first thing in the morning, they sit on top of the swimming pool roof and shout at each other very, very early in the morning.

Just a 5 minute walk from the site there is a nice pub serving food and local beers but if you prefer fish and chips the chip shop is only a few steps around the corner.

There is a rugby club 5 minutes away from the site and we spent an enjoyable Saturday afternoon in there sampling the local beers. Having been to butterflowers campsite I may go back as the fees are cheap (18. 00 for the tent and 1. 00 per person)

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmi67 1 review from this member

The Bad- Difficult to find, reception had closed early so had to find pitch myself. Swimming pool and 'Games Room' had very limited opening times so the kids got extremely bored. Games room extremely poor.

Miles away from any decent town so spent fortune exploring with the kids.

The good? Toilet block was ok, never used showers so can't comment. Site is clean and tidy but I won't be back, found it really boring to be honest, kids need a bit more. Hadn't realised games room etc closed at 5pm!

Staff friendly enough.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helsam 1 review from this member

We visited this site with neighbours who had never camped before . On arrival we were personally escorted to our pitch, which was a great size.

And were told not to worry too much about paying our fees but to concentrate on getting the tents up! The site was immaculate with free hot showers ,a fabulous camp kitchen with microwave facilities if needed and a well stocked laundry room .There was plenty of space for the kids to play and a great playground across the entrance road. We used the pool which was good value for money but very hot if you were a spectator .

The reception has lots of leaflets for days out and also books for sale.

If you like rock pooling ask at reception about the little cove that you get to by driving around the sea wall - we caught lots of crabs and shrimps - just beware of the tide.

I would definitely return and so would the first timers- great site

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karensmalley 3 reviews from this member

Butterfields is a nice family run site, which has a lovely indoor pool( could be a tad Warmer ). The amenities are adequate toilet / shower block, laundry and games room are all next to each other.

I would say this is more a Budget site at only 16.50 per night. Although it is clean the facilities are not top notch. Loo seats missing, table tennis table has a wooden plank for a net and the games room isn't very inviting. This to one side the play area and Beach were fantastic and the site was only a short walk from the village, which contained a beach cafe (which sold great meals), a local chippy, londis shop and a few pubs.

I would recommend this site , great for families or people looking for nice coastal walks or water sports.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1364 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977