Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Drummohr Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Drummohr Holiday Park Reviews

Drummohr Holiday Park
Levenhall
Musselburgh
Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH21 8JS
Tel: 01316 656867
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Susant 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site, well maintained with an excellent dog walking facility ideal for the first and last walk of the day.

Very helpful and friendly staff from reservation to occupancy.

I would definitely stay here again 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mackieonthemove 3 reviews from this member

 After a long hit drive we eventually made our way to the site. We were stuck in traffic so called ahead as it was edging towards 6pm which is the latest you can check in. Arrived to the main entrance to find it a bit symbolic with cars parked all over the place. As none seemed to have caravans etc, and I had never been to the park before, I figured they must just be parked. I drove up to the reception area to be met with a woman shouting aggressively at me. This then set my dogs off who were in the back of the car. I put the window down and asked her to repeat what she was saying. Over the barking of my dogs I realised she was saying that I had jumped the queue. Confused I asked what queue? She said "Can you not see the queue of cars". As I said earlier there was a few cars randomly parked.

No signs anywhere and certainly no queue. Safe to say not off to the best start. I was hurried in while being told I was now "blocking everyone" quick turn around and followed a guy on golf buggy to my site. "That's your area there" he said and off he went. Carefully reversed my caravan in and unhitched only for a different guy also in a golf cart to turn up and tell me I would need to move. I asked why and he explained I was about 5' out of my area. Anyway after moving we were finally set up.

Very big and busy park. However it was clean and well laid out. Toilet block clean and a nice dog walk area which stretched round edge of park. Park is in a good location with a small town just up the road and very close proximity to Edinburgh and surrounding areas. Nice park to visit.

We may have just caught them at a busy time not sure but we seen the crazy lady the next day and she was very nice then. It pricey but I'm sure we would return again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 186 reviews from this member

 Not a cheap site at nearly £33 for hardstand & EHU. But it's a convenient site for exploring East Lothian, Musselburgh & Portobello are worth a wander too; there are other sites much closer to Edinburgh for the sight seeing.

We liked the warm welcome, the flowering shrubs & many bedding plants, the shelter from the wind. It's a huge site but seems smaller because it's divided up by hedges into separate areas. Being on hardstand meant we had a defined pitch; we've stayed here on grass before and they're less well defined pitches. We had to pitch so that our back door faced the same way as everyone else's.

The WiFi is free but you do have to log back in frequently. The site website cites the sea views, but these views are largely screened by trees. The dog walk was handy, but every day there were several big new piles of dog poo in the same area, despite there being plenty of bins to put it in and the long list of rules. Never a queue for the 3 showers, the toilet block was never closed for cleaning.

We had bad neighbours, which could happen at any site: two huge dogs barked constantly & aggressively when anyone was outside so we had to put up a screen to be able to sit out, the owners made no attempt to control them. Another neighbour used our EHU socket with our cable hanging on it, we had to trail our cable far off, so it was run over several times by the Big Dog owner driving over the grass in his work van rather than use the track.

The site served its purpose for this trip. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hymerjim 1 review from this member

 Was happy with site you won't see better, staff brilliant and helpful, only thing that let's it down is the the dogs that are not on leads???? The rules say dogs must be on lead, but seen wardens going past and they don't seem to bother, apart from this it would be 10 sorry 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jay170 2 reviews from this member

 We are caravanners but decided to book a hexi pod while through for Letís Rock Scotland. Beautiful site, Central location, clean toilets.

A special mention to the wardens, harassed to death as busy weekend. Keep up the great hard work you do, and are very pleasant with it! Also special mention to the separate taxi service, completely on time and pleasant with it.

We only had 2 nights, loved it, will be back soon with our van. Thank you. X 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 30 reviews from this member

 A minor quibble. There needs to be a sign off National Cycle Route 76 on the road below the site by the museum.

Friendly welcome. Escorted by golf cart to our pitch, which gave us a private section. Picnic bench next to tent. Showers hot (but light over showers broken - reception pleased to be told. ) Small amount of traffic noise but other wise very quiet on site.

Good value for money and useful location close to Edinburgh. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Craeglea 1 review from this member

 Having stayed at Drum Mohr two years ago in a caravan while visiting the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, and having had a good experience doing so, we opted to do the same this year, this time with a tent. We were able to book a pitch on the same day as we needed it, knowing we'd have to check in by 6pm. Finding ourselves delayed beyond 6pm we rang the site and were very helpfully told they would wait for us, as we were not far away. On arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly. Not sure why some people on here find them rude and unfriendly; not our experience at all!

The site is very well maintained, the toilet and shower blocks very clean and the shop carries all manner of things you might need.

We used the train from Wallyford station in preference to the bus to get into Edinburgh; it is a rather longer walk than to the bus stop, but if you time it well (and take a torch for the rather dark return walk if late!) it takes only 10 mins straight into Waverley Station.

A very good campsite. We will be returning! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joannem1 13 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as it was convenient for our visit to the Edinburgh Tattoo. When we arrived after a long drive we went into the reception to find one of the wardens having what we would call' a bit of a moment' and we were asked to wait in our car. One of the wardens came out and said that they would show us to our pitch. When we asked how we should position our van, the warden was quite rude in their answer. One Foot in the Grave & Fawlty Towers sprung to mind.

The site itself was OK, amenities clean with plenty of hot water. One of the downsides was there didn't seem to be proper marked out pitches & units were very very close to each other in some areas and if we hadn't got a mover we wouldn't have been able to get off our pitch on departure day. If we were visiting the area again, we wouldn't stay there as first impressions last. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ditsy79 10 reviews from this member

 We booked an 8m pitch for our large tent at this site near Edinburgh.

The pitches were well-maintained, although the ground was quite stony in places. Each group of pitches had water taps, electricity and numerous bins for recycling. Pitches were grouped nicely, and different areas separated by hedges.

In general the site was fine, but we thought some of the facilities were looking a bit tired. The showers were free, but not particularly powerful or hot. The washing up facilities were adequate. The children's playground could definitely do with an update - some of the equipment has seen better days.

We were lucky to get a large pitch in high season - their website now states no tents over 5m in July or August. When I queried this with the staff, they explained they would honour the booking but would be unlikely to accept a large tent in the future, which I think is a shame.  


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ljm18706 15 reviews from this member

 As we were so happy with the service provided last year at Easter we decided to return here again for the Sportif International Judo Competition and Camp that was held in Meadowbank Stadium a mere 8 miles away. Another fantastic week in Edinburgh area and the usual high standards of Drummohr were there again.

Clean and warm toilet/shower facilities. Plenty of hot water. Friendly staff who left you to enjoy yourselves but always polite and helpful when needed. This was our second time here and hopefully won't be our last.

Fantastic site which I would recommend to anyone. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Drummohr Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Drummohr Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Drummohr Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edinburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1659 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement