Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cardiff Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Cardiff > Cardiff Caravan Park Reviews

Cardiff Caravan Park
Pontcanna Fields
Off Sophia Close
Cardiff
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF11 9XR
Tel: 029 20398362
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 61
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RobertsClan 9 reviews from this member

We really liked this site, although the price we paid seemed expensive compared to other sites, it isn't really when you consider that it's possible to walk to the Millennium Stadium and the City centre in around 20 mins. We stayed to attend an event in Caerphilly which had bumped up local hotel prices so we thought that this was a good compromise and we were not disappointed.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and we found the pitch ideal for the weekend. We had an EHU which was easily accessible and found the toilet, shower and dishwashing facilities really good. The site was almost full and there was plenty of hot water with no need to queue at all. Yes blocks could do with some updating but that really is just aesthetics. We found it a little strange to have to use a code to get into the facilities but given just how close it is to the park it makes sense to restrict the facilities just for customers of the site.

The weather was great when we stayed so I have no idea about the conditions during prolonged wet weather. In terms of pitch sizes, they are possibly smaller than in some sites I've stayed at but I have stayed at sites near Paris and in Cornwall that are similar in size or if not smaller. Given that it's a City site I expected a smaller pitch. We camped with and 8 man tent and didn't find the pitch too small.

All in all we found this a great site to stay near the city for the weekend and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hywelsycharth 1 review from this member

Very good site with excellent, helpful staff. The central toilet block could with a total refit as not everyone can be on a serviced pitch and use their onboard caravan facilities.

Have visited twice and had good weather both times so cannot comment on the adverse conditions experienced by some.

Would most definitely use the site again

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gypsydi 10 reviews from this member

I have always wanted to stay at this site and so on our way back from an extended trip we did.

The plus side, it was in a lovely location. Liked the way the vans were sited in culdesacs. BUT

Like many others I was exceedingly disappointed with cleanliness, poor attitude to pitch care, and yes definitely lack of investment.

I felt ashamed for Wales for the impression we must be making on the many foreign visiting motor homes and caravans to our wonderful capital. It was not a cheap site either!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 15 reviews from this member

What an excellent site this is, in a perfect central location with only a 5 minute walk into Cardiff centre.

Next to the beautiful Bute Park and with a lovely pub in walking distance you really don't need anything more.

The staff we spoke to were extremely helpful and friendly, the facilities were immaculate and the pitches and site were all very well maintained.

Can't fault it at all !

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 76 reviews from this member

Visit number six and basically nothing much to add since our last visit Nov. 2017 (see below).

It's a shame the owners (Cardiff City Council) don't read these reviews, as then they might respond by improving the decidedly shabby shower blocks.

There was a smell of fresh paint when we arrived, but come on folks, for a forward looking capital city, it's getting a bit pathetic given this should be a showpiece site.

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hymervan 7 reviews from this member

I have visited this site many times, last time was 4 years ago, can't say it's changed in any way, shower/ toilet units desperately need modernising. Although everythings adequate, it just needs some work put into it to cheer it up

The site where I stayed near exit barrier was extremely wet, not the sites fault we'd had awful rain for 48 hrs, but if ground work had good drainage, it wouldn't be so muddy, so be aware, plenty of old mats needed, to keep vans reasonably clean!

All due respect the location is just perfect for the City centre or for beautiful park walks. Taxi rates very reasonable if the walk approx 30 mins is too far or too wet to walk in.

Sites fees reasonable after all it's in Cardiff, if your pitch is free on leaving day, it's an extra 10 to stay on until 5. 30.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teeekay 12 reviews from this member

Be warned if you use this site you do purely for it's location, everything else is below acceptable. General care and health and safety is sadly lacking. Bins were overflowing with waste, road and hard standing areas littered with minor debris.

The two toilet blocks (two WCs and two showers in each) are totally inadequate with historical damage roughly repaired. We used our own facilities as much as possible. The washing up area is like a prison cell and the chemical waste disposal was a rusted steel door with a disposal point inside!

Having said all of that we enjoyed the location and access to the city. It was also quiet at night and we felt safe.

The site was full and is likely to remain so throughout the summer so the owners must be rubbing their hands. How the city council allow such poor standards beats me. One camper has been coming for five years and reckons that no money has been spent on the facilities.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 76 reviews from this member

Just spent 5 nights here (for our fifth ever visit) and as usual received a very warm welcome.

Sited on pitch 9 which was all gravel with paving to one side (although our continental van habitation door was on opposite side!).

We fully expected the site to be muddy as usual but they have done a lot of work clearing the pitches, and all the grasscrete ones appeared clean and tidy.

The shower blocks are a bit dated but adequate and were sufficient for the half-full site.

The main benefit of course is the location, so close to the city centre and all amenities.

We had a good Sunday lunch in the Cricketers and wonderful evening meal in Elegano Italian restaurant.

All in all we were happy with the improvements since our last visit and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

We have just spent 3 nights at this site and I really don't think we will be back. Location wise it is a great site but it's very expensive and very crowded. Pitches are very small. The road through the site was very tight with vehicles parked along the side.

Security was lacking. We were on pitch no 1 and felt that anyone walking past could enter the site, in fact people who weren't staying on the site were known to walk or cycle right through. The 2 toilet and shower blocks were adequate and clean with plenty of hot water.

There was a cafe on site and bikes could also be hired. Staff were friendly enough. There was no children's play area but there is a great park right at the side of the site.

It's just a shame that too many vans / tents are squashed in. Less pitches and more security would make this a much better site

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacjones 9 reviews from this member

Only stayed for one night but would never stay again. Pitches were too close together, they were waterlogged.

I think they take too many people on, and so the place gets overcrowded.

No place to park your car. Felt unsafe - men drinking cans of cider at 0700 were wandering around the place. No sense of security at all. As it is in a city centre I think they should have 24 hour security

Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Cardiff      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3700 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019