Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cardiff Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Cardiff > Cardiff Caravan Park Reviews

Cardiff Caravan Park
Pontcanna Fields
Off Sophia Close
Cardiff
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF11 9XR
Tel: 029 20398362
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 61
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Neilth 1 review from this member

 Location is great, acres of parkland just a short stroll away.

City centre is just a 15 minute walk through the park.

Due to covid the facilities were shut, but reception was open and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Slight issue with the chemical waste area, but this did not detract from our enjoyment.

We have booked another stay already. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gusmax 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite

Well organised under strange circumstances

15 min walk to Cardiff castle and the shops

Will definitely stay again

Hopefully it will be back to normal again soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Palee 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site. Clean, warm shower/toilet block. Very friendly and helpful staff. Flat hard standing pitches.

Perfect location within easy walking distance of Cardiff City centre. Urban location with a rural feel. Right up our street! 


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 86 reviews from this member

 Visit number seven, (see previous below) and again, nothing much has changed, apart from the annual lick of paint and regrouting of the shower room floors, (which incidentally are carried out by the hard-working wardens, rather than contractors).

That just about says it all really - the council don't care much about the site, as it simply brings in plenty of money. Having said that, this was the quietest we've ever found the site, so maybe people want better value for their hard-earned cash.

It's such a wonderful location and despite the heavy frosts, we managed to get a couple of nice cycle rides in.

Sunday lunch in the Cricketers pub was a bit disappointing, though the evening meal we had a few days later was top notch and such a friendly place too.

We'll obviously revisit but then that's what the council rely on. 


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tckest 1 review from this member

 Very nice site, only a small site with a tiny bit for tents,

Clean shower/toilets.

Easy 10 minute walk to Cardiff shops and attractions.

We would definitely stay there again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RobertsClan 9 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site, although the price we paid seemed expensive compared to other sites, it isn't really when you consider that it's possible to walk to the Millennium Stadium and the City centre in around 20 mins. We stayed to attend an event in Caerphilly which had bumped up local hotel prices so we thought that this was a good compromise and we were not disappointed.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and we found the pitch ideal for the weekend. We had an EHU which was easily accessible and found the toilet, shower and dishwashing facilities really good.

The site was almost full and there was plenty of hot water with no need to queue at all. Yes blocks could do with some updating but that really is just aesthetics. We found it a little strange to have to use a code to get into the facilities but given just how close it is to the park it makes sense to restrict the facilities just for customers of the site.

The weather was great when we stayed so I have no idea about the conditions during prolonged wet weather. In terms of pitch sizes, they are possibly smaller than in some sites I've stayed at but I have stayed at sites near Paris and in Cornwall that are similar in size or if not smaller. Given that it's a City site I expected a smaller pitch. We camped with and 8 man tent and didn't find the pitch too small.

All in all we found this a great site to stay near the city for the weekend and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hywelsycharth 1 review from this member

 Very good site with excellent, helpful staff. The central toilet block could with a total refit as not everyone can be on a serviced pitch and use their onboard caravan facilities.

Have visited twice and had good weather both times so cannot comment on the adverse conditions experienced by some.

Would most definitely use the site again 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gypsydi 10 reviews from this member

 I have always wanted to stay at this site and so on our way back from an extended trip we did.

The plus side, it was in a lovely location. Liked the way the vans were sited in culdesacs. BUT

Like many others I was exceedingly disappointed with cleanliness, poor attitude to pitch care, and yes definitely lack of investment.

I felt ashamed for Wales for the impression we must be making on the many foreign visiting motor homes and caravans to our wonderful capital. It was not a cheap site either! 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 15 reviews from this member

 What an excellent site this is, in a perfect central location with only a 5 minute walk into Cardiff centre.

Next to the beautiful Bute Park and with a lovely pub in walking distance you really don't need anything more.

The staff we spoke to were extremely helpful and friendly, the facilities were immaculate and the pitches and site were all very well maintained.

Can't fault it at all ! 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 86 reviews from this member

 Visit number six and basically nothing much to add since our last visit Nov. 2017 (see below).

It's a shame the owners (Cardiff City Council) don't read these reviews, as then they might respond by improving the decidedly shabby shower blocks.

There was a smell of fresh paint when we arrived, but come on folks, for a forward looking capital city, it's getting a bit pathetic given this should be a showpiece site. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cardiff Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cardiff Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cardiff Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cardiff      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement