Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Moorlands Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Saddleworth > The Moorlands Caravan Park > Reviews

The Moorlands Caravan Park
Ripponden Road
Denshaw
Saddleworth
Lancashire   (Browse area)
OL3 5UN
Tel: 01457 874348
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Holiday Homes Only
Open: 04/01/2024 to 01/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juliebelper 16 reviews from this member

 We hired a VW camper van and chose this as one of our weekend overnighters. Booking was fine and we paid up front. We had pitch 12, at the end of a row. Iíve never stayed on a site with so many varied accommodations. From permanent lodges, static caravans, long term caravans, pods to the usual campers. Hook up was close by and easy.

The toilet block has gents, ladies, disabled and an indoor pot wash. There are 2 showers and 3 or 4 toilets in the ladies, it was just about warm enough. I seem to remember a washer dryer in the pot wash room too.

I imagine the site has great views over the moors, but we camped on a very windy, very wet weekend. The site is then very exposed to the elements, so we probably didnít see it at its best.

I did find the chopped gravel pathways very hard underfoot. And itís a pity they donít take tents anymore (bad behaviour, apparently). 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cazerp 2 reviews from this member

 We decided on this site after reading excellent reviews. Well how wrong were they. I know we visited during a cold n wet spell. The approach to it was not easy to see, so we had to reverse back, easy check in. There were quite a few potholes on the road to the pitches and difficult to miss. We were allocated a pitch which was a toss from a rather dirty van which looked like seasonal pitch which was an eyesore. We tried to fill our aqua roll up but no water coming out. Was advised by a seasonal van owner that it had been turned off for the winter, both of us are registered disabled so my hubby had to attach it to tow bar n go to the facilities to fill up. The toilet/showers were freezing, we were not able to use the disabled one as it was always locked! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Crossfire 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night. I used it as a base so we could go to the Cotton Clouds festival at Saddleworth Cricket Club. Its, at the time, an £11 taxi ride away if you go next year. Take care when entering the site as the entrance is very narrow. I have a twin axle caravan and was taking a lot of car to enter the site. The lady in reception was very helpful and gave me a fob for the barrier and a taxi number for later. As described in a previous review the road up to the pitches was very steep and tight but I made it without issue and I found my pitch. I made use of my motor mover to get on the pitch which was a hard standing pitch. Everything seemed to be close by, the toilets were a 5 min walk away and water was not far away. The were some serviced pitches close by but majority of these were taken by what looked like seasonal people. The site had fantastic views but was very windy, so much so I damaged my gas locker. The showers were clean and full of hot water. I would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cwarchc 29 reviews from this member

 We picked The Moorlands as its less than half an hour from our house.

What a really great site.

Perched right at the top of Saddleworth moor.

A great place, nice big hard standings with amazing views

I should imagine that it could get rather windy, as it's very exposed;

The price to pay for the views.

Good, modern amenities, nice friendly staff

Reasonable value for money

It was a total chilled out weekend, with really peaceful evenings

Great walks all round.

We will certainly be back 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dragons on tour 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at The Moorlands for a couple of nights over the bank holiday as we had tickets for the Leeds United match on the Sunday and wanted somewhere close, the site being a short half hour drive to the match.

We arrived to a warm welcome from the lady at reception. She gave us our pitch number, fob for the gate and a local paper informing us of what was on in the local area. Very handy if your stuck for something to do, but in this beautiful area I don't think you would. She also warned us about the short but fairly steep hill we had to drive up to get to the pitches. Being a single track road with a passing place, this could prove a bit off putting for some. Two caravans travelling in opposite directions could cause a bit of a problem. More on the tight road later.

The pitch itself was in a lovely spot overlooking the valley below us. A great view in the perfect weather we had. The pitch was a little uneven so make sure you have some blocks to level your van. They don't have an awful lot of room beside them so if you have a large awning you may struggle, although we had stated we wouldn't be using our awning so they may have larger pitches.

The toilet block was a short distance away which also housed the showers, chemical disposal and recycling. I don't know how often they check these facilities as throughout our stay there was no hand soap in the dispensers and the showers were a mess with muddy foot prints ( the latter being down to disrespectful users). If the owners don't want to clean them daily then a mop and bucket of disinfectant would not go amiss.

Regarding the road and access to the site. As you turn off the A672 be careful. The access road is very cut up with a manhole sticking up quite a few inches which I managed to catch on the way out with the caravan resulting in a damaged beyond repair tyre. Also where you park by reception is pretty tight for other vehicles to manoeuvrer around you as we found out. This is not a negative for the site but some nice lady was trying to get round the back of our caravan and was struggling due to lack of space ( I personally would have waited a minute but not her). As she passed I mentioned as a joke to my missus `no wonder shes got so many scratches on the side of her car with driving like that haha`. As we packed up our van before leaving my missus said whilst winding up the rear leg `someones hit the back of the caravan`! The scratches on the side of her car were caused by her breaking my rear light assembly and ruining my rear panel. So, if your reading this. Thank you nice lady. Again this is no fault of the site.

Overall the site is well located for visiting the moors and surrounding areas. Would I visit again. Probably one day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danlebath 15 reviews from this member

 Although we only stopped here 1 night, we found them to be very friendly & accommodating. Calor gas at very competitive rates and a small camping/outdoor wear in reception. The touring site is up quite a steep rise so make sure you engage low ratio or gear, especially if your van is large. Stunning views from every pitch. You do get planes passing over on final approach to Manchester Airport but nothing too intrusive. You are almost up in the clouds so expect 'weather' if not in the height of the season.

Electric hook up with what looks like water coming to every other post shortly (still on taps every so often) New toilet/shower block. Wi-fi is chargeable. Well maintained site, hard standing for the touring pitches with a few permanent residents. Take care when pulling out onto the main road as speed limits aren't always observed by other road users. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bloomooning 7 reviews from this member

 Arrived on the Friday for a short two night stay. On booking in at reception was informed I was on pitch two in the camping field and was given a map of the site. I enquired about electric for the pitch and was told there should be some on the meters, as I haven't used the card system before I was a bit confused. The staff member informed me he would come onto the pitch when I was set up to see how I was getting on ( never showed up ) I proceeded to the camping field to find pitch two but the pitches are not marked which was confusing again. Also you are not allowed a car onto the field so had to carry all equipment to pitch which was a bit of a pain. No mention of this on website

After pitching up I went to reception to sort out electric and was given a card which you slot into the hook up point. Mentioned to the member of staff (owner I think) that I couldn't find pitch two so I pitched anywhere, and he informed me the pitches are not marked anyway. Maybe the owners need to inform staff not to say what number pitch your are on if they are not marked!

Other than customer service not being very good, the campsite is nice and clean and well laid out. The toilets and shower block is up to date and spotless, and the views are stunning 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vmccar 25 reviews from this member

 This is a very pleasant site. While there are quite a few statics there is also lots of planting and also it is tiered so it is quite attractive. Everyone gets a view because of the tiering. The shower block is great and there are lots of walks straight from the site. There are lots of wee villages around and about to visit, such as Uppermill which has a few shops and restaurants - and also there are nice walks down the canal. We would visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigbadal13 2 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for our first night out in our new (to us!) caravan and loved it even though there was plenty of snow still around!

The owner couldn't have been more helpful with it being our first time out and came to make sure we were ok and helped us onto the pitch.

The views are stunning and you wouldn't know the motorway is only a few miles away! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ell63 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site set in the wonderful Saddleworth moors with stunning views. The site itself is is fantastic, clean tidy and we'll maintained. On arrival we were met by the friendly owner who advised us that he had reserved a pitch for us, 2 tents and a camper van, but due to the high winds gave us the option of another area which would be more sheltered, this proved a wise move as that night we were battered by high winds and rain, but it didn't spoil our enjoyment. You can hire fire pits but are not allowed any fires other than them. If you are camping you have to park your car on the car park next to the tent field, but this is not a problem as the field is only small and has elecrtic hook up points.

The shower block is new and is cleaned regularly.

Denshaw is a short walk down the lane and there are a number of pubs, but I would definitely avoid the Junction Inn, as a party of 6 adults a toddler and 2 dogs we saw the pub was dog friendly, but when we entered we were told we weren't allowed in with the child, but the dogs were allowed in but when we said we were a party of 6 he refused to serve us as he 'didn't serve large groups !'. So we walked up the lane and were welcomed in the Printers Arms, lovely food and excellent service, we had to use the beer garden as they didn't allow dogs.

Would definitely re visit this sight hopefully in better weather. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Moorlands Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Moorlands Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Moorlands Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saddleworth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement