Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eshton Road Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Eshton Road Caravan Park Reviews

Eshton Road Caravan Park
Eshton Road
Gargrave
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 3PN
Tel: 01756 749229
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Toffy63 1 review from this member

 We turned up unannounced and late evening on touring bikes and was made to feel welcome from the start,

Fantastic facilities and a great pitching site, Thankyou for the warm welcome to two very tired cyclists,

Definitely will be calling again.

From Mick & Phillip may see you in July as we traverse across the country midway through our jogle, 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeny 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in a beautiful location. Friendly owner, good price.

Situated on the Leeds Liverpool Canal; lovely walks into Gargrave or into Skipton, lots of wildlife and birds to see on the canal.

Enjoyed watching the narrow boats on the canal. Ideal for visiting Malham and the amazing natural sights.

Would definitely recommend and visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 night passing through. Small, quirky site with mainly static vans. Canal adjacent which was good for walking the dog along the towpath. Warehouse behind site but was no bother. Facilities quite basic but clean and tidy. Fred, the owner very helpful. Visiting swans were interesting! Good location for visiting Malham and surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flowerboy 3 reviews from this member

 Great little site, facilities dated but very clean & serviceable, handy 5 minute walk in to village couple of pubs and an Indian good food, coop for the bits you have forgot. Just a pity about the wet Yorkshire welcome. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LSing 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights to meet up with friends and socialise in Skipton! Public transport is a bit adhoc but cheap enough to get a taxi into Skipton.

Site was quiet and clean. Not well signposted to the office to pay but that was the one and only negative we could find.

2 pubs in the village (short walk away) and the small cafť did a reasonable breakfast.

Will definitely visit again for a weekend break. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandyo 3 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site several times as we love the relaxed feeling. Fred/covey is friendly, welcoming and very helpful. At only £20 per night this is an absolute bargain. Yes its next to a working warehouse but that doesn't interfere with the place. The facilities are basic but very clean and nothing to deter anybody from visiting this site. This site is in a great location and is absolutely charming. We are looking forward to our next visit. ! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ron22 20 reviews from this member

 This is a great site in a fantastic location. The owner Fred has hands on and is around all day and is very helpful and friendly. I do agree with many of the other reviews regarding the facilities. They are kept spotless but they are in urgent need of an update. The fact that the chemical disposal is inside both the ladies and gents toilets creates an unpleasant aroma. Both the toilet and showers (separate buildings)are somewhat cramped. Whilst it was October the site was full at the weekend and vans were parked too close together. I agree with others that with the current situation of toilets / showers £20 is a bit on the steep side. With some renovation this would without doubt become a five star site. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jondy376 58 reviews from this member

 We picked the site because our daughter wanted to have a day at Yarndale in Skipton livestock Market. We stayed on this site for the weekend, On arrival we were greeted by Fred on his scooter and have to say what a character, A very down to earth Yorkshireman, extremely helpful and friendly. Itís a fab location whether you just want to walk into Gargrave that has plenty of shops pubs and Cafes or as we did, Itís a lovely walk along the canal in to Skipton. Tv signal was ok for us. Wendy my wife loved everything about the site from the ducks to the old fashioned toilets which were very clean and yes he likes to get plenty of caravans on. When I was parking the caravan up, Wendy said to Fred Do you want him to get closer to the next caravan. Fred said no I can squeeze another one in there, Space is money you know but he didnít. We like plenty of space and didnít feel closed in. Most of the people we spoke too were regulars and Itís one site that we will definitely go back to 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Noel72 1 review from this member

 The owner's of this site are so helpful and friendly and very accommodating. When we arrived it had been raining and the ground was a little wet so the owner sited us right next to the canal (after checking if this was ok with us). We were on hard-standing with all the facilities on tap which was great. We had a fantastic view up and down the canal and got a birds eye view of the little boats coming through the canal lock - we could literally feed the swans/ducks from the camper window, which was great.

The toilet block and showers were kept scrupulously clean and although I've read previous comments about them possibly wanting updating, I felt that they added to the charm of the place.

The site is a mixture of statics and caravans. There is a grassed area which is used for motorhomes and also for tents to pitch. There's an additional courtyard type area located next to the canal which is where we camped our motorhome the last time we stayed. This was the second time we've camped here. The first time the weather was gorgeous and we placed our motorhome on the grass area. The pitches are plenty big enough and I think that the charge of £20 a night is fab when you get all the facilities thrown in.

Gargrave village is only a 5 minute walk away and has a pretty river running alongside it with picnic areas and stepping stones across the river. There's a bridge that leads to a little church and a there are a couple of pubs that do lovely meals, as well as a fish & chip shop, an 'Olde Sweet Shope', small art gallery etc. (there's also a very handy co-op for supplies).

Although I wouldn't say that this site was geared specifically towards children (although there's plenty of grass for them to play on), there is plenty for them to do in the immediate surrounding area, and although we only ever do 'short stays' because of work commitments - with a bit of planning it would be the perfect base to explore.

The whole area is brilliant, you can cycle or walk into Skipton along the canal path (or catch the bus). There are various walks/pathways/towns nearby.

It's a friendly campsite in the middle of the country-side, only a 5 minute walk away from the nearest quaint little Yorkshire village. We'll definitely be back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RBSB 7 reviews from this member

 After driving to Skipton for the day, my husband and I decided to stay over and were given a list of local sites from the tourist information office. The closest was The Craven Heifer which I rang and was very rudely told they weren't taking any bookings for the night as they were closed.

I then rang Eshton and said we only needed a place to pitch our van and a pub to have a meal in.

The owner said they would find us a spot and recommended somewhere to eat.

We turned up to find Fred mowing the grass and he showed us the pitch at the side of the house. He also told us the best food could be found at The Masons Arms and he wasn't wrong.

I had slow cooked pork belly, black pudding, crispy smoked bacon and whole grain mash, all for under a tenner. In a swanky city restaurant it would probably have cost double.

We were very grateful of the last minute booking but thought 20 quid a little steep for the location of the pitch as it was literally at the side of the owners house and within earshot of the road. And also the facilities were dated, however they were very clean. Didn't see a play area and site is on a reasonably busy road.

Owners lovely, location opposite canal good for walking and very nice pub. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eshton Road Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eshton Road Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Eshton Road Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3024 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement