Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lanyon Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Lanyon Holiday Park
Loscombe Lane
Four Lanes
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR16 6LP
Tel: 01209 313474
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 1st April - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Procomm 1 review from this member

A nice picturesque site in a good location for getting around Cornwall. Friendly helpful staff, play area for children and an indoor swimming pool. Ablutions were basic but clean, 2 showers per block were adequate but could have done with more. Stayed on a Gold Pitch 8m x 6m with Electric Hookup no issues at all. Only negative was that the on site shop was not well stocked and opening times were hit and miss due to staffing levels but An Aldi store 10 minute drive away fulfilled any requirements. Very well priced campsite, Helpful friendly Staff and a great Location to base yourself as you go off visiting Beautiful Cornwall

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Larbea22 10 reviews from this member

Arrival and check in were nice and quick - always a good thing.

We were a little disappointed that most of their larger pitches were seemingly reserved for seasonal visitors as most had van's parked on them already. We were on a much smaller pitch, and to be honest we were a little disappointed by this. Yes we could have asked to move, but after a 4. 5 hour journey, we were shattered and just wanted to relax.

The site is really well placed for all the main places in Cornwall that you would want to visit, there are numerous supermarkets nearby in Pool and Redruth, and even a couple of caravan accessory shops nearby should you get stuck. No shop on site, but this really wasn't an issue.

The pool was a welcome attraction, although we only used it once. There is a bar/restaurant, which was only open Friday & Saturday - unforunately, as we only arrived on Saturday afternoon we didn't get the chance to use it. There did seem to be a steady flow of traffic heading there that evening though.

Being out of the school holidays, the site was lovely and quiet - maybe a bit too quiet as at times it felt like there were no staff there. I think we saw the odd tractor/lawn mower go past, but other than that nothing. It was like a ghost town - I always think its nice to see the staff walking around, tending to the site, interacting with their customers.

The biggest downside I see to this site, is the showers/toilets. I was a little taken aback to walk into the toilet block by reception to find there were 4 maybe 5 toilets, 1 shower and 1 shower/bath. Yes there are other blocks scattered around the site, but for the size of the site I'd have hoped there were more showers! Also, on using the shower there was no shelf to put anything on - only two hooks for towels and clothes - I ended up stuff on the floor which was far from ideal.

I think this could be a really lovely site. But the facilities let it down big time. I don't think we'd return - we had a nose around some other sites while we were in the area and found one which suited our requirements much better. However, thank you for a lovely weeks stay Lanyon.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nick500 3 reviews from this member

Wow. We were only going to stay three nights, but ended up staying for a week!

It was our first visit to Cornwall and thought we'd take the tent for a few days at half term. First of all the location is ideal for a base to visit the many picturesque areas of Cornwall.

This site is one of the best sites we have stayed at. We had nice neighbours who offered to help when our tent had a pole failure.

Our pitch was of adequate size surrounded by manicured hedging on short, lush grass. The toilets and showers were very clean and adequate. There is a heated indoor swimming pool which was fantastic and a playground equipped with trampolines which the kids loved.

Very little road noise here just the odd cow moo, cockerel and plenty of birdsong.

We had a meal in the bar and the food was great, there was an extensive menu and quick service. We had to remember to carry cash as no card payment systems are in place. This was not a problem.

We love this site it was away from the busy towns and a charming place to stay. We're planning our next visit.

Well done to the staff and owners.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eddy Linda 1 review from this member

We are regular visitors of this campsite.

It is a splendid place to stay.

Staff is friendly and helpful.

Showers are perfect.

Toilets are clean.

Water for dishwashing is hot.

The grass is mowed regularly.

This site offers all we need.

Strongly recommended !


Eddy and Linda from Belgium

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pretty_lucky 1 review from this member

Returned last night from my first camping trip. We booked late so didn't really have a lot of choice of places for a decent size pitch over the Bank Holiday week. I was not expecting much and was very pleasantly surprised by the facilities.

The electric hook-up pitches seemed all to be separated by hedges to three sides which was nice.

We were on Owl field and had close access to bins, toilets, showers, dish washing and laundry facilities, freezer, fridge and microwave oven.

There were two toilets and showers in the female block (and a hairdryer), a wash stand basin cubicle and two other wash stand basins. All areas were clean and had mops/buckets ready for use if needed. I've been told it was the same for the male block.

The washer cost 4 per load (large) and it was 20p per 6 minutes in the dryer. There is also a rotary line with pegs and two laundry sinks.

The location, near Redruth, is elevated and therefore rather exposed to the elements. We emerged unscathed from some testing blustery and rainy conditions, but also had some calm moments so it is definitely dependent on weather, not just the position of the camp.

The playground has a couple of trampolines, swings, slides and climbing equipment plus a sandy area with assorted items probably left from families who had overpacked (ahem).

The indoor pool seemed nice, though we didn't get chance to try it as we were out and about most of the time when we weren't erecting or dismantling the tent. Other families used and enjoyed the pool.

Similarly, we did not use the bar/restaurant.

We couldn't get the wi-fi to connect, but it does state somewhere that it is only currently being tested.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The family friendly site was quiet and campers were respectful of each other.

There are 24 hour Tesco Extra and McDonalds within a couple of miles of the site which proved handy as we didn't get a gas bottle for our stove!

All in all we had a very satisfactory stay. We wouldn't necessarily stay there again as we would prefer to be closer to Padstow, but for those who are more interested in the Redruth/St Ives area I would recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jen87 1 review from this member

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The pitches were lovely, the grass was perfect and they moved us to a more expensive pitch which was more sheltered after our tent blew over at no extra charge. Jamie was so helpful in repairing our tent and popped over every day to check we were OK. The drinks at the bar are very reasonably priced!

The better showers are the ones by reception. But I'd suggest you take your own hairdryer!

As we were on a working holiday we didn't have time to try the pool.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TeresaAnnMelvin 2 reviews from this member

Recently spent a great 7 days here. The location is excellent because it's so central. The owners are friendly but at the same time leave you alone to enjoy your stay. The children's' facilities are good, the grandson especially liked the pool. The site is very dog friendly, they even allowed our huge rottie in the bar.

The only things they need to sort out is thecash only policy. This would be fine if the site had an atm of some type. They are loosing money here because a couple of times we would have gone to thebar for an evening tipple but we didn't have enough cash.

Also, we stayed on owl field and the showers were awful. They were freezing cold, toilet seats not fitted properly and in the dishwashing area the sink overflow just poured out onto the floor. We didn't use them at all unless it was dark but like others walked to badger field?

Management response: The bar is a separate company and is only seasonal, to provide card facilities would mean bringing a dedicated BT telephone line and PDQ machine into the building for such a short period, sorry we cannot provide this service or a ATM cash machine.

With regard to maintenance issues if you had reported them they would have been sorted out. Since your departure they have all been dealt with and showers running on full power and hot. Hope you pay us a visit again and if you would like to discuss any items ask to speak with myself.

Regards Jamie

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scruffysan 1 review from this member

We have been staying at Lanyon for many years now and always enjoy our stay.

The owners are so friendly, the staff are incredibly helpful and our bookings each year are effortless.

Our three children have grown up at a Lanyon over the last few years, swimming, playing, and exploring Cornwall with us, with beaches and attractions all within easy reach of the camp site. In fact, we got to the point that we stopped touring and now store our caravan with them, as it means we can visit more often. As a result, this year we stayed at Easter, spring half term and now this summer.

Our final night this year included eating at the a Lanyon Lookout, somewhere we have never tried before simply because we are always travelling around. The welcome was as friendly as ever and the food was excellent.

We can't wait to return every time we leave!

The Marshall's

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bevdodd 1 review from this member

From the moment we arrived and pitched our trailer tent, we felt at home on the site.

My best friend from school in Manchester lives in Four Lanes so the site was extremely convenient. What we didn't plan on was the fact that we fell in love with the site.

The owners helped us feel welcomed to this quiet relaxing site. Barry keeping us well fed and watered, whereas Rose just loved to chat.

We look forward to spending 2 weeks next year - only 10 days this time - lets hope the weather is as good.

The Dodds

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chesterfieldhouse 1 review from this member

Spent a very pleasant few days camping at Lanyon Park. The facilities are very good, with inclusive use of the showers etc. The hosts are friendly, helpful and willing to look at your individual needs. Ideal location to explore Cornwall, being equal distance from the north and south coastline. During our relatively short stay, we managed to visit a number of towns and sights around this part of an interesting diverse county. Highly recommended. The Seymour's

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3136 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019

Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt

Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!