Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of High Range Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > High Range Caravan Park > Reviews

High Range Caravan Park
Grampian Road
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1PT
Tel: 01479 810636
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 71
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 60 Reviews
                7/10 from 60 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Anisbet1 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent facilities on site - showers, toilets, dish washing facilities, washing machines, dryers and iron all available. EHU, water, grey waste etc.

Some traffic noise from A9 but never disturbed us during the night.

Great walks straight from park and only about a 10 minute walk to Aviemore.

Pizza place at entrance to the park and a chip shop and Indian about 5 minutes walk.

Lots of dog friendly places to eat and drink in Aviemore. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ashley 6 reviews from this member

 Good location on edge of Aviemore and with a restaurant nearby and others not much further - all within walking distance.

Liked the heated facilities block so I could have a shower without being frozen.

Good roomy pitches too.

Good that Reception open late too. 


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tracy Menmuir 1 review from this member

 This is the second time we’ve been to this site.

Great location/base for a few days away.

Lovely clean toilet block which has a washing area/ washing machines and driers if needed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Patric 2 reviews from this member

 Facilities excellent. Staff very caring and professional.

The whole site was very well maintained and of a high standard.

Would definitely recommend and we will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karlsa 1 review from this member

 Only small issue we had was filling up our drinking water as there is only one tap at the toilet block. Everything else was fine.

It is close to the town, it has a restaurant, it doesn't take long to get to the Cairngorms and other local attractions, there is a nature reserve next to the campsite.

We had a great week and would return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Toria4 1 review from this member

 We loved it. Very well kept. Spotlessly clean and well organised. Great play area for children and peaceful.

Lots of wild rabbits running around.

Would recommend.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nc500 3 reviews from this member

 Would not have stayed here if I had seen place first and read reviews. Yes it has a great location for town centre but that’s all. It was like being parked on a caravan grave yard. We were parked in an area with no one else going about and all huge caravans were disused and derelict.

Toilet block was like a hospital and very clinical and unfriendly. Yes it was clean but at £33 an night I was disappointed. We had just completed the NC500 and not paid mor than £22 per night for much nicer sites and facilities. Wish we had gone further down the road and away from the noisy A9 traffic which runs along side site. We get unsafe and hardly slept a wink after being woken by someone standing looking into our van at 11. 15 pm! Would not recommend this place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Custard15 18 reviews from this member

 High Range attempts to provide for all visitors to Aviemore – hotel, self-catering chalets, campsite and restaurant. It must have been a great place twenty or thirty year ago, but i’s hey-day is seems to be well gone. I felt like I had been sucked back to my childhood caravan holidays (not the best memories) and when I’d paid for a one night stopover, I felt like I had handed over all my pocket money – very steep at almost £30 (plus £5 cash deposit for the swipecard for the facility block). Like other reviewers, I wasn’t given much info (except for a proud explanation of the swipe card to keep non-residents out of the facilities). I suppose we were just pleased to find a last minute pitch on a Friday evening … but in hindsight I would have kept on driving out of town if necessary.

Our pitch was just behind reception and nicely nestled in the trees, but incredibly sloping and not good for campervans/motorhomes … first use of two ramps under a single wheel! Thankfully the road noise wasn’t too bad as we were furthest from the A9.

The facility block had load of loos, but only 3 showers which would mean a queue at key times. Was a bit taken aback to see the number of vending machines (though some were out of order) – female hygiene products and ‘massagers’, overpriced choc bars, cigarette lighters and so on. Don’t miss a sales opportunity guys! In the morning we discovered just how outdated the campsite was. You really get the impression that the site is aimed at caravans (ideally old long-stay/seasonal) and despite the number of motorhomes/campervans visiting, no effort has been made to assist these in getting water into tanks, or worse still, grey waste out. Yes, fine we can empty toilet cassettes, but there’s no way to drain grey water away but to park on a public road over a drain. Unbelievable that for the pitch rate, they can’t be bothered to install a drive-over drain … or even provide some guttering to allow motorhomes to hook up to the drain which is inside a cupboard – a tenner a bit a basic DIY would fix that. I feel really sorry for motorhome renters who have little experience and who are told they’ll be charged extra for returning a van with waste in tanks. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mike13 5 reviews from this member

 Firstly the welcome at reception was warm but not much advice was given, there was dog muck at the end of our pitch, very little room between the pitches and one fresh water tap for a site this size is poor.

A previous review from about 6 years ago mentions the lower part being like a caravan graveyard, this has not changed, can't comment on restaurant on site as we didn't use it, but the showers were constantly busy so get used to waiting, all in all I wouldn't return to this site and couldn't recommend it either! 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 111 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of March and have very mixed feelings about the place ! First impressions were good, a nice reception area, very large clean toilet shower facilities with laundry & washing up area contained within and having turned up early we were allowed on our pitch as it was vacant although the guy in reception made us feel as if we were wasting his time being there ! Once you leave the office area and drop down and the bank onto the site it looked like a caravan grave yard ! Lots of old caravans covered in mould, some with broken awnings some stacked 2 to a pitch and most it seemed were occupied by workers in the area as there were a lot of cars starting up around 6am. Our pitch was directly alongside the fence with the main A9 road on the other side so there was quite a lot of road noise day & night. On the positive side the site location is very handy being a 5 minute walk into Aviemore and there's an excellent Italian restaurant at the site entrance (£12. 95 for an eat as much as you want buffet and the pizzas were excellent) there is also a bus stop not far from the site with an hourly service to the cairngorm sky centre. On the down side the site was very expensive at £28 per night for 2 adults in a Motorhome. One final point, it snowed heavily the night before we left and as the road around the site hadn't been treated I asked at reception if someone could at least grit the bank out as I didn't think our 3. 8 ton Motorhome would make it up, the guy reluctantly agreed to 'get it done sometime as your not in a rush are you ?' As the road was not treated 2 hours later we found the grit bin and did it ourselves ! At £28 per night I would have expected better service than that ! We will not be rushing back here soon ! 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is High Range Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to High Range Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is High Range Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement