Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Range Touring Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > High Range Touring Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

High Range Touring Caravan & Camping Park
High Range Complex
Grampian Rd
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1PT
Tel: 01479 810636
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 71
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 53 Reviews
                7/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nc500 3 reviews from this member

Would not have stayed here if I had seen place first and read reviews. Yes it has a great location for town centre but that’s all. It was like being parked on a caravan grave yard. We were parked in an area with no one else going about and all huge caravans were disused and derelict.

Toilet block was like a hospital and very clinical and unfriendly. Yes it was clean but at £33 an night I was disappointed. We had just completed the NC500 and not paid mor than £22 per night for much nicer sites and facilities. Wish we had gone further down the road and away from the noisy A9 traffic which runs along side site. We get unsafe and hardly slept a wink after being woken by someone standing looking into our van at 11. 15 pm! Would not recommend this place.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Custard15 16 reviews from this member

High Range attempts to provide for all visitors to Aviemore – hotel, self-catering chalets, campsite and restaurant. It must have been a great place twenty or thirty year ago, but i’s hey-day is seems to be well gone. I felt like I had been sucked back to my childhood caravan holidays (not the best memories) and when I’d paid for a one night stopover, I felt like I had handed over all my pocket money – very steep at almost £30 (plus £5 cash deposit for the swipecard for the facility block). Like other reviewers, I wasn’t given much info (except for a proud explanation of the swipe card to keep non-residents out of the facilities). I suppose we were just pleased to find a last minute pitch on a Friday evening … but in hindsight I would have kept on driving out of town if necessary.

Our pitch was just behind reception and nicely nestled in the trees, but incredibly sloping and not good for campervans/motorhomes … first use of two ramps under a single wheel! Thankfully the road noise wasn’t too bad as we were furthest from the A9.

The facility block had load of loos, but only 3 showers which would mean a queue at key times. Was a bit taken aback to see the number of vending machines (though some were out of order) – female hygiene products and ‘massagers’, overpriced choc bars, cigarette lighters and so on. Don’t miss a sales opportunity guys! In the morning we discovered just how outdated the campsite was. You really get the impression that the site is aimed at caravans (ideally old long-stay/seasonal) and despite the number of motorhomes/campervans visiting, no effort has been made to assist these in getting water into tanks, or worse still, grey waste out. Yes, fine we can empty toilet cassettes, but there’s no way to drain grey water away but to park on a public road over a drain. Unbelievable that for the pitch rate, they can’t be bothered to install a drive-over drain … or even provide some guttering to allow motorhomes to hook up to the drain which is inside a cupboard – a tenner a bit a basic DIY would fix that. I feel really sorry for motorhome renters who have little experience and who are told they’ll be charged extra for returning a van with waste in tanks.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike13 5 reviews from this member

Firstly the welcome at reception was warm but not much advice was given, there was dog muck at the end of our pitch, very little room between the pitches and one fresh water tap for a site this size is poor.

A previous review from about 6 years ago mentions the lower part being like a caravan graveyard, this has not changed, can't comment on restaurant on site as we didn't use it, but the showers were constantly busy so get used to waiting, all in all I wouldn't return to this site and couldn't recommend it either!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of March and have very mixed feelings about the place ! First impressions were good, a nice reception area, very large clean toilet shower facilities with laundry & washing up area contained within and having turned up early we were allowed on our pitch as it was vacant although the guy in reception made us feel as if we were wasting his time being there ! Once you leave the office area and drop down and the bank onto the site it looked like a caravan grave yard ! Lots of old caravans covered in mould, some with broken awnings some stacked 2 to a pitch and most it seemed were occupied by workers in the area as there were a lot of cars starting up around 6am. Our pitch was directly alongside the fence with the main A9 road on the other side so there was quite a lot of road noise day & night. On the positive side the site location is very handy being a 5 minute walk into Aviemore and there's an excellent Italian restaurant at the site entrance (£12. 95 for an eat as much as you want buffet and the pizzas were excellent) there is also a bus stop not far from the site with an hourly service to the cairngorm sky centre. On the down side the site was very expensive at £28 per night for 2 adults in a Motorhome. One final point, it snowed heavily the night before we left and as the road around the site hadn't been treated I asked at reception if someone could at least grit the bank out as I didn't think our 3. 8 ton Motorhome would make it up, the guy reluctantly agreed to 'get it done sometime as your not in a rush are you ?' As the road was not treated 2 hours later we found the grit bin and did it ourselves ! At £28 per night I would have expected better service than that ! We will not be rushing back here soon !

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

Used the site for a one night touring stopover. The site is laid out like a figure '6', and that may account for the varying reports about noise and the distance to the facilities. The loop of the '6' is closest to Reception - it's wooded and shaded, closest to the toilet block and farthest from the A9 road. The downstroke of the '6' is open, more sunny, but the far end is below the A9 - more noisy - and farthest from the facilities. The main niggle for us is access to fresh water - there are no stand-pipes around the site, just one tap in a cupboard at the end of the facilities block - our short hose would not reach it, so if you have a motorhome, fill up first or bring a long hose! We'd stay here again, but only as a stopover - the shade and the fresh water access are an issue for us. Good dog walk (in Craigellachie National Nature Reserve). We didn't try the on site Italian food place, but it's run by the owners and would be handy if you don't want to cook. And the site is close to town. £26 for 2 people, hardstand and EHU; not sure if the dog was free.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robertson Family 1 review from this member

Ideal site for being close to the centre of Aviemore and used as a base. Quite a bit of road noise as you are just of the A9 (didn't bother us). The park was quite a bit away for the kids to go to. Bins, Toilet block, drinking water, waste emptying were all about a 5 min walk up a hill. Not good for someone that struggles to walk. There is a tv point along with the electric hookup but you need a really good lead for it to work which you can hire from reception for £5. 00 plus £5. 00 for the card to get into fresh water, toilets etc etc.

Will try a different site next time.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bangkokboy 1 review from this member

We found this site to get a very nice clean place to stay

The wash block is the best we've come across

Helpful and friendly staff in a super location

Walking distance to the pubs and shops

I marked this resort down only because their various bar prices were excessively high

Otherwise a near to perfect resort to stay

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spritzer 1 review from this member

Good site, just at roundabout out of aviemore so very much walking distance to shops etc. We also walked to rothiemurchus fishery where we fed the fish one evening for £1 a tub each. :)

The Italian on site is brilliant! Really good food!

The toilets and showers are clean but only 3 showers is not enough so go early!

The ground you camp on is Sandy/earthy rather than grass, it's very hard and stoney! Rock pegs and air beds are needed! Lol.

There is a playground on site which is quite good but literally on the doorstep of the lodges!

The pitches are well laid out with your own marked out pitch which was nicer than the usual.

I liked this site and would stay again! :)

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

Was looking forward to this stop but was left a little disappointed. On arrival we parked up on the oversized car park and headed to reception. They told us which pitch we were on and gave us the swipe card that allows you access to the toilet block, showers, water and waste facilities. 'Have a nice stay' and that was it. No explanation of the facilities or map of the park or guide to the area or list of rules or, well anything really!

Headed down to the pitch, pulled in and started to setup. First thing you notice driving through is the sheer volume of long term / seasonal / contractor caravans. Lots of them covered in green from the trees with awnings that looked 30 years old!

The pitches seemed fairly level and we only used one step on the ramp to achieve near perfect level. On the hookup tower is a TV point which is a bonus. Putting up the awning was fun. The hard standing really is hard.

The main camping area is set in a bowl and is below all the surrounding area which was mostly tree lined. This has the effect of creating a scenic view, but also serves to block the view to anything beyond the site so depending on your perspective can be a good or bad thing.

The shower and toilet block is about a minute away and was kept very clean and tidy. Good sized showers and plenty of hot water. On the end of the block is the fresh water, chem disposal point and waste disposal point. As a motorhome user these were a complete pain to use. No way of getting the waste to the waste point (inside a small room). The fresh water had no hose pipe and as we had just packed up to move on ours was buried and not quickly accessible. Emptying the toilet wasn't a problem but, if I had needed to empty out by carrying it from our pitch, or had a waste container that needed emptying then the trek to here would not have been fun, nor would having to get the fresh water for that matter. There are plenty of bins around, but these are also away from your pitch.

I think the site would benefit massively by introducing some more water points, waste points and bins actually in the camping area. Road noise for us was a bit of an issue. You cannot escape it. Having only one security swipe card to access the toilet and shower block can be a pain. Should be at least two so that more than one person can go at any point in time.

On the positive sides the site is ideally located to explore the local area. Aviemore has plenty of facilities from a Tescos, to bakeries, pubs, coffee shops, etc. , to attractions such as the Strathspey railway. For those wanting to have a steam pulled trip out on a train then this is a must.

If you want to visit Aviemore and need a local place to stay that is ideally located then it is fine. If you want a peaceful getaway to relax and chill out then find somewhere else.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tour gs 16 reviews from this member

Visited high range for 5 nights in July. Chose it due to being close to town and the Italian restaurant on site. Can't fault the the food at the restaurant it was fantastic. Being within walking distance of the town was a good thing but you could hear a fair bit of road noise from the A9.

The pitches aren't all level so take a ramp with you and they're not that big if you've a sizeable awning. Not a lot of space between pitches so it feels quite cramped.

One water tap for the whole site which us at the toilet block at the top of a slope and nod rain for waste (grey) water. This meant dragging the waste water container uphill then having to lift in excess of 40kgs up to empty it into the chemical toilet disposal point, hit work in the hot weather we enjoyed.

One card for the family to get access to the toilet block meant pre planned or group visits to the toilets. Also the toilet block was closed for 3 hours a day for cleaning. ?? Although no toilet paper in one of the cubicles for two days. Showers a bit erratic and temperature not adjustable.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and tried their best to sort us out when someone had 'accidentally ' taken the pitch allocated to us, which happened to be one of the more level ones!

Went to Rothiemurchus clay pigeon shooting which was excellent with quality instruction given by the staff. Would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Will return to the area later in the year but will try a different site next time.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019