Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Prestwick Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Prestwick > Prestwick Holiday Park Reviews

Prestwick Holiday Park
Prestwick
Prestwick
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA9 1UH
Tel: 01292 479261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 17
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John quinn 2 reviews from this member

Stayed one night

Great site, good food and bar, friendly staff

Good dog walks

Nice beaches all round

Enjoyed my visit

Good clean toilet blocks

No problem with noise

Friendly static owners

I hope to visit site again in the very near future

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjwurtz 6 reviews from this member

I was a bit disappointed by this site. It doesn't deserve the 8 stars on the review. The location is good for visiting Ayrshire, and close to Ayr and the main roads, but it's naturally noisy since it is close to the railway, the road to Ayr and the airport.

This is what you are prepared to have, but if you are put in the area near the pub, you have also all the people leaving it late and speaking loudly while walking in front of your pitch.

The pitches there are also tiny (a bit less for those at the entrance, but then you have to walk a lot to reach the facilities) and you have just enough space to put your car and you caravan (don't think of an awning). The site is mainly a huge area of static caravans, and few is done for tourers.

Facilities are well maintained, but old and not very practical. For example the (only 2) showers are extremely small (at least on the gent part) and very easily flooded. Toilets are also limited in number (only 2), so if you are staying during a bank holiday weekend, be ready to wait if you come at the wrong time.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gallachers 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here 2 nights of holiday weekend. Nice tidy site with well kept grounds. Shower blocks were spotless. There's a laundry with tumble dryers or outside clothes dryer. A wee shop with essentials and newspapers. A bar with a games table too. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. Plenty of room for our small grandkids to run about. Short walk to the town and beach. Planes from near airport were few and good to look at so close. Noise not much or too loud. Would return here no problem

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SQUIGSUM 4 reviews from this member

We went to stay on this camp site as we have friends who live in Ayr and Prestwick and we decided this was central to all our friends.

We booked by telephone and gave an estimated time that we would be arriving but on arrival nobody was in the office and there was no instructions telling us how to book in. After hanging around for a while somebody did turn up (although he was only there because he had an appointment with somebody else) he booked us in and told us to go through an archway and just hook up wherever there was space. We did and found that all the vans were that close we could almost hear what people were talking about.

We were not told anything about the facilities on site and we did not even know where the toilets were.

We managed because the people in the next van had been before and directed us. The toilets were again through another archway and the path was all gravel which meant that when you went to the loo you could not help but disturb anyone camped along the route.

Apparently there was a bar on the site and we only found that out as we were driving away.

The couple near to us told us there was a mini market selling basic supplies and newspapers so as we left we decided to find it to get a newspaper and fresh bread to take with us. After following a sign towards the shop we were unable to find it and asked a man who was coming out of a static caravan and he sort of grunted that it was behind the fence where we were and then haughtily walked off.

Needless to say we will not be going here again.

The site left us feeling very disgruntled and unwanted.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: William scott 19 reviews from this member

Just off main A77.

Its a well run and friendly and very clean site good shop and bar.

Entertainment on week ends.

20 per night 5 deposit for toilet key toilets cold but shower was warm well maintained as site was full.

Some down points.

Could do with play ground for the kids as there is some spare ground about the site.

Also some more slabbed walking ways as quite hard to push waste and water containers on large gravel chips.

Plenty shops and entertainment for all ages in the town.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tarasadog 5 reviews from this member

Well-maintained site only a few minutes walk from the great beach between Troon and Prestwick. We walked along the beach to Prestwick and really enjoyed it. Prestwick seems a nice town too, with plenty of things for the kids to do. There's no kid's play area on the site, though

The campsite is really close to the airport, although the flights don't seem to fly during the night and didn't bother us in any case.

The staff we met were friendly and there is a well stocked shop on site. There's also a bar, although we didn't manage a visit!

The toilet block was clean and perfectly acceptable, with two decent showers in the gents. Don't know about the ladies'.

From a tent perspective, the camping area seems like a bit of an afterthought - being along the verge of the site access road. This was also a bit further from the toilet shower block than we would have liked. This was possibly an overspill area, though, as the camp was very busy.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

This is our third time on this site. Lovely site, mainly statics but a few pitches for caravans and campers. Didn't see any tents this time, where they usually are sited there was a camper van so not sure if they still take tents.

Loos clean and well stocked. Use you own soap at hand basins but there is a hand dryer and hair dryer which needs coins, 5.00 cash deposit for loo key which is refundable. Showers adjustable and quite a powerful spray.

Short walk through gate to beach. Prestwick village a couple of miles away with a small tesco and a somerfield and various shops and bar / restaurants.

Friendly staff, only complaint the electric kept tripping on Saturday and Sunday but I think this was because the tourer site was very full with it being a bank holiday, we didn't have this problem the last 2 times we stayed.

20 per night which I thought was very reasonable for a pitch with EHU, the same as when we stayed here 2 years ago. Right across from the airport but that wasn't a problem. No planes fly through the night. Troon is a few miles away with a Morrisons and more shops etc.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The warrior 3 reviews from this member

This site is close to Prestwick airport and has a nice walk for our dog to the beach which is only a few minutes walk from the site. Site very clean and well kept. The pitches are level and has hard standing and grass, plenty of electric hook ups, pub and shop on site and are very reasonable with their prices. Toilets and showers was clean and plenty of free hot water. We arrived early evening reception was closed but found a mobile contact number in the window of reception, phoned to book in and told where to collect the key for toilets/showers which was a 5.00 deposit refundable on leaving. Very little noise from the airport and staff very friendly

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leolion 12 reviews from this member

Firstly when we booked this site we assumed that there were going to be a kids area as it was stated in the caravan book. Unfortunatley this was not the case but there were other things for the kids to do.
The tourer site in the park was next to a main house which had hard / grass we were on the hard but were told that someone had taken our place on the grass the electric hook was passed through one of the windows from the house.
There were lovely walks to a not bad size beach although not ideal if the kids want to take their bikes. With it being the Easter weekend the planes were coming in thick and fast but was really enjoyable watching them coming in and when your used to live in a large city then noise dosen't bother you.
There was a pub which was entered from the other side of the house but were not disturbed by the noise or people out and about but them maybe still early in the year. All in All not a bad site for up to a long weekend, site was clean and toilets satisfactory.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fredeye 1 review from this member

We thought this was a wonderful park. Peaceful tidy and well kept. We enjoyed our stay from the start of June to the end of July very much and shall recommend the park to friends.
Our wee dog loves the beach and being only 10 minutes walk away it is very handy. Planes flying overhead can be noisy but this only happens occasionally. Overall a nice site.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Prestwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3289 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019