Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Anchor Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Stafford > The Anchor Inn Reviews

The Anchor Inn
Peggs Lane
Old Lea
High Offley
Stafford
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST20 0NG
Tel: 01785 284569
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clint1974 2 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights bank holiday weekend, very quiet site no children no children's play area. Quaint old fashioned pub doesn't do food though but the cock inn at woodseaves about 1. 5 miles away caters for this and also a village shop for essentials. Cheap 6 a night no showers but outside toilets. Didn't notice any camp fires so not sure if allowed basic but friendly site well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Juekaz 2 reviews from this member

Almost didn't visit due to a review saying how stressful the approach was ! so glad we did, beautiful site and easy to find. Lovely people too, will definitely recommend and will visit again as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Trengove 5 reviews from this member

Visited the Anchor again for the umpteenth time. Always made welcome. My wife can now get a brew and a butty in the pub. This weekend was to attend the Eccleshall street market, only happens on alternate years. Great day plenty to do and see. Plenty of other local pubs nearby where you can get a hot meal. Trentham Gardens and Monkey World 20 minutes away. Fishing pools within 5 miles. Advantage to be a self contained unit, but that is what going to CL's is all about. The entertainment on a weekend in the Anchor is great, nobody knows what is going to happen, if you can sing or play an instrument you will be encouraged to join in.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maz9999 31 reviews from this member

Went this site for one day, last minute, and so glad we did, if you like clinical, clean, lots of amenities, you will not like this place, if you want a unique experience you will,

Toilets are an experience on their own, lots of swallows sitting above you, plus spiders and I would say lots of other ' visitors',

Field we were on had a great view over fields, the pub adjoining is like no other we have been in, very very small, only two rooms, bar room all tables face each other, with a boat shaped bar, so if you don't like chatting to local boat enthusiasts, don't go, if you are lucky you will be serenaded to the early hours by the local musicians, superb beer, only one on draught which is wadworth 6x, wines, spirits in bottles, and westons vintage cider plus others, one barmaid, has been for over 50 years, a lovely lady called Olive, in her 80s, so don't rush her ! mind you, you wouldn't be able to haha, tops up your beer with a jug, at busy times you will need to be patient !but her daughter helps out at busy times.

Very nice beer garden with hanging baskets, next to the canal for nicer days,

All in all a 10/10 for us,

The only reason I have downgraded the child friendliness is because its next to a canal and no kids in the pub, but children are welcome

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kenraj 2 reviews from this member

I have been going to this site for a few years now so was very disappointed when I went to pay my bill this time to find the price was 17 with an awning or 14. 50 without. This site used to be a cosy cheap site but the owner has decided to over inflate prices where the amenities are not the best standard. You can go a few miles up the road to the wharf where it is cheaper and there is much better facilities toilets showers and playground for the kids. The Anchor Inn has lost a customer in me I am very disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MERLINCAMPER 1 review from this member

THIS TIME WAS DIFFERENT!

So Thank you again for another wonderful visit on what must be our 8th time with you at least.

We were saved by the ever Friendly owners who rescued us and gave us at pitch and a pint of delicious cold beer at 10. 45pm! on Friday night after another very rude campsite had turned us away despite telling them that we would be late as we were coming after work. (i am annoyed with not coming here first, it will not happen again)

An amazing weekend was had by all and I am glad to see that the house martins are back nesting in the toilets as the children loved it. A peaceful chilled out site with a nice layout and plenty of room for the kids to play and ideal location for a relaxing weekend and a nice (long) stroll to the next pub along the canal who serve very nice meals.

The kids also loved the gift shop (which you have to enquire about) and came home with lots of reasonably priced memento's of their canal side holiday!

Olive we will definitely be seeing you again in the very near future.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Deniselh 6 reviews from this member

Went for 1 night Stay in our Caravan along with a friend in theirs to the CL site. Narrow lanes to the site which has many passing points. Site relatively level and is well kept and the plots are quite large with ample room for children to play. We had 4 children with us and they had loads of room to run around and enjoy themselves.

The site is in the grounds of a very quaint pub which is enjoyed by many locals, ramblers and people who have moored their canal barges on the canal outside. Although the pub is small, lots of tables outside.

There is also a further field for tents and some hard standing for caravans and there were also some static caravans which look as if can be rented.

Facilities are basic which didn't bother us as we are self sufficient. There is also a good recycling point.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and one site which we will definitely go back to.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Juneviannepalmer 4 reviews from this member

The site is next door to and part of the Anchor Inn which is very popular with both locals and canal boat people. The pub is old and rather eccentric, there is only 1 beer (Wadsworth 5X) which is served fom a jug but there is every type of bottled beer and cider. The pub does not do food but there is a pub/restaurant a mile away. The site is rough and ready - the toilets are the pub toilets (outside) very clean and fine if you don't mind housemartins swooping around and the odd bat! The pitches are flat, there is hook-up, and we really liked being back to nature. We only live about 20 minutes drive away so it is great for a one-nighter. We are going back this week as the pub is great fun and full of 'characters' - there are pic-nic tables outside and it is very pleasant. We paid 14 per night for campervan and hook-up, which we paid the following morning or more like afternoon after a night in the pub! Be warned - the site can be difficult to find!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Agnes Nitt 5 reviews from this member

Spent one night at the Anchor Inn and loved it. The other campers (tents and camper vans) were really friendly (giving us tent pegs which didn't come with our new tent and then we helped push a camper van that was stuck in the mud).

The facilities were ok - one male and one female toilet which are open all the time and shared with the pub. They do have swallows nests in them and which I was lucky enough to find out when they came swooping out as I went in!

There is a cold water tap and that is about it really. We were charged 5. 00 a person.

The Anchor Inn is lovely, as others have mentioned, just one lager and one beer, a box of wine and a box of cider. What more could you want.

The local narrow boaters played all night which I really enjoyed. The pub doesn't do food but I think there are pubs nearby that do, but we decided to cook.

The pub garden is virtually on the tow path of the Shropshire Canal.

Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toker1000 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night to break up my journey, I called before to book and arrived about 9pm which the proprietor was ok with.

It's a nice basic site with male and female toilets and a water tap outside. Not sure how much I paid but it was 8. 50 with a pint in the pub, I only had the one which was nice but it looked like they had a nice selection of ales and ciders on offer.

Pitched my tent up in the top right hand corner of the field near to the toilets I think I was the only one there and had an excellent nights sleep due it being such a peaceful location.

Will definitely return if I'm in the area again.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Stafford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019