Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Britchcombe Farm Countryside Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Uffington > Britchcombe Farm Countryside Holidays Reviews

CLOSED: Britchcombe Farm Countryside Holidays
Near Faringdon
Uffington
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: TimCESmith 53 reviews from this member

 The setting is absolutely gorgeous, but the facilities are very basic. It reminded me of Bedruthan Steps - hmm, that's another one of Ratty's faves.

It's set over four separate fields either side of the road and farmyard. A small, fifth area with EHU doubles as the tea shop car park. The hilly landscape is very beautiful, but it does mean the majority of the ground is steeply sloping. I imagine when it's busy there'll be competition for the flat spots. The top field (nearest the white horse) forms a valley in the middle which we avoided lest it got boggy in the wet. We chose "Apple Tree Bottom" with its wonderful views, wooded borders and an inquisitive herd of steers in the next field.

There are drinking water taps and very smart, clean portaloos in each of the four camping fields, and that's it. The showers and two washing up sinks are a long, long schlepp away in the farmyard, as is a skip for rubbish disposal. We used dry-wash and did the washing up in the tent. It's fine for a weekender.

The area is full of charm and interest. There are many useful shops within striking distance, including Tesco, Waitrose and Aldi in Faringdon. The on site tea room does an excellent bacon butty and really good burgers to order.

The whole operation is run by Marcella, the formidable matriarch. You have to report to her on arrival and pay up in cash. She will give you spoken and written instructions, a wristband per adult, and a black binbag. A stand-out, written in bold, tells you to call the police if anyone is annoying you with antisocial behaviour - ie. "Do not call the management". We were there on a bank holiday weekend, and it's a site which allows campfires, so of course there were noisy groups drinking into the small hours. We expected it, and it was fine. I expect I woke them up in the morning with my olympic-standard snoring.

To sum up, it's a fab site, but with limited facilities it'd be hard work for a long stay in a tent. 


Date of Visit: June 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 Another year and another trip to my favourite campsite in this area. I booked via email using the for on here and they replied soon after and requested a deposit, this was sent and the booking was confirmed by telephone.

I arrived and was met by the very friendly lady at reception and paid my balance, given my bin nag, explained the rules and location of facilities and off I went to my normal spot.

The field has not changed much and still offers stunning views of the Ridgeway and the rolling countryside. One thing that I did notice that I don't recall from last year is the addition of two dog poo bins in the field, excellent.

The field has 8 portaloos and the showers are across the road by reception and the tea rooms and the showers are clean, warm and free.

Walking is in abundance from this site and once you scale the small hill, you will be on the top of the Ridgeway providing miles and miles of walks with stunning scenery. I always enjoy a walk to Waylands Smithy when here, and once up the top it is flat all the way. Also take in the remains of the fort, it's lovely for kids to run around and burn off that extra bit of energy. Yu can also walk to the White Horse, Uffington along the Ridgeway and admire this, however you cannot walk on the stones, but instead sit down and enjoy the view with a nice picnic.

There are a couple of pubs within walking distance offering good food and drinks, both walkable from the site, although the Fox and Hounds is a bit nearer. There is also a small shop in the village offering daily essentials and anything you may have forgotten.

The area is close the Wiltshire border and has many attractions on offer which can be family friendly.

Back to the site, they allow fires in their fire pits, but you must buy the wood and kindling from them, but at 5 per bag, it is not a wallet breaker and adds to the wonderful ambience of the site. They come round in the afternoon / early evening and drop the logs off and you pay when they come by.

This is a cash only site, so don't forget a trip to the cash point first.

I will be back here time and time again, I love the site, I love the walking and I love the chilled feeling of staying here, and all this for just 8 per adult per night, bargain. Highly recommended to all. 


Date of Visit: September 2017  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 A return visit to this site as I just love the area, the relaxed atmosphere of the site and the great walks direct from the fields.

We wandered down to the Fox and Hounds this time and this is a lovely pub just 1. 5 miles from the site through the fields and although we didn't eat, the food looked lovely and was reasonably priced. The views of the White Horse from the garden are just lovely and we spent a while watching the para gliders jumping from the hill. Be careful on the way back as we came across a huge bull in the last field before the campsite and had to find an alternative route back.

8 per person per night, dogs are free and a bag of logs and kindling was just 5 and it is a good sized bag too. They come round in the evening and you purchase it from them then.

The showers are in a portacabin type hut and work fine, the pressure could be better but to be honest they do the job and are fit for purpose.

Toilets are portaloos in each field and are kept clean, well stocked and perfectly usable. Fresh water taps on each field and a skip for your rubbish.

There is a small tea room by the reception area for bacon butties, cream teas, etc.

A great site and will be back time and time again, and I found it best to book using the enquiry form on here, rather than phoning as they respond much quicker to emails. Booking in was simple and paid on arrival. 


Date of Visit: July 2017  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I came back again over a weekend to meet with friends as this was a very central location. The price was still 8 for me, the dog and my campervan. They charged 5 per bag of logs, with kindling.

The site was quite busy with groups and families, however it was very quiet in the evening with campfire buzzing and families and friends having fun.

Toilets and showers were always clean and well stocked, despite the field being pretty full.

We sampled the tea rooms and the bacon butty was ok for 3. 50, however my friend said the cream tea was not the best, due to not using real clotted cream, and no sultanas in the scone.

Great for walking and this time we walked to The White Horse pub in Woolstone, after taking in Waylands Smithy, this was a nice pub, quite pricey, but a great selection of drinks and they serve food, but had stopped by the time we got there.

This is proper camping, pitch where you like, get together with friends and chill, I will be back time and time again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 It's been a few ears since I was last here, however nothing has changed and is still as awesome as it always has been.

I enquiried on email and received a swift reposnse with details on what to do on arrival. We drove straight on to the field and phoned the mobile number given as we arrived out of office hours and a cha in his car was over to us shortly after to take our 8 per adult fee and 5 for a bag of logs and kindling.

Fires must be in the pre-dug fire pits and we pitched the camper vans either side of the pit.

The showers are basic in a portacabin, however they were warm, clean and perfectly useable, although the water pressure was a little low. The toilets are portals on the fields and there were clean, well stocked and did the job. There is fresh water on each field.

The Fox and Hounds in Uffington is about 1. 5 miles walk away and serves a great selection of drinks and although we did not eat there, the menu looked early good.

There are footpaths aplenty from the site and we walked straight form the site to the Ridgeway and shortly after was at the famous White Horse. We then continued along the Ridgeway to Waylands Smithy.

This is a peaceful site and I would most definitely recommend this to anyone and will certainly be back time and time again as I love the are and the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magnusspuss 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights with our 2 boys aged 7 and 4 plus our friend and her daughter aged 6. There were lots of kids in the campsite all playing on the open spaces and hills, with balls and water and chase, great fun. Other campers were very friendly. Enjoyed having a fire too.

We were too hot and we didn't have much shade where we camped, we were also on a slope but we chose it and were fine with that, we also had the most open and beautiful views.

The area was great for us, country walking and the kids loved the chalk horse and dragons hill with blood stains. They talked about it for ages.

A bit of a walk to showers but passes little farm animals on the way, all charming. The owners were very helpful and friendly.

Showers were mixed, one fine, others the temperature oscillated from freezing to too hot.

I would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nozza 2 reviews from this member

 Likes:

We phoned ahead on the day and rocked up in the evening as backpackers from the Ridgeway. Chose the largest, least densely populated field (the others were PACKED!).

Hard to find a truly level spot but managed to. Bought some wood for a fire and all was good. However, as per many other reviews of this site on the net, we also found the clientele to be somewhat lacking with some pretty rough groups and late night partying, music, drunk singing matches etc.

Don't know if it's the location that attracts them, or the way the site it managed but that many mentions of it on reviews spanning many years clearly indicates a pattern. So be warned.

Dislikes:

-Nice location near White Horse hill

-Open fields, pitch where you like

-Campfires allowed

Dislikes:

-Rough punters up all night drinking and shouting

-Site rules not enforced by management and no way of contacting them at night

-5 min walk along road with no pavement for a shower, wash or rubbish disposal if in big field

-Portaloo numbers not adequate for number of campers

-Management appear a bit 'jaded' but probably sick of dealing with the rough punters! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kurt the van 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here a few years ago and as we were in the area and needed somewhere to stay so we decided to pitch up here again. We couldn't see any signs at any of the fields about instructions on where/how to book in and remembered that last time we were here they came round to collect site fees and sell fire wood in the evenings so weren't worried.

About half an hour later the owner came in his car and wasn't happy that we 'hadn't booked in ahead' They don't seem to recognise that tourers actually tour and sometimes/mainly stop places adhoc - on tour! We paid our expensive 14 with smiles however.

The porta loos weren't very clean (some quite horrid!) - they may have been busy over the weekend but no-one came to clean them in the morning either. The main facilities down the main road by the farm are basic but clean enough.

I do think 14 for porta loos and a water tap and basic facilities a good walk down the main road is a bit steep considering you can get sites with similar facilities for about 10 and sites with far superior facilities for the same price.

That said the views are beautiful and apart from the road is very peaceful and a great walk to the White Horse nearby. A lot of the field is on a slope but plenty of room to negotiate a levelish bit.

I realise the fields are quite spread out and maybe a pain for the owners to check them regularly hence why they get upset when people like us just pitch up, but hey, that's their business! It is situated in a lovely part of the country though. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Coliver57 8 reviews from this member

 Rang en route and left message on answerphone. No return call (until the next day) but arrived to see a mobile number on the reception door so managed to book in on the spot.

Opted for no hook up as that field seems very uneven, so shared large field with just one other unit. Lovely views, great walks. Portaloos were immaculate (not normally my favourite).

Some fun looking tepees on the same field.

Great for a one night stopover. 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2800 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement