Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bone Valley Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Bone Valley Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Bone Valley Caravan And Camping Park
Heamoor
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR20 8UJ
Tel: 01736 360313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15+
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue040307 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, only small but well looked after and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The shower and toilet facilities are a little dated but are exceptionally clean - the cost was 50p per shower but the water was piping hot and lasted a reasonable amount of time - more than adequate to have a decent shower.

The site is set on the edge of a small village with a very friendly pub that offers excellent meals with an eat in or takeaway service of pizza on Tuesday evening and curry on Wednesday evening. There's also two mini markets in the village, together with a small bakers shop and a fish and chip shop - these being highly recommended. The bus into Penzance and St Just is within a 10 minute walk from the site, and these run every 30 mins Monday - Saturday but are less frequent on Sunday. From Penzance you can catch a bus to almost anywhere in the South West of Cornwall.

Will certainly make a return visit when next in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rustys 6 reviews from this member

 Nice small quiet little campsite, sites are flat with good clean cut grass. Showers and toilets could do with an upgrade but suited our needs and worked well. Has a small lounge, kitchen and wash up area, hosts were very helpful, price very reasonable. Certainly recommended. We only used the site for one night, but very handy to Penzance and other locations. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jesh 7 reviews from this member

 On arrival greeted with a lovely cup of tea, never had this in 10 years of touring. Site just being taken over by new wardens as previous had just left & left the campsite in a bit of a mess but new wardens working hard to rectify & bring back to how it should be. We were dubious about staying as after we had booked there was a bad review but you could see what changes were being done to put it right while we were there. They were busy cleaning toilet facilities & showers which are 50p for 10 mins (very hot so check temperature before you enter shower like hot showers but everyone does). Local village pub The Sportsman is a good village pub with good food beers. Local shop & Fish & Chip shop also in the village just 3mins from site. Keep up the good work guys & we will see you again in the near future as we may be back this way next month. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pillsley 24 reviews from this member

 This is a permanent campsite not attached to a farm and it's bijou to say the least. Having said that, it's just about within walking distance of Penzance and great value for money. I paid £10 per night and would have paid £13. 50 if my husband had been there too.

On arrival, the wardens direct you to your pitch and show you round. As I was a woman camping alone they offered to carry my kit from the car to the top 'field' where I was to pitch. I was a bit surprised to see that the field is about the size of my front garden - it would accommodate about 3 of my Khyam Highlander. They also offered me a cup of tea.

The shower block is elderly but clean and has 2 toilets, 2 sinks and 1 shower. The shower costs 50p and lasts for 10 minutes. The laundry area also has a sink for washing up and you pay 10p for hot water. As the meter was broken while I was there, you got to boil the kettle for free. There is a 'lounge' with a t. V. , tables and some books.

It's a couple of minutes walk to Heamoor where you'll find a fish and chip shop (closes at 7. 30pm), a Costcutter and a bakery. There is also a pub.

There's plenty to do in the local area from Penzance to St Ives and Lands End. Helston (Flambards) is about 15 minutes away.

All in all, a friendly site and good value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rollie111 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived at campsite, with a warm welcome from the site wardens, along with a cup of tea.

It became a little apparent that the site is not exactly what is advertised on the website, the photo's are a little deceiving.

The Top Field, which is what they call it! Is nothing more than a small/medium lawn size plot and would probably take only one large tent (6/8 man with awning), or 3/4 very small tents (ie) 2 man, but with nowhere to sit out, bbq and eat.

The Bottom Field, which is what this one is called, located next to a small stream, mosquito heaven! extremely small again, but would only possibly take 2 tents at a push, with not much privacy for cooking and eating.

Facilities:-

Female/Male Showers, extremely dated, with only 1 shower(hot)in each(50p for 8-10 mins) and 2 toilets, 2 wash basins, one hand dryer, no papertowel or tissue dispenser. Shower is very compact, for changing and drying and the floor was always wet. It has an old curtain, and very unclean plastic washboard, which was very slimmy and dirty, with another unclean sponge cover matt ontop of the washboard. Wash basin area was always covered in water/toothpaste mess and if you lent against it your clothes would be wet and stained. There was also a strong odour - sewerage smell from the sinks when washing hands or cleaning teeth.

Shower basin had to remove hair that was blocking the drain, before taking a shower as was full of water.

These facilities desperately need to be fully refurbished with more showers etc.

No baby changing facilities in either! Well not that we found.

Kitchen area:-

One large sink, with no draining board, which often had human hair in and the worktop would be soaking wet next to it.

Smaller sink with drainer(which did have a charge of 10p! for hotwate, which was broken, so you had to boil an electric kettle) Metal drying rack with unclean sponges left onit and dirty washbrush.

Microwave - not to bad, however the plastic food cover, was filthy and they expected you to use this.

Lounge - TV room

Small with TV, books and leaflets. Furniture very dated, with dirty cushions on, not that welcoming.

Shop- did not stock a great deal, sugar and milk.

Fridge - not clean

Freeze - okay for borrowing freezer blocks.

Shop opening times - not consistent, when the wardens were up, so 9:30 or 10:00 a. M most mornings, not ideal if you had planned to go out early.

Some electric hook up grass pitches not adequate in size for a large tent, so would recommend you check the pitch size accurately before booking.

Also beware there is a 50% non refundable deposit required, which I thought was unusual as most sites charge 10% and is often refundable.

WIFI - yes free but not very reliable unless you were sitting on the steps at the shop.

Okay for a one night stop off, when visiting Lands End and St Michaels Mount.

Finally the electric sub station - which is next to the site, so you have continual humming noise when sleeping and feel is a little close. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikew4895 9 reviews from this member

 When we arrived the owner was very friendly. She offered us a cup of tea while we pitched up the tent.

We thought the site would have been bigger but it is quite small. The photos on the website are deceiving

They have a TV room which is nice and you can charge your phone or batterys in there. They also have a library in the tv room.

There was a microwave and a kettle in the kitchen area. It is brilliant for peaople without electric.

The toilets were very basic. 50p for a shower.

Your pretty much in the heart of Penzance.

Pub only 10 min walk away

We paid around £12 for the 2 of us 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dazzer243 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site mid-January (and along with the majority of reviews on this site) we were welcomed by a lovely lady who booked us in and took payment for the pitch. She showed us around pointing out that the male shower/toilet block was out of use/under improvement, so consequently males and females would have to share the female toilets/shower (2 toilets/1 shower). This is a compact site, with a pub within a 10 min walk. I think £17. 50 was a little steep for the facilities that we were offered, and for the time of year (although it did include electric hook-up). It is also the first camp site that we have come across where you have to pay for hot water to wash your dishes. Only 10p for short burst of hot water, so get your washing up bowl under quick, but surprising they charge. However it is close to Penzance (and the local attractions) and benefits from being open all year. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wintercamper 7 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as it's open all year unlike many other sites in the area. One of the loveliest welcomes I've ever had on a site - we were offered a hot drink when we arrived and given a tour of all facilities.

The site is small but has everything you could possibly need. Lovely and quiet. Nice level pitches and/or hard standings. The toilets are a little older, but kept clean and serviceable. A lounge with books and TV were available and there was also a laundry.

Lots to do in the local area - this site is well positioned for both the North and South coasts.

A really enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosie+Scrumpy 6 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed on this site so we were welcomed back as old friends. Cups of tea when you arrive & helping you to site the van are standard service.

For those of you with dogs in tow there are some great walks in the immediate vicinity. It is a very easy walk down hill to Penzance & if you don't feel like walking back, the 10A bus will deliver you most of the way back. Within a few minutes walk from the site there are a couple of shops, a bakery & the chip shop.

The nearest pub is The Sportsmans. Very friendly with good food/beer options even for fussy vegetarians like us.

The utility room on site is very useful if you need to do laundry or washing up. It is pay for use though so make sure that you have some change.

Shower & toilets are a bit basic but clean & tidy. The shower is also pay for use. 50p for 10 minutes. There is only one shower in both the ladies & the gents. The lounge has a lot of useful local guides as well as the TV & book shelf.

We will definitely be back for a return visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Troyka 3 reviews from this member

 Welcome: this is without doubt the nicest and warm welcome I've ever had, they make you a hot drink when you arrive so you can relax and get on with setting up camp. Once your ready they show you around the facilities and give you a welcome pack that contains all the info you need on penwith and the area. A great welcome by lovely people.

Site: nice clean and well-kept grounds, the site is split into sections with a couple of enclosed spaces for tents and lots of spaces for large tents / mobiles which have electric hook ups. We didnít use them as we are tent campers. Some had hard standing others just grass, but all were large spaces so no difficulty spreading yourself out.

Facilities: a reception with basics for sale tea coffee milk cans etc, reasonable prices too.

A lounge with TV chairs and tables it also had a bookshelf where you could take a book if you wanted (and leave one if you finished your own) a couple of games including a pack of cards, Lots of local info and a map.

Toilets: the toilets were small one cubicle in the gents and one shower, and urinal with 2 sinks, they were clearly old but well maintained, although the showers could have been a bit cleaner and bigger. Personally I would remodel them but they were adequate for our needs, but if the site was busy it may be a problem. Hot water for the shower was 50p for 10 mins

Utility room: a great feature was a utility room with a washing machine and dryer, also a outside rotary washing line, microwave, kettle and sink with hot water (metered again) the laundry machine was £1 I think but we didnít use it. The place was clean and well looked after.

Local area: quiet village of heamoor a few mins away with a small shop, and a bakery up the road, the chip shop is very well thought of in the area, the British legion is opposite if youíre a member of the legion you can go in, or as a guest. The sportsmanís it the nearest pub, with the king (bill) William in Madron a few miles up the hill.

There are a couple of churches in the village, one where Charles Wesley preached (Wesley rock) and an Anglican a few steps away.

There are a lot of foot paths to go for a stroll leading to Penzance, and the surrounding area, and Trengwainton gardens is within walking distance

I would recommend this site to anyone with its friendly staff and local area itís a winner for families and couples, and anyone travelling alone with one or 2 small improvements this would be my site of the year. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bone Valley Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bone Valley Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bone Valley Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement